yes, therapy helps!
Hypocretin: the 6 functions of this neurotransmitter

Hypocretin: the 6 functions of this neurotransmitter

July 27, 2022

When we think of neurotransmitters, we usually come up with names like serotonin, dopamine, noradrenaline, glutamate, GABA or acetylcholine. Histamine and melatonin are also widely known.

However, there are many other substances that act as neurotransmitters and that have great relevance in our functioning as human beings. Among them we can find a type of neuropeptide that has not been identified until 1998: hypocretins or orexins . In this article, we will briefly introduce what they are and some of the multiple functions in which they participate.

  • Related article: "Types of neurotransmitters: functions and classification"

What is a hypocretin?

The hypocretins or orexins are peptides, small molecules composed of chains of amino acids that are found in a large amount in most animals. These are substances discovered relatively recently (specifically in 1998) and which have been shown to have a great influence on a wide variety of functions. The fact of being able to be named in two ways is due to the fact that this neurotransmission system was discovered practically simultaneously by two different research teams, observing the correspondence between both later.


Within the hypocretins We can mainly find two neuropeptides, hypocretins 1 and 2 (or orexins A and B), which have their corresponding receptors in the membranes of some of the cells of the nervous system.

As with other hormones such as dopamine, the neurons that synthesize and use this type of neurotransmitter They make up a system, called the hypocretinergic system .

Although the location of the neurons of this system occurs only in the posterior hypothalamus, the hypocretinergic system has a wide effect on the whole brain since the neurons that depart from it have a large number of connections with different areas of this set of organs. Among them, those existing with the limbic system stand out, with hypocretin being closely related to emotional processes. It is also linked to the ascending reticular system, being very relevant in processes such as sleep and wakefulness.


Functions of these peptides

Although relatively unknown to most of the population, hypocretins play a very important role in a large number of functions and processes relevant to our behavior. Let's see what they are.

1. Regulation of emotions and mood

One of the best known functions of hypocretins has to do with emotion and mood. And it is proven that there are dense connections of hypocretinergic neurons between the hypothalamus and the limbic system . Although it does not generate the emotions themselves, this neurotransmitter works by maximizing the emotional experience.

In this sense the presence of hypocretin seems to be linked to the experience of emotions that suppose a rebound of energy , either positive as joy or other more negative as anger. In the same way, in depressed or stressed patients a decrease in the level of said neurotransmitters has been observed.


  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

2. Regulation of sleep / wake cycles

Waking and sleep are also largely mediated by hypocretins or orexins, specifically affecting the activation of the vigil system and the maintenance of the vigil state . This is in turn involved in the attention capacity and the use of energy and physical and mental resources.

A lower concentration than necessary will generate alterations in this maintenance, finding this factor linked to the disorder known as narcolepsy (in fact it is one of the possible biological explanations of the disorder).

3. Forgetting and remembering: hypocretin in memory

Another of the multiple tasks associated with hypocretins is found in memory. Specifically, in experiments carried out with rodents it is observed that the blockade of the receptors of this type of peptides they generate the disappearance of aversive memories . That is, hypocretins help us to consolidate and maintain unpleasant memories (an aspect that although experientially may seem aversive, is functionally useful in allowing us to get away from the source of such stimulation).

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?

4. Learning

Directly derived from the previous point we can consider that hypocretins have a role of great relevance in the establishment of learning and conditioning , especially with regard to learning based on fear.

5. Ingestion

Another of the basic functions in which hypocretins participate is in the intake.It has been observed that these molecules have a relevant role when it comes to explaining why do we look for food and have the urge to eat . The synthesis of hypocretins is activated by the action of ghrelin and inhibited by leptin, which are known for their action when generating respectively hunger or satiety. It is also suspected that it is their actions that generate a connection between food and sleep.

6. Gratification and pleasure

The orexin or hypocretin is strongly linked to emotions and the feeling of pleasure, as well as the desire to achieve it. This is what happens with the numerous existing addictions, both at the level of drugs and at the level of sex or food .

Disorders to which they are linked

As we have said, hypocretins have multiple functions of great relevance for humans. Therefore, dysfunction of the hypocretinergic system can have relevant consequences to our behavior, There is a certain link between the action of this neurotransmitter and some disorders . Some of them are the following.

1. Narcolepsy

One of the main investigations related to hypocretins has to do with its effect on circadian rhythms and wakefulness. The reduction or insufficient presence of hypocretins makes it difficult to stay awake, a deficit of these substances having been linked to the origin of narcolepsy (although much more research is required).

2. Addictions

Another major research that has been carried out reflects that hypocretins are related to addiction and relapse. The hypocretins they are linked to craving and motivation to obtain the elements that make us feel pleasure and wellbeing, being a biological substrate that has some influence at the time of facilitating the possibility of relapses in addictions.

3. Depression

Different investigations seem to reflect that the presence of a high level of hypocretins corresponds to energetic moods, which could be used in the future to develop drugs against passivity and lack of energy proper to depression.

4. Anxiety and stress-related disorders

Likewise, it has been observed that hypocretins are related to coding and maintenance of aversive memories and the regulation of fear . High levels make it difficult to extinguish fear, for example, in a phobia or post-traumatic stress disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baumann, C.R. & Bassetti, C.L. (2005). Hypocretins (Orexins): Clinical Impact of the Discovery of a Neurotransmitter. Sleep Medicine Reviews 9 (4): 253-268.
  • Flores, A .; Valls-Comamala, V .; Costa, G .; Saravia, R .; Maldonado, T .; Berrendero, F. (2014). The hypocretin / orexin system mediates the extinction of fear memories. Neuropsychopharmacology. 39: 2732-2741.
  • Plaza-Zabala, A .; Martín-García, E .; from Lecea, L .; Maldonado, R .; Berrendero, F. (2010). Hypocretins Regulate the Anxiogenic-Like Effects of Nicotine and induces Reinstatement of Nicotine-Seeking Behavior. Journal of Neuroscience, 30: 2300-2310.
  • Siegel J.M. (1999). Narcolepsy: A key role for hypocretins (orexins). Cell, 98: 409-412.
  • Siegel, J.M .; Moore, M.D .; Thannickal, T. & Nienhuis, R.S. (2001) A brief history of hypocretin / orexin and narcolepsy. Neuropsychopharmacology, 25: 514-520.
  • Schwartz JR, Roth T. (2008). Neurophysiology of sleep and wakefulness: basic science and clinical implications. Curr Neuropharmacol. 6: 367-78.

To Sleep, Perchance to Dream - Crash Course Psychology #9 (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypocrétine: les 6 fonctions de ce neurotransmetteur

Hypocrétine: les 6 fonctions de ce neurotransmetteur

Septembre 25, 2022

Lorsque nous pensons aux neurotransmetteurs, nous trouvons généralement des noms comme sérotonine, dopamine, noradrénaline, glutamate, GABA ou acétylcholine. L'histamine et la mélatonine sont également largement connues.

Cependant, il existe de nombreuses autres substances qui agissent comme neurotransmetteurs et qui jouent un rôle important dans notre fonctionnement en tant qu'êtres humains. Parmi ceux-ci, nous pouvons trouver un type de neuropeptide qui n’a pas été identifié avant 1998: hypocrétines ou orexines . Dans cet article, nous allons présenter brièvement ce qu’ils sont et certaines des multiples fonctions auxquelles ils participent.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurotransmetteurs: fonctions et classification"

Qu'est-ce qu'un hypocrétine?

Les hypocrétines ou orexines sont des peptides, de petites molécules composé de chaînes d'acides aminés que l'on trouve en grande quantité chez la plupart des animaux. Ce sont des substances découvertes relativement récemment (en particulier en 1998) et qui se sont révélées avoir une grande influence sur une grande variété de fonctions. Le fait de pouvoir être nommé de deux manières est dû au fait que ce système de neurotransmission a été découvert pratiquement simultanément par deux équipes de recherche différentes, observant la correspondance ultérieure entre les deux.


Dans les hypocrétines On peut principalement trouver deux neuropeptides, les hypocrétines 1 et 2 (ou orexines A et B), dont les récepteurs correspondants se trouvent dans les membranes de certaines cellules du système nerveux.

Comme avec d'autres hormones telles que la dopamine, les neurones qui synthétisent et utilisent ce type de neurotransmetteur Ils forment un système appelé système hypocrétinergique .

Bien que la localisation des neurones de ce système ne se produise que dans l'hypothalamus postérieur, le système hypocrétinergique a un effet étendu sur tout le cerveau puisque les neurones qui en partent ont un grand nombre de connexions avec différentes zones de cet ensemble d'organes. Parmi ceux-ci, ceux qui existent avec le système limbique se distinguent, l'hypocrétine étant étroitement liée aux processus émotionnels. Il est également lié au système réticulaire ascendant, qui joue un rôle très important dans des processus tels que le sommeil et la veille.


Fonctions de ces peptides

Bien que relativement méconnus de la majorité de la population, les hypocrétines jouent un rôle très important dans un grand nombre de fonctions et de processus en rapport avec notre comportement. Voyons ce qu'ils sont.

1. Régulation des émotions et de l'humeur

Une des fonctions les plus connues des hypocrétines est liée à l’émotion et à l’humeur. Et il est prouvé qu'il y a connexions denses de neurones hypocrétinergiques entre l'hypothalamus et le système limbique . Bien qu'il ne génère pas les émotions elles-mêmes, ce neurotransmetteur agit en maximisant l'expérience émotionnelle.

En ce sens, la présence d'hypocrétine semble être liée à l'expérience des émotions qui supposent un rebond d'énergie , soit positive que la joie ou autre plus négative que la colère. De même, chez les patients déprimés ou stressés, une diminution du niveau desdits neurotransmetteurs a été observée.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

2. Régulation des cycles veille / sommeil

Le réveil et le sommeil sont également largement induits par les hypocrétines ou les orexines, en particulier affectant l'activation du système de veille et le maintien de l'état de veille . Ceci est à son tour impliqué dans la capacité d'attention et l'utilisation d'énergie et de ressources physiques et mentales.

Une concentration plus faible que nécessaire engendrera des altérations de cet entretien, ce facteur étant lié au trouble connu sous le nom de narcolepsie (il s'agit en fait d'une des explications biologiques possibles du trouble).

3. Oublier et se souvenir: hypocrétine en mémoire

Une autre tâche multiple associée aux hypocrétines se trouve dans la mémoire. En particulier, dans des expériences menées avec des rongeurs, il a été observé que le blocage des récepteurs de ce type de peptides ils génèrent la disparition de souvenirs aversifs . C'est-à-dire que les hypocrétines nous aident à consolider et à conserver des souvenirs désagréables (aspect qui, bien que l'expérience puisse sembler aversif, est fonctionnellement utile pour nous permettre de nous écarter de la source d'une telle stimulation).

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?"

4. apprentissage

Directement dérivés du point précédent, nous pouvons considérer que les hypocrétines ont un rôle d'une grande pertinence dans l'établissement de l'apprentissage et le conditionnement , surtout en ce qui concerne l’apprentissage basé sur la peur.

5. ingestion

Une autre des fonctions de base dans laquelle les hypocrétines participent est la prise.Il a été observé que ces molécules ont un rôle important à jouer dans l’explication de la pourquoi cherchons-nous de la nourriture et avons-nous le besoin de manger? . La synthèse des hypocrétines est activée par l'action de la ghréline et inhibée par la leptine, reconnue pour son action génératrice respectivement de faim et de satiété. On soupçonne également que ce sont leurs actions qui créent un lien entre la nourriture et le sommeil.

6. Gratification et plaisir

L'orexine ou l'hypocrétine est fortement liée aux émotions et à la sensation de plaisir, ainsi qu'au désir de les réaliser. C’est ce qui se passe avec les nombreuses dépendances existantes, à la fois au niveau de la drogue et du sexe ou de la nourriture .

Troubles auxquels ils sont liés

Comme nous l'avons dit, les hypocrétines ont de multiples fonctions d'une grande pertinence pour l'homme. Par conséquent, un dysfonctionnement du système hypocrétinergique peut avoir des conséquences importantes sur notre comportement. Il existe un certain lien entre l'action de ce neurotransmetteur et certains troubles . Certains d'entre eux sont les suivants.

1. narcolepsie

L'une des principales recherches liées aux hypocrétines concerne son effet sur les rythmes circadiens et l'éveil. La réduction ou la présence insuffisante d'hypocrétines rend difficile de rester éveillé, un déficit de ces substances ayant été lié à l'origine de la narcolepsie (bien que beaucoup plus de recherches soient nécessaires).

2. Addictions

Une autre recherche importante qui a été menée montre que les hypocrétines sont liées à la dépendance et à la rechute. Les hypocrétines ils sont liés à l'envie et à la motivation obtenir les éléments qui nous font ressentir du plaisir et du bien-être, en tant que substrat biologique ayant une certaine influence à l’époque, facilitant la possibilité de rechutes dans les dépendances

3. dépression

Différentes études semblent indiquer que la présence d’un taux élevé d’hypocrétines correspond à une humeur énergétique pourrait être utilisé à l'avenir pour développer des médicaments contre la passivité et le manque d'énergie propre à la dépression.

4. Anxiété et troubles liés au stress

De même, il a été observé que les hypocrétines sont liées à la codage et maintenance des mémoires aversives et régulation de la peur . Des niveaux élevés rendent difficile d'éteindre la peur, par exemple, dans le cas d'une phobie ou d'un trouble de stress post-traumatique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baumann, C.R. & Bassetti, C.L. (2005). Hypocrétines (Orexines): Impact clinique de la découverte d’un neurotransmetteur. Médecine du sommeil Avis 9 (4): 253-268.
  • Flores, A .; Valls-Comamala, V .; Costa, G .; Saravia, R .; Maldonado, T .; Berrendero, F. (2014). Le système hypocrétine / orexine intervient dans l’extinction des souvenirs de peur. Neuropsychopharmacologie. 39: 2732-2741.
  • Plaza-Zabala, A.; Martín-García, E.; de Lecea, L .; Maldonado, R .; Berrendero, F. (2010). Les hypocrétines régulent les effets analogues à la anxiété de la nicotine et induisent le rétablissement du comportement de nicotine Journal of Neuroscience, 30: 2300-2310.
  • Siegel J.M. (1999). Narcolepsie: un rôle clé pour les hypocrétines (orexines). Cell, 98: 409-412.
  • Siegel, J. M.; Moore, M.D .; Thannickal, T. & Nienhuis, R.S. (2001) Bref antécédents d'hypocrétine / orexine et de narcolepsie. Neuropsychopharmacology, 25: 514-520.
  • Schwartz JR, Roth T. (2008). Neurophysiologie du sommeil et de l'éveil: bases scientifiques et implications cliniques. Curr Neuropharmacol. 6: 367-78.

Sleep Revolution: Studies and New Technologies - Emmanuel Mignot (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes