yes, therapy helps!
How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 reasons of weight

How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 reasons of weight

May 10, 2021

The couple therapy it is one of the most useful psychological intervention offers.

Contrary to what happens in other forms of psychotherapy, it is not necessary to have received a diagnosis of mental disorder to resort to it, because the nucleus in which couples therapy acts is not the individual, but the relationship.

Sometimes, couples need to go to the psychologist

However, this advantage is, at the same time, a small inconvenience. The fact that relationships are so variable and that several points of view coexist makes the problems there are not perceived in the same way.


Sometimes it seems that the relationship is very bad, but a little later there are very pleasant moments that make us rethink if what we thought was a serious problem really was. Sometimes one of the members of the relationship thinks about the marital breakdown, while the other does not even know that the other person is not satisfied. At other times, serious problems within the relationship are normalized and interpreted as normal, phases by which any couple passes.

Part of these inconsistencies are, in part, the reason why the following question is worth asking: How do you know when the time has come to attend couples therapy?


The time when it is worth going to couple therapy

Next, I present some indications.

1. When the relationship is affected by communication failures

Many problems of a couple are based on something as simple and as complicated as communication problems . Attending couple therapy sessions can be used to introduce new relationship dynamics in our lives in which the direct and honest expression of each person's points of view has a reserved space.

During the same therapy sessions, in fact, the first exchanges of important impressions that were not being done before will take place.

2. When going through a specific crisis

If it is very clear that the problems experienced in the relationship are due to a more or less serious crisis that has to do with a specific event, such as a dismissal from work or the death of a loved one, couples therapy can be very important. utility to make this painful experience not also extend to the private sphere of the relationship.


3. When there are problems in intimate relationships

The time to attend couples therapy is, also, the one in which there is little harmony in intimate relationships and in the expression of affectivity . This involves a great variety of situations and goes beyond the scope of sexuality.

Things as simple as the caresses, the moments of looking into each other's eyes in silence or hugs can be a good that is scarce in some relationships, and it can be complicated to "break the ice" to begin to incorporate this type of behavior into the relationship.

4. When there is indecision about future plans

Relationships are in part the way in which the present is experienced, and in part they are also the way in which the future is planned together.

If discrepancies and conflicts are perceived in this second aspect , couples therapy can offer a space in which each part of the relationship will find new tools to express expectations that they did not know how to express before, and they will also have the right context to establish an honest conversation about what each one wants to find in the relationship.

5. When children disturb the peace of the home too much

The appearance of sons and daughters is usually a very happy event, but sometimes also can make and not have the space necessary to make the relationship have its moments of intimacy . In couples therapy, effective strategies can be discussed so that the relationship adapts to this situation.

When not to attend couples therapy

There are certain situations in which the problems in the relationship are so serious that you do not have to consider the possibility of going to therapy, and the most clear is that situation in which there is domestic violence and threats.

In situations like these it is very important that the abused party break the relationship immediately and take all necessary measures to be safe.

It may interest you: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

12 Things That Annoy Your Massage Therapist The Most (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons de poids

Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons de poids

Février 28, 2021

Le thérapie de couple c'est l'une des offres d'intervention psychologique les plus utiles.

Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans les autres formes de psychothérapie, il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir reçu un diagnostic de trouble mental pour y avoir recours, car le noyau dans lequel agit la thérapie de couple n’est pas l’individu, mais la relation.

Parfois, les couples doivent aller chez le psychologue

Cependant, cet avantage constitue en même temps un petit inconvénient. Le fait que les relations soient si variables et que plusieurs points de vue coexistent fait que les problèmes rencontrés ici ne sont pas perçus de la même manière.


Parfois, il semble que la relation soit très mauvaise, mais un peu plus tard, il y a des moments très agréables qui nous incitent à repenser si ce que nous pensions être un problème sérieux l'était réellement. Parfois, l'un des membres de la relation pense à la rupture du mariage, tandis que l'autre ne sait même pas que l'autre personne n'est pas satisfaite. À d'autres moments, les problèmes graves au sein de la relation sont normalisés et interprétés comme des phases normales par lesquelles tout couple passe.

Une partie de ces incohérences est, en partie, la raison pour laquelle la question suivante mérite d'être posée: Comment savez-vous que le moment est venu d'assister à une thérapie de couple?


Le moment où il vaut la peine d'aller en thérapie de couple

Ensuite, je présente quelques indications.

1. Lorsque la relation est affectée par des problèmes de communication

Beaucoup de problèmes d'un couple sont basés sur quelque chose d'aussi simple et aussi compliqué que des problèmes de communication . Assister à des séances de thérapie de couple peut être utilisé pour introduire de nouvelles dynamiques relationnelles dans nos vies dans lesquelles l'expression directe et honnête du point de vue de chaque personne a un espace réservé.

En fait, lors des mêmes séances de thérapie, auront lieu les premiers échanges d’impressions importantes qui n’étaient pas encore réalisés.

2. En cas de crise spécifique

S'il est très clair que les problèmes rencontrés dans la relation sont dus à une crise plus ou moins grave liée à un événement spécifique, tel qu'un licenciement au travail ou le décès d'un être cher, la thérapie de couple peut être très importante. l’utilité de faire en sorte que cette expérience douloureuse ne s’étende pas à la sphère privée de la relation.


3. Quand il y a des problèmes dans les relations intimes

Le temps nécessaire pour suivre une thérapie de couple est également celui dans lequel il y a peu d'harmonie dans les relations intimes et dans l'expression de l'affectivité . Cela implique une grande variété de situations et dépasse le cadre de la sexualité.

Des choses aussi simples que les caresses, le fait de se regarder dans les yeux en silence ou par étreinte peuvent être un avantage rare dans certaines relations et il peut être compliqué de "casser la glace" pour commencer à incorporer ce type de comportement à la relation.

4. Quand il y a de l'indécision sur les projets futurs

Les relations sont en partie la manière dont le présent est vécu, mais aussi la façon dont l’avenir est planifié ensemble.

Si des divergences et des conflits sont perçus dans ce deuxième aspect , la thérapie de couple peut offrir un espace dans lequel chaque partie de la relation trouvera de nouveaux outils pour exprimer des attentes qu’elle ne savait pas exprimer auparavant, et elle disposera également du contexte approprié pour établir une conversation honnête sur ce que chacun souhaite trouver. la relation.

5. Quand les enfants perturbent trop la paix de la maison

L’apparition de fils et de filles est généralement un événement très heureux, mais parfois aussi peut faire et ne pas avoir l'espace nécessaire pour que la relation ait ses moments d'intimité . En thérapie de couple, des stratégies efficaces peuvent être discutées pour que la relation s'adapte à cette situation.

Quand ne pas assister à une thérapie de couple

Il existe certaines situations dans lesquelles les problèmes de la relation sont si graves que vous n’avez pas à envisager la possibilité de suivre une thérapie, et le plus clair est la situation dans laquelle il existe une violence domestique et des menaces.

Dans de telles situations, il est très important que la partie victime de violence rompe immédiatement la relation et prenne toutes les mesures nécessaires pour être en sécurité.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Les 30 signes de violence psychologique dans une relation"

Je manque de confiance en moi : Les astuces pour enfin croire en soi ! (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes