yes, therapy helps!
Human cerebellum: its parts and functions

Human cerebellum: its parts and functions

June 24, 2021

The cerebellum it is much more than a kind of younger brother of the neocortex, cornered half hidden between the occipital lobe and the brainstem. In fact, this curious structure resembling a ball of flattened wool is one of the most important parts of the brain.

Moreover, it is considered that in most cases the proper functioning of the cerebellum is essential for us to survive and cases in which this rule is not met become news.

Although it is a structure apparently quite discrete because it is partly hidden by the cerebral cortex, the cerebellum is one of the areas of the brain with the highest density of neurons . In fact, about half of the neurons in the brain are located in this structure. But ... why is it so important that the cerebellum be in good condition? What processes are you responsible for?


The functions of the cerebellum

It's been years since the functioning of the cerebellum and the coordination of muscle activation has been related . Thus, it was considered that the task of the cerebellum was, basically, to make it possible for us to maintain balance, that we can coordinate simple and complex movements and, in general, that the muscles of our body respond faithfully and effectively to the commands issued by the body. brain.

For example, it was considered that one of the main symptoms of alterations in the cerebellum is the loss of balance after drinking too much alcohol. However, in recent years it has been discovered that the idea that the role of the cerebellum has to do with motor coordination is too simplistic. A) Yes, the cerebellum does not only intervene in the motor processes, but also plays an important role in many other functions .


The cerebellum in the regulation of emotions

One of the connection routes of the cerebellum unites this structure with large areas of the limbic system, which is the one that is related to the appearance and maintenance over time of the emotional states that dye our experiences. By being in communication with structures such as the amygdala, the cerebellum has the ability to intervene in the regulation of the emotional states that appear .

Thus, for example, part of the functions of the cerebellum have to do with creating associations between sensations and feelings, which serves as support for future learning by relating certain experiences with specific feelings.

The cerebellum and cognitive processes

The fact that the cerebellum has such a density of neurons and that it is connected to large areas of the cerebral cortex means that the idea that it has something to do with cognitive processes such as memory or attention management does not sound outlandish. Currently there are some investigations that point in that direction.


For example, it has been seen that the size of the cerebellum could be related to the level of intelligence you have . In addition, from studies in which the effects that a lesion in the cerebellum has on the mental capacities of patients are observed, it has been possible to relate the dysfunction in this structure with attention deficits and the use of language.

The difficulty of investigating this is that from these studies based on cases of cerebellar injury, it is not known if the decrease in cognitive abilities is due to the fact that the neurons involved in them have died (since they are located in the area of ​​the brain). injury) or if these effects are due to an imbalance in the functioning of the brain caused by the wound. So that, you need to investigate much more to know if the role of the cerebellum in cognitive functions is as important as those studies seem to suggest.

The cerebellum and motor coordination

The old ideas about the role of the cerebellum as the coordination center of muscle activation have not been refuted. Today it is still considered that this structure has a leading role in the coordination of movements, maintenance of balance and monitoring of neuronal signals aimed at activating muscles.

Since the cerebellum is connected to many areas of the brain, it crosses the motor information elaborated in the upper regions of the brain with the most "concrete" and operational motor information aimed at activating muscle fibers, and checks that there are no inconsistencies between the two. Further, there is a debate generated around the possibility that one of the functions of the cerebellum is motor learning , that is, the ability to polish a pattern of movements to be perfected more and more.

Structure of the cerebellum

The cerebellum may be relatively small, but its composition is very complex . Although we can talk at length about the different parts and subdivisions of the parts of the cerebellum, this time we will focus only on the broader categorization of the structures of the cerebellum, that is, the parts that can be seen with the naked eye ease (as long as you have an encephalon ahead, of course).

The hemispheres of the cerebellum

The cerebellum resembles the rest of the brain in that it is also covered by a layer of cells that create a wrinkled and rough surface. Although, yes, in the case of the cerebellum these folds are even tighter and thinner, as can be seen with the naked eye. That is why one of the structures or subregions of the cerebellum is known as the cerebellar cortex .

The cortex of the cerebellum is divided into two cerebellar hemispheres, in the same way that the cerebral cortex is divided into a right hemisphere and a left hemisphere. In the middle of these hemispheres is a region called vermis , which is a vertical strip that joins both parts and connects them to each other.

The lobes of the cerebellum

Beyond this classification of parts of the cerebellar cortex, there are several lobes of the cerebellum, in the same way that each hemisphere of the cerebral cortex is divided into lobes of the brain. These lobes are the anterior lobe, the posterior lobe, and the flocculonodular lobe, arranged from the top to the bottom.


Brain Anatomy and Functions | Nucleus Health (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cervelet humain: ses parties et fonctions

Cervelet humain: ses parties et fonctions

Février 18, 2019

Le cervelet c'est beaucoup plus qu'une sorte de frère cadet du néocortex, coincé à demi caché entre le lobe occipital et le tronc cérébral. En fait, cette structure curieuse ressemblant à une boule de laine aplatie est l’une des parties les plus importantes du cerveau.

De plus, on considère que dans la plupart des cas, le bon fonctionnement du cervelet est essentiel à la survie et que les cas dans lesquels cette règle n'est pas respectée deviennent des nouvelles.

Bien que ce soit une structure apparemment assez discrète car partiellement cachée par le cortex cérébral, le cervelet est l'une des zones du cerveau avec la plus grande densité de neurones . En fait, environ la moitié des neurones du cerveau sont situés dans cette structure. Mais ... pourquoi est-il si important que le cervelet soit en bon état? De quels processus êtes-vous responsable?


Les fonctions du cervelet

Ça fait des années depuis le fonctionnement du cervelet et la coordination de l'activation musculaire ont été liés . Ainsi, on pensait que la tâche du cervelet était, fondamentalement, de nous permettre de maintenir l’équilibre, de coordonner des mouvements simples et complexes et, en général, de faire en sorte que les muscles de notre corps répondent fidèlement et efficacement aux ordres émis par le corps. cerveau.

Par exemple, on a considéré que l'un des principaux symptômes d'altérations du cervelet était la perte d'équilibre après avoir bu trop d'alcool. Cependant, ces dernières années, il a été découvert que le rôle du cervelet dans la coordination motrice était trop simpliste. Ainsi, le cervelet n'intervient pas seulement dans les processus moteurs, mais joue également un rôle important dans de nombreuses autres fonctions .


Le cervelet dans la régulation des émotions

Une des voies de connexion du cervelet unit cette structure à de larges zones du système limbique, celle qui est liée à l’apparition et au maintien dans le temps des états émotionnels qui colorent nos expériences. En étant en communication avec des structures telles que l'amygdale, le cervelet a la capacité d'intervenir dans la régulation des états émotionnels qui apparaissent .

Ainsi, par exemple, une partie des fonctions du cervelet est liée à la création d'associations entre sensations et sentiments, qui sert de support à l'apprentissage futur en reliant certaines expériences à des sentiments spécifiques.

Le cervelet et les processus cognitifs

Le fait que le cervelet possède une telle densité de neurones et qu'il soit connecté à de grandes zones du cortex cérébral signifie que l'idée qu'il a quelque chose à voir avec des processus cognitifs tels que la gestion de la mémoire ou de l'attention ne semble pas étrange. Actuellement, certaines enquêtes vont dans cette direction.


Par exemple, on a vu que la taille du cervelet pourrait être liée au niveau d'intelligence que vous avez . En outre, à partir d'études dans lesquelles les effets d'une lésion du cervelet sur les capacités mentales des patients sont observés, il a été possible de relier le dysfonctionnement de cette structure à des déficits de l'attention et à l'utilisation du langage.

La difficulté de cette étude réside dans le fait que ces études basées sur des cas de lésion cérébelleuse ne permettent pas de savoir si la diminution des capacités cognitives est due au fait que les neurones impliqués sont décédés (car ils sont situés dans la région du cerveau). blessures) ou si ces effets sont dus à un déséquilibre du fonctionnement du cerveau causé par la plaie. Donc, vous devez enquêter beaucoup plus savoir si le rôle du cervelet dans les fonctions cognitives est aussi important que semblent suggérer ces études.

Le cervelet et la coordination motrice

Les anciennes idées sur le rôle du cervelet en tant que centre de coordination de l'activation musculaire n'ont pas été réfutées. Aujourd'hui, on considère toujours que cette structure joue un rôle de premier plan dans la coordination des mouvements, le maintien de l'équilibre et la surveillance des signaux neuronaux destinés à activer les muscles.

Puisque le cervelet est connecté à de nombreuses régions du cerveau, il traverse les informations motrices élaborées dans les régions supérieures du cerveau avec les informations motrices les plus "concrètes" et les plus opérationnelles visant à activer les fibres musculaires et vérifie qu'il n'y a pas d'incohérences entre les deux. En outre, il y a un débat généré autour de la possibilité qu'une des fonctions du cervelet soit l'apprentissage moteur , c’est-à-dire la capacité de perfectionner de plus en plus un ensemble de mouvements.

Structure du cervelet

Le cervelet peut être relativement petit, mais sa composition est très complexe . Bien que nous puissions parler longuement des différentes parties et subdivisions des parties du cervelet, nous ne nous intéresserons cette fois qu’à la catégorisation plus large des structures du cervelet, c’est-à-dire aux parties visibles à l’œil nu facilité (tant que vous avez un encéphale à l’avance, bien sûr).

Les hémisphères du cervelet

Le cervelet ressemble au reste du cerveau en ce sens qu'il est également recouvert d'une couche de cellules qui créent une surface ridée et rugueuse. Bien que, oui, dans le cas du cervelet, ces plis sont encore plus serrés et plus minces, comme on peut le voir à l'œil nu. C'est pour ça que l'une des structures ou sous-régions du cervelet est connue sous le nom de cortex cérébelleux .

Le cortex du cervelet est divisé en deux hémisphères cérébelleux, de la même manière que le cortex cérébral est divisé en un hémisphère droit et un hémisphère gauche. Au milieu de ces hémisphères se trouve une région appelée vermis , qui est une bande verticale qui relie les deux parties et les relie les unes aux autres.

Les lobes du cervelet

Au-delà de cette classification des parties du cortex cérébelleux, il existe plusieurs lobes du cervelet, de la même manière que chaque hémisphère du cortex cérébral est divisé en lobes du cerveau. Ces lobes sont le lobe antérieur, le lobe postérieur et le lobe floculonodulaire, disposés de haut en bas.


Neuroanatomie - Le tronc cérébral (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes