yes, therapy helps!
How to improve the emotional education of children, in 15 keys

How to improve the emotional education of children, in 15 keys

May 6, 2021

Emotional intelligence is a big forgotten in our educational system . But, as parents, we are not paying adequate attention to the correct development of the emotional aspect of our children.

To be able to start with a good footing in this company to help them discover and enhance their emotions, I have allowed myself to write this practical guide.

1. A shared obligation

Parents, teachers, those who are both at the same time, and all adults without exception are responsible for the children receiving the emotional education they deserve, so they can acquire a good emotional intelligence and a balanced personality. But, as is logical, the adult who is imbued with misconceptions on this subject, will not be able to provide the appropriate education and can -involuntarily- contribute a negative influence to the good purpose he intended.


2. There are no negative emotions

From the start, It is fundamental to be clear that discrimination between negative emotions and positive emotions is incorrect . All emotions are useful for the individual survival of the child. What we have to teach the child is that, in the face of an emotion, there are positive reactions and concrete behaviors that are negative for society and can lead to problems.

3. Emotional maturity in stages

Another fundamental concept is that the emotional maturity of the child grows in successive stages, from birth to the majority of emotional age, as he becomes master of his brain functions. The treatment of their emotions must be appropriate, then, at each stage of their evolution or we run the risk of damaging them unintentionally or-at least-wasting inappropriate efforts.


Up to six months the child only obeys sensory and motor stimuli (instinctive base) and is not aware of their emotions. From this age you can begin to differentiate your basic emotions with the help of adults. Up to three years old he is not in a position to change his behavior in a stable way based on emotions (intuitive ability). And until he enters the operational stage, at approximately six years, he can not apply "the use of reason" to his behaviors and learn to work as a team. From this age he learns to identify and name the basic emotions he experiences and can reflect on them and subject them to self-control. But the good handling of the derived emotions and feelings will not be able to achieve it until ten or eleven years. And the maturity of knowing how to foresee the consequences of their actions and the ability to plan with a vision of the future, usually does not arrive before the age of sixteen: the majority of emotional age.


4. With love is not enough

A very frequent mistake is to think that if we give children love and protection, the result of their emotional intelligence will necessarily be good. . Love and protection are, of course, essential. But they are not enough. They must be accompanied by a balanced emotional education. If parents overprotect by excess of permissiveness, or are authoritarian and too severe or are uncontrolled and unpredictable, emotional damage can seriously affect the personality of the future adult, despite the love received.

5. How to know if a child has emotional problems?

Diagnosing that a child is having problems in their emotional education is very easy . A healthy child is restless, impatient, noisy, spontaneous, playful, curious, creative, social, confident with his peers and with adults ... Any lack of any of these characteristics will have to be analyzed because it can constitute an alert of possible emotional problems. We will have to detect in what basic emotions the child feels overwhelmed and offer him the opportune support.

6. How to deal with your fears

Let's start with fear. A child has many causes of possible fears: to remain alone, to be abandoned, to be a nuisance, to be rejected, not to be able to feed, to darkness, to cold, to heat, to the inclemency of nature, to get sick, to strangers, to authoritarian or hostile people, to have the fault of dad and mom to argue ... The solution is to firmly give you the security you need .

The physical security against diseases, hunger and all kinds of physical dangers. And affective security. It is convenient for parents to repeat as many times as necessary that they wanted it before they were born, that they want it as it is and that they will always want it. If the child misbehaves, we will say we do not like what he does, but that he is wanted without any kind of doubts or objections. As the extraordinary psycho-pedagogue Rebeca Wild says: "If the child feels good, he does not behave badly".

7How to treat your tantrums

Let's continue with anger. A child immersed in a tantrum can display spectacular energy. The causes of the tantrum can also be multiple: they have given a refusal to a wish or a whim, they have taken away a toy, they have scolded him "unfairly", they do not listen to him or they do not listen to him, they have beaten him or humiliated him and he has not been able to defend himself ... The support that the child needs here is understanding .

To show him unambiguously that we understand the cause of his tantrum but that he must learn to control it; teach him to be less selfish and to know how to share his belongings ; that we must get used to endure some frustrations in life; that we must look for new motivations and new expectations and not give up; that we must defend ourselves against injustice with calm and serenity; that you have to avoid hazards in a preventive way ...

8. How to treat your sorrows

Another basic emotion is sadness . For having lost a toy, a favorite object, a pet or a loved one; for not being able to be with friends; for not having the same thing that the children around him have; for having lost father and mother ... The right support is consolation. Show empathy for his loss, our accompaniment in his pain, offer help to cope with his loss, support him with distractions such as games and new motivations.

9. The power of games

The game is an instinctive activity in the child and, therefore, should be the favorite distraction against bad tendencies of the child. All pedagogues and psychologists agree on the physical, physiological, emotional, social and cognitive benefits of team games.

10. How to treat your shame

One of the most damaging possible consequences emotions is shame. Shame for being too big or too small; for being fat or skinny; for being different; for having physical problems or disabilities; for not understanding what they are talking about; for not knowing how to express; for doing something wrong; for having suffered physical or sexual abuse ... The best help to overcome shame is to boost their self-esteem.

Repeat as many times as necessary that each person is unique and worth as much as the person who . Teach him to improve his problems or defects without stressing him. Help him recognize his mistakes and overcome them. Teach him to socialize and have friends that correspond to him. Gain their trust so that we can participate in possible physical or sexual abuse.

11. Loss of self-esteem

We must avoid by all means that the child falls into loss of self-esteem . Because this means that the child internalizes that he is useless and is useless; that he does not deserve to be loved; that it is natural that they ignore or despise him; that it is logical that they mock him and humiliate him.

As a consequence of lack of self-esteem in children and adolescents, in adulthood we will have people with behavioral disorders. If there has been a passive reaction, the adult will show serious affective dependencies; fear of having intimate relationships; fear to speak in public and be noticed; a pathological insecurity; an inferiority complex. If there has been an aggressive reaction, the adult will show strong tendencies towards tyranny, despotism, cruelty, egocentric narcissism, an exaggerated armor of false security.

12. Basic recommendations

It is worth paying attention to a series of recommendations:

  • Attention must be paid to the age of the child and not pose situations for which lacks the necessary emotional maturity.
  • We must try to put ourselves in the child's shoes and understand their reasons and motivations. Ask and listen to him.
  • It is useless to try to make the child reason when he is immersed in an emotional kidnapping, we must wait for him to calm down.
  • We should never recriminate him because he has experienced an emotion, just to make him notice the negative behaviors that have aroused him and offer possible positive behaviors.
  • It is convenient to avoid abstract discourses; you have to use short phrases oriented to action. Without applying disparaging, humiliating or offensive adjectives to their behavior.
  • Lead by example. Do not bother showing your own emotions, leaving in evidence how they are under control.
  • You have to recognize your own mistakes and show what you are doing to repair them.
  • Among adults, you should avoid having conversations about inappropriate topics for children in front of them.
  • Never lie to them, under any pretext. Save the part of the facts that are not able to understand, but not alter the truth with falsehoods.
  • Do not allow the child to mock, humiliate, disrespect or mistreat any person or animal under any circumstances.
  • Never apply any type of violence (physical or verbal) or emotional blackmail.
  • Not wanting to buy their affection or indulgence with our weaknesses through material things.
  • We must face the need to set limits and train the child to overcome frustrations for social or economic reasons.
  • For mental hygiene, we must prevent the child from falling into the addiction to solitary games of Tablet or PlayStation.
  • We must correctly administer the motivation with rewards and inhibition with punishments.
  • Both prizes and punishments have to be proportional, fair and consistent. They must be exceptional but stable. Prizes must be affordable, avoidable punishments.
  • The prizes have to celebrate the triumph of a previous effort. Punishments have to involve real discomfort or effort.
  • It is essential to warn before punishing and explain the whys of the punishments ..
  • We must encourage their curiosity and encourage their creativity. Do not block your initiative with predetermined recipes of how things should be done.
  • We must be receptive to the things of life that we can learn by observing and dialoguing with children.
  • Show them always that they are loved permanently and indestructible.

13. Emotional wounds

It is proven that caregivers who apply severe punishments with coldness and authoritarianism , without affection towards children, can cause personality disorders in future adults: fanaticisms of order, compulsive obsessive behaviors, pathological insecurities, sickly perfectionisms.

As the Canadian writer Lise Bourbeau tells us, the five major emotional wounds that often leave their mark on the child's future are: rejection, abandonment, humiliation, betrayal and injustice. The main motivation of parents to try to avoid their children these five emotional wounds by all means, may be the memory of having suffered them in their childhood.

14. Against the feeling of abandonment

The child can support long absences from his parents if he has irrefutable evidence that they love him and the people who care for him frequently fan the memory and hope of reunion. Emotional security is more a question of intensity than of frequency .

15. We have all been children

To facilitate understanding of the emotions and behaviors of the child, it is important to remember that we were also children and that the child that we survived inside of us. We must recover it so that we are good friends of our children . With love, balance, protection, understanding, trust, consolation, adequate reward and punishment systems and, above all, cultivating your self-esteem, we will ensure that our children, our grandchildren, the children of our society all get the emotional intelligence they deserve.

Bibliographic references:

  • Borbeau, Lise. The five wounds that prevent being yourself. OB Stare, 2003.
  • Lòpez Cassà, E. Emotional education. Program for 3-6 years. Wolfers Kluwer, 2003.
  • Renom, A. Emotional education. Program for primary education (6 - 12 years). Wolfers Kluwer, 2003.
  • Wild, Rebecca. Freedom and limits. Love and respect. Herder, 2012.

5 Keys to Social and Emotional Learning Success (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment améliorer l'éducation émotionnelle des enfants, en 15 clés

Comment améliorer l'éducation émotionnelle des enfants, en 15 clés

Février 18, 2019

L'intelligence émotionnelle est un grand oubli dans notre système éducatif . Mais, en tant que parents, nous ne prêtons pas l’attention voulue au bon développement de l’aspect émotionnel de nos enfants.

Pour pouvoir bien démarrer dans cette entreprise et les aider à découvrir et à renforcer leurs émotions, je me suis permis d'écrire ce guide pratique.

1. Une obligation partagée

Les parents, les enseignants, ceux qui sont à la fois en même temps et tous les adultes sans exception sont responsables de l'éducation émotionnelle qu'ils méritent aux enfants, afin qu'ils puissent acquérir une bonne intelligence émotionnelle et une personnalité équilibrée. Mais, comme il est logique, l’adulte qui est imprégné d’idées fausses sur ce sujet ne sera pas en mesure de dispenser l’éducation appropriée et ne pourra, de manière non volontaire, influer négativement sur le bon objectif qu’il visait.


2. Il n'y a pas d'émotions négatives

D'entrée, Il est fondamental de préciser que la discrimination entre les émotions négatives et les émotions positives est incorrecte . Toutes les émotions sont utiles à la survie individuelle de l'enfant. Ce que nous devons enseigner à l'enfant, c'est que face à une émotion, il y a des réactions positives et des comportements concrets qui sont négatifs pour la société et peuvent conduire à des problèmes.

3. La maturité émotionnelle par étapes

Un autre concept fondamental est que la maturité émotionnelle de l'enfant se développe par étapes successives, de la naissance à la majorité de son âge, à mesure qu'il devient maître de ses fonctions cérébrales. Le traitement de leurs émotions doit donc être approprié, à chaque étape de leur évolution, sinon nous risquons de leur porter préjudice, involontairement ou du moins, de gaspiller des efforts inappropriés.


Jusqu'à six mois, l'enfant n'obéit qu'aux stimuli sensoriels et moteurs (base instinctive) et n'est pas conscient de ses émotions. À partir de cet âge, vous pouvez commencer à différencier vos émotions de base avec l'aide d'adultes. Jusqu'à trois ans, il n'est pas en mesure de modifier son comportement de manière stable en fonction de ses émotions (capacité intuitive). Et jusqu'à ce qu'il entre dans la phase opérationnelle, vers six ans environ, il ne peut pas appliquer "l'utilisation de la raison" à ses comportements et apprendre à travailler en équipe. À partir de cet âge, il apprend à identifier et à nommer les émotions fondamentales qu'il éprouve, à réfléchir et à les soumettre à la maîtrise de soi. Mais le bon traitement des émotions et des sentiments dérivés ne sera pas possible avant dix ou onze ans. Et la maturité de savoir prévoir les conséquences de ses actes et de planifier avec une vision d'avenir n'arrive généralement pas avant l'âge de seize ans: la majorité de l'âge émotionnel.


4. Avec l'amour ne suffit pas

Une erreur très fréquente est de penser que, si nous accordons de l’amour et une protection aux enfants, le résultat de leur intelligence émotionnelle sera nécessairement bon. . L'amour et la protection sont bien sûr essentiels. Mais ils ne suffisent pas. Ils doivent être accompagnés d'une éducation émotionnelle équilibrée. Si les parents surprotendent par excès de permissivité, ou sont autoritaires et trop sévères ou sont incontrôlés et imprévisibles, des dommages émotionnels peuvent sérieusement affecter la personnalité du futur adulte, malgré l'amour reçu.

5. Comment savoir si un enfant a des problèmes émotionnels?

Il est très facile de diagnostiquer qu'un enfant a des problèmes d'éducation émotionnelle. . Un enfant en bonne santé est inquiet, impatient, bruyant, spontané, enjoué, curieux, créatif, social, en confiance avec ses pairs et avec les adultes ... Toute absence de l'une de ces caractéristiques devra être analysée car elle peut constituer une alerte de problèmes émotionnels possibles. Nous devrons détecter en quelles émotions fondamentales l'enfant se sent submergé et lui offrir un soutien opportun.

6. Comment gérer vos peurs

Commençons par la peur. Un enfant a de nombreuses causes de peurs possibles: rester seul, être abandonné, être une nuisance, être rejeté, ne pas être capable de nourrir, de ténèbres, de froid, de chauffer, d'incliner de la nature, tomber malade, à des étrangers, à des personnes autoritaires ou hostiles, avoir la faute de papa et maman pour se disputer ... La solution est de vous donner la sécurité dont vous avez besoin .

La sécurité physique contre les maladies, la faim et toutes sortes de dangers physiques. Et la sécurité affective. Il est pratique pour les parents de répéter autant de fois que nécessaire qu’ils le voulaient avant leur naissance, qu’ils le veulent tels quels et qu’ils le voudront toujours. Si l'enfant se comporte mal, nous dirons que nous n'aimons pas ce qu'il fait, mais qu'il est recherché sans aucun type de doute ou d'objection. Rebeca Wild, l'extraordinaire psychopédagogue, a déclaré: "Si l'enfant se sent bien, il ne se comporte pas mal".

7Comment traiter tes crises

Continuons avec colère. Un enfant plongé dans une crise de colère peut afficher une énergie spectaculaire. Les causes de la crise peuvent aussi être multiples: ils ont refusé un vœu ou un caprice, ils ont emporté un jouet, ils l'ont grondé "injustement", ils ne l'écoutent pas ou ils ne l'écoutent pas, ils l'ont battu ou humilié et il n'a pas été capable de se défendre ... Le soutien dont l'enfant a besoin ici est la compréhension .

Pour lui montrer sans ambiguïté que nous comprenons la cause de sa crise de colère, mais qu'il doit apprendre à la contrôler; lui apprendre à être moins égoïste et à savoir partager ses biens ; que nous devons nous habituer à supporter certaines frustrations de la vie; que nous devons rechercher de nouvelles motivations et de nouvelles attentes et ne pas abandonner; que nous devons nous défendre contre l'injustice avec calme et sérénité; que vous devez éviter les dangers de manière préventive ...

8. Comment traiter vos chagrins

Une autre émotion de base est la tristesse . Pour avoir perdu un jouet, un objet favori, un animal domestique ou un être cher; pour ne pas pouvoir être avec des amis; pour ne pas avoir la même chose que les enfants autour de lui; pour avoir perdu père et mère ... Le bon soutien est une consolation. Faites preuve d'empathie pour sa perte, notre accompagnement dans sa douleur, offrez de l'aide pour faire face à sa perte, soutenez-le avec des distractions telles que des jeux et de nouvelles motivations.

9. Le pouvoir des jeux

Le jeu est une activité instinctive chez l'enfant et, par conséquent, devrait être la distraction préférée contre les mauvaises tendances de l'enfant. Tous les pédagogues et les psychologues s'accordent sur les avantages physiques, physiologiques, émotionnels, sociaux et cognitifs des jeux en équipe.

10. Comment traiter votre honte

La honte est l’une des conséquences les plus dommageables pour les émotions. Dommage d'être trop grand ou trop petit; pour être gros ou maigre; pour être différent; pour avoir des problèmes physiques ou des handicaps; pour ne pas comprendre de quoi ils parlent; pour ne pas savoir comment exprimer; pour avoir fait quelque chose de mal; pour avoir subi des abus physiques ou sexuels ... La meilleure aide pour surmonter la honte est de renforcer leur estime de soi.

Répétez autant de fois que nécessaire chaque personne est unique et vaut autant que la personne qui . Apprenez-lui à améliorer ses problèmes ou ses défauts sans le stresser. Aidez-le à reconnaître ses erreurs et à les surmonter. Apprenez-lui à socialiser et à avoir des amis qui lui correspondent. Gagner leur confiance afin que nous puissions participer à d'éventuels abus physiques ou sexuels.

11. Perte d'estime de soi

Nous devons absolument éviter que l'enfant ne perde de l'estime de soi . Parce que cela signifie que l'enfant intériorise qu'il est inutile et inutile; qu'il ne mérite pas d'être aimé; qu'il est naturel qu'ils l'ignorent ou le méprisent; qu'il est logique qu'ils se moquent de lui et l'humilient.

En raison du manque d'estime de soi chez les enfants et les adolescents, nous aurons à l'âge adulte des personnes souffrant de troubles du comportement. S'il y a eu une réaction passive, l'adulte manifestera de graves dépendances affectives; peur d'avoir des relations intimes; peur de parler en public et d'être remarqué; une insécurité pathologique; un complexe d'infériorité. S'il y a eu une réaction agressive, l'adulte manifestera de fortes tendances à la tyrannie, au despotisme, à la cruauté, au narcissisme égocentrique, à une armure exagérée de fausse sécurité.

12. Recommandations de base

Il convient de prêter attention à une série de recommandations:

  • Il faut faire attention à l'âge de l'enfant et ne pas poser de situations pour lesquelles manque la maturité émotionnelle nécessaire.
  • Nous devons essayer de nous mettre à la place de l'enfant et comprendre ses raisons et ses motivations. Demandez et écoutez-le.
  • Il est inutile d'essayer de motiver l'enfant lorsqu'il est plongé dans un enlèvement émotionnel, il faut attendre qu'il se calme.
  • Nous ne devrions jamais le récuser parce qu'il a éprouvé une émotion, simplement pour lui faire remarquer les comportements négatifs qui l'ont éveillé et offrir des comportements positifs possibles.
  • Il convient d’éviter les discours abstraits; vous devez utiliser des phrases courtes orientées vers l'action. Sans appliquer d'adjectifs désobligeants, humiliants ou offensants à leur comportement.
  • Prêcher par l'exemple. Ne vous embêtez pas en montrant vos propres émotions, en laissant en évidence comment elles sont sous contrôle.
  • Vous devez reconnaître vos propres erreurs et montrer ce que vous faites pour les réparer.
  • Parmi les adultes, évitez les conversations sur des sujets inappropriés pour les enfants qui se trouvent devant eux.
  • Ne leur mentez jamais, sous aucun prétexte. Sauvez la partie des faits qui ne peuvent pas comprendre, mais ne modifiez pas la vérité avec des mensonges.
  • Ne permettez pas à l'enfant de se moquer, d'humilier, de manquer de respect ou de maltraiter une personne ou un animal en aucune circonstance.
  • N'appliquez jamais de violence (physique ou verbale) ni de chantage émotionnel.
  • Ne pas vouloir acheter leur affection ou leur indulgence avec nos faiblesses à travers des choses matérielles.
  • Nous devons faire face à la nécessité de fixer des limites et de former l'enfant à surmonter les frustrations pour des raisons sociales ou économiques.
  • Pour l'hygiène mentale, nous devons empêcher l'enfant de tomber dans l'addiction aux jeux solitaires de Tablet ou PlayStation.
  • Nous devons administrer correctement la motivation avec des récompenses et l'inhibition avec des punitions.
  • Les prix et les punitions doivent être proportionnels, justes et cohérents. Ils doivent être exceptionnels mais stables. Les prix doivent être des punitions abordables et évitables.
  • Les prix doivent célébrer le triomphe d'un effort précédent. Les punitions doivent impliquer un réel inconfort ou des efforts.
  • Il est essentiel de prévenir avant de punir et d'expliquer le pourquoi des punitions.
  • Nous devons encourager leur curiosité et encourager leur créativité. Ne bloquez pas votre initiative avec des recettes prédéterminées sur la façon dont les choses doivent être faites.
  • Nous devons être réceptifs aux choses de la vie que nous pouvons apprendre en observant et en dialoguant avec les enfants.
  • Montrez-leur toujours qu'ils sont aimés de façon permanente et indestructible.

13. plaies émotionnelles

Il est prouvé que les soignants qui appliquent des punitions sévères avec froideur et autoritarisme , sans affection pour les enfants, peut causer des troubles de la personnalité chez les futurs adultes: fanatismes d’ordre, comportements obsessionnels compulsifs, insécurités pathologiques, perfectionnismes maladifs.

Comme le dit l'écrivaine canadienne Lise Bourbeau, les cinq principales blessures émotionnelles qui marquent souvent l'avenir de l'enfant sont les suivantes: rejet, abandon, humiliation, trahison et injustice. La principale motivation des parents pour tenter d'éviter à leurs enfants ces cinq blessures émotionnelles par tous les moyens peut être le souvenir de les avoir subis dans leur enfance.

14. Contre le sentiment d'abandon

L’enfant peut supporter de longues absences de ses parents s’il dispose de preuves irréfutables de leur amour et que les personnes qui s’occupent de lui tiennent souvent le souvenir et l’espoir d’une réunion. La sécurité émotionnelle est plus une question d'intensité que de fréquence .

15. Nous avons tous été des enfants

Pour faciliter la compréhension des émotions et des comportements de l'enfant, il est important de rappeler que nous étions aussi des enfants et que l'enfant que nous avons survécu à l'intérieur de nous. Nous devons le récupérer pour que nous soyons bons amis de nos enfants . Avec l'amour, l'équilibre, la protection, la compréhension, la confiance, la consolation, des systèmes adéquats de récompense et de punition et, surtout, de cultiver votre estime de soi, nous veillerons à ce que nos enfants, nos petits-enfants, les enfants de notre société obtiennent tous l'intelligence émotionnelle qu'ils méritent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Borbeau, Lise. Les cinq blessures qui empêchent d'être soi-même. OB Stare, 2003.
  • Lòpez Cassà, E. Education émotionnelle. Programme pour 3-6 ans. Wolfers Kluwer, 2003.
  • Renom, A. Éducation émotionnelle. Programme pour l'enseignement primaire (6-12 ans). Wolfers Kluwer, 2003.
  • Sauvage, Rebecca. Liberté et limites. Amour et respect Herder, 2012.

Phases considerés clés dans le developpement d'un enfant de 18 ã 24 mois (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes