yes, therapy helps!
How to stop being afraid of love: 5 tips

How to stop being afraid of love: 5 tips

October 1, 2022

There are those who, when it comes to love, prefer not to leave their comfort zone and remain in a healthy bachelorhood. But, on occasion, this vital option is seen not so much as the fruit of a decision made freely, but as an imposition; the world forces us not to bet on falling in love, but deep down we would like not to renounce that experience and deepen it. The fear of love is something that limits our freedom.

So, how can you stop fearing love? It is not an easy task, since this kind of psychological problems and conflicts are based on emotions deeply rooted in preconceived beliefs about both the environment and ourselves. However, it is possible to "train" in other ways of thinking and feeling that they serve our interests and improve our quality of life.


  • Related article: "Psychology of love: that's how our brain changes when we find a partner"

Stop being afraid of love: what to do?

Falling in love is one of the phenomena that marks a before and after in our lives. The torrent of emotions that produces love fills practically all facets of everyday life , to the point where recurrent mental ideas and images may appear.

But, in the same way as it happens in many other experiences, in love it also entails certain costs. Some of them have to do with the investment in time, effort and resources necessary to maintain a functional love relationship, and therefore it is already known in advance that this kind of sacrifice will have to be addressed. But others are probabilistic: they may or may not occur. The lack of love is an example of the latter.


As a consequence, many people develop a fear of love or falling in love, so that they deny themselves the possibility of being with someone on a regular basis retaining that kind of affective bond.

But sometimes, the same person may have contradictory interests. That is why the concept of fear of love makes sense: where it appears, what happens is not that after reasoning it, it is concluded that initiating a relationship does not compensate taking into account the objective situation in which one lives, but that, regardless of the time and context, the possibility of falling in love or living the love with another person is feared whatever it is.

Then we will review a series of tips on how to stop being afraid of love, in steps that must be adapted to each case.

1. Concrete what you fear

A fear can be broken down into a series of experiences or more concrete consequences that are those that we really want to avoid. To begin to stop being afraid of love, it is necessary to try to be very aware of the true causes of this phenomenon .


For this, we must go through an initial stage of self-discovery. In this case, you have to analyze what are the forecasts and the mental images that we associate with what would happen if we did not renounce love, and write them down in a document that we will only use ourselves and that we do not have to share with anyone.

Once this is done, try to group these fears according to whether they meet these criteria.

  • Does it have to do with your self-esteem or self-concept?
  • Does it have to do with the fear of losing that person?
  • Does it have to do with what they will say?
  • Does it have to do with sex?

Once this is done, you will have a directory or "map" of the problem. Possibly one of the previous categories will be adjusted much more than the others to our case, or at most two. With that, we will know where to direct our efforts : if you think the problem is sexual, it would be best to attend therapy with sexologists; If the problem is in what they will say, the problem will be based on your relationship with the people around you or on how you interpret those relationships.

Then we will focus on cases in which the fear of love arises from problems of self-esteem, self-concept or fear of loss, which are the most common.

2. Review your idea of ​​love

It is very possible that, although it sounds paradoxical, you have idealized the experience of love. The image given by other couples is usually positive , because by social pressure they try not to show their imperfections, and in the same way the world of cinema has tried for years to normalize a type of romantic relationships that fit the romantic ideal according to which even after going through serious problems originated by External circumstances, two lovers come to fit perfectly.

Thus, the problems of self-esteem are able to facilitate the appearance of the thought that we are not prepared to embark on a lifestyle so sublime and perfect, that only fully self-realized people can afford that luxury.

But this is a mistake, given that the most usual thing is that there is a certain degree of conflict in all couples , for the simple fact of being two individuals with different interests and points of view. Even identical twins do not spend their lives without arguing with each other, so in intimate relationships, where intimate relationships are more common in adult life, these tensions are more likely to be there.

In this sense, in order to solve this, we have to modify our beliefs about love relationships as well as what we are and what we are capable of. Relationships, in the end, only require very basic ingredients governed by the intuitive: empathy, love, and willingness to strive to live well with the other person and learn all the daily routines for it.

3. Take perspective on past experiences

It is very frequent that the fact of having gone through bad experiences in love generates a rejection of falling in love. When this happens, to begin to feel those emotions for someone is seen as a problem that comes to obsess, because there is no clear way to prevent feelings from taking their course, unless you try to avoid that person , completely altering our quality of life and giving reasons for the appearance of anxiety and a certain paranoia in case we are going to find it.

But we must be clear that the problems that occurred in previous failures are not "the essence" of love itself, but problems occurred in a relational dynamic . Each couple relationship is to some extent something unique, and if an ex-boyfriend gave problems, that does not mean that the next will also happen the same. Sometimes we forget that life is not so long that we have a realistic picture of what loving relationships are like with most people.

  • Related article: "The 6 main types of toxic relationships"

4. Think that the resignation is also a cost

Losing someone for whom love is felt is a cost, but also avoiding giving an opportunity to falling in love by evading those experiences. Even if you do not have key moments, the discomfort generated by that resignation stretches in time , and it's something for which you pay every day. To stop self-imposing the prohibition of having a love life entails an instant triumph, even if at that moment there is no one to love and start a life as a couple.

5. If you need it, go to psychologists

If the problem is so serious that it supposes you a constant concern, you value going to the psychologist. Through therapy it is possible to make great advances Having a person from a professional and healthy distance can help us "train" a new philosophy of life.


Stop Being Afraid to Love: 5 Tips (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment arrêter d'avoir peur de l'amour: 5 conseils

Comment arrêter d'avoir peur de l'amour: 5 conseils

Juillet 25, 2022

Il y a ceux qui, en matière d'amour, préfèrent ne pas quitter leur zone de confort et rester en bonne santé. Mais, à l'occasion, cette option vitale est considérée non pas comme le fruit d'une décision prise librement, mais comme une imposition; le monde nous oblige à ne pas parier sur l'amour, mais au fond, nous voudrions ne pas renoncer à cette expérience et l'approfondir. La peur de l'amour est quelque chose qui limite notre liberté.

Alors, comment pouvez-vous arrêter de craindre l'amour? Ce n'est pas une tâche facile, car ce type de problèmes psychologiques et de conflits repose sur des émotions profondément enracinées dans des idées préconçues sur l'environnement et sur nous-mêmes. Cependant, il est possible de "s'entraîner" à d'autres manières de penser et de penser qu'elles servent nos intérêts et améliorent notre qualité de vie.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de l'amour: c'est ainsi que notre cerveau change lorsque nous trouvons un partenaire"

Arrête d'avoir peur de l'amour: que faire?

Tomber amoureux est l'un des phénomènes qui marquent un avant et un après dans nos vies. Le torrent d'émotions qui produit l'amour remplit pratiquement toutes les facettes de la vie quotidienne , au point où des idées mentales et des images récurrentes peuvent apparaître.

Mais, de la même manière que cela se produit dans de nombreuses autres expériences, cela entraîne certains coûts en amour. Certaines d'entre elles concernent l'investissement en temps, en efforts et en ressources nécessaires au maintien d'une relation amoureuse fonctionnelle. Par conséquent, on sait déjà à l'avance que ce type de sacrifice devra être pris en compte. Mais d'autres sont probabilistes: ils peuvent ou non se produire. Le manque d'amour est un exemple de ce dernier.


En conséquence, beaucoup de gens développent une peur de l'amour ou de tomber amoureux, de sorte que ils se refusent la possibilité d'être régulièrement avec quelqu'un conserver ce genre de lien affectif.

Mais parfois, la même personne peut avoir des intérêts contradictoires. C’est la raison pour laquelle le concept de peur de l’amour a un sens: là où il apparaît, ce n’est pas qu’après avoir bien raisonné, on conclut que l’instauration d’une relation ne compense pas en tenant compte de la situation objective dans laquelle on vit, que, quels que soient le temps et le contexte, on craint la possibilité de tomber amoureux ou de vivre l'amour avec une autre personne quoi que ce soit.

Ensuite, nous passerons en revue une série de conseils sur la manière de ne plus avoir peur de l’amour, en étapes à adapter à chaque cas.

1. Concrétisez ce que vous craignez

Une peur peut être décomposée en une série d’expériences ou de conséquences plus concrètes que nous voulons vraiment éviter. Pour commencer à cesser d'avoir peur de l'amour, il est nécessaire d'essayer de être très conscient des vraies causes de ce phénomène .


Pour cela, nous devons passer par une première étape de découverte de soi. Dans ce cas, vous devez analyser quelles sont les prévisions et les images mentales que nous nous associons à ce qui arriverait si nous ne renonçions pas à l'amour et les écrivions dans un document que nous n'utiliserons que nous-mêmes et que nous n'aurons pas à partager avec qui que ce soit.

Une fois que cela est fait, essayez de regrouper ces craintes selon qu'elles répondent ou non à ces critères.

  • Est-ce que cela a à voir avec votre estime de soi ou votre concept de soi?
  • Est-ce que cela a à voir avec la peur de perdre cette personne?
  • Est-ce que cela a à voir avec ce qu'ils vont dire?
  • Est-ce que cela a à voir avec le sexe?

Une fois que cela est fait, vous aurez un répertoire ou une "carte" du problème. Peut-être une des catégories précédentes sera ajustée beaucoup plus que les autres à notre cas, ou au plus deux. Avec cela, nous saurons où diriger nos efforts : si vous pensez que le problème est sexuel, il serait préférable d'assister à une thérapie avec des sexologues; Si le problème réside dans ce qu'ils vont dire, le problème sera basé sur votre relation avec les personnes qui vous entourent ou sur la façon dont vous interprétez ces relations.

Nous nous intéresserons ensuite aux cas dans lesquels la peur de l’amour découle de problèmes d’estime de soi, de concept de soi ou de crainte de perdre, qui sont les problèmes les plus courants.

2. Révisez votre idée de l'amour

Il est fort possible que, même si cela semble paradoxal, vous ayez idéalisé l'expérience de l'amour. L'image donnée par les autres couples est généralement positive parce que, par la pression sociale, ils essaient de ne pas montrer leurs imperfections et, de la même manière, le monde du cinéma essaie depuis des années de normaliser un type de relation amoureuse qui correspond à l’idéal romantique selon lequel même après avoir traversé de graves problèmes nés de Les circonstances extérieures, deux amoureux viennent à s'intégrer parfaitement.

Ainsi, les problèmes d’estime de soi sont en mesure de faciliter l’apparition de la pensée que nous ne sommes pas prêts à nous lancer dans un style de vie si sublime et parfait que seules des personnes pleinement réalistes peuvent se permettre ce luxe.

Mais c’est une erreur, étant donné que la chose la plus courante est qu'il existe un certain degré de conflit dans tous les couples , pour le simple fait d’être deux personnes ayant des intérêts et des points de vue différents. Même des jumeaux identiques ne passent pas leur vie sans se disputer. Ainsi, dans les relations intimes, où les relations intimes sont plus courantes à l'âge adulte, ces tensions ont plus de chances d'être présentes.

En ce sens, afin de résoudre ce problème, nous devons modifier nos croyances sur les relations amoureuses ainsi que sur ce que nous sommes et ce dont nous sommes capables. En fin de compte, les relations n’exigent que des ingrédients de base, régis par l’intuition: empathie, amour et volonté de s’efforcer de bien vivre avec l’autre et d’apprendre toutes les routines quotidiennes qui y sont liées.

3. Prendre en perspective les expériences passées

Il est très fréquent que le fait d'avoir vécu de mauvaises expériences amoureuses engendre un refus de tomber amoureux. Lorsque cela se produit, commencer à ressentir ces émotions chez quelqu'un est considéré comme un problème qui devient obsédé, car il n'existe pas de moyen clair d'empêcher les sentiments de suivre leur cours, sauf si vous essayez d'éviter cette personne , altérant complètement notre qualité de vie et donnant les raisons de l’apparition de l’anxiété et d’une certaine paranoïa au cas où nous le trouverions.

Mais il faut bien comprendre que les problèmes rencontrés lors des échecs précédents ne sont pas "l'essence" de l'amour en soi, mais des problèmes sont survenus dans une dynamique relationnelle . Chaque relation de couple est dans une certaine mesure quelque chose d'unique, et si un ex-petit ami a donné des problèmes, cela ne signifie pas que la suivante se produira de la même manière. Parfois, nous oublions que la vie n’est pas si longue que nous avons une image réaliste de ce que sont les relations amoureuses avec la plupart des gens.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 principaux types de relations toxiques"

4. Pense que la démission est aussi un coût

Perdre quelqu'un pour qui l'amour est ressenti est un coût, mais aussi éviter de donner l'occasion de tomber amoureux en évitant ces expériences. Même si vous n'avez pas de moments clés, l'inconfort généré par cette démission s'étend dans le temps et c’est quelque chose que vous payez tous les jours. Cesser de s'imposer soi-même l'interdiction d'avoir une vie amoureuse implique un triomphe instantané, même si à ce moment-là, il n'y a personne pour aimer et commencer une vie de couple.

5. Si vous en avez besoin, allez chez un psychologue

Si le problème est si grave qu'il suppose une préoccupation constante, il vaut la peine d'aller chez le psychologue. Grâce à la thérapie, il est possible de faire de grands progrès Avoir une personne de distance professionnelle et saine peut nous aider à "former" une nouvelle philosophie de la vie.


Comment ne plus avoir peur en 8 étapes - #WUC 154 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes