yes, therapy helps!
Huntington's disease: causes, symptoms, phases and treatment

Huntington's disease: causes, symptoms, phases and treatment

July 14, 2024

One of the most well-known hereditary diseases is Huntington's chorea, a degenerative and incurable disorder that causes involuntary movements and other symptoms that affect multiple areas of the person's life, progressively incapacitating it.

In this article we will describe the causes of Huntington's disease, as well as the most common symptoms and the phases through which they progress . To finish we will talk about the treatments that are usually applied to minimize the alterations as much as possible.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Huntington's Korea: definition and symptoms

Huntington's chorea is a hereditary degenerative disease that affects the brain and causes different physical, cognitive and emotional symptoms.


It is incurable and ends up causing the death of the person, usually after 10 to 25 years. Drowning, pneumonia and heart failure are common causes of death in Huntington's disease.

When the symptoms begin before the age of 20, the name "juvenile Huntington's disease" is used. In these cases the clinical picture is something different from the usual and the progress of the disease is faster.

The most characteristic sign of this disease is the Korea that gives its name . It is known as "chorea" a set of neurological disorders that cause involuntary and irregular contractions of the muscles of the feet and hands. Similar movements also occur on the face.


In the case of juvenile Huntington's disease the symptoms may be somewhat different. They emphasize the difficulties to learn new information, the motor clumsiness, the loss of abilities, the rigidity of the march and the appearance of alterations in the speech.

Causes of this disorder

Huntington's chorea is due to a genetic mutation that it is inherited through an autosomal dominant mechanism . This implies that the children of an affected person have a 50% chance of inheriting the gene, regardless of their biological sex.

The severity of the mutation also partially depends on the inheritance and influences the development of the symptoms. In the most severe cases the affected gene (the "huntingtin") manifests very early and severe.

This disease affects the entire brain; but nevertheless, the most important lesions occur in the basal ganglia , subcortical structures related to movement. The area known as "neo-striped", which is composed of the caudate nucleus and the putamen, is especially affected.


  • Related article: "Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions"

Development of the disease

The symptoms of Huntington's disease vary depending on the specific case. However, their progress is usually grouped into three distinct phases.

The alterations worsen in psychophysiological stress conditions, as well as when the person is exposed to intense stimulation. Likewise, weight loss is common in all phases of the disease; It is important to control it since it can have very negative consequences for health.

1. Initial phase

During the first years it is possible that the disease goes unnoticed : the early signs of Huntington can be subtle, implying not remarkable deteriorations in the speed of movement, in the cognition, in the coordination or in the march, as well as the appearance of choreic movements and rigidity.

The emotional alterations are also very common already in the initial stage. In particular, irritability, emotional instability and decreased mood occur, which can reach the criteria of major depression.

2. Intermediate phase

In this phase, Huntington's disease is more visible and interferes to a greater extent in patients' lives. Chorea is particularly problematic. Difficulty speaking, walking or handling objects they also increase; Together with cognitive impairment, which is becoming significant, these symptoms hinder independence and self-care.

On the other hand, the worsening of emotional symptoms tends to damage social relationships. In large part this is due to the behavioral disinhibition derived from Huntington, which causes in some people to be aggressive or hypersexual, among other disruptive behaviors. Later the sexual desire will decrease.

Other typical symptoms of the intermediate phase are decreased pleasure (anhedonia) and alterations to reconcile or maintain sleep , which are very distressing for patients.

3. Advanced phase

The last stage of Huntington's chorea is characterized by the inability to speak and to execute voluntary movements , although the majority of people conserve the conscience of the environment. There are also difficulties to urinate and defecate. Therefore, in this period patients depend completely on their caregivers.

Although the choreic movements may be aggravated, in other cases they diminish when the disease is at a very advanced stage. The difficulties to swallow increase, being able to cause the death by drowning. In other cases, death occurs as a result of infections. As well there are many suicides in this phase .

The progress of the disease is usually faster when it appears at an early age, especially in children and adolescents, so the symptoms of the advanced stage appear earlier.

Treatment and management

At present there is no known cure for Huntington's disease, so the physical and cognitive deterioration can not be stopped . However, there are symptomatic treatments that can alleviate the discomfort and increase the independence of the affected people to a certain extent.

Dopamine blockers are used to treat abnormal behaviors typical of the disease, while for additional movements are usually prescribed drugs such as tetrabenazine and amantadine.

As the disease progresses they are introduced physical supports that facilitate or allow movement , like the handrails. Physiotherapy can also be useful to improve the control of movements, and physical exercise benefits general health, including psychological and emotional symptoms.

Difficulties in speaking and swallowing can be reduced by linguistic therapy. Likewise, special utensils are used to eat until it becomes necessary to resort to tube feeding. It is recommended that the diet be based on nutrient-rich foods and easy to chew to minimize patient problems.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Parkinson's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

Huntington's Disease: Stages and Therapies (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladie de Huntington: causes, symptômes, phases et traitement

Maladie de Huntington: causes, symptômes, phases et traitement

Octobre 25, 2021

L’une des maladies héréditaires les plus connues est la La chorée de Huntington, une maladie dégénérative et incurable qui provoque des mouvements involontaires et d’autres symptômes qui affectent de multiples domaines de la vie de la personne, l’invalidant progressivement.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les causes de la maladie de Huntington, ainsi que les symptômes les plus courants et les phases dans lesquelles ils progressent . Pour finir, nous parlerons des traitements habituellement appliqués pour minimiser autant que possible les altérations.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Huntington's Korea: définition et symptômes

La chorée de Huntington est une maladie dégénérative héréditaire qui affecte le cerveau et provoque différents symptômes physiques, cognitifs et émotionnels.


Il est incurable et finit par causer la mort de la personne, généralement après 10 à 25 ans. La noyade, la pneumonie et l'insuffisance cardiaque sont des causes courantes de décès dans la maladie de Huntington.

Lorsque les symptômes commencent avant l'âge de 20 ans, on utilise le nom "maladie de Huntington juvénile". Dans ces cas, le tableau clinique est différent de l’habituel et la progression de la maladie est plus rapide.

Le signe le plus caractéristique de cette maladie est la Corée qui donne son nom . On appelle "chorée" un ensemble de troubles neurologiques qui provoquent des contractions involontaires et irrégulières des muscles des pieds et des mains. Des mouvements similaires se produisent également sur le visage.


Dans le cas de maladie de Huntington juvénile les symptômes peuvent être quelque peu différents. Ils soulignent les difficultés d’apprentissage de nouvelles informations, la maladresse motrice, la perte de capacités, la rigidité de la marche et l’apparition de modifications dans le discours.

Causes de ce trouble

La chorée de Huntington est due à une mutation génétique il est hérité par un mécanisme autosomique dominant . Cela implique que les enfants d'une personne affectée ont 50% de chances d'hériter du gène, quel que soit leur sexe biologique.

La gravité de la mutation dépend également partiellement de l'héritage et influence le développement des symptômes. Dans les cas les plus graves, le gène affecté (la "huntingtine") se manifeste très tôt et de manière sévère.

Cette maladie affecte tout le cerveau. cependant, les lésions les plus importantes se produisent dans les ganglions de la base , structures sous-corticales liées au mouvement. La zone dite "néo-rayée", composée du noyau caudé et du putamen, est particulièrement touchée.


  • Article connexe: "Les noyaux gris centraux: anatomie et fonctions"

Développement de la maladie

Les symptômes de la maladie de Huntington varient selon les cas. Cependant, leurs progrès sont généralement regroupés en trois phases distinctes.

Les altérations s'aggravent dans les conditions de stress psychophysiologiques, ainsi que lorsque la personne est exposée à une stimulation intense. De même, la perte de poids est commune à toutes les phases de la maladie; Il est important de le contrôler car cela peut avoir des conséquences très négatives sur la santé.

1. Phase initiale

Pendant les premières années il est possible que la maladie passe inaperçue : les premiers signes de Huntington peuvent être subtils, impliquant des détériorations remarquables de la vitesse de mouvement, de la cognition, de la coordination ou de la marche, ainsi que l’apparition de mouvements chorégiques et de rigidité.

Les altérations émotionnelles sont également très courantes dès la phase initiale. En particulier, l'irritabilité, l'instabilité émotionnelle et l'humeur diminuée peuvent atteindre les critères de la dépression majeure.

2. Phase intermédiaire

Au cours de cette phase, la maladie de Huntington est plus visible et perturbe davantage la vie des patients. La chorée est particulièrement problématique. Difficulté à parler, marcher ou manipuler des objets ils augmentent aussi; Avec la déficience cognitive, qui devient importante, ces symptômes entravent l'indépendance et les soins personnels.

D'autre part, l'aggravation des symptômes émotionnels tend à nuire aux relations sociales. Cela est dû en grande partie à la désinhibition comportementale dérivée de Huntington, qui fait que certaines personnes sont agressives ou hypersexuelles, entre autres comportements perturbateurs. Plus tard, le désir sexuel diminuera.

Les autres symptômes typiques de la phase intermédiaire sont une diminution du plaisir (anhédonie) et modifications pour concilier ou maintenir le sommeil , qui sont très pénibles pour les patients.

3. Phase avancée

La dernière étape de la chorée de Huntington est caractérisée par la incapacité à parler et à exécuter des mouvements volontaires , bien que la majorité des gens conservent la conscience de l’environnement. Il y a aussi des difficultés à uriner et à faire ses besoins. Par conséquent, au cours de cette période, les patients dépendent entièrement de leurs soignants.

Bien que les mouvements choréiques puissent s’aggraver, ils diminuent dans d’autres cas lorsque la maladie est à un stade très avancé. Les difficultés à avaler augmentent, pouvant causer la mort par noyade. Dans d'autres cas, le décès survient à la suite d'infections. Aussi il y a beaucoup de suicides dans cette phase .

La progression de la maladie est généralement plus rapide lorsqu'elle apparaît à un âge précoce, en particulier chez les enfants et les adolescents, de sorte que les symptômes du stade avancé apparaissent plus tôt.

Traitement et gestion

À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe aucun traitement curatif connu contre la maladie de Huntington. la détérioration physique et cognitive ne peut être arrêtée . Cependant, il existe des traitements symptomatiques qui peuvent atténuer l’inconfort et accroître dans une certaine mesure l’autonomie des personnes touchées.

Les bloqueurs de la dopamine sont utilisés pour traiter les comportements anormaux typiques de la maladie, tandis que des médicaments tels que la tétrabénazine et l'amantadine sont habituellement prescrits pour les mouvements supplémentaires.

Au fur et à mesure que la maladie progresse, ils sont introduits supports physiques facilitant ou permettant le mouvement , comme les mains courantes. La physiothérapie peut également être utile pour améliorer le contrôle des mouvements, et l'exercice physique est bénéfique pour la santé en général, y compris les symptômes psychologiques et émotionnels.

La thérapie linguistique peut réduire les difficultés d'élocution et de déglutition. De même, des ustensiles spéciaux sont utilisés jusqu'à ce qu'il soit nécessaire de recourir à l'alimentation par sonde. Il est recommandé que le régime soit basé sur aliments riches en nutriments et facile à mâcher pour minimiser les problèmes des patients.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Parkinson: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Huntington disease - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes