yes, therapy helps!
How to speak clearly so that others understand you: 5 tips

How to speak clearly so that others understand you: 5 tips

June 12, 2024

There are people who, regardless of how much they like to talk, they have problems when it comes to making themselves understood when they do it

Many people express themselves spontaneously and naturally, while for others it is something a little more complex, a task that requires a greater degree of concentration and voluntary control of the speech and the message that is transmitted. It is normal, each individual has its strengths and its imperfections. In this article we will focus precisely on the difficulties when communicating verbally. How to speak clearly and be understood?

  • Related article: "Fear of talking to people: 4 techniques to overcome it"

The problems of expression in the use of language

Language makes us able to describe almost any real or imagined phenomenon and that other people are able to understand the meaning of what we say. It sounds normal and current, but in reality it's extraordinary: basically, we are able to transmit very accurate information and, in addition, introduce "mental images" or ideas in the mind of the listener, the interlocutor.


What makes this skill unique is that we can adapt our words, our sentences and our discourse in general to the circumstances, taking into account not only the content of what we want to say but also the way in which the context can modify Grant meaning of what has been said. It can be said that all the spoken or written messages we issue are unique, because the contexts in which they are created are also unique.

But nevertheless, this adaptive, dynamic and fluid nature of language It also makes it relatively easy to create confusion and misunderstandings.

  • You may be interested: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Tips on how to speak clearly and be understood

We all sometimes fall into an error when it comes to expressing ourselves or when interpreting what we read or hear, and these errors are, to some extent, shared by the sender and the receiver (less in the case that we try cheat, of course).


In any case, some people are especially prone to generate, involuntarily, difficult-to-interpret messages that usually cause misunderstanding . The following tips to speak clearly can help to improve in this aspect, because the use of language is something learned and modifiable through proper training.

Of course, this series of tips are aimed at helping in the psychological and behavioral aspect of education. If the basis of the problem is an organic alteration of the parts of the body responsible for articulating speech, whether based on muscles, bones or specific areas of the nervous system (including brain, of course). In this type of case, the best possible solution will necessarily pass through the doctor and in the guidelines given to you as a patient.

1. Speak more slowly

This first step is not only in itself a piece of advice that will help you speak in a clearer way; it will also make it easier for you to follow the other tips . It consists not so much in placing pauses here and there in your speech, but in slowing down in general your way of speaking, that is, that it should affect all the words you utter, up to a point. Do tests at home to make sure you do not reach a level of slowness that is artificial. Think that the key is constancy. Trying it once or letting a lot of time pass between sessions will not do much good.


Think that reducing the speed of speech does not have to be a bad thing from the perspective of those who listen to you. There are people who almost always speak in a relatively slow way and, although in some contexts it may draw a little attention, in others it is even positive, because if it is a well-used resource, it adds importance to what is said and it gives a certain authority.

In any case, this step does not have to mark your way of speaking indefinitely, but as we have already mentioned, it is rather an aid to facilitate familiarization with the rest of the tips.

2. Avoid strange references

Many times, communication problems come because to express ourselves we use unknown references for the other person . This happens especially when talking with people who do not belong to our closest social circle or who have a cultural background very different from ours.

The main problem is that in these situations the reference to a book or a movie, for example, does not even have to be understood as such. In this way very confusing situations are created in which the other person does not know exactly what has been said, nor how to respond, since it lacks clues to interpret our intentions in saying that, or even if we said what we wanted or we had a confusion of words.

Therefore, it is advisable to be guided by the information we have about our interlocutor to more or less estimate which cultural areas have more or less knowledge and, from there, to use references, as we should not give up using this resource in our conversations (since they enrich the dialogues and make them stimulating).

Of course, in any case, we must pay attention to, just after using them, see by the expression of the other person if they have been understood or not and, if not, clarify what was meant .

3. Check if you project the voice well

In some cases, the problem when it comes to expressing oneself has to do simply because it is spoken very low, and the rest almost do not listen to us. This can be for several reasons, but the most common is shyness. Those who are very shy and worry about what other people may think about them, they try to "mask" their speech so that possible errors go unnoticed ... at the price that everything they say goes unnoticed.

In this case, it is good to combine voice projection exercises in front of a mirror, as well as to work on the most psychological part of shyness, either alone or with the help of psychologists.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 differences between shyness and social phobia"

4. Practice pronunciation

This advice is simple and complicated at the same time. If you want to speak clearly, you will have to internalize the pattern of muscular movements that leads you to articulate the words well, without errors. For that there is no other remedy to practice, but paying attention to the mistakes and, instead of being ashamed of them, take them as a challenge and repeat what has been said , this time correctly.


Over time, the habit of paying attention to what is said It makes it easier to prevent these mistakes before you comets by making sounds that do not touch or by changing words.

5. ... or seek help

In case this type of problems are very complicated, it is worth it to go to the consultation of speech therapists or professionals trained in the field of this type of training, sui well each one will offer different guarantees from their training experience. Choose depending on the type of problem you have detected when expressing yourself : it is not the same to have pronunciation problems as in the relative disorganization of what is said.


How to speak so that people want to listen | Julian Treasure (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment parler clairement pour que les autres vous comprennent: 5 conseils

Comment parler clairement pour que les autres vous comprennent: 5 conseils

Septembre 12, 2022

Il y a des gens qui, peu importe combien ils aiment parler, ils ont des problèmes quand il s'agit de se faire comprendre quand ils le font

Beaucoup de gens s’expriment spontanément et naturellement, alors que pour d’autres, c’est quelque chose d’un peu plus complexe, une tâche qui nécessite davantage de concentration et un contrôle volontaire du discours et du message transmis. C'est normal, chaque individu a ses forces et ses imperfections. Dans cet article, nous nous concentrerons précisément sur les difficultés lors de la communication verbale. Comment parler clairement et se faire comprendre?

  • Article connexe: "Peur de parler aux gens: 4 techniques pour la surmonter"

Les problèmes d'expression dans l'usage du langage

Le langage nous permet de décrire presque n'importe quel phénomène réel ou imaginaire et que d'autres personnes sont capables de comprendre le sens de ce que nous disons. Cela semble normal et actuel, mais en réalité c'est extraordinaire: en gros, nous sommes en mesure de transmettre des informations très précises et, en outre, introduisez des "images mentales" ou des idées dans l'esprit de l'auditeur, l'interlocuteur.


Ce qui rend cette compétence unique, c'est que nous pouvons adapter nos paroles, nos phrases et notre discours en général aux circonstances, en tenant compte non seulement du contenu de ce que nous voulons dire, mais également de la manière dont le contexte peut être modifié Donne un sens à ce qui a été dit. On peut dire que tous les messages parlés ou écrits que nous publions sont uniques, car les contextes dans lesquels ils sont créés sont également uniques.

Cependant, cette nature adaptative, dynamique et fluide du langage Il est également relativement facile de créer de la confusion et des malentendus.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Conseils sur la façon de parler clairement et d'être compris

Nous tombons parfois tous dans une erreur d’expression ou d’interprétation de ce que nous lisons ou entendons, et ces erreurs sont, dans une certaine mesure, partagées par l’expéditeur et le destinataire (moins dans le cas où nous essayons). triche, bien sûr).


Dans tous les cas, certaines personnes sont particulièrement enclines à générer, involontairement, des messages difficiles à interpréter qui causent généralement un malentendu . Les conseils suivants pour parler clairement peuvent aider à améliorer cet aspect, car l'utilisation de la langue est une chose apprise et modifiable par une formation appropriée.

Bien entendu, cette série de conseils vise à aider les aspects psychologiques et comportementaux de l’éducation. Si la base du problème est une altération organique des parties du corps responsables de l'articulation de la parole, qu'elle soit basée sur les muscles, les os ou des zones spécifiques du système nerveux (y compris le cerveau, bien entendu). Dans ce type de cas, la meilleure solution possible passera nécessairement par le médecin et dans les directives qui vous sont données en tant que patient.

1. Parlez plus lentement

Cette première étape n’est pas seulement un conseil qui vous aidera à parler plus clairement; il vous sera également plus facile de suivre les autres conseils. . Cela ne consiste pas tant à placer des pauses ici ou là dans votre discours, mais à ralentir votre façon de parler, c'est-à-dire qu'elle devrait affecter tous les mots que vous prononcez jusqu'à un certain point. Faites des tests à la maison pour vous assurer de ne pas atteindre un niveau de lenteur artificiel. Pensez que la clé est la constance. L'essayer une fois ou laisser beaucoup de temps entre les sessions ne fera pas beaucoup de bien.


Pensez que réduire la vitesse de parole ne doit pas nécessairement être une mauvaise chose du point de vue de ceux qui vous écoutent. Il y a des gens qui parlent presque toujours assez lentement et, même si dans certains contextes, cela peut attirer un peu d'attention, dans d'autres c'est même positif, parce que si c'est une ressource bien utilisée, cela ajoute de l'importance à ce qui est dit et cela donne une certaine autorité.

Dans tous les cas, cette étape ne doit pas marquer votre façon de parler indéfiniment, mais comme nous l'avons déjà mentionné, c'est plutôt une aide pour faciliter la familiarisation avec le reste des conseils.

2. Évitez les références étranges

Plusieurs fois, les problèmes de communication viennent parce que pour nous exprimer nous utilisons des références inconnues pour l'autre personne . Cela se produit surtout lorsque vous parlez à des personnes qui n'appartiennent pas à notre cercle social le plus proche ou qui ont des antécédents culturels très différents des nôtres.

Le principal problème est que, dans ces situations, la référence à un livre ou à un film, par exemple, n’a même pas besoin d’être comprise en tant que telle. De cette façon, des situations très déroutantes sont créées dans lequel l'autre personne ne sait pas exactement ce qui a été dit, ni comment y répondre, car il manque d'indices pour interpréter nos intentions en le disant, ou même si nous disions ce que nous voulions ou si nous avions une confusion des mots.

Par conséquent, il est conseillé de s’inspirer des informations dont nous disposons sur notre interlocuteur pour estimer plus ou moins quelles zones culturelles ont plus ou moins de connaissances et, à partir de là, utiliser des références, car nous ne devons pas renoncer à utiliser cette ressource nos conversations (puisqu'elles enrichissent les dialogues et les rendent stimulantes).

Bien sûr, dans tous les cas, nous devons faire attention, juste après les avoir utilisés, voir à l’expression de l’autre personne s’ils ont été compris ou non et, dans le cas contraire, clarifier le sens .

3. Vérifiez si vous projetez bien la voix

Dans certains cas, le problème s’exprimant du fait de s’exprimer est tout simplement parce qu’il est parlé très bas et que les autres ne nous écoutent presque pas. Cela peut être dû à plusieurs raisons, mais la plus commune est la timidité. Ceux qui sont très timides et qui s’inquiètent de ce que les autres peuvent penser d’eux, ils essaient de "masquer" leur discours pour que les erreurs éventuelles passent inaperçues ... au prix que tout ce qu'ils disent passe inaperçu.

Dans ce cas, il est bon de combiner des exercices de projection vocale devant un miroir et de travailler sur la partie la plus psychologique de la timidité, soit seul, soit avec l’aide de psychologues.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 4 différences entre timidité et phobie sociale"

4. Pratique de la prononciation

Ce conseil est simple et compliqué à la fois. Si vous voulez parler clairement, vous devrez intérioriser le modèle de mouvements musculaires qui vous amène à bien articuler les mots, sans erreur. Pour cela, il n’ya pas d’autre remède à pratiquer que de prêter attention aux erreurs et, au lieu d’en avoir honte, prends-les comme un défi et répète ce qui a été dit , cette fois correctement.


Avec le temps, l'habitude de faire attention à ce qui est dit Il est plus facile de prévenir ces erreurs avant de devenir comète en émettant des sons qui ne se touchent pas ou en changeant de mots.

5. ... ou demander de l'aide

Dans le cas où ce type de problèmes est très compliqué, il vaut la peine de consulter des orthophonistes ou des professionnels formés dans le domaine de ce type de formation, chacun offrant des garanties différentes de celles de son expérience de formation. Choisissez en fonction du type de problème que vous avez détecté en vous exprimant : ce n’est pas la même chose d’avoir des problèmes de prononciation que dans la désorganisation relative de ce qui est dit.


Règle 1 "Le secret pour améliorer votre français" - Apprendre le français avec Français Authentique (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes