yes, therapy helps!
Hypersexuality: what happens in the brain of a sex addict?

Hypersexuality: what happens in the brain of a sex addict?

May 27, 2024

Most mental health professionals agree in their explanation of sex addiction: it would not be a chemical or physiological addiction As with most drugs (cocaine, alcohol, tobacco), the cause is found in some type of behavioral disorder.

What exactly happens in the brain of a sex addict?

To shed more data on the nature of the hypersexuality , the Cambridge University has contributed a novel study. Brain scans were performed on nineteen men while watching scenes from pornographic films.

Amazing data

The research showed that the brain regions that were activated were the same reward centers that are activated in the brain of drug addicts when they visualize the substance to which they are hooked.


Some of the subjects studied were close to the profile of sex addict. In fact, two of them had recently lost their jobs because they consumed pornography in the office, and four of the other subjects claimed that using porn was their way of avoiding resorting to prostitutes.

In short, the sample was selected expressly so that the experimental subjects were, to some degree, obsessed with sex. More than a typical addiction, the researchers thought it necessary to suggest that this type of sex addiction is closer to an obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Scanning the brain

The group of researchers who conducted the study observed certain changes in brain activity thanks to the images obtained from the brain scan. Thus, they were able to confirm that a series of changes occurred in the brain when the experimental subjects saw pornography.


Later they compared the results shown in the scanner with the results obtained in a sample group, with sexual behavior within normality. The results and conclusions, published in PLoS One, reported higher activation levels among "addicts" in up to three specific regions of the brain : the cortex of the anterior cingulate, the amygdala and the ventral layer. These areas are exactly the same that register an activation boom when addicted to prohibited substances see the drug.

Is hypersexuality an addiction?

One of the coordinators of the study, Valerie Moon, commented: "more studies will still be necessary to be able to sustain that we are facing an addiction". "We do not know if some of these effects in the brain are caused by predispositions that help to develop sex addiction behaviors, or it is simply an effect of pornography ... it is difficult to say and we will have to continue investigating."


For his part, Dr. John Williams, director of the department of neuroscience and mental health of the foundation Welcome Trust, adds that "compulsive behaviors, such as watching porno in excess, sports betting or eating a lot, are becoming more common in our society. The study at the University of Cambridge leads us to a somewhat better position to understand why some people are prone to repeat some sexual behaviors that they know are harmful to them.

"Whether it's a sexual addiction, a drug abuse or eating disorders, it is key for professionals to know the moment and the way in which to intervene ", Concludes Williams.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ellis, A., & Sagarin, E. (1965). Nymphomania: A Study of oversexed women. London: Ortolan.
  • Kafka, M. P. (2001). The paraphilia-related disorders: A proposal for a unified classification of nonparaphilic hypersexuality disorders. Sexual Addiction & Compulsivity.
  • Krafft-Ebing, R. von (1886/1965). Psychopathia sexualis: A medical-forensic study (H. E. Wedeck, Trans.). New York: Putnam.
  • Uitti, R.J., Tanner, C.M., & Rajput, A.H. (1989). Hypersexuality with antiparkinsonian therapy. Clinical Neuropharmacology.
  • Original study: //www.cam.ac.uk/research/news/brain-activity -...

Hypersexual Disorder (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypersexualité: que se passe-t-il dans le cerveau d'un toxicomane?

Hypersexualité: que se passe-t-il dans le cerveau d'un toxicomane?

Septembre 23, 2022

La plupart des professionnels de la santé mentale s'accordent pour expliquer la dépendance sexuelle: ce ne serait pas une dépendance chimique ou physiologique Comme pour la plupart des drogues (cocaïne, alcool, tabac), la cause en est un trouble du comportement.

Qu'est-ce qui se passe exactement dans le cerveau d'un toxicomane?

Pour jeter plus de données sur la nature de la hypersexualité , l’Université de Cambridge a présenté une nouvelle étude. Des scanners du cerveau ont été effectués sur dix-neuf hommes tout en regardant des scènes de films pornographiques.

Données étonnantes

La recherche a montré que les régions du cerveau activées étaient les mêmes centres de récompense qui sont activés dans le cerveau des toxicomanes quand ils visualisent la substance à laquelle ils sont accrochés.


Certains des sujets étudiés étaient proches du profil de toxicomane. En fait, deux d'entre eux ont récemment perdu leur emploi parce qu'ils consommaient de la pornographie au bureau et quatre des autres sujets ont affirmé que l'utilisation de la pornographie leur permettait d'éviter de recourir à des prostituées.

En bref, l'échantillon a été sélectionné expressément pour que les sujets expérimentaux soient, dans une certaine mesure, obsédés par le sexe. Les chercheurs ont estimé qu'il était nécessaire de suggérer que ce type de dépendance sexuelle s'apparente davantage à un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Scanner le cerveau

Le groupe de chercheurs ayant mené l'étude a observé certains changements dans l'activité cérébrale grâce aux images obtenues à partir du scanner cérébral. Ainsi, ils ont pu confirmer qu'une série de changements se sont produits dans le cerveau lorsque les sujets expérimentaux ont vu de la pornographie.


Plus tard, ils ont comparé les résultats montrés dans le scanner avec les résultats obtenus dans un groupe échantillon, avec un comportement sexuel dans la normalité. Les résultats et conclusions, publiés dans PLoS One, a signalé des niveaux d'activation plus élevés chez les "toxicomanes" dans trois régions spécifiques du cerveau au maximum : le cortex du cingulaire antérieur, de l'amygdale et de la couche ventrale. Ces zones sont exactement les mêmes que celles qui enregistrent un boom d’activation lorsqu’un toxicomane interdit de voir la drogue.

L'hypersexualité est-elle une dépendance?

Une des coordinatrices de l'étude, Valerie Moon, a déclaré: "Il faudra encore d'autres études pour pouvoir affirmer que nous sommes confrontés à une dépendance". "Nous ne savons pas si certains de ces effets sur le cerveau sont causés par des prédispositions qui favorisent le développement de comportements liés à la dépendance sexuelle ou s'il s'agit simplement d'un effet de la pornographie ... c'est difficile à dire et nous devrons continuer à enquêter."


De son côté, le Dr John Williams, directeur du département des neurosciences et de la santé mentale de la fondation Bienvenue confiance, ajoute que "les comportements compulsifs, tels que regarder un porno excessif, miser sur le sport ou manger beaucoup - deviennent de plus en plus courants dans notre société. L’étude réalisée à l’Université de Cambridge nous permet de mieux comprendre pourquoi certaines personnes ont tendance à répéter certains comportements sexuels qui, à leur connaissance, leur sont nocifs.

"Que ce soit une dépendance sexuelle, une toxicomanie ou des troubles de l'alimentation, il est essentiel pour les professionnels de connaître le moment et la manière d’intervenir ", Conclut Williams.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ellis, A. et Sagarin, E. (1965). Nymphomanie: étude sur le surexploitation des femmes. Londres: Ortolan.
  • Kafka, M. P. (2001). Les troubles liés à la paraphilie: Proposition d'une classification unifiée des troubles d'hypersexualité non paraphilique. Dépendance sexuelle et compulsivité.
  • Krafft-Ebing, R. von (1886/1965). Psychopathia sexualis: Une étude médico-légale (H. E. Wedeck, Trans.). New York: Putnam.
  • Uitti, R. J., Tanner, C. M. et Rajput, A.H. (1989). Hypersexualité avec traitement antiparkinsonien. Neuropharmacologie clinique.
  • Étude originale: //www.cam.ac.uk/research/news/brain-activity -...

Huit questions sur l'addiction sexuelle (Dr KARILA) - PSYCHE #11 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes