yes, therapy helps!
How to help a child overcome his fears, in 5 steps

How to help a child overcome his fears, in 5 steps

June 17, 2024

Childhood is a potentially exciting stage, but it is also full of fears. At such an early age, children tend to adopt a type of reasoning called magical thinking, which makes them prone to invent entities that are behind the things that happen around them and do not understand at all. The uncertainty that this produces can make them feel intimidated in certain types of normal day-to-day situations.

In this article we will see several tips about how to help children overcome their most irrational fears , both in terms of the world around them and in their perceptions about themselves, and what we can do as parents and educators to trust their abilities in a reasonable and realistic way.


  • Related article: How to help children improve their self-esteem, in 7 keys "

What to do to help children overcome their fears

The advice you will find below must be adapted to the reality of each family and each child, since its effectiveness always depends on the context in which it lives and the characteristics of each of the children we are going to help. Both the material environment in which it has been growing, and the relational dynamics that have been established between children and their families , as well as the personality and self-concept (perception of oneself) of each infant, are very important elements to take into account.


That said, let's see the concrete advice about what is advisable for children to overcome their fears.

1. Open an honest communication channel with the minor

First of all, it is essential to create the conditions so that the child feels that he can express his fears freely and honestly, without feeling judged or judged or contribute to that we put a "label" derogatory . In Western societies, fears are often seen as weaknesses, and therefore tend to be hidden. But if we show interest in knowing about them to help overcome them, things change.

So, the main thing is, in the first place, to gain their trust and show good intentions from the beginning.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 reasons to stop judging others"

2. Question directly by the root of fear

It is necessary not to be blunt and know what is the perception that the child has about what is scary. In this way we will know how to establish certain forecasts about the type of situations in which this fear will be expressed, and on the other hand we will know if it is based on imaginary entities or if it has a minimally material basis . It is not the same not to dare to go to school because it is believed that on the way there lives a devil, to be afraid of getting lost in dark places.


3. Do not ridicule your fears

From the perspective of an adult, it is very easy to assume that the irrational fears of a boy or girl are nonsense, the fruit of a mind still in development. However, adopting that perspective is a serious mistake, since it will prevent us from connecting with the point of view of the person we want to help.

So, when you ask for information about what happens, act as you would a person who does not put the focus of the question on the logical or reasonable fear, but on the importance that the emotional repercussions of that fear have for the small. The important thing is not to analyze critically and rationally the chain of thoughts that sustain fear , but how to get rid of that fear.

4. Be an example

This is a way to start breaking fear. Demonstrating that it is possible to live quietly acting as if the source of that fear did not exist, we show that there are no reasons to remain aware of that concern. For this, he performs acts that the boy or girl would not dare to perform, in a company. But nevertheless, it is preferable not to force the minor to be present , because the fact of being forced or forced to do so is in itself another source of stress.

5. Create easy situations in which to break with fear

Following a curve of ascending difficulty, create situations in which there is a pinch of that fear that the child must overcome, and do everything possible to pass through them without backing down to avoid this discomfort. Leaving your comfort zone in that way will be rewarding, because it will show you that your world of possible actions is wider than that fear made you see at first. Slowly, challenge after challenge, it will be easier to keep progressing until the fear practically does not exist. However, always try to be close so that the situation does not get out of control.


5 Tricks for Overcoming Fear (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment aider un enfant à surmonter ses peurs, en 5 étapes

Comment aider un enfant à surmonter ses peurs, en 5 étapes

Octobre 25, 2021

L'enfance est une étape potentiellement passionnante, mais elle est également pleine de peurs. À un âge aussi précoce, les enfants ont tendance à adopter un type de raisonnement appelé «pensée magique», ce qui les rend enclins à inventer des entités qui se cachent derrière ce qui se passe autour d'eux et qui ne comprennent pas du tout. L'incertitude que cela produit peut les rendre intimidés dans certains types de situations quotidiennes normales.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plusieurs astuces sur comment aider les enfants à surmonter leurs peurs les plus irrationnelles , à la fois en ce qui concerne le monde qui les entoure et leur perception d’eux-mêmes, et ce que nous pouvons faire en tant que parents et éducateurs pour faire confiance à leurs capacités de manière raisonnable et réaliste.


  • Article connexe: Comment aider les enfants à améliorer leur estime de soi, en 7 touches "

Que faire pour aider les enfants à surmonter leurs peurs

Les conseils que vous trouverez ci-dessous doivent être adaptés à la réalité de chaque famille et de chaque enfant, car son efficacité dépend toujours du contexte dans lequel elle vit et des caractéristiques de chacun des enfants que nous allons aider. L’environnement matériel dans lequel il s’est développé, et la dynamique relationnelle établie entre les enfants et leurs familles , ainsi que la personnalité et le concept de soi (perception de soi) de chaque nourrisson, sont des éléments très importants à prendre en compte.


Cela dit, voyons les conseils concrets sur ce qui est conseillé aux enfants pour surmonter leurs peurs.

1. Ouvrez un canal de communication honnête avec le mineur

Tout d'abord, il est essentiel de créer les conditions permettant à l'enfant de pouvoir exprimer ses craintes de manière libre et honnête. sans se sentir jugé ou jugé ou contribuer à ce que nous mettons un "label" péjoratif . Dans les sociétés occidentales, les peurs sont souvent perçues comme des faiblesses et ont donc tendance à être cachées. Mais si nous souhaitons savoir les aider à les surmonter, les choses changent.

L’essentiel est donc, en premier lieu, de gagner leur confiance et de montrer de bonnes intentions dès le début.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 raisons d'arrêter de juger les autres"

2. Question directement par la racine de la peur

Il est nécessaire de ne pas être franc et de savoir quelle perception l'enfant a de ce qui fait peur. De cette façon, nous saurons comment établir certaines prévisions sur le type de situations dans lesquelles cette crainte sera exprimée. Par ailleurs, nous saurons s'il est basé sur des entités imaginaires ou s'il a une base minimale matérielle . Ce n’est pas la même chose de ne pas oser aller à l’école, car on croit qu’en chemin un démon vit, avoir peur de se perdre dans des endroits sombres.


3. Ne ridiculisez pas vos peurs

Du point de vue d'un adulte, il est très facile de supposer que les peurs irrationnelles d'un garçon ou d'une fille sont un non-sens, le fruit d'un esprit encore en développement. Cependant, adopter cette perspective est une grave erreur, car cela nous empêchera de nous connecter au point de vue de la personne que nous voulons aider.

Ainsi, lorsque vous demandez des informations sur ce qui se passe, agissez comme une personne qui ne met pas la question au centre de la peur logique ou raisonnable, mais de l’importance que les répercussions émotionnelles de cette peur ont pour elle. le petit. L’important est de ne pas analyser de manière critique et rationnelle la chaîne de pensées qui entretient la peur , mais comment se débarrasser de cette peur.

4. Soyez un exemple

C'est un moyen de commencer à briser la peur. Démontrant qu'il est possible de vivre tranquillement en agissant comme si la source de cette peur n'existait pas, nous montrons qu'il n'y a aucune raison de rester conscient de cette préoccupation. Pour cela, il accomplit des actes que le garçon ou la fille n'oserait pas accomplir, en entreprise. Cependant, il est préférable de ne pas obliger le mineur à être présent , parce que le fait d’être forcé ou obligé de le faire est en soi une autre source de stress.

5. Créer des situations faciles pour rompre avec la peur

En suivant une courbe de difficulté ascendante, créez des situations dans lesquelles il existe une pincée de cette peur que l'enfant doit vaincre et faites tout son possible pour les traverser sans reculer pour éviter cet inconfort. Quitter votre zone de confort de cette manière sera gratifiant, car cela vous montrera que votre monde d'actions possibles est plus vaste que ce que la peur vous a fait voir au début. Peu à peu, défi après défi, il sera plus facile de continuer à progresser jusqu'à ce que la peur n'existe pratiquement pas. Cependant, essayez toujours d'être proche pour que la situation ne devienne pas incontrôlable.


Comment AIDER votre ENFANT à DOMINER sa PEUR ? (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes