yes, therapy helps!
Hypocritical people: 6 typical characteristics that define them

Hypocritical people: 6 typical characteristics that define them

January 25, 2022

Any human being, for the simple fact of being one, has to experience a vital drama: their own interests and the interests of others, which are expressed through social norms, do not coincide. However, to survive it is necessary to exist within a certain social fabric, be it a family, a village, a town or a large city. That's where the strategies created to manage this tension appear: you have to be yourself, but trying to make that not worth the contempt or rejection of others.

Fortunately, most people are able to combine these two realities well (that of public interests and private interests). However, on other occasions there are those who opt for attitudes markedly cynical or opportunistic enough to be geniunately pro-social. Usually, we know these individuals as hypocritical people .


But ... what is it that really characterizes hypocrites? Let's see, from a proposal of 6 typical features of those who adopt this strategy to socialize.

  • Related article: "Differences between personality, temperament and character"

6 characteristics of hypocritical people

Although there are several ways to identify hypocrites, we will usually be able to recognize the following characteristics in them.

1. Explicit but inconsistent morality

One of the ways in which it is easier to differentiate hypocrites is to look at their use of morality .

From the individualistic point of view, moral standards can have an unpleasant side, especially when we feel we should do something that we do not want, but they also have a positive side, since we can appeal to them when we want other people to behave a way that benefits us. Hypocritical people know this, and that is why they make use of morality to try that others are governed by those values.

Of course, this contrasts with your own compliance with the rules. Who lives in an environment in which others live according to moral restrictions that one does not follow, has a competitive advantage, and hypocrites abuse them without practically having remorse.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Cynical people: its 7 characteristics and typical features"

2. False affability

Hypocritical people tend to look for quick and undignified ways to get social capital (that is, the sympathies of many people, or at least the possibility of using them). For this, something usual is to fake a false interest in the life of the other at key moments, such as greetings or farewells. It is noted that it is not an honest and spontaneous initiative because, beyond these key moments, sympathy transforms into difference.


3. Minimal social contact until the favor comes

Another of the usual attitudes of hypocrites is to have "friends" or people known in your agenda, without there being any dealings with them, and take advantage of this only to ask for concrete favors.

Unlike others, who at the time of social networks can have many contacts stored passively in the phone book or in the friends section of one of their profiles on social networks, who have this opportunistic spirit are not consistent with the fact that they barely deal with those people, and if they can, they take advantage of knowing them without contributing anything in return.

This is important, because what is appealed to when asking for a favor, friendship, has not existed or no longer exists in practice, only in a theoretical manner. However, it seems that it begins to be a real emotional bond seconds before making a request. Soon after, that supposed friendship will fall into oblivion again.

4. They make useless gestures of kindness

Try to invite some tapas when another person has already paid, notify an event that it is clear that you can not attend ... These gestures are a way to try to seduce people without exposing themselves to small discomforts or inconveniences that this can generate.

5. Praise on the one hand, complicity with teasing on the other

Another typical attitude of hypocritical people is to show themselves as friends while, when the other person is not present and criticized, it shows complicity with these criticisms, regardless of whether they are fair or not . It is also usual for the hypocrite to bring out these criticisms, sometimes with the aim of gaining social acceptance by detecting imperfections in others.

6. Disappearances when bottom hits

When someone is going through bad times, it is relatively frequent that the hypocritical people around them who showed a close relationship with the former disappear in anticipation that they can ask for help, even if it is minimal.



10 Traits of Toxic Parents Who Ruin Their Children’s Lives (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes hypocrites: 6 caractéristiques typiques qui les définissent

Personnes hypocrites: 6 caractéristiques typiques qui les définissent

Juillet 22, 2022

Tout être humain, pour le simple fait d'être un, doit vivre un drame vital: ses propres intérêts et ceux des autres, qui s'expriment au travers de normes sociales, ne coïncident pas. Cependant, pour survivre, il est nécessaire d’exister dans un certain tissu social, qu’il s’agisse d’une famille, d’un village, d’une ville ou d’une grande ville. C'est là qu'apparaissent les stratégies créées pour gérer cette tension: il faut être soi-même, mais essayer de faire en sorte que cela ne vaille pas le mépris ni le rejet des autres.

Heureusement, la plupart des gens sont capables de bien combiner ces deux réalités (intérêts publics et intérêts privés). Cependant, en d'autres occasions, il y a ceux qui optent pour des attitudes suffisamment cyniques ou opportunistes pour être génialement prosociales. Normalement nous connaissons ces individus comme des hypocrites .


Mais ... qu'est-ce qui caractérise vraiment les hypocrites? Voyons, à partir d'une proposition de 6 caractéristiques typiques de ceux qui adoptent cette stratégie pour socialiser.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère"

6 caractéristiques des personnes hypocrites

Bien qu'il existe plusieurs manières d'identifier les hypocrites, nous pourrons généralement y reconnaître les caractéristiques suivantes.

1. Moralité explicite mais incohérente

L’un des moyens par lesquels il est plus facile de différencier les hypocrites est de regarde leur utilisation de la moralité .

Du point de vue de l'individualisme, les normes morales peuvent avoir un côté désagréable, en particulier lorsque nous estimons que nous devrions faire quelque chose que nous ne voulons pas, mais elles ont aussi un côté positif, car nous pouvons faire appel à elles lorsque nous voulons que d'autres se comportent. une manière qui nous profite. Les hypocrites le savent et c'est pourquoi ils usent de la moralité essayer que d'autres soient régis par ces valeurs.

Bien entendu, cela contraste avec votre propre respect des règles. Qui vit dans un environnement dans lequel les autres vivent selon des restrictions morales qu’on ne respecte pas, a un avantage concurrentiel et que les hypocrites en abusent sans pratiquement de remords.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "Les gens cyniques: ses 7 caractéristiques et caractéristiques"

2. Fausse affabilité

Les hypocrites ont tendance à rechercher des moyens rapides et indignes d’obtenir du capital social (c’est-à-dire les sympathies de nombreuses personnes, ou du moins la possibilité de les utiliser). Pour cela, quelque chose d’habitude consiste à simuler un faux intérêt dans la vie de l’autre à des moments clés, tels que des salutations ou des adieux. Il est à noter que ce n’est pas une initiative honnête et spontanée car, au-delà de ces moments clés, la sympathie se transforme en différence.


3. Contacts sociaux minimaux jusqu'à la faveur

Une autre des attitudes habituelles des hypocrites est d’avoir des «amis» ou des personnes connues dans votre agenda, sans qu’il y ait de relation avec eux, et d’en profiter pour simplement demander des faveurs concrètes.

Contrairement à d'autres, qui, à l'heure des réseaux sociaux, peuvent avoir de nombreux contacts stockés passivement dans l'annuaire téléphonique ou dans la section des amis de l'un de leurs profils sur les réseaux sociaux, qui ont cet esprit opportuniste ne sont pas compatibles avec la le fait qu’ils traitent à peine avec ces personnes, et s’ils le peuvent, ils profitent de les connaître sans rien apporter en retour.

Ceci est important, car ce à quoi on fait appel quand on demande une faveur, une amitié, n’existe pas ou n’existe plus dans la pratique, mais de manière théorique. Cependant, il semble que cela commence à être un véritable lien émotionnel quelques secondes avant de faire une demande. Peu de temps après, cette supposée amitié tombera à nouveau dans l'oubli.

4. Ils font des gestes de bonté inutiles

Essayez d'inviter des tapas quand une autre personne a déjà payé, notifiez un événement qu'il est clair que vous ne pouvez pas y assister ... Ces gestes sont un moyen de essayer de séduire les gens sans s'exposer à de petits désagréments ou des inconvénients que cela peut générer.

5. Louange d'un côté, complicité de taquineries de l'autre

Une autre attitude typique des personnes hypocrites est de se montrer amis alors que, lorsque l'autre personne n'est pas présente et critiquée, il montre la complicité de ces critiques, qu'elles soient justes ou non . Il est également courant que l'hypocrite formule ces critiques, parfois dans le but de gagner l'acceptation sociale en détectant des imperfections chez d'autres.

6. Disparitions lorsque le fond frappe

Lorsqu'une personne traverse une période difficile, il est relativement fréquent que les personnes hypocrites qui ont entretenu une relation étroite avec lui disparaissent dans l'espoir de pouvoir demander de l'aide, même si c'est minime.



Le Livre Noir de l'Industrie Rose (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes