yes, therapy helps!
I have a hard time making friends: causes and solutions

I have a hard time making friends: causes and solutions

June 14, 2024

Social isolation and difficulty in making friends are two of the problems that, paradoxically, occur in a society in which the Internet has the ability to connect all kinds of people.

The problems in forging friendships not only have consequences on the mood of the people and their self-esteem : it has also been seen that loneliness is related to a lower life expectancy.

  • Highly recommended article: "Guide to meet new people: sites, skills and advice"

How to break the isolation?

Gaining a greater capacity to win friends is a process that involves engaging in various fronts. Fortunately, it is possible to win in all of them if you follow the right strategies and show a commitment to certain principles and ideas.


Then we will see what it is that people who find it difficult to make friends can do to get out of their isolation.

  • We also recommend: "The 14 main social skills to succeed in life"

1. Work on self-esteem

This is a step that must be taken in the first place but that must accompany all those who follow it . The perception that there are missing friends that are by our side is often associated with the belief that we are not good enough for someone to want to spend time with us, which in turn causes us to adopt behaviors that hinder the creation of bonds of friendship .

Therefore, it is necessary to analyze these beliefs in a calm and somewhat distant way, judging their foundations and seeing how they adjust to reality. Normally the social isolation is produced by the anticipation of the failure of the contact shots with the rest of people, with the fear that this generates and with the lack of self-esteem that makes us be defensive and give up the possibilities of making friends, which in turn confirms our pessimistic beliefs.


This step can be initiated alone or with the help of friends and family, but attending psychotherapy is also a good option to perform this cognitive restructuring.

2. Judging our friendship needs

Second we must stop to think why or why we want to have more friends . This will help us to know what the nature of our need is, which at the same time will make it possible to have clear contexts in which we want to meet people and the kind of people with whom we want to deal with.

3. Search for meeting spaces

Second, we must think about the spaces in which we could make new friendships. Here we must consider meeting places, but also virtual spaces, especially forums in which we can find people with common interests. Beyond social networks, which tend to be designed more for individual contact with people already known, there are web pages with sections for debate and discussion in which people who are regular from the place meet : they are a good option.


4. Search the exhibition

Losing the fear of exposing ourselves to the opinion of others is absolutely essential when making friends. For this we must leave the comfort zone and fight the fear learned from previous frustrated experiences when making friends. Following self-instructions and "self-enforce" to comply with a scale of difficulty is a good way to solve this, as well as being a resource widely used in cases of social phobia.

5. Do not follow scripts in the conversation

Once you have started a conversation with someone, it is necessary to renounce the possibility of following a more or less structured script in which we have included elements that we want to say: they do not work and make the dialogue fluid and unsatisfactory. It is advisable to look for spontaneity. For this it is good to follow protocols of relaxation (to be able to be with the help of a therapist) and be carried away by the dialogue without obsessively thinking about the image we are giving. If we show confidence and confidence in ourselves, the most absurd conversation can become something fun and stimulating .

6. Show commitment

Maintaining the bonds of friendship is to bet on the commitment that unites two people who consider themselves friends . This means that we have to make some sacrifices and be clear that we should also be willing to contribute something to the other. It is a very basic point but one that is often forgotten, causing relationships to deteriorate and become circumstantial, something instrumental.

Concluding

If the phrase "I find it hard to make friends" is often around our head, we must have two things clear: on the one hand, if we are willing, we can be friends with many more people, and on the other, that this process will cost us a series of efforts and sacrifices that will make us leave our comfort zone .

Having this clear from the beginning is basic to not get discouraged in the early stages, something that can make this experience memorized as a "proof" that friends are not made for us.


The Simple Cure for Loneliness | Baya Voce | TEDxSaltLakeCity (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
J'ai du mal à me faire des amis: causes et solutions

J'ai du mal à me faire des amis: causes et solutions

Juin 21, 2022

L’isolement social et la difficulté à se faire des amis sont deux des problèmes qui se posent paradoxalement dans une société où Internet est en mesure de connecter toutes sortes de personnes.

Les problèmes de création d'amitiés ont non seulement des conséquences sur l'humeur des gens et leur estime de soi : on a également constaté que la solitude était liée à une espérance de vie inférieure.

  • Article hautement recommandé: "Guide pour rencontrer de nouvelles personnes: sites, compétences et conseils"

Comment briser l'isolement?

Obtenir une plus grande capacité de gagner des amis est un processus qui implique de s’engager sur plusieurs fronts. Heureusement, il est possible de gagner tous ces objectifs si vous suivez les bonnes stratégies et montrez votre engagement envers certains principes et idées.


Nous verrons ensuite ce que les personnes qui ont du mal à se faire des amis peuvent faire pour se sortir de leur isolement.

  • Nous recommandons également: "Les 14 compétences sociales essentielles pour réussir dans la vie"

1. Travailler sur l'estime de soi

C’est un pas qui doit être fait en premier lieu mais qui doit accompagner tous ceux qui le suivent . La perception qu'il y a des amis disparus à nos côtés est souvent associée à la conviction que nous ne sommes pas assez bons pour que quelqu'un veuille passer du temps avec nous, ce qui nous pousse à adopter des comportements qui entravent la création de liens d'amitié. .

Par conséquent, il est nécessaire d’analyser ces croyances d’une manière calme et quelque peu lointaine, de juger de leurs fondements et de voir comment elles s’ajustent à la réalité. Normalement, l'isolement social est produit par l'anticipation de l'échec des contacts avec le reste de la population, par la peur que cela génère et par le manque d'estime de soi qui nous oblige à être sur la défensive et à renoncer à la possibilité de se faire des amis. ce qui confirme nos croyances pessimistes.


Cette étape peut être initiée seule ou avec l'aide d'amis ou de membres de la famille, mais assister à une psychothérapie est également une bonne option pour effectuer cette restructuration cognitive.

2. Juger nos besoins en amitié

Deuxièmement, nous devons cesser de penser pourquoi ou pourquoi nous voulons avoir plus d'amis . Cela nous aidera à savoir quelle est la nature de nos besoins, ce qui permettra en même temps d’avoir des contextes clairs dans lesquels nous voulons rencontrer des gens et le genre de personnes avec lesquelles nous voulons traiter.

3. Rechercher des espaces de réunion

Deuxièmement, nous devons penser aux espaces dans lesquels nous pourrions nouer de nouvelles amitiés. Ici, nous devons considérer les lieux de rencontre, mais aussi les espaces virtuels, en particulier les forums dans lesquels nous pouvons trouver des personnes ayant des intérêts communs. Au-delà des réseaux sociaux, qui tendent à être davantage conçus pour le contact individuel avec des personnes déjà connues, il y a des pages Web avec des sections de débat et de discussion dans lesquelles se rencontrent les habitués du lieu : ils sont une bonne option.


4. Rechercher l'exposition

Perdre la peur de s'exposer à l'opinion des autres est absolument essentiel pour se faire des amis. Pour cela, nous devons quitter la zone de confort et combattre la peur apprise lors des expériences frustrées passées lors de la création d'amis. Suivre l’auto-instruction et «s’imposer» pour respecter une échelle de difficulté est un bon moyen de résoudre ce problème, tout en étant une ressource largement utilisée en cas de phobie sociale.

5. Ne suivez pas les scripts dans la conversation

Une fois que vous avez entamé une conversation avec une personne, il est nécessaire de renoncer à la possibilité de suivre un script plus ou moins structuré dans lequel nous avons inclus des éléments que nous voulons dire: ils ne fonctionnent pas et rendent le dialogue fluide et insatisfaisant. Il est conseillé de rechercher la spontanéité. Pour cela, il est bon de suivre des protocoles de relaxation (pouvoir être avec l’aide d’un thérapeute) et d’être emportés par le dialogue sans penser de façon obsessionnelle à l’image que nous donnons. Si nous montrons de la confiance en nous, la conversation la plus absurde peut devenir quelque chose d'amusant et stimulant .

6. Montrer l'engagement

Maintenir les liens d'amitié, c'est parier sur l'engagement qui unit deux personnes qui se considèrent comme des amis . Cela signifie que nous devons faire des sacrifices et préciser que nous devrions également être disposés à contribuer quelque chose à l'autre. C’est un point fondamental mais qui est souvent oublié, provoquant une détérioration des relations et une circonstance, quelque chose d’instrumental.

En conclusion

Si la phrase "j'ai du mal à me faire des amis" nous entoure souvent, nous devons avoir deux choses claires: d'une part, si nous le voulons, nous pouvons être amis de beaucoup plus de gens et de l'autre, que ce processus nous coûtera une série d'efforts et de sacrifices qui nous feront quitter notre zone de confort .

Il est fondamental de bien comprendre cela dès le début pour ne pas se décourager dès le début, ce qui peut rendre cette expérience mémorisée comme une "preuve" que les amis ne sont pas faits pour nous.


J'AI LE COEUR BRISÉ PAR UN HOMME ! QUE FAIRE ? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes