yes, therapy helps!
How to identify mobbing or workplace harassment

How to identify mobbing or workplace harassment

June 14, 2024

It is not obvious for a victim of workplace harassment to have the awareness of being . Recognizing, accepting and taking on one's own situation usually takes some time, fundamentally for two reasons.

The first is the scarce information that is available about the problem. In Spain and in Europe, workplace harassment is relatively unknown in all its dimensions and implications compared to, for example, other similar forms of violence such as sexual harassment.

The second is its course. At first the harassment can go unnoticed since the aggression behaviors begin being, usually, sporadic and of low intensity to go increasing progressively. When the worker notices that the situation is unsustainable it is already difficult to stop it.


That is why it is important to know how to recognize it in its initial stages . For this, it is best to understand on the one hand its course and the strategies carried out by the aggressor and, on the other, identify its consequences.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

How to identify workplace harassment in the company

We are going to focus on the aggression behaviors carried out by the harasser in each phase.

First phase

The beginning of the harassment can be preceded by a conflict or, on the contrary, start without an apparent reason. In this second case, the aggressor will "rehearse" with caution the behavior of aggression. A reprimand in public, some derogatory comments, hints , a joke in public, sow a rumor, etc.


Acts in a subtle way, always looking for an excuse in case of being unmasked ("Everything was a joke!", "I am like that", etc.). If the aggressor perceives that the behavior has gone unpunished or that some of the comrades have laughed at him, he will gradually increase the frequency or intensity of the abuse while trying new methods to cause additional damage.

As well it is possible that this phase has as origin a conflict a particular situation . A conflict that the organization does not resolve and that the aggressor will use as a recurring excuse to justify his behavior.

If the aggressor is a superior, complaints about work, the imposition of impossible tasks (so that the worker can not fulfill them and have a perfect excuse to continue with the criticism) or, on the contrary, tasks that are not according to the worker's training: ask him to prepare a coffee, to make photocopies, etc.


These micro-aggressions will gradually undermine, day by day, the morale of the victim. In fact, in France mobbing is called "moral harassment" because it aims precisely at that; demoralize the victim.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Mobbing: psychological harassment at work"

Second stage

In a second phase, the aggressor will display a repertoire of behaviors heterogeneous in terms of their evil, power, their capabilities, the implicit or explicit support of the witnesses and the tolerance they perceive in the organization itself.

Obviously there are many aggressive behaviors. Some of them would be to threaten, insult, criticize, discredit, harass, ignore, annoy, defame, ridicule, hinder the task, silence, etc. Studies suggest that all this wide range of destructive behaviors responds to four types of strategies:

1. Bullying

Here behaviors such as verbal threats, looks of contempt, screams, murmuring in their presence, would enter provoke emotional reactions in the victim , etc.

2. The incommunication of the victim

Prevent the victim from speaking with colleagues, not letting them express or interrupt when they speak, leaving them without a telephone or computer, placing them in a secondary or marginal place, not passing important calls, hiding relevant information, etc.

3. The loss of prestige and personal loss of prestige

Run rumors, minimize their efforts and achievements, hide their skills and competences , commenting on their mistakes in public, criticizing them (remember that previously they have been loaded with unrealizable works or "cheated" to fail, etc). In addition to the professional loss of prestige, the victim will be tried to discredit him personally.

Your personality traits will be sought to explain your abnormal behavior (when the possible abnormal behavior has a lot to do with the situation you are going through). This strategy is important because it will eventually lead to the expulsion of the worker on the pretext that he was not efficient or that he had a disorder.

4. Prevent professional progress

Do not provide feedback or give bad evaluations. Do not assign interesting projects or, conversely, assign tasks that are not according to your experience or your training , not to propose for promotions, hinder their development, etc.

One of the main characteristics of this type of violence is its continuity over time. The worker can endure this abuse for years. Obviously, this prolongation in time has destructive consequences for the mental and physical health of the worker. At some time or worker or company they try to tackle the situation which brings us the resolution phase.

Third phase

In this phase, worker and company try to find a solution to the problem. Sometimes companies try to mediate between aggressor and victim either through the personnel department, trade unions or by resorting to professional mediation services. Mediation in this type of problems is not usually an adequate remedy from the victim's point of view .

On the one hand because when the company resorts to these services the mediator himself tends to be conditioned to adopt a solution, which is usually a drastic solution (remember that the company wants to get rid of the problem as soon as possible). The situation of strong psychosocial deterioration of the worker may end up convincing the mediator that the best option would be the worker's exit.

Another alternative is to open an "internal investigation" that, in the best of cases, may end up in the worker being changed from a job, although it is usually the case that this worker already carries with him that "stigma" that may restrain his adjustment to work. the new location

It is common for the worker to voluntarily apply for this job change although that desire is rarely fulfilled. In private companies there is an aggravating circumstance that a worker with several years of experience does not want to leave and renounce compensation. This leads him to go through a calvary that brings an aggravation of the consequences in his health.

In this phase are common for depression, anxiety, symptoms of post-traumatic stress and other types of social problems are generated outside work (break with the couple, estrangement from friends, etc.). They put the worker in an extreme situation vulnerability and that, normally, end with their dismissal.

Concluding

If as a trainer you recognize yourself in any of these or in the type of strategies and maneuvers that we have described, it is likely that you are suffering from mobbing. Then, it is best that you ask for professional advice and help to try to get out of the situation. Trying it for yourself can be a daunting task with little chance of success. The necessary help has to be both psychological and legal.


What is WORKPLACE HARASSMENT? What does WORKPLACE HARASSMENT mean? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment identifier le harcèlement moral ou le harcèlement au travail

Comment identifier le harcèlement moral ou le harcèlement au travail

Juin 18, 2022

Il n’est pas évident pour une victime de harcèlement au travail d’avoir la conscience d’être . Reconnaître, accepter et assumer sa propre situation prend généralement un certain temps, essentiellement pour deux raisons.

Le premier est la rareté des informations disponibles sur le problème. En Espagne et en Europe, le harcèlement sur le lieu de travail est relativement inconnu dans toutes ses dimensions et implications, par rapport à, par exemple, d'autres formes de violence similaires telles que le harcèlement sexuel.

La seconde est son cours. Au début, le harcèlement peut passer inaperçu puisque les comportements d’agression commencent à être, en général, sporadiques et de faible intensité pour aller progressivement en croissant. Lorsque le travailleur constate que la situation est insoutenable, il est déjà difficile de l'arrêter.


C’est pourquoi il est important de savoir le reconnaître dès le début. . Pour cela, il est préférable de comprendre d’une part son parcours et les stratégies menées par l’agresseur et d’autre part d’en identifier les conséquences.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Comment identifier le harcèlement au travail dans l'entreprise

Nous allons nous concentrer sur les comportements d’agression du harceleur à chaque phase.

Première phase

Le début du harcèlement peut être précédé par un conflit ou, au contraire, commencer sans raison apparente. Dans ce deuxième cas, l'agresseur "répétera" avec prudence le comportement d'agression. Une réprimande en public, des commentaires désobligeants, des allusions , une blague en public, semer une rumeur, etc.


Agit de manière subtile, cherchant toujours une excuse en cas de démasquage ("Tout était une blague!", "Je suis comme ça", etc.). Si l'agresseur s'aperçoit que le comportement est resté impuni ou que certains de ses camarades se sont moqués de lui, il augmentera progressivement la fréquence ou l'intensité de l'abus tout en essayant de nouvelles méthodes pour causer des dommages supplémentaires.

Aussi il est possible que cette phase ait pour origine un conflit d'une situation particulière . Un conflit que l'organisation ne résout pas et que l'agresseur utilisera comme une excuse récurrente pour justifier son comportement.

Si l'agresseur est un supérieur, plaintes concernant le travail, imposition de tâches impossibles (pour que le travailleur ne puisse pas les remplir et disposer d'une excuse parfaite pour continuer à critiquer) ou, au contraire, de tâches qui ne sont pas imposées. selon la formation du travailleur: demandez-lui de préparer un café, de faire des photocopies, etc.


Ces micro-agressions vont progressivement saper le moral de la victime. En fait, en France, le mobbing est appelé "harcèlement moral" parce qu'il vise précisément à cela; démoraliser la victime.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Mobbing: harcèlement psychologique au travail"

Deuxième phase

Dans une seconde phase, l'agresseur affichera un répertoire de comportements hétérogènes quant à leur mal, leur pouvoir, leurs capacités, le soutien implicite ou explicite des témoins et la tolérance qu’ils perçoivent au sein de l’organisation elle-même.

De toute évidence, il existe de nombreux comportements agressifs. Certains d’entre eux seraient de menacer, d’insulter, de critiquer, de discréditer, de harceler, d’ignorer, d’ennuyer, de diffamer, de ridiculiser, d’entraver la tâche, de garder le silence, etc. Des études suggèrent que tout ce large éventail de comportements destructeurs répond à quatre types de stratégies:

1. L'intimidation

Des comportements tels que menaces verbales, regards de mépris, cris, murmures devant eux entreraient provoquer des réactions émotionnelles chez la victime etc.

2. L'incommunication de la victime

Empêcher la victime de parler avec ses collègues, de ne pas les laisser exprimer ou interrompre quand ils parlent, de les laisser sans téléphone ni ordinateur, de les placer dans un lieu secondaire ou marginal, de ne pas passer d’appels importants, de cacher des informations pertinentes, etc.

3. La perte de prestige et la perte personnelle de prestige

Courir des rumeurs, minimiser leurs efforts et leurs réalisations, cacher leurs aptitudes et leurs compétences , commentant leurs erreurs en public, en les critiquant (rappelez-vous qu’ils étaient auparavant chargés d’œuvres irréalisables ou qu’ils étaient "trompés" pour échouer, etc.). En plus de la perte de prestige professionnel, la victime sera tentée de la discréditer personnellement.

Vos traits de personnalité seront recherchés pour expliquer votre comportement anormal (lorsque le comportement anormal possible a beaucoup à voir avec la situation que vous traversez). Cette stratégie est importante car elle aboutira éventuellement à l'expulsion du travailleur sous prétexte qu'il n'était pas efficace ou qu'il avait un trouble.

4. Empêcher le progrès professionnel

Ne donnez pas de commentaires et ne donnez pas de mauvaises évaluations. Ne pas attribuer des projets intéressants ou, inversement, assigner des tâches qui ne correspondent pas à votre expérience ou à votre formation , ne pas proposer de promotions, entraver leur développement, etc.

L'une des principales caractéristiques de ce type de violence est sa continuité dans le temps. Le travailleur peut supporter cet abus pendant des années. De toute évidence, cette prolongation dans le temps a des conséquences destructrices sur la santé mentale et physique du travailleur. À un moment donné, ou un travailleur ou une entreprise, ils essaient de remédier à la situation qui nous amène à la phase de résolution.

Troisième phase

Au cours de cette phase, le travailleur et l’entreprise essaient de trouver une solution au problème. Parfois, les entreprises tentent d’intervenir entre l’agresseur et la victime, soit par le biais du service du personnel, des syndicats ou en ayant recours à des services de médiation professionnels. La médiation dans ce type de problèmes n'est généralement pas un remède adéquat du point de vue de la victime. .

D'une part, lorsque la société a recours à ces services, le médiateur lui-même a tendance à être conditionné pour adopter une solution, qui est généralement une solution radicale (rappelez-vous que la société souhaite éliminer le problème le plus rapidement possible). La situation de forte détérioration psychosociale du travailleur peut finir par convaincre le médiateur que la meilleure option serait la sortie du travailleur.

Une autre solution consiste à ouvrir une "enquête interne" qui, dans le meilleur des cas, peut aboutir au changement d'emploi du travailleur, même s'il est généralement le cas que ce travailleur porte déjà avec lui cette "stigmatisation" qui peut limiter son adaptation au travail. le nouvel emplacement

Il est courant que le travailleur postule volontairement pour ce changement d'emploi bien que ce désir soit rarement satisfait. Dans les entreprises privées, il existe une circonstance aggravante: un travailleur ayant plusieurs années d'expérience ne veut pas partir et renoncer à une indemnité. Cela le conduit à passer par un calvaire qui entraîne une aggravation des conséquences pour sa santé.

Au cours de cette phase, la dépression, l'anxiété, les symptômes de stress post-traumatique et d'autres types de problèmes sociaux sont générés en dehors du travail (rupture du couple, éloignement d'amis, etc.), ce qui met le travailleur dans une situation extrême. vulnérabilité et que, normalement, se terminent par leur renvoi.

En conclusion

Si en tant qu'entraîneur, vous vous reconnaissez dans l'un de ces domaines ou dans le type de stratégies et de manœuvres que nous avons décrites, il est probable que vous souffriez de mobbing. Dans ce cas, il est préférable de demander conseil et aide à un professionnel pour essayer de sortir de la situation. Essayer par vous-même peut être une tâche décourageante avec peu de chance de réussir. L'aide nécessaire doit être à la fois psychologique et juridique.


Ce qui arrive à la victime de harcèlement au travail (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes