yes, therapy helps!
Howard Gardner: biography of the American psychologist

Howard Gardner: biography of the American psychologist

May 9, 2021

Howard Gardner (United States, 1943) is an American psychologist and educator who has devoted a large part of his life to research. Gardner is popularly known for his Theory of multiple intelligences .

As a theoretician, he thought that the vision of intelligence that existed until then (at the time he proposed his theory) did not explain human intelligence in its entirety, and the measurement of the Intellectual Quotient (CI) did not take into account the different intelligences that a person can own and develop.

His main work, "Structures of the mind: the theory of multiple intelligences (1983)", explains its theoretical approach and its eight types of intelligence . His conception of this construct has had a great impact not only in the field of psychology, but also in the educational field, where he has inspired thousands of teachers and educators who explore new ways of teaching thanks to these different intelligences. In the words of Gardner himself: "Every human being has a unique combination of intelligence. This is the fundamental educational challenge".


  • Learn more about Howard Gardner's theory in the article by psychologist and writer Bertrand Regader: "Gardner's Theory of Multiple Intelligences"

Biography of Howard Gardner

Howard Gardner was born in 1943 in Scranton, Pennsylvania (United States). He is the son of a Jewish family that settled in the United States fleeing Nazi Germany, and since young was always an enthusiast of reading and piano. As a student he stood out for his brilliance, and was accepted at the prestigious Harvard University where he became interested in the psychology of development due to the influence of Erik Erikson and Jerome Bruner.

After obtaining a doctorate in psychology from Harvard University and completing his postdoctoral research in the field of neuropsychology, Gardner contributed greatly to the field of education and psychology . As has already been said, Gardner, in the 80s, proposed and developed the theory of multiple intelligences based on his empirical work.


Teaching and projects

In addition, he has continued his professional career as a teacher, which has led him to be part of the same university institution where he studied. Nowadays, Howard Gardner is professor of cognition and education John H . & Elisabeth A. Hobbs at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and director of the Harvard Project Zero, a research group created in 1967 by the Harvard School of Education, whose object of study is the learning processes of children and adults.

In addition, from the 90s, in collaboration with William Damon and the famous psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, (the latter well known for being the author of the concept of flow status) founded The Good Project. Gardner, to this day, continues to direct this foundation, which coordinates with a group of professionals who promote excellence and ethics in education, dealing with different issues: civic participation, organizational collaboration or the correct use of digital media, among others. .


Thanks to his work he has received different prizes or awards, especially for his theory of multiple intelligences. He is Doctor Honoris Causa by several universities, among which those of Tel Aviv, Princeton or Mc Gill stand out. He has been awarded by the John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation and, in addition, he has received more than 20 honorary titles. In 2011, he received the Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences.

His great work: The Theory of Multiple Intelligences

After spending time working with different groups of individuals (children with and without disabilities and adults with brain damage), Gardner began to develop a theory that synthesizes his research and observations.

Your theory is a counterweight to the paradigm of a unique intelligence , because, after his investigations and experiences, he came to the conclusion that human life requires the development of several types of intelligence, not a unitary intelligence. Therefore, contrary to traditional intelligence theories that focus on a single intelligence or general intelligence, he proposed that people have different ways of learning and thinking, and identified and described eight types of intelligence.

  • You can click on the title of each intelligence to access more detailed information.

1. Linguistic intelligence

It is the ability to master language and communication . It not only includes oral language, but also writing or gestures

2. Logical-mathematical intelligence

It is the ability to reason in a deductive and logical way and the ability to solve mathematical problems. It is usually associated with scientists and the speed to solve mathematical problems.It is the indicator that determines how much logical-mathematical intelligence is possessed.

3. Space intelligence

Also known as visual-spatial intelligence, it is the ability to observe the world and objects from different perspectives , as well as the ability to manipulate or create mental images to solve problems. This ability is not limited to vision, since spatial intelligence also develops in blind people. The spatial intelligence stands out in the chess players and the professionals of the visual arts (painters, designers, sculptors ...).

4. Musical intelligence

For Gardner there is a musical intelligence in all people, characterized by the ability to recognize and compose musical tones and rhythms . There are people more advantaged in this type of intelligence, who are able to play instruments and read or compose musical pieces with ease

5. Body and kinesthetic intelligence

It is the ability to use the ability to coordinate body movements . This type of intelligence is a manifestation of the connection between the mind (and emotions) and movement. Stand out in body intelligence: dancers, actors or athletes.

6. Intrapersonal intelligence

This type of intelligence is characterized by the ability to understand and control the internal sphere of oneself. The people who dominate intrapersonal intelligence are able to access feelings and emotions and reflect on them. Generally, this type of individuals enjoy greater emotional and psychological well-being.

7. Interpersonal intelligence

Interpersonal intelligence refers to the ability to discern the emotions and intentions of others. In other words, it allows interpreting the words or gestures, or the goals and goals of other people. Currently, it is considered a very important part of emotional intelligence.

8. Naturalist intelligence

This type of intelligence is the ability to distinguish, order, classify, understand and use elements of the environment , objects, animals or plants. Therefore, this type of intelligence refers to the capacity for observation, experimentation, reflection and questioning of the physical environment. Biologists, botanists or hunters usually have a high naturist intelligence.

Bases of multiple Intelligences

Gardner argues that there are both biological and cultural bases in multiple intelligences . Neurobiological investigations indicate that learning is the result of modifications in synaptic connections between neurons. The primary elements of the different intelligences are found in the brain regions where these transformations take place.

On the other hand, Gardner explains that culture also plays an important role in the development of these intelligences and different cultures value different intelligences differently. So that, the cultural value to execute the tasks related to these intelligences serves as motivation to develop them .

Bibliographic references:

  • Gardner, H. (2006). Schaler, Jeffrey A., ed. "A Blessing of Influences" in Howard Gardner Under Fire. Illinois: Open Court.
  • Gardner, H. (1989). To Open Minds: Chinese Clues to the Dilemma of American Education. New York: Basic Books.

Entrevista Howard Gardner - La Ciudad de las Ideas (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Howard Gardner: biographie du psychologue américain

Howard Gardner: biographie du psychologue américain

Février 18, 2019

Howard Gardner (États-Unis, 1943) est un psychologue et éducateur américain qui a consacré une grande partie de sa vie à la recherche. Gardner est populairement connu pour ses Théorie des intelligences multiples .

En tant que théoricien, il pensait que la vision de l'intelligence qui existait jusque-là (à l'époque où il proposait sa théorie) n'expliquait pas l'intelligence humaine dans son ensemble et que la mesure du quotient intellectuel (CI) ne tenait pas compte des différentes intelligences une personne peut posséder et se développer.

Son ouvrage principal, "Structures de l'esprit: la théorie des intelligences multiples (1983)", explique son approche théorique et ses huit types d'intelligence . Sa conception de cette construction a eu un impact considérable non seulement dans le domaine de la psychologie, mais également dans le domaine de l'éducation, où il a inspiré des milliers d'enseignants et d'éducateurs qui explorent de nouvelles méthodes d'enseignement grâce à ces différentes intelligences. Gardner lui-même a déclaré: "Chaque être humain possède une combinaison unique d’intelligence. C’est le défi fondamental de l’éducation. "


  • En savoir plus sur la théorie de Howard Gardner dans l'article du psychologue et écrivain Bertrand Regader: "La théorie de Gardner des intelligences multiples"

Biographie de Howard Gardner

Howard Gardner est né en 1943 à Scranton, Pennsylvanie (États-Unis). Il est le fils d’une famille juive qui s’est installée aux États-Unis alors qu’il fuyait l’Allemagne nazie. Depuis lors, Young était toujours un passionné de lecture et de piano. En tant qu'étudiant, il s'est distingué par son talent et a été accepté à la prestigieuse université de Harvard. où il s’est intéressé à la psychologie du développement en raison de l’influence d’Erik Erikson et de Jerome Bruner.

Après avoir obtenu un doctorat en psychologie de l’Université de Harvard et achevé ses recherches postdoctorales dans le domaine de la neuropsychologie, Gardner a grandement contribué au domaine de l'éducation et de la psychologie . Comme il a déjà été dit, Gardner, dans les années 80, a proposé et développé la théorie des intelligences multiples sur la base de ses travaux empiriques.


Enseignement et projets

En outre, il a poursuivi sa carrière professionnelle en tant qu'enseignant, ce qui l'a amené à faire partie de la même institution universitaire que celle où il a étudié. Actuellement, Howard Gardner est professeur de cognition et d'éducation John H . & Elisabeth A. Hobbs de la Harvard Graduate School of Education et directrice du Harvard Project Zero, groupe de recherche créé en 1967 par la Harvard School of Education, dont l’objet est d’étudier les processus d’apprentissage des enfants et des adultes.

En outre, à partir des années 90, The Good Project a été fondé en collaboration avec William Damon et le célèbre psychologue Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (bien connu pour être l’auteur du concept de statut de flux). Gardner, à ce jour, continue de diriger cette fondation, qui coordonne avec un groupe de professionnels qui promeuvent l'excellence et l'éthique dans l'éducation, abordant différents problèmes: participation civique, collaboration organisationnelle ou utilisation correcte des médias numériques, entre autres. .


Grâce à son travail, il a reçu différents prix ou récompenses, notamment pour sa théorie des intelligences multiples. Il est docteur honoris causa de plusieurs universités, parmi lesquelles celles de Tel-Aviv, de Princeton ou de Mc Gill. Il a été récompensé par la Fondation John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur et a en outre reçu plus de 20 titres honorifiques. En 2011, il a reçu le prix Prince des Asturies pour les sciences sociales.

Son grand travail: La théorie des intelligences multiples

Après avoir passé du temps avec différents groupes d’individus (enfants handicapés et non handicapés et adultes souffrant de lésions cérébrales), Gardner a commencé à élaborer une théorie qui synthétise ses recherches et ses observations.

Votre théorie est un contrepoids au paradigme d'une intelligence unique , parce qu’après ses enquêtes et ses expériences, il est parvenu à la conclusion que la vie humaine nécessite le développement de plusieurs types de renseignements, et non d’un renseignement unitaire. Par conséquent, contrairement aux théories traditionnelles sur l’intelligence qui se concentrent sur une seule intelligence ou sur l’intelligence générale, il a proposé que les gens aient différentes façons d’apprendre et de penser, et a identifié et décrit huit types de renseignements.

  • Vous pouvez cliquer sur le titre de chaque intelligence pour accéder à des informations plus détaillées.

1. Intelligence linguistique

C'est la capacité de maîtriser la langue et la communication . Il comprend non seulement le langage oral, mais aussi l'écriture ou les gestes

2. Intelligence mathématique et logique

C'est la capacité de raisonner de manière déductive et logique et la capacité de résoudre des problèmes mathématiques. Il est généralement associé aux scientifiques et à la rapidité de résolution des problèmes mathématiques.C'est l'indicateur qui détermine combien d'intelligence logico-mathématique est possédée.

3. Intelligence spatiale

Également appelée intelligence visuelle et spatiale, il s'agit de la capacité d'observer le monde et les objets sous différents angles. , ainsi que la capacité de manipuler ou de créer des images mentales pour résoudre des problèmes.Cette capacité ne se limite pas à la vision, l’intelligence spatiale se développant également chez les personnes aveugles. L'intelligence spatiale se distingue chez les joueurs d'échecs et les professionnels des arts visuels (peintres, designers, sculpteurs ...).

4. Intelligence musicale

Pour Gardner, il existe une intelligence musicale chez tout le monde, caractérisée par la capacité de reconnaître et de composer des tonalités et des rythmes musicaux . Il y a des gens plus avantagés dans ce type d'intelligence, qui savent jouer des instruments et lire ou composer facilement des morceaux de musique

5. Intelligence corporelle et kinesthésique

C'est la capacité d'utiliser la capacité de coordonner les mouvements du corps . Ce type d'intelligence est une manifestation du lien entre l'esprit (et les émotions) et le mouvement. Démarquez-vous dans l'intelligence du corps: danseurs, acteurs ou athlètes.

6. Intelligence intrapersonnelle

Ce type d'intelligence se caractérise par la capacité de comprendre et de contrôler la sphère interne de soi. Les personnes qui dominent l'intelligence intrapersonnelle peuvent accéder aux sentiments et aux émotions et y réfléchir. Généralement, ce type d’individus jouit d’un plus grand bien-être émotionnel et psychologique.

7. Intelligence interpersonnelle

L'intelligence interpersonnelle fait référence à la capacité de discerner les émotions et les intentions des autres. En d'autres termes, cela permet d'interpréter les mots, les gestes ou les buts et objectifs d'autrui. Actuellement, il est considéré comme une partie très importante de l'intelligence émotionnelle.

8. Intelligence naturaliste

Ce type d'intelligence est la capacité de distinguer, ordonner, classer, comprendre et utiliser des éléments de l'environnement. , objets, animaux ou plantes. Par conséquent, ce type d'intelligence fait référence à la capacité d'observation, d'expérimentation, de réflexion et de remise en question de l'environnement physique. Les biologistes, les botanistes ou les chasseurs ont généralement une grande intelligence naturiste.

Bases de plusieurs intelligences

Gardner soutient que il y a des bases biologiques et culturelles dans des intelligences multiples . Les investigations neurobiologiques indiquent que l'apprentissage est le résultat de modifications des connexions synaptiques entre neurones. Les principaux éléments des différentes intelligences se trouvent dans les régions du cerveau où se déroulent ces transformations.

Par ailleurs, Gardner explique que la culture joue également un rôle important dans le développement de ces intelligences et que différentes cultures valorisent différemment les différentes intelligences. Donc, la valeur culturelle d'exécuter les tâches liées à ces intelligences est une motivation pour les développer .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gardner, H. (2006). Schaler, Jeffrey A., éd. "Une bénédiction d'influences" dans Howard Gardner Under Fire. Illinois: tribunal ouvert.
  • Gardner, H. (1989). Pour ouvrir les esprits: indices chinois sur le dilemme de l'éducation américaine. New York: livres de base.

Howard Gardner of The Multiple Intelligence Theory (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes