yes, therapy helps!
How to think well: 9 keys to reason clearly

How to think well: 9 keys to reason clearly

November 27, 2021

If something characterizes the contemporary lifestyle (at least in Western countries) it is that the information abounds . With a couple of clicks we are able to access all kinds of data, lessons that only a few decades ago could only be accessed in certain libraries and museums. The technology has convesrtido in our second brain, one with photographic memory.

However, despite the great advantage that computing and the Internet have brought, our way of thinking remains the same as always. Which is bad, because before the bombing of information that we submit to each day is difficult to orient, take a reliable mental route through which to reach a solid conclusion.


Therefore, it will be useful to start taking control of your own decisions and lines of reasoning by helping you with the tips to think well that you can read below .

  • Related article: "The 9 types of thought and their characteristics"

How to think well?

The downside of having the ability to create virtually any imaginable concept is that it is very easy to get lost in that labyrinth of opinions, beliefs and ideas that inhabit our brains. But knowing how to build thought processes that are reliable is not entirely impossible. Keep in mind the keys you will read below.

1. Beware of polysemy

There are many occasions in which the same word changes meaning in the middle of the reasoning that we were following or that another person exposes, without us noticing. This happens a lot, for example, with the etymological fallacy , which consists in pretending that a word means only what its etymology denotes.


For example, if someone says that the marriage between two men should not exist because the etymology of the word indicates the presence of women in this act, it is using two different concepts: traditional conception of marriage and the modern conception of it, mixing them without justification.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies"

2. Avoid the false dichotomy

There are people who try to give themselves the reason explaining, directly or more or less disguised, that if you do not give them the reason you are part of a despicable group of people to whom almost nobody wants to belong: fascists, fanatics, etc. You must detect this strategy and realize that you do not have to belong to a group of people simply because you share a quality with them (being at odds with your interlocutor, for example).


3. Memorizing is not always the solution

Many times, it is much more useful to remember how you can access a type of information than to memorize the information itself.

  • You may be interested: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?"

4. Set yourself sequential patterns

One of the most important aspects of thinking well is to organize correctly, also in the psychological.

For example, before more or less complex reasoning many people get very nervous thinking about what aspect of the problem to tackle first. Instead of that, forget the time and devote yourself to establishing a small plan with the "milestones" that must go fulfilling your thought until arriving at the goal, the final solution.

To do this, imagine a series of train stops and try to advance along that route, concentrating only on one objective at a time.

5. Do not be afraid of what you may think

One of the aspects of life that most limits our thinking is to be afraid of what others say, since this may cause us to give up thinking about something every time we sense that the course of thought may end up leading to an unpopular opinion .

Retiring in that way is not only frustrating; also, makes us feel insecure when we think about that , since we know that it is not convenient for us to explain issues that can make us enter into uncomfortable contradictions (with our ideas or those of the majority) and, furthermore, we have gone far enough in the reasoning to doubt what we think we know.

6. Detect pseudo-concepts and avoid them

Sometimes, there are certain reflections that include several highly inaccurate concepts, which seem to be there to decorate . You must detect them in the words of other people so as not to waste time wondering what they mean and avoiding falling into their use.

7. Beware of substantiating processes

When we talk about psychology and mental processes, it is very common to fall into the trap of turning into something something that is a process. For example, we would never say that we have arrived home using the movement of the car.

If we take this into account, we are more likely to think better, since we will not treat interaction dynamics as if they were people or elements separated from their context.

8Think that attention is crucial

To think well it is not necessary to take everything into account. Simply, we must start from a situation in which we have detected what is the relevant information and what is not, and focus on the first of these. Otherwise, an overwhelming amount of information would make us do nothing, which is worse than leaving out some of the data linked to the subject we are talking about.

9. Compare things that are really comparable

When comparing two countries, make sure that your history, location, culture and economic situation are comparable, for example. On the other hand, compare the specific with the specific and the general with the general. The effectiveness of a therapy, for example, is not changed by the fact that there is a person more or less who claims to have benefited from it.


5 tips to improve your critical thinking - Samantha Agoos (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment bien penser: 9 clés pour raisonner clairement

Comment bien penser: 9 clés pour raisonner clairement

Septembre 22, 2020

Si quelque chose caractérise le mode de vie contemporain (du moins dans les pays occidentaux), c’est que l'information abonde . En quelques clics, nous pouvons accéder à toutes sortes de données, des leçons qui n'étaient accessibles que dans certaines bibliothèques et certains musées il y a seulement quelques décennies. La technologie a conquisrtido dans notre deuxième cerveau, un avec la mémoire photographique.

Cependant, malgré le grand avantage que l'informatique et Internet ont apporté, notre façon de penser reste la même. Ce qui est mauvais, car avant que le bombardement des informations que nous communiquons tous les jours ne soit difficile à orienter, choisissez une voie mentale fiable pour parvenir à une conclusion solide.


Par conséquent, il sera utile de commencer à prendre en main vos propres décisions et lignes de raisonnement en vous aidant à conseils pour bien penser que vous pouvez lire ci-dessous .

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types de pensées et leurs caractéristiques"

Comment bien penser?

L’inconvénient de pouvoir créer pratiquement tout concept imaginable est qu’il est très facile de se perdre dans ce labyrinthe d’opinions, de croyances et d’idées qui habitent notre cerveau. Mais savoir comment construire des processus de pensée fiables n’est pas tout à fait impossible. Gardez à l'esprit les clés que vous allez lire ci-dessous.

1. Attention à la polysémie

Il existe de nombreuses occasions dans lesquelles le même mot change de signification au milieu du raisonnement que nous suivions ou que l'autre personne expose, sans que nous ne le remarquions. Cela arrive souvent, par exemple, avec l'erreur sophistique étymologique , qui consiste à prétendre qu'un mot ne signifie que ce que son étymologie désigne.


Par exemple, si quelqu'un dit que le mariage entre deux hommes ne devrait pas exister parce que l'étymologie du mot indique la présence de femmes dans cet acte, il utilise deux concepts différents: la conception traditionnelle du mariage et sa conception moderne, en les mélangeant sans justification.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives"

2. Évitez la fausse dichotomie

Il y a des gens qui essaient de se donner la raison en expliquant, directement ou plus ou moins déguisés, que si vous ne leur donnez pas la raison, vous faites partie d'un groupe méprisable de personnes à qui presque personne ne veut appartenir: fascistes, fanatiques, etc. Vous devez détecter cette stratégie et réalisez que vous ne devez pas appartenir à un groupe de personnes simplement parce que vous partagez une qualité avec eux (être en désaccord avec votre interlocuteur, par exemple).


3. Mémoriser n'est pas toujours la solution

Souvent, il est beaucoup plus utile de se rappeler comment accéder à un type d’information que de le mémoriser.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

4. Définissez-vous des modèles séquentiels

Un des aspects les plus importants de bien penser est d’organiser correctement, aussi dans le psychologique.

Par exemple, avant de recourir à un raisonnement plus ou moins complexe, beaucoup de gens commencent à être très nerveux en se demandant quel aspect du problème aborder en premier. Au lieu de cela, oubliez le temps et consacrez-vous à établir un petit plan avec les "jalons" cela doit aller jusqu'au bout de votre pensée pour arriver à l'objectif, la solution finale.

Pour ce faire, imaginez une série d'arrêts de train et essayez d'avancer le long de cette route en vous concentrant uniquement sur un objectif à la fois.

5. N'ayez pas peur de ce que vous pensez

L’un des aspects de la vie qui limite le plus notre pensée est d’avoir peur de ce que les autres disent, car cela peut nous amener à cesser de penser à quelque chose chaque fois que nous sentons que le cours de la pensée peut conduire à une opinion impopulaire. .

Prendre sa retraite de cette façon n'est pas seulement frustrant; en outre, nous met mal à l'aise quand on y pense , sachant qu’il n’est pas pratique pour nous d’expliquer des problèmes qui peuvent nous amener à entrer dans des contradictions inconfortables (avec nos idées ou celles de la majorité) et, de plus, nous sommes allés suffisamment loin dans le raisonnement pour douter de ce que nous pensons savoir.

6. Détectez les pseudo-concepts et évitez-les

Parfois, il y a certaines réflexions qui incluent plusieurs concepts très imprécis, qui semblent être là pour décorer . Vous devez les détecter dans les mots d'autres personnes afin de ne pas perdre de temps à vous demander ce qu'elles signifient et à éviter de tomber dans leur utilisation.

7. Méfiez-vous des processus de justification

Lorsque nous parlons de psychologie et de processus mentaux, il est très courant de tomber dans le piège de devenir quelque chose qui est un processus. Par exemple, nous ne dirions jamais que nous sommes arrivés à la maison en utilisant le mouvement de la voiture.

Si nous tenons compte de cela, nous penserons mieux, car nous ne traiterons pas la dynamique des interactions comme s'il s'agissait de personnes ou d'éléments séparés de leur contexte.

8Pense que l'attention est cruciale

Pour bien penser, il n'est pas nécessaire de tout prendre en compte. Nous devons simplement partir d'une situation dans laquelle nous avons détecté quelles sont les informations pertinentes et ce qui ne l'est pas, et nous concentrer sur la première de ces informations. Autrement, une quantité écrasante d'informations ne nous ferait rien, ce qui est pire que de laisser de côté certaines des données liées au sujet dont nous parlons.

9. Comparez les choses qui sont vraiment comparables

Par exemple, lorsque vous comparez deux pays, assurez-vous que votre histoire, votre situation géographique, votre culture et votre situation économique sont comparables. D'autre part, comparez le spécifique avec le spécifique et le général avec le général. L'efficacité d'une thérapie, par exemple, n'est pas altérée par le fait qu'il y a plus ou moins une personne qui prétend en avoir bénéficié.


Comment devenir UN GÉNIE dans son domaine - WUC #200 (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes