yes, therapy helps!
If you want smart kids, less technology and more music

If you want smart kids, less technology and more music

May 6, 2021

We are connected to new technologies all day. For example, when we wake up the mobile alarm in the morning and we have our smartphone in hand, or when we get home from work and go directly to the computer or tablet to connect to social networks.

New technologies have revolutionized our day to day and, although we do not realize, our brain has also changed .

Children and intelligence

In an interview published in the newspaper La Vanguardia, David Bueno i Torrens , author of the book "Cerebroflexia", states: "New technologies cause people to have fewer connections in the memory management area of ​​the brain because part of this function has been outsourced to digital devices: few remember the number of your friends' phone.


But can it be that new technologies make us more or less intelligent? Recent studies affirm that if we want intelligent children we must be careful with the use of new technologies. In addition, it seems that the key to developing a child's intelligence is music (specifically, playing instruments).

The role of parents in the development of their children's intelligence

The family atmosphere and the attitude of the parents are decisive in the intellectual development and the school performance of the children. If we talk about this last aspect, that is, school performance, Frances Glascoe , professor of pediatrics at the Vanderbilt University in Berlin, explains that "it has been proven that children who grow up in homes where conversation, reading and music are present tend to have higher IQ and obtain better grades in school" .


Therefore, those parents who usually leave their children watching television or playing video games should know that this may affect their future academic performance, since those children who interact frequently with their parents and even the rest of the family achieve a greater development of intelligence .

Technological devices and intelligence: some scientific data

Psychologists and educators have been warning parents for decades about the harmful effects of technological devices (including television) on the little ones in the house. Álvaro Bilbao , author of the book "The brain of the child explained to parents", warns: "The key to the development of the brain the smallest is in the relationships with their parents. Genetics can have an important weight, but without the family environment the potential development of the brain will not come true. "


It is true that these technological devices used properly can be positive, but it is common for many parents, to have instant peace of mind, leave their children watching television or connected to the Ipad without any control. It is necessary to be careful with this, since an investigation published in Archives of Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine, and carried out by the Sainte Justine University of Quebec and the University of Michigan, demonstrates that children who spend more hours in front of television at 2, 3 and 4 years have more problems at school . For example, they have a 6% percent decline in achievement in math.

Brain Training games do not make us smarter

In recent years, games or brain training programs (or Brain Training) have become very fashionable with the aim of stimulating cognitive development. The truth is that its validity when improving the performance of cognitive functions is more than questioned. The belief of being able to become more intelligent through this type of games or programs was started by the Swedish researcher Torkel Kliemberg , which stated that, with its use, the children not only improved the memory after weeks of play, but also the intellectual capacity in general .

Some studies have shown that this belief was not true. Recently a meta-analysis of 23 investigations indicates that these video games or programs can lead to improvements in short-term memory, but not to other areas, such as improving the numerical calculation. The same result was obtained in an investigation of the University of Cambridge, in which his researchers found that apart from an increase in short-term memory, there was no improvement in other skills such as math, reading or writing

Another investigation, this time carried out by a team of psychologists from Georgia Tech to check if there was any improvement in the IC, neither did he detect any improvement in the intelligence of the study subjects . Therefore, it is possible to conclude that Brain Training games do not make us smarter.

Science says learning to learn to play an instrument makes us smarter

But how can we stimulate the intelligence of our children? Can music positively influence the intellectual development of children? Seems that if. At least that's what several studies claim.

There are many people who play instruments and perform in music groups as a hobby. If these results are true, in addition to having fun, these individuals could be more advantaged in the development of their intelligence . According to several researches, exposing a child to playing instruments at an early age can have a positive impact on their IQ, their level of reading and their brain development. In addition, adults who learn to play instruments also get benefits from this practice: greater concentration, greater brain activity and greater pleasure and well-being.

To test this hypothesis, a team of researchers from the University of Toronto (Canada) conducted a study with children aged 6 years. Randomly piano and voice classes were given to some of them. The others did not receive any training. The study showed that learning to play an instrument can increase math skills and IQ in general. So, if you're a father, instead of leaving your child in front of the computer, sign up for guitar or piano lessons . This way you will be stimulating your intelligence and your creativity.


Super Intelligence: ???? Memory Music, Improve Memory and Concentration, Binaural Beats Focus Music (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Si vous voulez des enfants intelligents, moins de technologie et plus de musique

Si vous voulez des enfants intelligents, moins de technologie et plus de musique

Mai 22, 2019

Nous sommes connectés aux nouvelles technologies toute la journée. Par exemple, lorsque nous réveillons l'alarme mobile le matin et que nous avons notre smartphone, ou lorsque nous rentrons du travail et allons directement à l'ordinateur ou à la tablette pour vous connecter aux réseaux sociaux.

Les nouvelles technologies ont révolutionné notre quotidien et, bien que nous ne réalisions pas, notre cerveau a également changé .

Les enfants et l'intelligence

Dans une interview publiée dans le journal La Vanguardia, David Bueno i Torrens , auteur du livre "Cerebroflexia", déclare: "Les nouvelles technologies réduisent le nombre de connexions dans la zone de gestion de la mémoire du cerveau, car une partie de cette fonction a été externalisée vers des appareils numériques: peu de personnes se souviennent du nombre du téléphone de vos amis.


Mais est-ce que les nouvelles technologies peuvent nous rendre plus ou moins intelligents? Des études récentes affirment que si nous voulons des enfants intelligents, nous devons faire attention à l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies. En outre, il semble que la musique (en particulier les instruments) constitue la clé du développement de l'intelligence d'un enfant.

Le rôle des parents dans le développement de l'intelligence de leurs enfants

L'ambiance familiale et l'attitude des parents sont déterminantes pour le développement intellectuel et les performances scolaires des enfants. Si nous parlons de ce dernier aspect, c’est-à-dire du rendement scolaire, Frances Glascoe , professeur de pédiatrie à l'université Vanderbilt de Berlin, explique qu '"il a été prouvé que les enfants qui grandissent dans des foyers où la conversation, la lecture et la musique sont présentes tendent à avoir un QI plus élevé et à obtenir de meilleures notes à l'école" .


Par conséquent, les parents qui laissent généralement leurs enfants regarder la télévision ou jouer à des jeux vidéo doivent savoir que cela peut avoir une incidence sur leurs résultats scolaires futurs, car les enfants qui interagissent fréquemment avec leurs parents et même le reste de la famille développent davantage leur intelligence .

Dispositifs technologiques et intelligence: quelques données scientifiques

Les psychologues et les éducateurs avertissent les parents depuis des décennies des effets néfastes des dispositifs technologiques (y compris la télévision) sur les petits de la maison. Álvaro Bilbao , auteur du livre "Le cerveau de l'enfant expliqué aux parents", prévient: "La clé du développement du cerveau, le plus petit, réside dans les relations avec leurs parents. La génétique peut avoir un poids important, mais sans l'environnement familial, le développement potentiel du cerveau ne se réalisera pas. "


Il est vrai que ces dispositifs technologiques bien utilisés peuvent être positifs, mais il est courant pour de nombreux parents d’avoir la tranquillité d’esprit instantanée, de laisser leurs enfants devant la télévision ou connectés à l’Ipad sans aucun contrôle. Il faut être prudent avec cela, puisqu’une enquête publiée dans Archives de pédiatrie et de médecine de l'adolescence, et réalisée par l’Université Sainte Justine du Québec et l’Université du Michigan, démontre que les enfants qui passent plus de temps devant la télévision à 2, 3 et 4 ans ont plus de problèmes à l'école . Par exemple, leur rendement en mathématiques a diminué de 6%.

Les jeux d'entraînement cérébral ne nous rendent pas plus intelligents

Ces dernières années, les jeux ou les programmes d’entraînement cérébral (ou entraînement cérébral) sont devenus très à la mode dans le but de stimuler le développement cognitif. La vérité est que sa validité pour améliorer la performance des fonctions cognitives est plus que remise en question. Le chercheur suédois a lancé l'idée de pouvoir devenir plus intelligent grâce à ce type de jeux ou de programmes. Torkel Kliemberg , qui a déclaré que, avec son utilisation, les enfants ont non seulement amélioré la mémoire après des semaines de jeu, mais aussi la capacité intellectuelle en général .

Certaines études ont montré que cette croyance n'était pas vraie. Une méta-analyse récente de 23 enquêtes indique que ces jeux ou programmes vidéo peuvent améliorer la mémoire à court terme, mais pas d'autres domaines, tels que le calcul numérique. Le même résultat a été obtenu lors d'une enquête menée par l'Université de Cambridge, au cours de laquelle ses chercheurs ont découvert que, mis à part une augmentation de la mémoire à court terme, aucune autre compétence, telle que les mathématiques, la lecture ou l'écriture, ne s'était améliorée.

Une autre enquête, cette fois menée par une équipe de psychologues de Georgia Tech, pour vérifier s’il y avait eu une quelconque amélioration du CI, il n'a pas non plus décelé d'amélioration de l'intelligence des sujets d'étude . Par conséquent, il est possible de conclure que les jeux d'entraînement cérébral ne nous rendent pas plus intelligents.

La science dit que d'apprendre à jouer d'un instrument nous rend plus intelligents

Mais comment pouvons-nous stimuler l'intelligence de nos enfants? La musique peut-elle influencer positivement le développement intellectuel des enfants? Il semble que oui. Au moins c'est ce que plusieurs études prétendent.

Nombreux sont ceux qui jouent des instruments et jouent dans des groupes de musique comme passe-temps. Si ces résultats sont vrais, en plus de s'amuser, ces individus pourraient être plus avantagés dans le développement de leur intelligence . Selon plusieurs recherches, exposer un enfant au jeu d'instruments dès son plus jeune âge peut avoir un impact positif sur son QI, son niveau de lecture et le développement de son cerveau. En outre, les adultes apprenant à jouer des instruments tirent également des avantages de cette pratique: concentration accrue, activité cérébrale accrue, plaisir et bien-être accrus.

Pour tester cette hypothèse, une équipe de chercheurs de l'Université de Toronto (Canada) a mené une étude auprès d'enfants âgés de 6 ans. Au hasard, des cours de piano et de chant ont été donnés à certains d'entre eux. Les autres n'ont reçu aucune formation. L'étude a montré qu'apprendre à jouer d'un instrument peut augmenter les compétences en mathématiques et le QI en général. Alors, si vous êtes un père, au lieu de laisser votre enfant devant l'ordinateur, inscrivez-vous à des cours de guitare ou de piano . De cette façon, vous stimulerez votre intelligence et votre créativité.


8 astuces BONNES NOTES | comment réussir ses études? (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes