yes, therapy helps!
Hyperalgesia: increased sensitivity to pain

Hyperalgesia: increased sensitivity to pain

September 5, 2022

Sometimes traumatic injuries cause damage to the nerve fibers that transmit tactile sensations to the brain. In these and other cases it is possible that the perception of pain intensifies due to a sensitization of the nervous system; When this happens we talk about hyperalgesia.

In this article we will describe what is hyperalgesia, what causes it and how is it treated . We will also explain the different types of hyperalgesia that have been proposed so far, as well as the relationship of this phenomenon with another very similar one: allodynia.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 13 types of pain: classification and characteristics"

What is hyperalgesia? What causes it?

Hyperalgesia is defined as a sustained increase in pain sensitivity . In people who suffer this alteration the sensory threshold from which pain is experienced is reduced, so that stimuli that would not be very painful for most people can be for those who have hyperalgesia.


It can be produced by different causes, such as lesions in the nociceptors (cells that detect pain signals) or the prolonged opioid use like morphine and heroin. Depending on the specific cause of hyperalgesia and how it is managed, it will be a transient or chronic phenomenon.

In most cases the hyperalgesia is due to the sensitization of peripheral nerve fibers due to focal lesions, which provoke inflammatory or allergic type responses, increasing the release of chemical substances related to pain. These reactions can become chronic in certain circumstances.

  • Related article: "Chronic pain: what it is and how it is treated from Psychology"

Relationship with allodynia

Hyperalgesia is closely related to allodynia, which consists of the appearance of pain sensations in response to stimuli that are objectively non-painful , such as the fact of passing a brush through the hair or coming into contact with water at a slightly elevated temperature.


Allodynia and hyperalgesia are often studied jointly because there are notable similarities between the two phenomena. In many cases the difference between both phenomena is limited to the intensity of the stimulation: we speak of allodynia when pain should not appear, and of hyperalgesia when it is more intense than we would expect.

Both hyperalgesia and allodynia have been associated with alterations in the central and peripheral nervous system that cause an exaggerated perception of pain. It is hypothesized that fibromyalgia, migraine and complex regional pain syndrome They are also related to similar dysfunctions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Fibromyalgia: causes, symptoms and treatments"

Types of hyperalgesia

There are different types of hyperalgesia depending on the causes of their appearance and the type of stimuli that cause pain. Next we will describe the most relevant ones.


1. Primary

Primary hyperalgesia appears as a result of an injury . It consists in an increase in the sensitivity of the nerve endings of nociceptors in the damaged region, although it also involves alterations in the processing of pain signals at the level of the central nervous system.

2. Secondary

Unlike what happens in primary school, in secondary hyperalgesia, painful sensations occur in regions other than the lesion; however, it can be used both to talk about excessive pain in areas surrounding the damaged one and in other more distant areas.

In this case the hyperalgesia is not due to sensitization of the fibers of the nociceptors but is attributed exclusively to dysfunctions of the central nervous system . Even so, stimulation is necessary for the person to feel pain; if it did not occur, we would talk about allodynia.

3. Induced by opiates

If maintained long-term, the consumption of opiates (morphine, heroin, methadone, hydrocodone, oxycodone, etc.) can cause a nervous sensitization to painful stimuli. In fact it seems that even the timely taking of these substances has the potential to produce temporary symptoms of hyperalgesia and allodynia.

4. Thermal

We speak of thermal hyperalgesia when the stimulus that causes pain is related to temperature; in these cases the person feels excessive pain when coming in contact with hot or cold stimuli .

5. Mechanics

Mechanical hyperalgesia appears as a consequence of sensations of pressure, vibration, puncture, friction, etc., that activate the mechanical nociceptors of the peripheral nervous system.

We can distinguish two subtypes of mechanical hyperalgesia: static and dynamic . The first is associated with a single contact with the painful stimulus, while dynamic hyperalgesia occurs when the object is in motion.

6. Motor

Normal muscle and joint movements, for example those that are involved in behaviors such as walking or getting up from a seat, can cause severe pain in people with hyperalgesia.

Treatment and management

Although the treatment of hyperalgesia must be adapted to the specific causes of the alteration, in general It is usually treated using analgesic medications ; the same happens with allodynia, neuropathic pain and other disorders related to the abnormal perception of pain.

Thus, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) are commonly used, such as ibuprofen and aspirin, glucocorticoids (cortisol, prednisone ...) or anticonvulsants such as pregabalin and gabapentin, as well as antagonists of NMDA receptors and atypical opiates, for example tramadol.

Frequently, the most appropriate medication for each patient is difficult to find in cases of hyperalgesia, so it is likely that different analgesic drugs have to be tried before the pain can be effectively treated.

In the case of hyperalgesia due to substance use As in chronic hypersensitized patients due to the abuse of morphine or other opiates, research has revealed that, paradoxically, reducing the dose may be useful in relieving pain sensations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Bibliographic references:

  • Chu, L. F .; Angst, M. S. & Clark, D. (2008). Opioid-induced hyperalgesia in humans: molecular mechanisms and clinical considerations. Clinical Journal of Pain, 24 (6): 479-96.
  • Sandkühler, J. (2009). Models and mechanisms of hyperalgesia and allodyinia. Physiological Reviews, 89: 707-758.

Hyperalgesia (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hyperalgésie: sensibilité accrue à la douleur

Hyperalgésie: sensibilité accrue à la douleur

Février 24, 2020

Parfois, des lésions traumatiques endommagent les fibres nerveuses qui transmettent des sensations tactiles au cerveau. Dans ces cas et dans d’autres, il est possible que la perception de la douleur s’intensifie du fait d’une sensibilisation du système nerveux; Lorsque cela se produit, nous parlons d'hyperalgésie.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Qu'est-ce que l'hyperalgésie, quelle en est la cause et comment est-elle traitée? . Nous expliquerons également les différents types d'hyperalgésie proposés jusqu'à présent, ainsi que la relation de ce phénomène avec un autre très similaire: l'allodynie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 13 types de douleur: classification et caractéristiques"

Qu'est-ce que l'hyperalgésie? Quelle en est la cause?

L'hyperalgésie est définie comme un augmentation soutenue de la sensibilité à la douleur . Chez les personnes qui souffrent de cette altération, le seuil sensoriel à partir duquel la douleur est ressentie est réduit, de sorte que des stimuli qui ne seraient pas très douloureux pour la plupart des personnes puissent l'être pour ceux qui souffrent d'hyperalgésie.


Il peut être produit par différentes causes, telles que des lésions des nocicepteurs (cellules détectant les signaux de douleur) ou la usage prolongé d'opioïdes comme la morphine et l'héroïne. Selon la cause spécifique de l'hyperalgésie et la façon dont elle est gérée, il s'agira d'un phénomène transitoire ou chronique.

Dans la plupart des cas, l'hyperalgésie est due à la sensibilisation des fibres nerveuses périphériques en raison de lésions focales, qui provoquent des réponses de type inflammatoire ou allergique, augmentant la libération de substances chimiques liées à la douleur. Ces réactions peuvent devenir chroniques dans certaines circonstances.

  • Article connexe: "La douleur chronique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-elle traitée par la psychologie"

Relation avec l'allodynie

L'hyperalgésie est étroitement liée à l'allodynie, qui consiste en l'apparition de sensations de douleur en réponse à stimuli objectivement non douloureux , comme le fait de passer une brosse dans les cheveux ou d'entrer en contact avec de l'eau à une température légèrement élevée.


L'allodynie et l'hyperalgésie sont souvent étudiées conjointement parce qu'il existe des similitudes notables entre les deux phénomènes. Dans de nombreux cas, la différence entre les deux phénomènes se limite à l'intensité de la stimulation: on parle d'allodynie lorsque la douleur ne devrait pas apparaître et d'hyperalgésie lorsqu'elle est plus intense que prévu.

L’hyperalgésie et l’allodynie ont été associées à des altérations du système nerveux central et périphérique qui provoquent une perception exagérée de la douleur. Il est supposé que fibromyalgie, migraine et syndrome douloureux régional complexe Ils sont également liés à des dysfonctionnements similaires.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Fibromyalgie: causes, symptômes et traitements"

Types d'hyperalgésie

Il existe différents types d'hyperalgésie en fonction des causes de leur apparence et du type de stimuli à l'origine de la douleur. Ensuite, nous décrirons les plus pertinents.


1. primaire

Hyperalgésie primaire apparaît à la suite d'une blessure . Cela consiste en une augmentation de la sensibilité des terminaisons nerveuses des nocicepteurs dans la région endommagée, bien que cela implique également des altérations dans le traitement des signaux de douleur au niveau du système nerveux central.

2. secondaire

Contrairement à ce qui se passe à l'école primaire, dans l'hyperalgésie secondaire, des sensations douloureuses se produisent dans des régions autres que la lésion; Cependant, il peut être utilisé à la fois pour parler de douleur excessive dans les zones entourant celle qui a été endommagée et dans d'autres zones plus éloignées.

Dans ce cas, l’hyperalgésie n’est pas due à la sensibilisation des fibres des nocicepteurs mais est attribuée exclusivement à dysfonctionnements du système nerveux central . Néanmoins, la stimulation est nécessaire pour que la personne ressente de la douleur; si cela ne se produisait pas, on parlerait d'allodynie.

3. Induit par les opiacés

Si elle est maintenue à long terme, la consommation d'opiacés (morphine, héroïne, méthadone, hydrocodone, oxycodone, etc.) peut entraîner une sensibilisation nerveuse aux stimuli douloureux. En fait, il semble que même la prise rapide de ces substances puisse entraîner des symptômes temporaires d'hyperalgésie et d'allodynie.

4. thermique

On parle d'hyperalgésie thermique lorsque le stimulus qui cause la douleur est lié à la température; dans ces cas, la personne se sent douleur excessive au contact de stimuli chauds ou froids .

5. Mécanique

L'hyperalgésie mécanique apparaît comme une conséquence de sensations de pression, de vibrations, de perforations, de frictions, etc., qui activent les nocicepteurs mécaniques du système nerveux périphérique.

On peut distinguer hyperalgésie mécanique en deux sous-types: statique et dynamique . Le premier est associé à un seul contact avec le stimulus douloureux, tandis que l'hyperalgésie dynamique se produit lorsque l'objet est en mouvement.

6. moteur

Les mouvements normaux des muscles et des articulations, par exemple ceux qui sont impliqués dans des comportements tels que marcher ou se lever d'un siège, peuvent provoquer une douleur intense chez les personnes atteintes d'hyperalgésie.

Traitement et gestion

Bien que le traitement de l'hyperalgésie doive être adapté aux causes spécifiques de l'altération, en général Il est généralement traité avec des médicaments analgésiques. ; Il en va de même pour l'allodynie, la douleur neuropathique et d'autres troubles liés à la perception anormale de la douleur.

Ainsi, des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS) sont couramment utilisés, tels que l'ibuprofène et l'aspirine, des glucocorticoïdes (cortisol, la prednisone ...) ou des anticonvulsifs tels que la prégabaline et la gabapentine, ainsi que des antagonistes des récepteurs NMDA et des opiacés atypiques, par exemple. tramadol.

Souvent, il est difficile de trouver le médicament le plus approprié pour chaque patient en cas d'hyperalgésie. Il est donc probable que différents médicaments analgésiques doivent être testés avant que la douleur ne puisse être traitée efficacement.

En cas d'hyperalgésie due à une toxicomanie Comme chez les patients hypersensibilisés chroniques en raison de l'abus de morphine ou d'autres opiacés, des recherches ont montré que, paradoxalement, la réduction de la dose peut être utile pour soulager les sensations de douleur.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chu, L. F.; Angst, M.S. & Clark, D. (2008). Hyperalgésie induite par les opioïdes chez l’homme: mécanismes moléculaires et considérations cliniques. Clinical Journal of Pain, 24 (6): 479-96.
  • Sandkühler, J. (2009). Modèles et mécanismes d'hyperalgésie et d'allodyinia. Physiological Reviews, 89: 707-758.

#07 La Douleur, 1ERE PARTIE : Le mécanisme de la Douleur (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes