yes, therapy helps!
How to know if I am compatible with my partner: 5 tips

How to know if I am compatible with my partner: 5 tips

June 18, 2024

In the world of relationships almost always logics are acting. On the one hand, there is one that has to do with personal attraction and that gives us short-term incentives to continue alongside a person. This is in itself something that can sometimes be confusing, because it is not easy to analyze one's emotions.

On the other, there is the logic of material possibilities, which is all that must be done to allow coexistence in a continuous manner: earn a salary, have time for the couple ...

All this makes many people wonder ... How to know if I am compatible with my partner? The small problems and conflicts of the day to day can be just that, but it is also possible that they are symptoms of an incompatibility more difficult to remedy.


  • Related article: "The 7 keys to have a healthy relationship"

Keys to know if you are compatible with your partner

It is clear that each couple relationship is a world, and there is no universal yardstick that allows us to know the "quality" of a loving bond.

However, it is usually useful to look at a series of criteria or facets of a relationship in order to determine if there are incompatibilities, considering the seriousness of their problems. Let's see it

1. Is there mutual respect in a sustained manner?

This is the first criterion in which we must look to know if we are compatible with our partner. Respect is the basis of any non-antagonistic relationship , and of course, in the specific case of love, it is paramount.


Thus, not only is there no direct physical or verbal aggression. The usual way of relating to the other must be consistent with the value of respect, and in a sustained manner over time. The latter is very important, because even in relationships in which there is abuse, a cycle of violence can be given in which, in a punctual manner, repentance is shown for a short time afterwards, to re-attack.

2. Is there time to be together?

Each person has their own needs when it comes to establishing the minimum amount of time they want to spend with their partner, either daily or weekly. Therefore, it is essential to stop to analyze if these apparently different interests fit together, and if the conditions exist for these expectations to be met.

For example, in distance relationships this can be a problem , but if a realistic plan is drawn up by which both people can spend quality time together, or one in which at a point the relationship ceases to be remote, in that case it does not have to be called incompatibility.


In any case, it is important to point out that not all expressions of loving compatibility have to be of a purely psychological or emotional nature; others are material, such as the serious problems caused by endless working hours.

  • Related article: "Relationships at a distance: 10 difficult problems to bear"

3. Is everything based on physical attraction?

In youth, it is common to confuse amorous compatibility with mutual attraction based on the physical, the aesthetic. This is a pattern of behavior that gives problems in the medium and long term .

This is precisely why it is good to ask ourselves if what keeps us together with our partner is the inertia of what started only with physical attraction. Although technically it is not an incompatibility, it is a source of future and probable serious incompatibilities. Taking into account that most people consider relationships as a stable and long-term bond, it is worth thinking about it.

4. Is there asymmetry in communication?

There are times when one of the people who form the relationship takes a markedly passive role when there are discussions or conflicts of interest. That is to say, to make see that everything is more or less well, although to the practice it is not gotten to disguise of the whole. In these cases it may happen that the other person is interested in making explicit the reason for the problem, or that it is assumed that in those cases the correct thing is to do nothing, so that the conflict does not emerge to the surface.

When both people have gotten used to this because They do not know how to deal with problems directly , that can constitute an incompatibility. In the long run, the will of one of the parties always prevails.

5. Are there realistic expectations about compatibility?

Paradoxically, obsessing about whether one is compatible with their partner or not, can be an incompatibility if it leads to demanding from the other person that they conform almost perfectly to what is expected of them. It is important to assume that there is always small friction between the interests of people who have been involved in the relationship . You can not idealize the concept of lovers who complement each other perfectly.

In conclusion

Fulfilling the requirements we have seen does not guarantee that a relationship will work, but it gives a fairly realistic sample of the possibilities it has to prosper. Keeping them in mind regularly to see if everything goes well is good, although you have to aspire to make the love bond something more than a set of desirable objective characteristics.

Love and falling in love must be lived, not simply analyzed.

  • Article that may interest you: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment savoir si je suis compatible avec mon partenaire: 5 conseils

Comment savoir si je suis compatible avec mon partenaire: 5 conseils

Août 10, 2022

Dans le monde des relations presque toujours les logiques agissent. D'une part, il y en a une qui concerne l'attraction personnelle et qui nous incite à court terme à continuer aux côtés d'une personne. C'est en soi quelque chose qui peut parfois être déroutant, car il n'est pas facile d'analyser ses émotions.

D'autre part, il y a la logique des possibilités matérielles, c'est tout ce qui doit être fait pour permettre la coexistence de manière continue: gagner un salaire, avoir du temps pour le couple ...

Tout cela fait réfléchir beaucoup de gens ... Comment savoir si je suis compatible avec mon partenaire? Les petits problèmes et conflits quotidiens ne sont peut-être que cela, mais il est également possible qu'ils soient les symptômes d'une incompatibilité plus difficile à résoudre.


  • Article connexe: "Les 7 clés pour une relation saine"

Clés pour savoir si vous êtes compatible avec votre partenaire

Il est clair que chaque relation de couple est un monde et il n'existe pas de critère universel permettant de connaître la "qualité" d'un lien affectif.

Cependant, il est généralement utile d'examiner une série de critères ou de facettes d'une relation afin de déterminer s'il existe des incompatibilités, compte tenu de la gravité de leurs problèmes. Voyons le

1. Existe-t-il un respect mutuel durable?

C'est le premier critère dans lequel nous devons chercher à savoir si nous sommes compatibles avec notre partenaire. Le respect est la base de toute relation non antagoniste et bien sûr, dans le cas particulier de l’amour, c’est primordial.


Ainsi, non seulement il n'y a pas d'agression physique ou verbale directe. Le mode de relation habituel avec l'autre doit être cohérent avec la valeur du respect et de manière durable. Ce dernier point est très important, car même dans les relations abusives, on peut créer un cycle de violence dans lequel, de manière ponctuelle, le repentir est montré peu de temps après, pour ensuite être ré-attaqué.

2. Y a-t-il du temps pour être ensemble?

Chaque personne a ses propres besoins lorsqu'il s'agit d'établir le temps minimum qu'elle souhaite passer avec son partenaire, quotidiennement ou hebdomadairement. Par conséquent, il est essentiel d'arrêter d'analyser si ces intérêts apparemment différents sont compatibles et si les conditions sont réunies pour que ces attentes soient remplies.

Par exemple, dans les relations à distance cela peut être un problème , mais si un plan réaliste est établi pour que les deux personnes puissent passer du temps de qualité ensemble, ou un plan dans lequel, à un moment donné, la relation cesse d’être distante, il n’est alors pas nécessaire de parler d’incompatibilité.


Dans tous les cas, il est important de souligner que toutes les expressions de compatibilité amoureuse ne doivent pas nécessairement être de nature purement psychologique ou émotionnelle; d'autres sont matériels, tels que les graves problèmes causés par les heures de travail sans fin.

  • Article connexe: "Relations à distance: 10 problèmes difficiles à supporter"

3. Est-ce que tout est basé sur l'attraction physique?

Chez les jeunes, il est courant de confondre compatibilité amorale et attirance mutuelle basée sur le physique, l'esthétique. Ceci est un comportement qui donne des problèmes à moyen et long terme .

C’est précisément pour cette raison qu’il est bon de se demander si ce qui nous unit à notre partenaire, c’est l’inertie de ce qui n’a commencé que par l’attraction physique. Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas techniquement d'une incompatibilité, c'est une source d'incompatibilités graves futures et probables. Considérant que la plupart des gens considèrent les relations comme un lien stable et à long terme, il vaut la peine d'y penser.

4. Y a-t-il une asymétrie dans la communication?

Il arrive parfois que l’une des personnes qui forment la relation assume un rôle nettement passif lorsqu’il ya des discussions ou des conflits d’intérêts. C'est-à-dire, faire en sorte que tout se passe plus ou moins bien, bien qu'à la pratique cela ne se déguise pas. Dans ces cas, il peut arriver que l’autre personne souhaite expliquer explicitement la raison du problème ou qu’il soit supposé que, dans ces cas, il convient de ne rien faire, afin que le conflit ne sorte pas à la surface.

Quand les deux personnes se sont habituées à cela parce que Ils ne savent pas comment gérer les problèmes directement , cela peut constituer une incompatibilité. À long terme, la volonté de l'une des parties prévaut toujours.

5. Existe-t-il des attentes réalistes concernant la compatibilité?

Paradoxalement, être obsédé par la compatibilité d'une personne avec son partenaire ou non peut être une incompatibilité si cela conduit à exiger de l'autre personne qu'elle se conforme presque parfaitement à ce que l'on attend d'elle. Il est important de supposer qu'il y a toujours petites frictions entre les intérêts des personnes impliquées dans la relation . Vous ne pouvez pas idéaliser le concept d'amoureux qui se complètent parfaitement.

En conclusion

Répondre aux exigences que nous avons observées ne garantit pas le succès d’une relation, mais donne un exemple assez réaliste des possibilités qu’elle a de prospérer. Il est bon de les garder à l'esprit régulièrement pour voir si tout va bien, même si vous devez aspirer à faire du lien amoureux quelque chose de plus qu'un ensemble de caractéristiques objectives souhaitables.

L'amour et l'amour doivent être vécus, pas simplement analysés.

  • Article qui pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Est ce qu'on est compatible ? Savoir si le couple va durer... (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes