yes, therapy helps!
Imaginary friends in children: are these fantasies normal?

Imaginary friends in children: are these fantasies normal?

May 11, 2024

The ability to socialize and maintain positive contacts beyond the merely familiar, establishing links with people in our environment and sharing situations, moments and positive experiences with them is fundamental for our full development.

Friendships are going to be very important throughout life, but having someone with characteristics similar to their own with whom to share and experience is especially relevant during childhood and adolescence. And in many cases, some children come to make friends that do not really exist in the real world but are of great importance to them: we are talking about imaginary friends . It is about this concept that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

What is an imaginary friend?

An imaginary friend is considered to be that invisible and non-existent character in reality that is considered as real or partially real by a child with whom he plays to interact frequently and directly and who is named and recognized in front of other people. The interaction and consideration of the existence of this being by the child may have a variable duration. Although we have spoken of nonexistent beings, sometimes the imaginary friend is an object or element to which the child grants the ability to be alive or interact, like a doll.


The creation and maintenance of imaginary friends usually occurs in young children , between two and eight years. The friend in question usually has a protective or playful function, being his own presence of situations in which the child is playing or feels fear. The character in question can be a child like him or her or animate beings, with animal or even fantastic characteristics. Usually the friend begins to be forgotten or disappear when the child begins to have a more fluid and positive contact with children and make friends, although it may take some time to disappear.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The power of the game: why is it necessary for children?"

Explanations for this phenomenon in childhood

The creation of imaginary friends by children has been an aspect investigated with great interest throughout history, there are different approaches to this. Initially there was the idea that it was treated and valued as the expression of a clinical problem, although research has shown that with exceptions this is not the case.


Initially it was considered that imaginary friends were the expression of affective problems linked to shortages such as lack of affection on the part of the parents, loneliness or lack of people of the same maturational level or as a compensation mechanism for what the children consider their weaknesses. Although in some cases this may be the case, especially in abandoned children or those who have suffered some trauma, it has been observed that this phenomenon can appear in any kind of context.

Authors such as Jean Piaget, known for his studies on child development and the phases of acquisition of different skills and mental abilities from a cognitive perspective, interpreted the presence of imaginary friends as an elaboration of the child as an attempt to explain reality that he was not able to understand, having difficulties to separate the real from the imaginary in the typical age of appearance of this phenomenon (between 3-6 years). However children yes they are able to separate fictional reality at these ages , often knowing that their imaginary friends are not perceptible to anyone other than them or even that they are the product of fantasy.

Another more recent theory values ​​that imaginary friends are simulations of real beings that children use to practice real interaction situations and that serve to improve their understanding of the theory of mind (assume and understand that others have opinions, thoughts and perspectives different from their own).

Is it something pathological?

Although it does not occur in all children, the presence of imaginary friends is something that generally is accepted as something normal that will happen over time. But nevertheless, many parents show great concern when it happens to their children before the possibility of being witnessing some type of alteration or mental pathology.

This concern has some sense, since the truth is that the concept of imaginary friends assumes the existence of some characteristics that might resemble those of a hallucination or a delirium (it is perceived and considered real the existence of a being that does not exist beyond of the subject's own mind, which remains in time).

But nevertheless, in the vast majority of cases it is not a pathological event but a normative one , being extremely frequent (although there is no consensus, some studies indicate that even about half of children could have them) and that it usually happens in a stage of life when magical thinking is very active and there is great creativity

Also, the friend in question can play a role in children's development : relieve company needs, project your ideal self or your own self-image, practice for real interactions, rehearse your theory of mind and the ability to understand the other, or release anxiety generating a fictitious world in which you can abstract from various problems.

In fact, some studies even seem to indicate that the generation of imaginary friends (provided that it does not become the expression of affective deficiencies or generates an active withdrawal from real contact with others) far from being pathological can even allow the development of different skills, improving their future social competence, apathy, abstraction and creativity.

What to do?

Many parents may wonder how to act in the presence of imaginary friends in their children , being a normal and lawful concern. But as a rule, having imaginary friends is not something that requires treatment.

It is not advisable to punish, deny or ignore the existence of the imaginary friend, although it is important to assess the type of friend or personality he has. Nor try to force the child to do activities over-occupying his time to avoid the existence of this friend. It could also be useful to try to favor (without it becoming a forced and insistent practice that generates anxiety to the child) the approach to situations where you can interact with other children.

The subject should be treated with respect. We must bear in mind that it may be a projection of our son's fears or even of a way to connect with the world and communicate with you , with which it may be relevant to hear when it appears and the opinions that the child says that his friend has about the world.

Less common aspects that can generate a response and should not be allowed is the fact that the imaginary friend is used as a justification or scapegoat for the aversive acts themselves.

It can also be more worrying if you notice that the child prefers to relate to his invisible friend than to the rest of the world and this leads to isolation , or that the personality of the friend is extremely violent or destructive. While there are cases in which imaginary friends are maintained until adolescence, it is not very common and we should assess that the child may be having some kind of problem.

Bibliographic references:

  • Benavides Delgado, J. (2007). The Creation of Imaginary Friends in Children: A Clinical Problem ?. Psychological Thesis [online] Available at: //www.redalyc.org/articulo.oa?id=139012670006.
  • Taylor, M. (1999). Imaginary companions and the children who create them. Oxford: Oxford.

Our Secret Fantasies (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Amis imaginaires chez les enfants: ces fantasmes sont-ils normaux?

Amis imaginaires chez les enfants: ces fantasmes sont-ils normaux?

Septembre 21, 2021

La capacité de socialiser et de maintenir des contacts positifs au-delà du simple fait familier, d'établir des liens avec des personnes de notre environnement et de partager des situations, des moments et des expériences positives avec eux est fondamentale pour notre plein développement.

Les amitiés vont devenir très importantes tout au long de la vie, mais le fait d'avoir quelqu'un avec des caractéristiques similaires aux siennes avec lesquelles partager et expérimenter est particulièrement pertinent pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence. Et dans de nombreux cas, certains enfants viennent se faire des amis qui n'existent pas vraiment dans le monde réel mais qui sont d'une grande importance pour eux: nous parlons d'amis imaginaires . C'est à propos de ce concept que nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Qu'est-ce qu'un ami imaginaire?

Un ami imaginaire est considéré comme étant ce personnage invisible et inexistant dans la réalité, considéré comme réel ou partiellement réel par un enfant avec lequel il joue pour interagir fréquemment et directement et qui est nommé et reconnu devant d'autres personnes. L'interaction et la prise en compte de l'existence de cet être par l'enfant peuvent avoir une durée variable. Bien que nous ayons parlé d'êtres inexistants, parfois l'ami imaginaire est un objet ou un élément auquel l'enfant donne la capacité d'être en vie ou d'interagir, comme une poupée.


La création et le maintien d'amis imaginaires se produisent généralement chez les jeunes enfants , entre deux et huit ans. L'ami en question a généralement une fonction protectrice ou ludique, étant sa propre présence de situations dans lesquelles l'enfant joue ou a peur. Le personnage en question peut être un enfant comme lui ou des êtres animés, avec des caractéristiques animales ou même fantastiques. Habituellement, l'ami commence à être oublié ou disparaît lorsque l'enfant commence à avoir un contact plus fluide et positif avec les enfants et à se faire des amis, bien que la disparition puisse prendre un certain temps.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "La puissance du jeu: pourquoi est-ce nécessaire pour les enfants?"

Explications de ce phénomène dans l'enfance

La création d'amis imaginaires par des enfants a été un aspect étudié avec un grand intérêt tout au long de l'histoire. Il existe différentes approches à cet égard. À l’origine, on pensait qu’il était traité et valorisé comme l’expression d’un problème clinique, bien que des recherches aient montré que ce n’est pas le cas, à quelques exceptions près.


Au début il a été considéré que les amis imaginaires étaient l'expression de problèmes affectifs liées à des pénuries telles que le manque d'affection de la part des parents, la solitude ou le manque de personnes du même niveau de maturité ou en tant que mécanisme de compensation pour ce que les enfants considèrent comme leurs faiblesses. Bien que, dans certains cas, cela puisse être le cas, en particulier chez les enfants abandonnés ou ceux qui ont subi un traumatisme, il a été observé que ce phénomène peut apparaître dans n’importe quel contexte.

Des auteurs tels que Jean Piaget, connu pour ses études sur le développement de l'enfant et les phases d'acquisition de différentes compétences et capacités mentales d'un point de vue cognitif, ont interprété la présence d'amis imaginaires comme une élaboration de l'enfant comme une tentative d'explication de la réalité. qu’il n’était pas capable de comprendre, ayant des difficultés à séparer le réel de l’imaginaire à l’âge typique de l’apparition de ce phénomène (entre 3 et 6 ans). Cependant les enfants oui, ils sont capables de séparer la réalité fictive à ces âges , sachant souvent que leurs amis imaginaires ne sont pas perceptibles par quiconque, ni même qu'ils sont le produit de fantasmes.

Selon une autre théorie plus récente, les amis imaginaires simulent des êtres réels que les enfants utilisent pour pratiquer des situations d'interaction réelles et qui servent à améliorer leur compréhension de la théorie de l’esprit (supposez et comprenez que les autres ont des opinions, des pensées et des perspectives différentes des leurs).

Est-ce quelque chose de pathologique?

Bien que cela ne se produise pas chez tous les enfants, la présence d'amis imaginaires est généralement considérée comme une chose normale qui se produira avec le temps. Cependant, beaucoup de parents sont très préoccupés quand cela arrive à leurs enfants avant la possibilité d'être témoin d'un certain type d'altération ou de pathologie mentale.

Cette préoccupation a un sens, car en réalité le concept d'amis imaginaires suppose l'existence de certaines caractéristiques pouvant ressembler à celles d'une hallucination ou d'un délire (elle est perçue et considérée comme réelle par l'existence d'un être qui n'existe pas au-delà. de l'esprit du sujet, qui reste dans le temps).

Cependant, dans la grande majorité des cas, il ne s'agit pas d'un événement pathologique, mais d'un événement normatif , étant extrêmement fréquente (bien qu’il n’y ait pas de consensus, certaines études indiquent que même la moitié environ des enfants pourraient en avoir) et que cela se produit généralement à un stade de la vie où la pensée magique est très active et où grande créativité

Aussi, l'ami en question peut jouer un rôle dans le développement des enfants : soulagez les besoins de votre entreprise, projetez votre moi idéal ou votre propre image, pratiquez de vraies interactions, répétez votre théorie de l’esprit et votre capacité à comprendre l’autre, ou libérez-vous de l’angoisse en créant un monde fictif dans lequel vous pouvez vous abstenir de résoudre divers problèmes.

En fait, certaines études semblent même indiquer que la génération d'amis imaginaires (à condition de ne pas devenir l'expression de déficiences affectives ou de générer un retrait actif du contact réel avec les autres) loin d'être pathologique puisse même permettre le développement de compétences différentes, améliorer leur compétence sociale future, leur apathie, leur abstraction et leur créativité.

Que faire?

Beaucoup de parents peuvent se demander comment agir en présence d'amis imaginaires chez leurs enfants , étant une préoccupation normale et légale. Mais en règle générale, avoir des amis imaginaires ne nécessite pas de traitement.

Il n'est pas conseillé de punir, de nier ou d'ignorer l'existence de l'ami imaginaire, bien qu'il soit important d'évaluer le type d'ami ou de personnalité qu'il a. N'essayez pas non plus de forcer l'enfant à faire des activités qui occupent trop de temps pour éviter l'existence de cet ami. Il pourrait également être utile d'essayer de favoriser (sans que cela devienne une pratique forcée et persistante générant une anxiété chez l'enfant) l'approche de situations dans lesquelles vous pouvez interagir avec d'autres enfants.

Le sujet doit être traité avec respect. Il ne faut pas oublier qu'il peut s'agir d'une projection des peurs de notre fils ou même de un moyen de communiquer avec le monde et de communiquer avec vous , avec lequel il peut être pertinent d'entendre quand il apparaît et les opinions que l'enfant dit que son ami a sur le monde.

Le fait que l'ami imaginaire soit utilisé comme justification ou comme bouc émissaire pour les actes d'aversion eux-mêmes est un aspect moins commun qui peut générer une réponse et ne devrait pas être autorisé.

Cela peut aussi être plus inquiétant si vous remarquez que l'enfant préfère parler à son ami invisible qu'au reste du monde, ce qui conduit à l'isolement , ou que la personnalité de l’ami soit extrêmement violente ou destructrice. Bien qu'il existe des cas dans lesquels des amis imaginaires sont maintenus jusqu'à l'adolescence, ce n'est pas très courant et nous devrions évaluer que l'enfant peut avoir un problème quelconque.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Benavides Delgado, J. (2007). La création d’amis imaginaires chez l’enfant: un problème clinique? Thèse psychologique [en ligne] Disponible à l'adresse: http://www.redalyc.org/articulo.oa?id=139012670006.
  • Taylor, M. (1999). Compagnons imaginaires et les enfants qui les créent. Oxford: Oxford.

Secrets d'Histoire - Cléopâtre ou la beauté fatale (Intégrale) (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes