yes, therapy helps!
Humanistic Psychology: history, theory and basic principles

Humanistic Psychology: history, theory and basic principles

November 27, 2021

Trying to delve into the different approaches within psychology, the Humanistic Psychology it is, in postmodernity, one of the rising currents. Today we discover its history and fundamental aspects.

Humanist Psychology: discovering a new paradigm

If you are an observer, You may have noticed that people have a tendency to complicate their lives asking us the why of things . I do not mean those aseptic "why" that doctors, engineers and programmers ask themselves, but that other version of the question that points to the total futility of their possible answers : "What does this picture suggest to me?", "Why am I the person I've become?", "What am I doing walking down the street?"


They are not questions whose answers are going to get us out of a hurry and, nevertheless, we use time and effort to try to answer them: a bad business from an economic perspective.

Should we understand, therefore, that this tendency towards the useless is an imperfection of our way of thinking? It probably is not.

In the end, this attachment to the transcendent has been accompanying us since time immemorial and we do not think it has gone wrong since then. In any case, maybe we should understand that the existential search is one of those characteristics that define us as human beings . Perhaps we should, if we want to better understand the logic by which our thinking is guided, look at the proposals of what we know today as Humanistic Psychology, a psychological current that does not renounce to understand all aspects of what makes us human.


What is Humanistic Psychology?

The first clues when placing Humanist Psychology on the map of psychological currents are found in one of its main standard bearers: Abraham Maslow (the creator of the Maslow Pyramid of human needs). In his book The Creative PersonalityMaslow speaks of three sciences or large isolated categories from which the human psyche is studied. One of them is the behavioral and objectivist current, which starts from the positivist paradigm of science

In second place is what he calls "Freudian psychologies", which emphasize the role of the subconscious in explaining human behavior and, especially, psychopathology.

Finally, Maslow speaks of the current to which he subscribes: Humanist Psychology. This third current, however, has a peculiarity. The Humanist Psychology does not deny the two previous approaches, but covers them starting from another philosophy of science . Beyond being a series of methods through which to study and intervene on the human being, it has its reason for being in a way of understanding things, a singular philosophy . Specifically, this school is based on two philosophical movements: phenomenology and existentialism.


Phenomenology? Existentialism? What is that?

It is not easy to describe in a few lines two concepts on which so much has been written. First, and simplifying everything a bit, the conception of phenomenology can be addressed by explaining the idea of phenomenon In fact, the German philosopherMartin Heidegger he defines it as "that in which something can be made patent, visible in itself". For phenomenology, therefore, what we perceive as the real is the ultimate reality.

Phenomenology

From the phenomenology is highlighted the fact that we are never able to experience "reality itself" directly (since our senses act as a filter of this information), while the opposite occurs with those subjective aspects of which we are aware . That is, appeals to the intellectual and emotional experience as the legitimate sources of knowledge, a claim that also includes Humanistic Psychology.

Existentialism

On the other hand, existentialism is a philosophical current that proposes a reflection on human existence itself. Two of its postulates What most influence on Humanistic Psychology are the following:

  1. Human existence is reflexive thanks to the consciousness . From the consciousness arises the vital anguish of looking for a meaning to existence.
  2. The existence of the human being is changing and dynamic by its very nature, that is, it develops . Through the development of existence, concretized in its decision-making, it reaches the essence, which can be authentic or inauthentic depending on its congruence with the life project of the person.

In short, both phenomenology and existentialism put the emphasis on the consciousness and ability of man to decide, at all times, what to do, moved ultimately by his intentionality and not by his biology or environment, thus moving away from the innate and the environmentalism. Humanistic Psychology collects this heritage and guides it to study and intervention on decision making, the ability to create a consistent life project, human consciousness and reflection from this experience, which is partly subjective.

In addition, as this stream of psychologists assimilates ideas such as existential search , his speech usually refers to the "potentialities "of the human being, that is, those stages of its development that separate it from the state to which it aspires." The nature of this development is not biological, but rather more ineffable: it is a progression of subjective states in which the person constantly asks the question of what is happening to him, the meaning of what he is living, and what he can do to improve his situation.

Taking into account that "what is happening" is something totally private and out of reach of other people's eyes, it is understood that from a humanistic perspective this existential search is the responsibility of the subject who experiences it and that the psychologist has a secondary role as a facilitator of the process . Complicated, right? For this is the animal in search of meaning that Humanistic Psychology faces.

summarizing

So, Humanistic Psychology takes characteristics of existentialism and the phenomenology and proposes a study of the human being understanding it as a conscious, intentional being, in constant development and whose mental representations and subjective states are a valid source of knowledge about oneself.

A psychologist who subscribes to this current will most likely deny that the study of thought has to start from matter and experimentation alone, since this would imply an unabated dose of reductionism. Instead, it will surely emphasize the variability of human experiences and the importance of the social context in which we live. By bringing psychology closer to what has become known as social Sciences , we can say that Humanistic Psychology admits the connection between philosophy, moral theory, science and technology, and rejects the vision of science as something neutral away from any ideological or political positioning.

A manifesto

Humanistic Psychology can be understood as an inevitable fruit of the change of mentality that the 20th century supposed or, more specifically, a kind of psychology of postmodernity . Share with the postmodern philosophy the denial of a hegemonic discourse (the materialist approach typical of modern science) that seeks to explain all reality, or at least those areas of reality that are worth training experts.

The science heir to August Comte's positivism, say humanistic psychologists, it is useful to describe reality, but not to explain it . The human being, contrary to what happens with scientific instruments, experiences reality by providing meaning, creating fictions and narrative forms that order facts according to a series of beliefs and ideas, many of them difficult to express verbally and impossible to measure. Thus, a discipline that seeks to study the way of thinking and experiencing of the human being will have to adapt its methodology and its contents to this "meaningful" dimension of the human being Should, ultimately, study and provide content about the existential search that characterizes us.

Several limitations of the humanist model

From this "manifesto" of Humanistic Psychology their limitations are also born .

These psychologists face challenges that many other scientists renounce from the beginning: on the one hand, the need to combine knowledge about the measurable aspects of human psychology with subjective phenomena, and on the other, the difficult mission of creating a solid theoretical corpus at the same time that the claim of universality of its explanations is renounced. The latter is important, since our subjective experiences are characterized by being linked to the culture we inhabit, but also to a lot of variables that make us unique. Maybe that's why today it's practically impossible to talk about concrete models of the functioning of human thought supported by Humanistic Psychology.

Each author of this current presents its own contents differentiated according to the idiosyncrasy of his thought and the scope of which he is engaged and, in fact, it is difficult to know which psychologists fully embrace Humanistic Psychology and which are influenced only in part by it. While there are authors whose ideas are recurrent in the literature of other psychologists, such as with Abraham Maslow and Carl Rogers , the proposals of other authors are more "isolated" or are too specific to be extrapolated to other areas.

The art of complicating life

In short, if science is responsible for answering the question "how?" , the existential search that Humanistic Psychology faces is formed by a multitude of much more complicated questions: "why?" . Not giving up anything, in certain aspects, is tantamount to complicating one's life; it may be that this search for meaning is, in fact, a journey without return, but the prospect of wandering eternally through the wastelands of existential doubt does not seem to frighten us.

In fact, sometimes we will march through their imaginary routes although this may lead to more problems than benefits from a purely economic and rational perspective, and although Agripa's trilema watches us closely during this progression of questions and answers. That is why, however questionable its contents may be from a scientific point of view (and, in some cases, from one's own criteria), It is good to know of the existence of psychologists who have raised the need to complicate their lives as they do the people they intend to study and serve.

Maybe people assigned to Humanistic Psychology lack the endorsement that enjoys the cognitive-behavioral psychology or neurology. But, of course, you can not accuse them of starting from an advantageous situation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Camino Roca, J. L. (2013). The Origins of Humanistic Psychology: Transactional Analysis in Psychotherapy and Education. Madrid: CCS.
  • Heidegger, M. (1926). Being and Time. [Version of ARCIS University Philosophy School]. Recovered from //espanol.free-ebooks.net/ebook/Ser-y-el-Tiem ...
  • Maslow, A. H. (1982). The Creative Personality. Barcelona: Kairós.

Humanistic theory | Behavior | MCAT | Khan Academy (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie humaniste: histoire, théorie et principes de base

Psychologie humaniste: histoire, théorie et principes de base

Décembre 9, 2021

Essayer de se plonger dans les différentes approches de la psychologie, la Psychologie humaniste c'est, dans la postmodernité, l'un des courants montants. Aujourd'hui, nous découvrons son histoire et ses aspects fondamentaux.

Psychologie humaniste: découvrir un nouveau paradigme

Si vous êtes un observateur, Vous avez peut-être remarqué que les gens ont tendance à se compliquer la vie nous demander le pourquoi des choses . Je ne parle pas des "pourquoi" aseptiques que se posent les médecins, ingénieurs et programmeurs, mais cette autre version de la question souligne la futilité totale de leurs réponses possibles : "Qu'est-ce que cette image me suggère?", "Pourquoi suis-je la personne que je suis devenue?", "Qu'est-ce que je fais en marchant dans la rue?"


Ce ne sont pas des questions dont les réponses vont nous sortir de la hâte et, néanmoins, nous utilisons notre temps et nos efforts pour essayer d'y répondre: une mauvaise affaire d'un point de vue économique.

Devrions-nous alors comprendre que cette tendance à l'inutile est une imperfection de notre façon de penser? Ce n'est probablement pas.

En fin de compte, cet attachement au transcendant nous accompagne depuis des temps immémoriaux et nous ne pensons pas qu'il a mal tourné depuis. En tout cas, peut-être nous devrions comprendre que la recherche existentielle est l'une de ces caractéristiques qui nous définissent en tant qu'êtres humains . Peut-être devrions-nous, si nous voulons mieux comprendre la logique qui guide notre pensée, examiner les propositions de ce que nous connaissons aujourd'hui comme la psychologie humaniste, un courant psychologique qui ne renonce pas à comprendre tous les aspects de ce qui fait de nous des êtres humains.


Qu'est-ce que la psychologie humaniste?

Les premiers indices permettant de situer la psychologie humaniste sur la carte des courants psychologiques se trouvent dans l'un de ses principaux porte-drapeaux: Abraham Maslow (le créateur de la pyramide de Maslow des besoins humains). Dans son livre La personnalité créatriceMaslow parle de trois sciences ou de grandes catégories isolées à partir desquelles la psyché humaine est étudiée. L'un d'eux est le courant comportemental et objectiviste, qui part du paradigme positiviste de la science

En deuxième lieu se trouve ce qu'il appelle des "psychologies freudiennes", qui soulignent le rôle du subconscient dans l'explication du comportement humain et, en particulier, de la psychopathologie.

Enfin, Maslow parle du courant auquel il s’associe: la psychologie humaniste. Ce troisième courant a cependant une particularité. La psychologie humaniste ne nie pas les deux approches précédentes, mais les couvre à partir d'une autre philosophie des sciences . En plus d’être une série de méthodes permettant d’étudier et d’intervenir sur l’être humain, elle a sa raison d’être une manière de comprendre les choses, ongle philosophie singulière . Spécifiquement, cette école est basée sur deux mouvements philosophiques: la phénoménologie et l'existentialisme.


Phénoménologie? L'existentialisme? Qu'est ce que c'est?

Il n’est pas facile de décrire en quelques lignes deux concepts sur lesquels tant de choses ont été écrites. Tout d'abord, et tout simplifier un peu, la conception de phénoménologie peut être adressée en expliquant l’idée de phénomène En fait, le philosophe allemandMartin Heidegger il le définit comme "ce en quoi quelque chose peut être fait brevet, visible en soi". Pour la phénoménologie, donc, ce que nous percevons comme réel est la réalité ultime.

Phénoménologie

La phénoménologie met en évidence le fait que nous ne sommes jamais en mesure de faire directement l'expérience de la "réalité elle-même" (puisque nos sens agissent comme un filtre de cette information), tandis que l'inverse se produit avec les aspects subjectifs dont nous avons conscience. . C'est-à-dire, fait appel à la expérience intellectuelle et émotionnelle en tant que sources légitimes de connaissance, une revendication qui inclut également la psychologie humaniste.

L'existentialisme

En revanche, l'existentialisme est un courant philosophique proposant une réflexion sur l'existence humaine elle-même. Deux de ses postulats Quelles sont les principales influences sur la psychologie humaniste:

  1. L’existence humaine est réflexive grâce au la conscience . De la conscience naît l'angoisse vitale de chercher un sens à l'existence.
  2. L’existence de l’être humain change et est dynamique de par sa nature même, c’est-à-dire qu’elle se développe. . À travers le développement de l’existence, concrétisé dans sa prise de décision, il atteint l’essence, qui peut être authentique ou inauthentique selon sa congruence avec le projet de vie de la personne.

En bref, phénoménologie et existentialisme mettent l’accent sur la conscience et la capacité de l’homme à décider, à tout moment, quoi faire, ému en fin de compte par son intentionalité et non par sa biologie ou son environnement, s’éloignant ainsi du innée et le environnementalisme. La psychologie humaniste recueille cet héritage et le guide dans son étude et son intervention dans la prise de décision, la capacité de créer un projet de vie cohérent, la conscience humaine et la réflexion issue de cette expérience en partie subjective.

En outre, comme ce courant de psychologues assimile des idées telles que recherche existentielle , son discours fait généralement référence au "potentialités "de l'être humain, c'est-à-dire des étapes de son développement qui le séparent de l'état auquel il aspire." La nature de ce développement n'est pas biologique, mais plutôt plus ineffable: c'est une progression de états subjectifs dans lequel la personne pose constamment la question de ce qui lui arrive, du sens de ce qu’elle vit et de ce qu’elle peut faire pour améliorer sa situation.

Considérant que "ce qui se passe" est quelque chose de totalement privé et hors de portée des yeux des autres, il est entendu que, d'un point de vue humaniste, cette recherche existentielle relève de la responsabilité du sujet qui en fait l'expérience et que le psychologue joue un rôle secondaire en tant que facilitateur du processus. . Compliqué, non? Car c'est l'animal en quête de sens auquel est confrontée la psychologie humaniste.

En résumé

Ainsi, la psychologie humaniste prend les caractéristiques de existentialisme et la phénoménologie et propose une étude de l'être humain le comprenant comme un être conscient, intentionnel, en développement constant et dont les représentations mentales et les états subjectifs constituent une source valable de connaissance de soi.

Un psychologue qui adhère à ce courant niera très probablement que l’étude de la pensée doit partir de la matière et de l’expérimentation seule, car cela impliquerait une dose inépuisable de réductionnisme. Au lieu de cela, il mettra certainement l'accent sur la variabilité des expériences humaines et sur l'importance du contexte social dans lequel nous vivons. En rapprochant la psychologie de ce qu’on appelle maintenant sciences sociales , on peut dire que La psychologie humaniste admet le lien entre la philosophie, la théorie morale, la science et la technologie, et rejette la vision de la science comme quelque chose de neutre loin de tout positionnement idéologique ou politique.

Un manifeste

La psychologie humaniste peut être comprise comme un fruit inévitable du changement de mentalité supposé par le 20ème siècle ou, plus précisément, comme une sorte de psychologie de la postmodernité . Partager avec la philosophie postmoderne la négation d'un discours hégémonique (approche matérialiste typique de la science moderne) qui cherche à expliquer toute la réalité, ou du moins les domaines de la réalité qui valent la peine de former des experts.

La science héritière du positivisme de August Comte, disent les psychologues humanistes, Il est utile de décrire la réalité, mais pas de l'expliquer . L’être humain, contrairement à ce qui se passe avec les instruments scientifiques, expérimente la réalité en donnant un sens, en créant des fictions et des formes narratives qui ordonnent les faits selon une série de croyances et d’idées, dont beaucoup sont difficiles à exprimer verbalement et impossibles à mesurer. Donc, une discipline qui cherche à étudier la façon de penser et d’expérimenter l’être humain devra adapter sa méthodologie et son contenu à cette dimension "significative" de l'être humain Devrait, à terme, étudier et fournir du contenu sur la recherche existentielle qui nous caractérise.

Plusieurs limites du modèle humaniste

De ce "manifeste" de psychologie humaniste leurs limites sont également nés .

Ces psychologues sont confrontés à des défis auxquels de nombreux autres scientifiques renoncent depuis le début: d'une part, la nécessité de combiner les connaissances sur les aspects mesurables de la psychologie humaine avec des phénomènes subjectifs, et d'autre part, la difficile mission de créer un corpus théorique solide en même temps qu’il est renoncé à la prétention à l’universalité de ses explications. Ce dernier point est important, car nos expériences subjectives se caractérisent par le fait qu’elles sont liées à la culture que nous habitons, mais aussi à de nombreuses variables qui nous rendent uniques. C’est peut-être pourquoi, aujourd’hui, il est pratiquement impossible de parler de modèles concrets du fonctionnement de la pensée humaine soutenu par la psychologie humaniste.

Chaque auteur de ce courant présente son propre contenu différencié en fonction de l'idiosyncrasie de sa pensée et de la portée de laquelle il est engagé. En fait, il est difficile de savoir quels psychologues embrassent pleinement la psychologie humaniste et lesquels n'en sont que partiellement influencés. Bien qu’il existe des auteurs dont les idées sont récurrentes dans la littérature d’autres psychologues, comme avec Abraham Maslow et Carl Rogers , les propositions des autres auteurs sont plus "isolées" ou sont trop spécifiques pour être extrapolées à d’autres régions.

L'art de compliquer la vie

En bref, si la science est responsable de répondre à la question "Comment?" , la recherche existentielle à laquelle la psychologie humaniste est confrontée est formée par une multitude de questions beaucoup plus complexes: "parce que?" . Ne rien abandonner, à certains égards, revient à compliquer la vie; il se peut que cette recherche de sens soit, en réalité, un voyage sans retour, mais la perspective de errer éternellement dans les friches du doute existentiel ne semble pas nous effrayer.

En fait, nous allons parfois parcourir leurs itinéraires imaginaires, bien que cela puisse poser plus de problèmes que de bénéfices d’une perspective purement économique et rationnelle, et bien que le trilema d’Agripa nous surveille de près au cours de cette progression des questions et réponses. C’est pourquoi, aussi contestable que puisse être son contenu du point de vue scientifique (et, dans certains cas, de ses propres critères), Il est bon de connaître l’existence de psychologues qui ont souligné le besoin de se compliquer la vie comme le font les gens qu’ils ont l’intention d’étudier et de servir.

Peut-être que les personnes assignées à la psychologie humaniste n’ont pas l’approbation nécessaire pour psychologie cognitivo-comportementale ou neurologie. Mais, bien sûr, vous ne pouvez pas les accuser de partir d'une situation avantageuse.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Camino Roca, J. L. (2013). Les origines de la psychologie humaniste: analyse transactionnelle en psychothérapie et en éducation. Madrid: CCS.
  • Heidegger, M. (1926). Être et le temps. [Version de l’école de philosophie de l’Université ARCIS]. Récupéré de //espanol.free-ebooks.net/ebook/Ser-y-el-Tiem ...
  • Maslow, A.H. (1982). La personnalité créatrice. Barcelone: ​​Kairós.

PSY A LA MAISON 44 la psychologie humaniste (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes