yes, therapy helps!
Hypervigilance: causes, symptoms and treatment

Hypervigilance: causes, symptoms and treatment

July 13, 2024

It is possible that at some point we have seen someone nervous, with a high level of energy, who looks everywhere as if searching or waiting for something to happen, trying to observe everything without letting him miss the smallest detail.

Although in some cases it may seem that this could be adaptive, the truth is that it is easy to observe that it is continuously in tension, which can be extremely harmful if it is prolonged over time. The subject in question is showing hypervigilance, which we will talk about throughout this article .

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Hypervigilance: concept and symptoms

Hypervigilance is understood as a state of tension and high consistent energy over time in which the subject that suffers it presents an apparent enlargement of the level of consciousness, being hypersensitive and reacting quickly and energetically to sensory stimulation.


The subject who suffers from it usually manifests hyperprosexia, in which the level of attention is much higher than usual and frequently focuses on any stimulus and detail of the surrounding context. It is usually given along with the sensation of having great mental lucidity. Although this may seem positive in such a way that it would make it easier to detect and analyze the environment, the truth is that it is usually a detriment in its correct analysis by shifting the focus from one element to the other continuously, from way that although it seems contradictory the excess of attentional capacity would cause a high distraction.

Hyper-reactivity also manifested by those who present hypervigilance generates that their reactions tend to be little adaptive and little thought . They have a high level of anxiety, so that it is usually lived unpleasantly by those who suffer from it. This together with the high level of energy can lead to the person becoming irritable or even hostile.


But given that our energy reserves are limited, prolonged hypervigilance over time can cause tiredness to appear and eventually lead to passivity, a sullen attitude and even depression.

Causes and contexts of appearance

Although it can appear at specific moments without needing to be pathological, hypervigilance can be a symptom (not a disorder per se) indicative of some mental or even physical alteration.

In the context of psychopathology, its occurrence is frequent in the course of a chronic delusional disorder or during schizophrenia (especially the paranoid type), in which the subject is in expectation of concrete phenomena that correspond to his interpretation of the world . It also usually appears in anxiety disorders and obsessive disorders, as well as during manic episodes. It is also common for hypervigilance to appear after experiencing a traumatic experience such as war or rape (in fact, it is a possible symptom of post-traumatic stress disorder or acute stress disorder).


In the case of a traumatic experience, the threatening situation itself may become widespread , the subject being prepared to respond in an extremely reactive way to what the situation remembers. For example a person who has suffered an aggression will tend to over-prepare to any element that may indicate that he will be attacked again, considering a possible threat the smile of a stranger or that someone touches them.

Another time in which hypervigilance usually appears is in substance poisoning, generally by those of an excitatory or psychoanalytic character such as cocaine or psychodysleptic like some hallucinogens or the sativa variant of cannabis.

Effects and symptoms in daily life

Hypervigilance can cause serious damage to those who suffer from it . To begin with, the characteristic hyperprosexia will make it difficult for him to concentrate on a specific stimulation, which hinders the subject's own performance in his work or academic life. At a psychological level, it can generate biases and cognitive distortions, as well as behavioral changes or avoidance of stimuli and situations.

At a social level it can also cause problems: the environment can feel underestimated and a large number of situations can be misinterpreted, which can lead to the subject losing social support or even being isolated.

Further, the high level of energy maintained over time produces exhaustion and it is possible that weakness may arise, decreased immune system or even organic problems such as cardiac, respiratory, endocrine or muscular.

Treatment

Hypervigilance is not considered a disorder in itself, but rather a symptom. The treatment to be used will depend to a great extent on what originated it .

Despite this, it is common that in almost all cases there is anxiety and a high level of activation, so that techniques such as cognitive restructuring, live or imagination exposure, systematic desensitization and relaxation techniques are recommended. Externalizing what causes hypervigilance is also a good idea (both in pathological and non-pathological cases), with which techniques such as psychodrama, role-playing or expressive therapies can show some usefulness. Benzodiazepines and other anxiolytics, as well as some antidepressants such as SSRIs, may be useful to alleviate possible discomfort while therapy is being performed. In cases of psychotic symptoms, also neuroleptics.

In clinical cases of organic etiology it may be useful to apply different medical procedures and / or drugs, such as the use of antagonists such as naloxone in case of drug use.

Bibliographic references:

  • Barlow, D. H. and Durand, V. M. (2003): Psychopathology. Madrid: Thomson.
  • Goodman, H. H. (Ed.). (1987). General psychiatry. Mexico: The Modern Manual. (Orig. 1984).
  • Lemos, S. (2000): General psychopathology. Madrid: Synthesis.
  • Vallejo-Ruiloba, J. (1991): Clinical cases. Psychiatry. Barcelona: Salvat.

7 Tips to Stop Hypervigilence from PTSD (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypervigilance: causes, symptômes et traitement

Hypervigilance: causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 31, 2023

Il est possible qu'à un moment donné, nous ayons vu quelqu'un nerveux, très énergique, qui semble partout chercher ou attendre que quelque chose se produise, essayant de tout observer sans lui laisser rater le moindre détail.

Bien que dans certains cas, cela puisse sembler adaptatif, la vérité est qu’il est facile de constater qu’il est continuellement en tension, ce qui peut être extrêmement préjudiciable s’il est prolongé dans le temps. Le sujet en question montre l'hypervigilance, dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article .

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Hypervigilance: concept et symptômes

L'hypervigilance est comprise comme un état de tension et d'énergie constante et élevée dans le temps dans lequel le sujet qui le subit présente un élargissement apparent du niveau de conscience, une hypersensibilité et une réaction rapide et énergique à la stimulation sensorielle.


Le sujet qui en souffre manifeste habituellement une hyperprosexie, dans laquelle le niveau d'attention est beaucoup plus élevé que d'habitude et qui se concentre souvent sur tout stimulus et détail du contexte environnant. Il est généralement donné avec la sensation d'avoir une grande lucidité mentale. Bien que cela puisse sembler positif de manière à faciliter la détection et l’analyse de l’environnement, la vérité est qu’il est généralement nuisible à une analyse correcte en déplaçant l’attention d’un élément à l’autre, de façon continue. Bien que cela semble contradictoire, l'excès de capacité d'attention causerait une grande distraction.

Hyper-réactivité également manifestée par ceux qui présentent l'hypervigilance génère que leurs réactions ont tendance à être peu adaptative et peu de pensée . Ils ont un niveau d'anxiété élevé, de sorte qu'il est généralement mal vécu par ceux qui en souffrent. Ceci, combiné au haut niveau d'énergie, peut rendre la personne irritable voire hostile.


Mais étant donné que nos réserves d'énergie sont limitées, une hypervigilance prolongée dans le temps peut provoquer l'apparition de la fatigue et finalement conduire à la passivité, à une attitude maussade et même à la dépression.

Causes et contextes d'apparence

Bien qu’elle puisse apparaître à des moments précis sans être pathologique, l’hypervigilance peut être un symptôme (et non un trouble en soi) révélateur d’une altération mentale, voire physique.

Dans le contexte de la psychopathologie, son apparition est fréquente au cours d'un trouble délirant chronique ou de la schizophrénie (notamment de type paranoïde), dans laquelle le sujet est en attente de phénomènes concrets correspondant à son interprétation du monde. . Il apparaît également généralement dans les troubles anxieux et les troubles obsessionnels, ainsi que lors d'épisodes maniaques. Il est également courant que l'hypervigilance apparaisse après une expérience traumatisante telle qu'une guerre ou un viol (en fait, il s'agit d'un symptôme possible du trouble de stress post-traumatique ou du trouble de stress aigu).


Dans le cas d’une expérience traumatisante, la situation menaçante elle-même peut se généraliser , le sujet étant prêt à réagir de manière extrêmement réactive à ce dont la situation se souvient. Par exemple, une personne qui a subi une agression aura tendance à trop se préparer à tout élément qui pourrait indiquer qu’elle sera attaquée à nouveau, compte tenu de la menace possible du sourire d’un étranger ou du fait que quelqu'un le touche.

L’hypervigilance apparaît généralement comme une intoxication chimique, généralement chez les personnes à caractère excitateur ou psychanalytique telles que la cocaïne ou psychodysleptique comme certains hallucinogènes ou la variante sativa du cannabis.

Effets et symptômes dans la vie quotidienne

L'hypervigilance peut causer de graves dommages à ceux qui en souffrent . En premier lieu, l’hyperprosexie caractéristique rend difficile pour lui de se concentrer sur une stimulation spécifique, ce qui nuit à la performance du sujet dans son travail ou dans sa vie universitaire. Sur le plan psychologique, il peut générer des biais et des distorsions cognitives, ainsi que des changements de comportement ou éviter les stimuli et les situations.

Sur le plan social, cela peut aussi causer des problèmes: l'environnement peut sembler sous-estimé et un grand nombre de situations peuvent être mal interprétées, ce qui peut amener le sujet à perdre son soutien social ou même à être isolé.

En outre, le niveau élevé d'énergie maintenu au fil du temps produit l'épuisement et il est possible qu'une faiblesse apparaisse, une diminution du système immunitaire ou même des problèmes organiques tels que cardiaques, respiratoires, endocriniens ou musculaires.

Traitement

L'hypervigilance n'est pas considérée comme un trouble en soi, mais plutôt comme un symptôme. Le traitement à utiliser dépendra dans une grande mesure de son origine. .

Malgré cela, il est fréquent que dans presque tous les cas, il existe une anxiété et un niveau d'activation élevé, de sorte que des techniques telles que la restructuration cognitive, l'exposition en direct ou par imagination, la désensibilisation systématique et les techniques de relaxation sont recommandées. Externaliser les causes de l'hypervigilance est également une bonne idée (à la fois dans les cas pathologiques et non pathologiques), avec laquelle des techniques telles que le psychodrame, les jeux de rôle ou les thérapies expressives peuvent être utiles. Les benzodiazépines et autres anxiolytiques, ainsi que certains antidépresseurs tels que les ISRS, peuvent être utiles pour atténuer l’inconfort possible pendant le traitement. En cas de symptômes psychotiques, également neuroleptiques.

Dans les cas cliniques d’étiologie organique, il peut être utile d’appliquer différentes procédures médicales et / ou médicaments, tels que l’utilisation d’antagonistes tels que la naloxone en cas d’utilisation de médicaments.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Barlow, D.H. et Durand, V.M. (2003): Psychopathologie. Madrid: Thomson.
  • Goodman, H.H. (éd.). (1987). Psychiatrie générale. Mexique: Le manuel moderne. (Orig. 1984).
  • Lemos, S. (2000): Psychopathologie générale. Madrid: synthèse.
  • Vallejo-Ruiloba, J. (1991): Cas cliniques Psychiatrie. Barcelone: ​​Salvat.

Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) - causes, symptoms, treatment & pathology (Mai 2023).


Articles Connexes