yes, therapy helps!
How to learn to meditate, in 7 easy steps

How to learn to meditate, in 7 easy steps

June 24, 2021

Meditation is a millenary practice that is experiencing great popularity in the West in the last decade, because there are many benefits for mental and emotional wellbeing and it is very useful in these times. Whether to calm the mind, to find oneself or to reduce anxiety or stress, more and more people are interested in introducing this practice in their daily lives, improving their quality of life.

But meditating is not always easy, especially at the beginning, because it requires discipline and practice for its perfection. and as much as it is apparently not physically demanding, it also requires effort. Nothing is free in this life, but if you know everything that meditation can bring to your life, it is quite likely that you will feel the need to begin to familiarize yourself with its techniques.


The benefits of meditation

In recent years, research on this practice has shown that meditation is effective in improving people's mental health. What are these benefits? What is the use of meditating? Meditation benefits us for different reasons:

  • Mitigate the effects of stress
  • It positively affects the immune system
  • Improves the attention and concentration capacity
  • It is useful to empathize with others
  • Increase pain tolerance
  • Improves memory and cognitive functions
  • Power the emergence of positive thoughts

You can learn more about these benefits in our article: "Benefits of meditation supported by science"


The 7 steps to learn to meditate

The key to developing the habit of meditation is to find the perfect moment for you and the kind of meditation and posture that fits you. At first you can experiment with the different types of meditation and the correct posture to find the necessary comfort and the ideal mental state to carry this practice out.

But you must know that in order to overcome the resistances that you may sometimes encounter during the meditative process, moving on with the practice is what really makes you better. If you want to know how to meditate correctly, follow these steps that I indicate to you next.

1. Put on comfortable clothes

The first thing you must do to meditate and be in the here and now is to wear comfortable clothes. Removing your shoes and choosing a wide garment is the best alternative to feel ready to meditate . Forget about tight clothes and take off your watch or other accessories that may be annoying.


2. Find a quiet place

It is necessary to find a place that allows you to be relaxed and without interruptions or interference. It can be the room of your house, the seashore or your garden ... Any place is good if it allows you to be comfortable and focused, totally immersed in the activity that you are going to start.

3. Sit correctly

To meditate you must sit correctly, that is, on the ground with your back straight, but without tensions , breathing deeply and keeping the shoulders and arms relaxed. Some people prefer to sit in a chair or on their knees instead of the classic posture, and there is also lying meditation. Whatever position you adopt, the back should always be straight and the body, especially the shoulders and arms, relaxed.

4. Focus on an object

Focus on an object or on breathing (with closed eyes) when you start meditative practice . Later, you can perform other types of meditation, such as "body scan" or meditation centered on sounds.

5. Accept the thoughts that arise and move forward

It is usual that, during the practice of meditation, different thoughts arise: our personal problems, the discomfort of the moment or the insecurity of being doing meditation well or not (something that usually happens when we start in this practice). But this is something normal and, therefore, we must accept it .

Meditation focuses on the idea that psychological well-being is a state that emerges from the acceptance of thoughts, emotions and bodily sensations without trying to eliminate or modify them, simply observe them in a non-judgmental way. So, c When these thoughts appear, you just have to accept them and then refocus your attention on the object , breathing, sound or body sensation.

6. Increase your meditation time progressively

When you start in meditation, you should start little by little to then increase the time . It is ideal to start with one minute meditation, to progressively reach the 20 or 30 minutes a day that will help you improve your well-being.Take a look at this video to know what is the one minute meditation:

7. Add it to your daily routine

After reading the previous steps, Now you are ready to make meditation a healthy habit . With practice you will become a great meditator, which will help you achieve the benefits of this millenary practice.

Summary

It is scientifically proven that the practice of Mindfulness meditation has the potential to improve the quality of your life. On the other hand, there is a recommended application that combines all these 7 tips.

  • Along with the guide of a former Buddhist monk, you can try it for free for a week: www.claridad.io

Psychology and meditation: Mindfulness exercises

In recent decades, meditation has become part of psychological therapy (for example, thanks to cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness or MBCT), but has also begun to be implemented in organizations, schools or sports.

And is that, from psychology, many professionals have realized the benefits of meditation, and specifically mindfulness, for mental health, interpersonal relationships, creativity or optimal performance, whether in sports, school or the job.

  • If you want to get started in mindfulness practice, we advise you to read the following article: "5 Mindfulness exercises to improve your emotional well-being"

How to Meditate Correctly: 6 Easy Tips for Beginners (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment apprendre à méditer, en 7 étapes faciles

Comment apprendre à méditer, en 7 étapes faciles

Février 18, 2019

La méditation est une pratique millénaire qui connaît une grande popularité en Occident au cours de la dernière décennie, car il existe de nombreux avantages pour le bien-être mental et émotionnel et il est très utile en ces temps. Que ce soit pour calmer l'esprit, pour se retrouver ou pour réduire l'anxiété ou le stress, de plus en plus de personnes sont intéressées par l'introduction de cette pratique dans leur vie quotidienne, améliorant leur qualité de vie.

Mais la méditation n’est pas toujours facile, surtout au début, car elle exige de la discipline et de la pratique pour se perfectionner. et bien que ce ne soit apparemment pas exigeant physiquement, cela demande également des efforts. Rien n’est gratuit dans cette vie, mais si vous savez tout ce que la méditation peut apporter à votre vie, il est fort probable que vous ressentiez le besoin de commencer à vous familiariser avec ses techniques.


Les bienfaits de la méditation

Ces dernières années, des recherches sur cette pratique ont montré que la méditation est efficace pour améliorer la santé mentale des personnes. Quels sont ces avantages? Quelle est l'utilisation de la méditation? La méditation nous profite pour différentes raisons:

  • Atténuer les effets du stress
  • Il affecte positivement le système immunitaire
  • Améliore l'attention et la capacité de concentration
  • Il est utile de faire preuve d'empathie avec les autres
  • Augmenter la tolérance à la douleur
  • Améliore la mémoire et les fonctions cognitives
  • Alimenter l'émergence de pensées positives

Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ces avantages dans notre article: "Avantages de la méditation soutenue par la science"


Les 7 étapes pour apprendre à méditer

La clé pour développer l’habitude de la méditation est de trouver le moment idéal pour vous ainsi que le type de méditation et de posture qui vous convient. Au début vous pouvez expérimenter les différents types de méditation et la posture correcte pour trouver le confort nécessaire et l'état mental idéal pour mener à bien cette pratique.

Mais vous devez savoir que pour surmonter les résistances que vous pouvez parfois rencontrer pendant le processus de méditation, passer à la pratique est ce qui vous rend vraiment meilleur. Si vous voulez savoir comment méditer correctement, suivez ces étapes que je vous indique ensuite.

1. Mettez des vêtements confortables

La première chose que vous devez faire pour méditer et être dans l'ici et maintenant est de porter des vêtements confortables. Enlever vos chaussures et choisir un vêtement large est la meilleure alternative pour se sentir prêt à méditer . Oubliez les vêtements trop serrés et enlevez votre montre ou tout autre accessoire qui pourrait être gênant.


2. Trouver un endroit tranquille

Il est nécessaire de trouver un lieu qui vous permette d’être détendu et sans interruption ni interférence. Cela peut être la pièce de votre maison, le bord de la mer ou votre jardin ... N'importe quel endroit est bon s'il vous permet d'être à l'aise et concentré, totalement immergé dans l'activité que vous allez commencer.

3. Asseyez-vous correctement

Pour méditer, vous devez vous asseoir correctement, c'est-à-dire au sol, le dos droit, mais sans tensions. en respirant profondément et en gardant les épaules et les bras détendus. Certaines personnes préfèrent s'asseoir sur une chaise ou à genoux plutôt que la posture classique, et il y a aussi la méditation menteuse. Quelle que soit votre position, le dos doit toujours être droit et le corps, en particulier les épaules et les bras, détendu.

4. Focus sur un objet

Concentrez-vous sur un objet ou sur la respiration (les yeux fermés) lorsque vous commencez la pratique méditative . Plus tard, vous pourrez effectuer d'autres types de méditation, tels que "l'analyse corporelle" ou la méditation centrée sur les sons.

5. Accepter les pensées qui se posent et aller de l'avant

Lors de la pratique de la méditation, il est courant que différentes pensées surgissent: nos problèmes personnels, l’inconfort du moment ou l’insécurité de bien ou non méditer (quelque chose qui se produit habituellement lorsque nous commençons dans cette pratique). Mais c’est quelque chose de normal et, par conséquent, nous devons l’accepter. .

La méditation se concentre sur l'idée que le bien-être psychologique est un état qui émerge de l'acceptation des pensées, des émotions et des sensations corporelles sans chercher à les éliminer ou à les modifier, il suffit de les observer sans porter de jugement. Pourtant, c Lorsque ces pensées apparaissent, il vous suffit de les accepter puis de recentrer votre attention sur l'objet. respiration, sons ou sensation corporelle.

6. Augmentez votre temps de méditation progressivement

Quand tu commences en méditation, vous devriez commencer petit à petit pour augmenter le temps . Il est idéal de commencer par une minute de méditation pour atteindre progressivement les 20 ou 30 minutes par jour qui vous aideront à améliorer votre bien-être.Regardez cette vidéo pour savoir quelle est la méditation d'une minute:

7. Ajoutez-le à votre routine quotidienne

Après avoir lu les étapes précédentes, Vous êtes maintenant prêt à faire de la méditation une habitude saine . Avec la pratique, vous deviendrez un grand méditant, ce qui vous aidera à tirer le meilleur parti de cette pratique millénaire.

résumé

Il est scientifiquement prouvé que la pratique de la méditation de pleine conscience a le potentiel d’améliorer la qualité de votre vie. D'autre part, il existe une application recommandée qui combine ces 7 conseils.

  • Avec le guide d'un ancien moine bouddhiste, vous pouvez l'essayer gratuitement pendant une semaine: www.claridad.io

Psychologie et méditation: exercices de pleine conscience

Au cours des dernières décennies, la méditation est devenue une partie intégrante de la thérapie psychologique (par exemple, grâce à la thérapie cognitive basée sur Mindfulness ou MBCT), mais a également commencé à être mise en œuvre dans des organisations, des écoles ou des sports.

Et c’est que, de la psychologie, de nombreux professionnels ont compris les avantages de la méditation, et plus particulièrement de la pleine conscience, pour la santé mentale, les relations interpersonnelles, la créativité ou une performance optimale, que ce soit dans le sport, à l’école ou le travail.

  • Si vous souhaitez vous initier à la pratique de la pleine conscience, nous vous conseillons de lire l'article suivant: "5 exercices de pleine conscience pour améliorer votre bien-être émotionnel"

La méditation pour les débutants ! (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes