yes, therapy helps!
How to support gay teens

How to support gay teens

January 21, 2023

Homosexuality continues to be a source of stigma in the great majority of the countries of the world, not to mention that it is in practically all. The beliefs based on tradition, which spread an essentialistic and unscientific view of what is human sexuality, makes for some people being homosexual implies going against nature (although that does not mean anything).

The effects of discrimination against sexual preferences that are outside of heterosexuality they are especially fed with gay teens , which are in the process of forming their own identity and are more vulnerable to attacks that undermine their personality and prevent them from expressing themselves as they are.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Why the idea that homosexuality is unnatural is absurd, in 5 reasons"

Tips to support gay teens

In the following lines we will see some guidelines to follow to help that homosexual teenagers in our environment feel accepted, supported and respected , in addition to ensuring that they are not afraid to show their tastes and preferences as any person would.

1. Learn the basics of gender and sexuality

This step is essential, as it will avoid confusion in dealing with these young people. The fact that for centuries it has been considered that "normal" is heterosexuality has made this is associated with many other things related to gender which have also been considered normal and socially desirable.


For example, there are those who understand that being homosexual is feeling of a gender that does not correspond to the one denoted by their genitals, or having attitudes and actions associated with those of the opposite sex to theirs.

Therefore, we must distinguish between biological sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender roles. Gender identity consists of the gender to which one's own identity is associated (although there are also people who do not identify with any), and gender roles are the set of tasks, actions and behavior styles that have been socially assigned. to a genre.

2. Keep in mind that homosexuality is not something exotic

You can not treat a homosexual teenager as if it were a museum piece. That is, what behaviors like asking a lot of questions about their lifestyle and their sexual preferences. One thing is to worry because you feel comfortable, and another is to overwhelm you reminding him again and again of his orientation; In that context, it is normal for him to consider that there is something strange about him.


3. Help him understand that he is not to blame for the discrimination

Unfortunately, it is still normal for homosexual people to suffer psychological or even physical attacks because they are so. But the main harmful effect of this is not usually the acute discomfort generated by each attack, but the way in which these experiences can lead to thinking about oneself. The theory of the just world He explains that there is a tendency to think that in clear cases of suffering, it is likely that the victim has done something to deserve it, and this also applies to self-concept.

Thus, in the face of continued attacks, the idea that if there is so much hatred must be for a legitimate reason, it gains strength, and this not only undermines self-esteem, but leads to confusion about what is and what is must do to deserve to live in peace.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Fair World Theory: do we have what we deserve?"

4. Listen to your real concerns

Each case is unique, so you have to know how to adapt to the person you are dealing with. In the case of young homosexuals, it is easy that stereotypes make us take for granted things that really are not .

Therefore, we must listen carefully to what they explain about themselves, without letting our beliefs and schemes deform the content of their message. Only in this way will be known how to give support to gay teenagers correctly and without falling into simplicity.

5. Promote their integration in groups, but do not force them

In adolescence it is very important to feel accepted by a group. Unfortunately, young people of the new generations do not have to be more respectful than adults with a diversity of sexual orientations. In fact, in the case of males, there is a toxic masculinity that makes mistreatment frequent who gets out of the prototype of tough, violent and, of course, heterosexual man.

That is why it is good to help these young people with greater possibilities of being excluded find a group in which to integrate well. However, you have to be respectful of your preferences and interests, and not push to have them enter a specific group if they do not want to.

6. Show references beyond heterosexuality

It is very positive that adolescents find references that inspire them to develop their personality. In this sense, knowing someone who is homosexual and shows positive or even admirable values ​​is beneficial because it shows that this sexual orientation does not have to be a reason to be ashamed.


Gay teen records family's intervention (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment soutenir les adolescents gais

Comment soutenir les adolescents gais

Février 1, 2023

L'homosexualité continue d'être une source de stigmatisation dans la grande majorité des pays du monde, pour ne pas mentionner que c'est dans pratiquement tous. Les croyances fondées sur la tradition, qui répandent une vision essentialiste et non scientifique de la sexualité humaine, font que l'homosexualité de certaines personnes implique d'aller contre la nature (bien que cela ne veuille rien dire).

Les effets de la discrimination contre les préférences sexuelles hors hétérosexualité ils sont surtout nourris avec des adolescents gays , qui sont en train de former leur propre identité et sont plus vulnérables aux attaques qui sapent leur personnalité et les empêchent de s’exprimer telles qu’elles sont.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pourquoi l'idée que l'homosexualité n'est pas naturelle est absurde, pour 5 raisons"

Conseils pour soutenir les adolescents gais

Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons quelques directives à suivre pour vous aider que les adolescents homosexuels de notre environnement se sentent acceptés, soutenus et respectés , en plus de s’assurer qu’ils n’ont pas peur de montrer leurs goûts et leurs préférences comme le ferait toute autre personne.

1. Apprendre les bases du genre et de la sexualité

Cette étape est essentielle car elle évitera la confusion dans les relations avec ces jeunes. Le fait que pendant des siècles on a considéré que l’hétérosexualité était "normale" a rendu cette est associé à beaucoup d'autres choses liées au genre qui ont également été considérés comme normaux et socialement souhaitables.


Par exemple, il y a ceux qui comprennent qu'être homosexuel est un sentiment d'un genre qui ne correspond pas à celui indiqué par leurs organes génitaux, ou qui a des attitudes et des actions associées à celles du sexe opposé au leur.

Par conséquent, nous devons distinguer entre le sexe biologique, l'orientation sexuelle, l'identité de genre et les rôles de genre. L'identité de genre se compose du genre auquel l'identité propre est associée (bien qu'il y ait aussi des personnes qui ne s'identifient pas à aucune), et les rôles de genre sont l'ensemble des tâches, actions et styles de comportement assignés socialement. à un genre.

2. Gardez à l'esprit que l'homosexualité n'est pas quelque chose d'exotique

Vous ne pouvez pas traiter un adolescent homosexuel comme s'il s'agissait d'une pièce de musée. C’est-à-dire des comportements tels que poser beaucoup de questions sur leur mode de vie et leurs préférences sexuelles. Une chose est à craindre parce que vous vous sentez à l'aise, et une autre est de vous submerger en lui rappelant encore et encore son orientation; Dans ce contexte, il est normal pour lui de considérer qu'il a quelque chose d'étrange.


3. Aidez-le à comprendre qu'il n'est pas responsable de la discrimination

Malheureusement, il est encore normal que les homosexuels subissent des agressions psychologiques, voire physiques, parce qu'ils le sont. Mais le principal effet néfaste de ce phénomène n’est généralement pas le malaise aigu généré par chaque attaque, mais la manière dont ces expériences peuvent conduire à une réflexion sur soi-même. La théorie du monde juste Il explique qu'il y a une tendance à penser que dans les cas de souffrance évidents, il est probable que la victime a fait quelque chose pour le mériter, et cela s'applique également à l'image de soi.

Ainsi, face à la poursuite des attaques, l’idée que, si tant de haine doit exister pour une raison légitime, elle gagne en force, ce qui non seulement mine l’estime de soi, mais conduit à la confusion quant à ce qui est doit faire pour mériter de vivre en paix.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Fair World Theory: avons-nous ce que nous méritons?"

4. Écoutez vos vraies préoccupations

Chaque cas est unique, vous devez donc savoir vous adapter à la personne avec laquelle vous traitez. Dans le cas des jeunes homosexuels, il est facile que les stéréotypes nous font prendre pour acquis des choses qui ne sont vraiment pas .

Par conséquent, nous devons écouter attentivement ce qu’ils expliquent sur eux-mêmes, sans laisser nos croyances et nos stratagèmes déformer le contenu de leur message. C’est seulement ainsi que l’on saura comment apporter son soutien aux adolescents homosexuels correctement et sans tomber dans la simplicité.

5. Promouvoir leur intégration dans les groupes, mais ne les force pas

À l'adolescence, il est très important de se sentir accepté par un groupe. Malheureusement, les jeunes des nouvelles générations ne doivent pas être plus respectueux que les adultes avec une diversité d'orientations sexuelles. En fait, dans le cas des hommes, il y a une masculinité toxique qui rend les mauvais traitements fréquents qui sort du prototype de l'homme dur, violent et, bien sûr, hétérosexuel.

C’est pourquoi il est bon d’aider ces jeunes qui ont plus de chances d’être exclus à trouver un groupe dans lequel bien s’intégrer. Cependant, vous devez être respectueux de vos préférences et de vos intérêts, et ne pas les pousser à entrer dans un groupe spécifique s'ils ne le souhaitent pas.

6. Afficher les références au-delà de l'hétérosexualité

Il est très positif que les adolescents trouvent des références qui les incitent à développer leur personnalité. En ce sens, connaître quelqu'un qui est homosexuel et qui présente des valeurs positives, voire admirables, est bénéfique car il montre que cette orientation sexuelle ne doit pas nécessairement être une raison d'avoir honte.


COMMENT SAVOIR S'IL M'AIME SPECIAL ADO COLLEGE ???? (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes