yes, therapy helps!
How to open the mind? Keys to adopt new perspectives

How to open the mind? Keys to adopt new perspectives

October 5, 2022

Many years ago, Albert Einstein said: "The mind is a parachute, it only works when it is opened." And it is necessary to ask ourselves if we can develop positively as people with a closed mentality.

Throughout this article we will talk about how to open the mind , as well as the importance of open-mindedness and the benefits of having an open attitude to change.

  • Maybe you're interested: "3 important aspects to adapt to a new country"

The flexible mentality

Obviously, the fact of living life maintaining an open mind can provide us with many benefits and advantages, both when experiencing positive emotions and to perceive and take advantage of the countless opportunities that are presented to us.


Keeping an open mind is basic to personal well-being and stress management, as well as to help us achieve our vital goals and maintain a good relationship with the rest of society. After all, it is our ability to adapt cognitively and emotionally to those changes of life that we can not remain impassive, living with our old habits and mental shortcuts.

Although the concept of "mental openness" refers to a personality trait, it can be trained and developed through different techniques and steps, helping us to be more open to change, flexible and understanding.

In the workplace, having an open mind is extremely useful in those jobs that require creativity or are related to science and research. On the other hand, in our day to day, keep an open mind it helps us live without prejudice .


  • Related article: "The psychology of creativity and creative thinking"

6 steps to open our mind

As mentioned above, although mental openness is a personality trait, it is susceptible to being exercised and improved, thus providing us with several benefits at a personal, social and professional level.

Next we will see a series of techniques or methods that can help us to develop mental openness.

1. Practice listening

Listening to other people gives us a lot of information about what surrounds us and most importantly, it provides us with other points of view about life that can give us another perspective of certain aspects of our world.

However, listening does not mean listening. This listening must be active, eliminating our prejudices and allowing other people to express their opinions. Always from the respect on the part of both sides.


  • Related article: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

2. Questioning things and ourselves

This includes both that which surrounds us and our own beliefs. Maintaining a critical stance with ourselves and with that which surrounds us is fundamental to developing mental openness, since this it does not imply that we have to blindly accept or believe everything that surrounds us .

People tend to assume as true what is transmitted to us by the media or society, as well as not to question what we have always believed.

However, to develop and maintain an open mind it is necessary that, from time to time, we reflect and question our own decisions, beliefs and customs, as well as the information that comes to us from other media.

3. Leave the comfort zone

Habitually, people tend to stay in those places or situations in which we feel safe, in which there are no risks and in which the unforeseen occur in the least number of possible occasions .

In this way, the person maintains a routine without contingencies or shocks, but also without incentives or motivations, and with the risk of developing a dependence on what this security provides.

This is called a "comfort zone" and although to a certain degree it is positive, we should not settle for it. A good way to get out of our comfort zone is go making small changes and actions that help us to get out of it little by little.

These small changes will give rise to larger ones and little by little we will get used to living new experiences that will help us to develop other perspectives of all that surrounds us and to expand the vision of our reality.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to get out of your comfort zone? 7 keys to achieve it"

4. Do not be afraid to be different

This step is closely related to the previous two. Assume as own the customs and behaviors imposed on us by society , will not help us develop mental openness.

To get rid of them, the first step is to eliminate the fear of being different from the rest, as well as to minimize the importance of what other people may think of us.

5. Do not fear mistakes

At the very moment when we decide to leave our comfort zone and open our mind to other beliefs or life experiences, we must accept that it is possible for us to make mistakes in many moments of our lives.

However, this can not be a barrier when it comes to improving our well-being. Mistake gives us the opportunity to learn from our mistakes , and these lessons will help us develop and grow as more complete people.

Therefore, it is necessary to get rid of the fear of making mistakes. Since it is impossible to develop an open mind if fear conditions us both to think and to act.

6. Open ourselves to what surrounds us

The world around us, people, things, nature, can serve as a stimulus and inspiration for any area of ​​our life .

Learning from other people and cultures will provide us with new ideas and points of view that can serve us in the future. And doing it continuously will help us to keep an open mind and enjoy our life much more.

Benefits of keeping an open mind

Once we are aware of what we want to achieve and the steps or techniques we need to follow to achieve it, we can begin to enjoy all those benefits that an open mind can provide us.

Among the advantages of mental openness are the following:

  • Ability to enjoy life to the fullest.
  • Greater productivity and excellence at work.
  • Ability to accept changes and carry them out successfully.
  • Improve the quality of our relationships.
  • Be alert to new opportunities .
  • Ability to solve problems more easily.

How To Reprogram Your Mind (for Positive Thinking) (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment ouvrir l'esprit? Clés pour adopter de nouvelles perspectives

Comment ouvrir l'esprit? Clés pour adopter de nouvelles perspectives

Mai 20, 2022

Il y a de nombreuses années, Albert Einstein avait déclaré: "L'esprit est un parachute, il ne fonctionne que lorsqu'il est ouvert."

Tout au long de cet article, nous allons parler de comment ouvrir l'esprit , ainsi que l’importance de l’ouverture d’esprit et les avantages d’une attitude ouverte au changement.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "3 aspects importants pour s'adapter à un nouveau pays"

La mentalité flexible

De toute évidence, le fait de vivre en gardant l'esprit ouvert peut nous procurer de nombreux avantages, à la fois lorsque vous vivez des émotions positives, et que vous percevez et profitez des innombrables opportunités qui nous sont présentées.


Garder l'esprit ouvert est essentiel au bien-être personnel et la gestion du stress, ainsi que pour nous aider à atteindre nos objectifs vitaux et à entretenir de bonnes relations avec le reste de la société. Après tout, c’est notre capacité à nous adapter cognitivement et émotionnellement à ces changements de la vie que nous ne pouvons pas rester impassibles, vivant avec nos vieilles habitudes et nos raccourcis mentaux.

Bien que le concept d '"ouverture mentale" fasse référence à un trait de personnalité, il peut être formé et développé à l'aide de différentes techniques et étapes, nous aidant ainsi à être plus ouverts au changement, flexibles et compréhensifs.

Sur le lieu de travail, avoir l'esprit ouvert est extrêmement utile dans les emplois qui nécessitent de la créativité ou qui sont liés à la science et à la recherche. D'autre part, dans notre quotidien, gardez l'esprit ouvert cela nous aide à vivre sans préjugés .


  • Article connexe: "La psychologie de la créativité et de la pensée créatrice"

6 étapes pour ouvrir notre esprit

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, bien que l'ouverture mentale soit un trait de personnalité, elle est susceptible d'être exercée et améliorée, nous procurant ainsi plusieurs avantages aux niveaux personnel, social et professionnel.

Ensuite, nous verrons une série de techniques ou de méthodes qui peuvent nous aider à développer une ouverture mentale.

1. Pratiquez l'écoute

L’écoute des autres nous donne beaucoup d’informations sur ce qui nous entoure et surtout, il nous fournit d'autres points de vue sur la vie qui peut nous donner une autre perspective de certains aspects de notre monde.

Cependant, écouter ne signifie pas écouter. Cette écoute doit être active, en éliminant nos préjugés et en permettant aux autres d’exprimer leurs opinions. Toujours du respect des deux côtés.


  • Article connexe: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

2. S'interroger sur soi-même

Cela inclut à la fois ce qui nous entoure et nos propres croyances. Maintenir une position critique avec nous-mêmes et avec ce qui nous entoure est fondamental pour développer une ouverture mentale, car cela cela ne signifie pas que nous devons accepter ou croire aveuglément tout ce qui nous entoure .

Les gens ont tendance à assumer comme vrais ce qui nous est transmis par les médias ou la société, et à ne pas remettre en question ce que nous avons toujours cru.

Cependant, pour développer et conserver un esprit ouvert, il est nécessaire que, de temps en temps, nous réfléchissions et remettions en question nos propres décisions, croyances et coutumes, ainsi que les informations qui nous parviennent d'autres médias.

3. Quittez la zone de confort

Habituellement, les gens ont tendance à rester dans des endroits ou des situations dans lesquels nous nous sentons en sécurité, dans lesquels il n'y a pas de risque et dans lesquels les imprévus se produisent dans le plus petit nombre d'occasions possibles .

De cette manière, la personne maintient une routine sans imprévus ni chocs, mais aussi sans motivation ni incitation et avec le risque de développer une dépendance vis-à-vis de ce que cette sécurité procure.

C'est ce qu'on appelle une "zone de confort" et même si, dans une certaine mesure, c'est positif, nous ne devrions pas nous en contenter. Un bon moyen de sortir de notre zone de confort est aller faire de petits changements et des actions qui nous aident à en sortir petit à petit.

Ces petits changements donneront lieu à des changements plus importants et nous nous habituerons peu à peu à de nouvelles expériences qui nous aideront à développer d'autres perspectives de tout ce qui nous entoure et à élargir la vision de notre réalité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Comment sortir de votre zone de confort? 7 clés pour y parvenir"

4. N'ayez pas peur d'être différent

Cette étape est étroitement liée aux deux précédentes. Assumer comme propre les coutumes et les comportements imposés par la société , ne nous aidera pas à développer une ouverture mentale.

Pour s'en débarrasser, la première étape consiste à éliminer la peur d'être différent des autres et à minimiser l'importance de ce que les autres peuvent penser de nous.

5. Ne craignez pas les erreurs

Au moment même où nous décidons de quitter notre zone de confort et d'ouvrir notre esprit à d'autres croyances ou expériences de la vie, nous devons accepter le fait qu'il est possible pour nous de faire des erreurs à plusieurs moments de notre vie.

Cependant, cela ne peut pas être un obstacle pour améliorer notre bien-être. Erreur nous donne l'occasion d'apprendre de nos erreurs et ces leçons nous aideront à nous développer et à nous développer en tant que personnes plus complètes.

Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de se débarrasser de la peur de commettre des erreurs. Puisqu'il est impossible de développer un esprit ouvert si la peur nous conditionne à la fois à penser et à agir.

6. Ouvrez-vous à ce qui nous entoure

Le monde qui nous entoure, les gens, les choses, la nature, peuvent servir de stimulant et d'inspiration pour tous les domaines de notre vie .

Apprendre d’autres personnes et de cultures nous apportera de nouvelles idées et points de vue qui pourront nous servir à l’avenir. Et le faire continuellement nous aidera à garder l'esprit ouvert et à profiter de notre vie beaucoup plus.

Avantages de garder l'esprit ouvert

Une fois que nous sommes conscients de ce que nous voulons réaliser et des étapes ou techniques que nous devons suivre pour y parvenir, nous pouvons commencer à profiter de tous les avantages qu'un esprit ouvert peut nous fournir.

Parmi les avantages de l'ouverture mentale, il y a les suivants:

  • Capacité à profiter de la vie au maximum.
  • Plus de productivité et d’excellence au travail.
  • Capacité d'accepter les changements et les mener à bien.
  • Améliorer la qualité de nos relations.
  • Soyez attentif aux nouvelles opportunités .
  • Capacité à résoudre les problèmes plus facilement.
Articles Connexes