yes, therapy helps!
How to make a genogram in psychotherapy

How to make a genogram in psychotherapy

November 29, 2022

In clinical practice, obtain information about the patient , the problem for which he comes to consultation and the circumstances surrounding that problem or can influence it is a fundamental part of the psychotherapeutic process. The psychologist needs this information to be able to work and contribute to address the issues that the patient poses, serving as a guide through the process .

Within this information, understand the family structure and the type of relationships that the subject maintains with their closest environment It can help greatly to understand the current situation of the subject. The obtaining of this information is carried out through different methods, being able to register in a simple and easily comprehensible form if a genogram is elaborated.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological therapies"

What is a genogram?

We call a graphic representation genogram in which the general information about the constitution of a family is expressed and the interrelationships among its members. It is a schematic way of visualizing familiar patterns and the type of relationships that are established among its members. In a genogram, all the people who make up the family structure are reflected, both those who are still alive and those who have died or who have left the family nucleus. Abortions are also included. Although it usually goes back up to a total of three generations, this can vary according to the type of problem that motivates the psychologist.


The genogram not only reflects the family structure, but also serves to visualize the presence of very important and vital events for the subject, such as the birth of a brother , the death of a relative, a wedding, a divorce or an abortion. This type of events can greatly influence the human psyche and change the type of relationships that each individual of the family system has, including the client or patient, which may originate or contribute to the presence of disorders or problems linked to the reason for consultation. of the patient. That is why it is a tool widely used in clinical practice to analyze family relationships.

So, although the final result seems simple and simple, this type of representations offers a lot of information to the professional when it comes to understanding where the patient comes from and how their origins can help explain their present, allowing us to sketch different strategies and ways of acting.


  • This article may interest you: "The 8 types of families and their characteristics"

Building a genogram

At first glance it may seem that developing a genogram is really quick and without any complication. However, to elaborate a meaningful genogram It is not enough to make a series of intertwined symbols : family composition and structure must be explored and taken into account while taking into account the effect that these relationships may have on the patient. In addition, although it is a graphic representation that could be constructed in very different ways, a series of symbols and steps have been established to make it understandable and practical.

To start building a genogram, first of all The objective with which the representation is carried out must be taken into . Given that a family can be made up of a large number of people, it is necessary to delimit the type of relationships that must be reflected, delimiting the representation to those closest to or linked to the problem. Let's see next the steps to take in the elaboration of the genogram.

1. Construction of the basic structure

In the first moment we proceed to outline the basic structure of the family . Thus, at this point each of the members of the family is represented through a figure and the link that unites them from lines that unite the components of the system. Basically a genealogical tree is made centered on the client or patient and their closest relatives, generally limiting themselves to assessing a total of three generations including that of the above mentioned.

In addition, a genogram not only indicates who is part of a family but also which members of said family coexist in the same location with the client or patient , for which it is surrounded with a discontinuous line to all the members of the family that cohabit with him. This helps to understand who has the most contact with the patient and how this contact affects their lives.

2. Basic data collection of the subjects

Once the structure of the genogram is drawn and the main people and relationships are represented, it is necessary to understand the functioning of the family collect various general data .

For example, age, educational level and socio-employment and the profession of close beings can affect the development of the subject, so having these data allows to improve the understanding of the system. It is also useful to know the presence of a history of mental or medical disorders.

3. Marking what type of relationship they maintain

In addition to knowing who is who and the most basic vital data, it is necessary observe the type of relationships and the emotional involvement that these have , given its importance at the time that the client interprets interpersonal relationships and even reality.

With this we can observe, among other things, if there are conflicting or very close relationships that serve as support or as a risk factor to promote an improvement or worsening of the patient's situation.

Symbology and its meaning

Regardless of the process that is followed during the construction of the genogram, it is important to understand what symbols are used in each situation.

It must be taken into account that what is symbolized is not only to each member of the family, but also the type of link that links it to the rest of the components.

Symbolizing people

When analyzing or creating a genogram, we must consider what or to whom one of the symbols is being represented. Each individual of the family is represented with a single symbol. Specifically, we will use the outline of a square when we refer to a man and that of a circle when we are representing a woman . Inside the symbol will appear the current age of the subject if it is alive, above it the year of birth and just below the symbol the name of the individual. When representing the client or patient, the figure that represents it is double (that is, a square or center circle of another). If the person being represented is someone who has already passed away, we will find that the symbol is crossed out, with an X on top.

Other symbols to have are those referred to the presence of abortions . In this aspect we find two symbols depending on whether the interruption of the pregnancy has been voluntary or accidental: in the first case a small X will be used without this being crossed out any symbol, while in case of spontaneous abortion a small circle completely painted.

In the case that it is necessary to assess the sexual orientation of one of the family members to understand the reason for the patient's consultation (for example, if a patient with problems to accept the sexual orientation of a family member comes to consultation), indicate if the subject belongs to the LGTB collective with an inverted triangle inside the symbol that indicates their sex .

The fact that the symbols are only a contour or are more or less filled has also certain implications. Subjects who consume and abuse substances such as alcohol and drugs will have half of their symbol painted, horizontally. If the individual suffers mental problems, the symbol will have half painted, but in this case vertically . If both psychiatric problems and substance abuse are added, three quarters of the symbol will be painted.

Representing family relationships

Apart from the subjects, the type of relationship that each component has with the rest is also reflected in the genogram. In this sense we are also with different representations in connections between subjects .

The marital union between two people is symbolized by a straight and continuous line, the two individuals being at the same height. If two people have a relationship but are not married, this relationship will be represented with a discontinuous line, also being at the same height. If the couple separates, a diagonal bar will cut the line that joins them, marking the year of the break. In the case of a divorce we will find two diagonal bars . In the event that a divorced or separated couple subsequently rejoins, the bars marking their separation will be crossed out.

The presence of children is symbolized by lines that emerge from the union of two people , being the continuous line in the case of biological children and discontinuous if we are before an adopted child. If it is more than one shoot, they will be ordered from left to right depending on the age.

The presence of brothers presents some characteristics to take into account . If we are before twins, the lines that represent the union with the parents will emerge from the same point. Otherwise, the lines will be born in different points from the one indicated by the link between both parents.

Indicating the type of relationship

The type of structural linkage maintained by family members has been indicated so far, but it is also possible indicate how this relationship is emotionally related .

Positive and normative relationships will be marked while both are subject to exactly the same height.A distant relation can be marked while both subjects are at different heights, both symbols not being linked at the same point. Conflicting relationships will be indicated by zigzagging lines , and in case of the presence of physical or psychic abuses this situation will be represented with a zigzag line that will end in an arrow that will indicate in which direction the abuse is going.

An intimate relationship can be indicated from two lines instead of one. while merged relationships will be marked with three lines. Combinations can be made from these constructions.

  • Related article: "Toxic families: 4 ways in which they cause mental disorders"

Bibliographic references:

  • Compañ, V .; Feixas, G .; Muñoz, D. and Montesano, A. (2012) - The genogram in systemic family therapy. University of Barcelona. Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics. Faculty of Psychology
  • McGoldrick, M. and Gerson, R. (1985) Genograms in family evaluation. Barcelona: Gedisa (3rd edition, 2000).

Genogram Instructions - Marriage and Family (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment faire un génogramme en psychothérapie

Comment faire un génogramme en psychothérapie

Mai 25, 2022

En pratique clinique, obtenir des informations sur le patient , le problème pour lequel il vient en consultation et les circonstances qui l’entourent ou qui peuvent l’influencer constituent un élément fondamental du processus psychothérapeutique. Le psychologue a besoin de ces informations pour pouvoir travailler et contribuer à traiter les problèmes posés par le patient, en servant de guide tout au long du processus .

Dans cette information, comprendre la structure familiale et le type de relations que le sujet entretient avec son environnement le plus proche Il peut être très utile de comprendre la situation actuelle du sujet. L'obtention de ces informations s'effectue par différentes méthodes, pouvant être enregistrée sous une forme simple et facilement compréhensible si un génogramme est élaboré.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Qu'est-ce qu'un génogramme?

Nous appelons un génogramme de représentation graphique dans lequel les informations générales sur la constitution d'une famille sont exprimées et les relations entre ses membres. C'est une manière schématique de visualiser des schémas familiers et le type de relations qui s'établissent entre ses membres. Dans un génogramme, toutes les personnes qui composent la structure familiale sont reflétées, à la fois celles qui sont encore en vie et celles qui sont décédées ou qui ont quitté le noyau de la famille. Les avortements sont également inclus. Bien que cela remonte généralement à trois générations, cela peut varier en fonction du type de problème qui motive le psychologue.


Le génogramme reflète non seulement la structure familiale, mais sert également à visualiser la présence d'événements très importants et vitaux pour le sujet, tels que la naissance d'un frère , la mort d'un parent, un mariage, un divorce ou un avortement. Ce type d'événements peut grandement influencer la psyché humaine et modifier le type de relations que chaque individu du système familial entretient, y compris le client ou le patient, ce qui peut être à l'origine ou contribuer à la présence de troubles ou de problèmes liés au motif de la consultation. du patient. C'est pourquoi il s'agit d'un outil largement utilisé en pratique clinique pour analyser les relations familiales.

Donc, bien que le résultat final semble simple et simple, ce type de représentations offre beaucoup d'informations au professionnel lorsqu'il s'agit de comprendre d'où vient le patient et comment ses origines peuvent aider à expliquer son présent, ce qui nous permet d'esquisser différentes stratégies et manières d'agir.


  • Cet article peut vous intéresser: "Les 8 types de familles et leurs caractéristiques"

Construire un génogramme

À première vue, il peut sembler que le développement d'un génogramme soit très rapide et sans aucune complication. Cependant, pour élaborer un génogramme significatif Il ne suffit pas de faire une série de symboles entrelacés : la composition et la structure de la famille doivent être explorées et prises en compte en tenant compte de l’effet que ces relations peuvent avoir sur le patient. En outre, bien qu’il s’agisse d’une représentation graphique qui pourrait être construite de différentes manières, une série de symboles et d’étapes ont été établis pour la rendre compréhensible et pratique.

Pour commencer à construire un génogramme, tout d'abord L’objectif avec lequel la représentation est effectuée doit être pris en compte . Étant donné qu'une famille peut être composée d'un grand nombre de personnes, il est nécessaire de délimiter le type de relations à refléter, en limitant la représentation aux personnes les plus proches ou liées au problème. Voyons maintenant les étapes à suivre pour élaborer le génogramme.

1. Construction de la structure de base

D'abord nous procédons à esquisser la structure de base de la famille . Ainsi, à ce stade, chacun des membres de la famille est représenté par une figure et le lien qui les unit à partir de lignes qui unissent les composants du système. Fondamentalement, un arbre généalogique est centré sur le client ou le patient et leurs parents les plus proches, se limitant généralement à évaluer trois générations au total, dont celle mentionnée ci-dessus.

En outre, un génogramme indique non seulement qui fait partie d'une famille, mais également quels membres de cette famille coexistent au même endroit avec le client ou le patient , pour lequel il est entouré d’une ligne discontinue à tous les membres de la famille qui cohabitent avec lui. Cela aide à comprendre qui a le plus de contact avec le patient et comment ce contact affecte sa vie.

2. Collecte de données de base sur les sujets

Une fois que la structure du génogramme est établie et que les personnes et relations principales sont représentées, il est nécessaire de comprendre le fonctionnement de la famille. recueillir diverses données générales .

Par exemple, l’âge, le niveau d’éducation, la situation socio-professionnelle et la profession d’êtres proches peuvent influer sur le développement du sujet. Ces données permettent donc d’améliorer la compréhension du système. Il est également utile de connaître la présence d'antécédents de troubles mentaux ou médicaux.

3. Marquer quel type de relation ils entretiennent

En plus de savoir qui est qui et les données vitales les plus fondamentales, il est nécessaire observer le type de relations et l'implication émotionnelle qu'ils ont , compte tenu de son importance au moment où le client interprète les relations interpersonnelles et même la réalité.

Avec cela, nous pouvons observer, entre autres choses, s’il existe des relations conflictuelles ou très proches qui servent de support ou de facteur de risque pour promouvoir une amélioration ou une aggravation de la situation du patient.

Symbologie et sa signification

Quel que soit le processus suivi lors de la construction du génogramme, il est important de comprendre quels symboles sont utilisés dans chaque situation.

Il faut prendre en compte que ce qui est symbolisé ne concerne pas seulement chaque membre de la famille, mais aussi le type de lien qui le relie au reste des composants.

Symboliser les gens

Lors de l’analyse ou de la création d’un génogramme, nous devons considérer quel ou à qui l’un des symboles est représenté. Chaque individu de la famille est représenté avec un seul symbole. Plus précisément, nous allons utiliser le contour d'un carré quand on se réfère à un homme et celui d'un cercle quand on représente une femme . À l'intérieur du symbole apparaît l'âge actuel du sujet s'il est en vie, au-dessus de l'année de naissance et juste en dessous du symbole, le nom de l'individu. Lorsque vous représentez le client ou le patient, le chiffre qui le représente est double (c’est-à-dire un carré ou un cercle central). Si la personne représentée est une personne déjà décédée, nous verrons que le symbole est barré, avec un X en haut.

Autres symboles à avoir sont ceux liés à la présence d'avortements . Dans cet aspect, nous trouvons deux symboles selon que l’interruption de la grossesse a été volontaire ou accidentelle: dans le premier cas, un petit X sera utilisé sans que ce symbole soit rayé, alors que dans le cas d’un avortement spontané, un petit cercle complètement peint.

Dans le cas où il est nécessaire d'évaluer l'orientation sexuelle d'un membre de la famille pour comprendre le motif de la consultation du patient (par exemple, si un patient ayant des problèmes pour accepter l'orientation sexuelle d'un membre de la famille vient en consultation), indiquer si le sujet appartient au collectif LGTB avec un triangle inversé à l'intérieur du symbole qui indique son sexe .

Le fait que les symboles ne soient qu'un contour ou soient plus ou moins remplis a également certaines implications. Les sujets qui consomment et abusent de substances telles que l'alcool et les drogues verront la moitié de leur symbole peint horizontalement. Si la personne souffre de problèmes mentaux, le symbole sera à moitié peint, mais dans ce cas verticalement . Si les problèmes psychiatriques et la toxicomanie sont ajoutés, les trois quarts du symbole seront peints.

Représenter les relations familiales

Hormis les sujets, le type de relation que chaque composant entretient avec le reste est également reflété dans le génogramme. En ce sens nous sommes aussi avec différents représentations dans les relations entre les sujets .

L'union conjugale entre deux personnes est symbolisée par une ligne droite et continue, les deux individus étant à la même hauteur. Si deux personnes ont une relation mais ne sont pas mariées, cette relation sera représentée par une ligne discontinue, étant également à la même hauteur. Si le couple se sépare, une barre diagonale coupera la ligne qui les relie, marquant l'année de la pause. En cas de divorce, nous trouverons deux barres diagonales . Au cas où un couple divorcé ou séparé rejoindrait par la suite, les barres marquant leur séparation seraient barrées.

La présence d'enfants est symbolisée par les lignes qui émergent de l'union de deux personnes , étant la ligne continue dans le cas des enfants biologiques et discontinue si nous sommes devant un enfant adopté. S'il y a plus d'un tournage, ils seront classés de gauche à droite en fonction de l'âge.

La présence de frères présente certaines caractéristiques à prendre en compte . Si nous sommes devant des jumeaux, les lignes qui représentent l'union avec les parents émergeront du même point. Sinon, les lignes naîtront à des points différents de celui indiqué par le lien entre les deux parents.

Indiquer le type de relation

Le type de lien structurel entretenu par les membres de la famille a été indiqué jusqu'à présent, mais il est également possible indiquer comment cette relation est liée émotionnellement .

Les relations positives et normatives seront marquées alors que les deux sont soumises à la même hauteur.Une relation distante peut être marquée alors que les deux sujets sont à des hauteurs différentes, les deux symboles n'étant pas liés au même point. Les relations conflictuelles seront indiquées par des lignes en zigzag et, en cas de présence d’abus physiques ou psychiques, cette situation sera représentée par une ligne en zigzag qui se terminera par une flèche indiquant le sens de l’abus.

Une relation intime peut être indiquée à partir de deux lignes au lieu d'une. tandis que les relations fusionnées seront marquées avec trois lignes. Des combinaisons peuvent être faites à partir de ces constructions.

  • Article connexe: "Familles toxiques: 4 causes de troubles mentaux"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Compañ, V .; Feixas, G .; Muñoz, D. et Montesano, A. (2012) - Le génogramme en thérapie familiale systémique. Université de Barcelone. Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics. Faculté de Psychologie
  • McGoldrick, M. et Gerson, R. (1985). Génogrammes dans l'évaluation de la famille. Barcelone: ​​Gedisa (3ème édition, 2000).

Le génogramme en thérapie familiale - Première partie (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes