yes, therapy helps!
How to get rid of the negative labels that others put on us

How to get rid of the negative labels that others put on us

August 12, 2022

We live in the society of branding, all the objects that surround us they carry a label where you specify your brand, its components, its owners, its geographical origin or its way of employment, among many other things.

These labels have obvious utility, since lead us to get a pretty good idea of ​​what we have in front of us , with a single glance. For example, in the case of a product sold to the public, at a glance we will make the idea (more or less approximate to reality) of whether it is of greater or lesser quality, before even knowing its properties in depth.

Labels on people: between prejudice and ignorance

The fact is that the subjects carried on slopes "labels" long before they were carried by the objects. Tags that are given to us by the people around us and with whom we live , and even labels that we put ourselves for some reason.


These labels can define us at some specific moment and under certain circumstances (or not) but people, unlike objects, we have a great capacity for change in the way we relate to other people and ourselves. Plasticity and resilience are the elements that give us the power to change.

Can you fight against a label?

The advantages of these categories are obvious: save effort .

However, in certain circumstances It can be really complicated to get rid of a negative label (or even positive if we consider that this can negatively affect us in some sense).


The story of María "La Patosa"

To explain what a label is and how it can come to face us, I propose the following story :

Maria was a twelve-year-old girl who lived with her family. She had a twin brother who was very agile in competitive sports, and she, on the other hand, did not excel for that ability, although she was not bad either. His brother, when they played together, called him "Maria the ducky." Every time they went to play soccer in the town square, her parents told her brother "take care of Maria and do not run much, you already know that she is not as agile as you".

Later, when it was her turn to go to school, the girl did not want to participate in sports, and she justified herself with her friends "it's just that I'm a dump." Maria was growing and with it the label. His friends joked: "Do not let Maria do that, she is a clumsy and she will fall". And so time went by.


When she arrived at the institute, Maria was already La Patosa, when it came to performing things that required physical agility, she became very nervous and then, obviously, the nerves played tricks on her, reaffirming her clumsiness. But Maria, she was not clumsy, Maria wore the clumsy label.

Do you hear this story of Maria "La Patosa"?

The labels usually appear in groups, sometimes unimportant, others with some use in certain circumstances. There are many labels that are like a post-it and they are temporary, but there are also tattoo: lso they become chronic leaving a mark on our personality .

The Pygmalion Effect and expectations

There are several areas of psychology that investigate the important role that labels have in our way of relating to each other. It is known, for example, that an essential part of our daily behaviors depend on the expectations that they have not only about the concrete situations (a master class, a play, etc.) but also about the people involved in these situations.

Thus, for example, it has come to describe something called Pygmalion effect: something as abstract and immaterial as expectations about oneself and other people has a material embodiment in our way of acting, even taking our capabilities beyond the limits what we thought we had

That is why it's worth taking some time to reflect on whether the labels we use to describe ourselves they help us to understand us better or, on the contrary, they limit us unnecessarily.

Ending negative labels

Eliminating these limiting labels consists of, basically, recognizing them as such and acting accordingly.

For the former it is necessary ask yourself a series of questions about our own self-image . You can start by first responding to these points:

  • What labels do I have?
  • What adjectives have accompanied me throughout my life?
  • Who put them on and why?
  • Which ones have helped me?
  • Which ones have hurt me?
  • Which ones have been useful and are not?

From these questions, it is advisable to move on to more specific ones for the specific cases, in order to reach an analysis as exhaustive as possible. However, this would not take a long time, so commit to try to reach clear conclusions that allow further progress from that point.

From there, It is good to examine our habitual behaviors and reflect on whether we are being consistent with the self-image renewed we saw after the examination period. This may take a while, but all the great changes deserve it.


Joel Osteen - Empty Out The Negative (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment se débarrasser des étiquettes négatives que d'autres nous apposent

Comment se débarrasser des étiquettes négatives que d'autres nous apposent

Août 10, 2022

Nous vivons dans la société de marque, tous les objets qui nous entourent ils portent une étiquette où vous spécifiez votre marque, ses composants, ses propriétaires, son origine géographique ou son mode d'emploi, parmi beaucoup d'autres choses.

Ces étiquettes ont une utilité évidente, puisque nous amener à avoir une assez bonne idée de ce que nous avons devant nous , d'un seul coup d'œil. Par exemple, dans le cas d’un produit vendu au public, nous allons en faire un bref aperçu (plus ou moins approximatif de la réalité) pour déterminer s’il est de qualité plus ou moins grande, avant même d’en connaître les propriétés.

Labels on people: entre préjugés et ignorance

Le fait est que les sujets portés sur les pentes "étiquettes" bien avant qu'ils ne soient portés par les objets. Tags qui nous sont donnés par les personnes autour de nous et avec qui nous vivons , et même des étiquettes que nous nous sommes mis pour une raison quelconque.


Ces étiquettes peuvent nous définir à un moment donné et dans certaines circonstances (ou non) mais, contrairement aux objets, nous avons une grande capacité de changement dans nos relations avec les autres et avec nous-mêmes. La plasticité et la résilience sont les éléments qui nous donnent le pouvoir de changer.

Pouvez-vous vous battre contre une étiquette?

Les avantages de ces catégories sont évidents: économiser l'effort .

Cependant, dans certaines circonstances Il peut être très compliqué de se débarrasser d'une étiquette négative (ou même positif si nous considérons que cela peut nous affecter négativement dans un certain sens).


L'histoire de María "La Patosa"

Pour expliquer ce qu'est une étiquette et comment elle peut venir à nous, Je propose l'histoire suivante :

Maria était une fille de douze ans qui vivait avec sa famille. Elle avait un frère jumeau très agile dans les sports de compétition et, d’autre part, elle n’excellait pas pour cette capacité, même si elle n’était pas mauvaise non plus. Son frère, quand ils jouaient ensemble, l'appelait "Maria le canard". À chaque fois qu’ils allaient jouer au football sur la place du village, ses parents disaient à son frère: "Prends soin de Maria et ne cours pas beaucoup, tu sais déjà qu’elle n’est pas aussi agile que toi".

Plus tard, quand ce fut son tour d'aller à l'école, la fille ne voulut plus faire de sport et elle se justifia avec ses amis: "C'est juste que je suis une poubelle". Maria grandissait et avec elle l'étiquette. Ses amis ont plaisanté: "Ne laisse pas Maria faire cela, elle est maladroite et elle tombera". Et ainsi le temps passa.


Quand elle est arrivée à l'institut, Maria était déjà La Patosa. Quand il s'est agi de faire des choses nécessitant de l'agilité physique, elle est devenue très nerveuse et, évidemment, les nerfs lui ont joué des tours, lui réaffirmant sa maladresse. Mais Maria, elle n'était pas maladroite, Maria portait l'étiquette maladroite.

Entendez-vous cette histoire de Maria "La Patosa"?

Les étiquettes apparaissent généralement par groupes, parfois sans importance, d'autres pouvant être utilisées dans certaines circonstances. Il y a beaucoup d'étiquettes qui sont comme un post-it et ils sont temporaires, mais il y a aussi tatouage: lafin qu'ils deviennent chroniques laissant une marque sur notre personnalité .

L'effet Pygmalion et les attentes

Plusieurs domaines de la psychologie étudient le rôle important que jouent les étiquettes dans notre relation les unes aux autres. On sait, par exemple, que une partie essentielle de nos comportements quotidiens dépend des attentes qu'ils ont non seulement sur les situations concrètes (une classe de maître, une pièce de théâtre, etc.) mais également sur les personnes impliquées dans ces situations.

Ainsi, par exemple, il est arrivé à décrire quelque chose appelé l'effet Pygmalion: quelque chose d'aussi abstrait et immatériel que les attentes envers soi-même et les autres a une incarnation matérielle dans notre façon d'agir, allant même au-delà de nos capacités ce que nous pensions avoir

C'est pour ça que cela vaut la peine de prendre un peu de temps pour déterminer si les étiquettes que nous utilisons pour nous décrire ils nous aident à mieux nous comprendre ou, au contraire, nous limitent inutilement.

Terminer les étiquettes négatives

Éliminer ces étiquettes restrictives consiste essentiellement à les reconnaître et à agir en conséquence.

Pour les premiers il faut posez-vous une série de questions sur notre propre image de soi . Vous pouvez commencer par répondre d'abord à ces points:

  • Quelles sont les étiquettes que j'ai?
  • Quels adjectifs m'ont accompagné tout au long de ma vie?
  • Qui les a mis et pourquoi?
  • Lesquels m'ont aidé?
  • Lesquels m'ont fait mal?
  • Lesquels ont été utiles et ne le sont pas?

A partir de ces questions, il convient de passer à des questions plus spécifiques aux cas spécifiques, afin de parvenir à une analyse aussi exhaustive que possible. Cependant, cela ne prendrait pas beaucoup de temps, alors engagez-vous à essayer de tirer des conclusions claires qui permettront de progresser à partir de ce point.

À partir de là, Il est bon d’examiner nos comportements habituels et de nous demander si nous sommes compatibles avec notre image de soi. renouvelé nous avons vu après la période d'examen. Cela peut prendre un certain temps, mais tous les grands changements le méritent.

Articles Connexes