yes, therapy helps!
In 2038 there will be more atheists than believers, according to this psychologist

In 2038 there will be more atheists than believers, according to this psychologist

June 24, 2021

It is clear that during the last decades in some countries a level of material well-being has been reached that has never been seen before in any historical period. This change has not occurred in a vacuum; it has gone hand in hand with the migration from the countryside to the cities, the environmental degradation, the accelerated development of new technologies ... And, in addition, there has been a psychological change: there are more and more atheists .

But ... to what extent will the tendency to not believe in the divine or the hereafter continue to grow? Is there a "ceiling" from which atheism can not continue to grow? According to the psychologist Nigel Barber, if it exists, that roof is still far away and, in fact, Atheism will win the pulse of religions before the year 2038 .


  • Related article: Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas) "

The belief in religions descends

There are two fundamental things that characterize atheism today: it grows rapidly and is distributed very unevenly by region and age. Yes in Spain 40 years ago only 8% of the population considered themselves atheist , today this percentage has risen to 25%. In a similar way, if in people older than 65 years living in Spain atheists are only 8.3%, among the millennials, born in the last years of the 20th century, the percentage is approximately 50%.

Similarly, countries that enjoy a more developed welfare state, such as Sweden or Germany, have a greater representation of the atheist population, while religiosity is hegemonic in countries where there is a lot of poverty. It seems that the expansion of the welfare society causes religiousness to recede . For Barber, in addition, this is not a dynamic that is going to revert soon.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Can you be a psychologist and believe in God?"

Why the expansion of atheism?

In his book Why Atheism Will Replace Religion?, Nigel Barber explains that religion has been for centuries an elaborate cultural creation to appease with anguish that generates live in highly unstable and dangerous environments, in which the danger and lack of resources lurks in the day to day. The idea of ​​death and the feeling of helplessness could be better borne in the belief that life itself has to do with a creation full of unearthly transcendence. In these contexts, it was useful.

But just as certain animal species survive in stable environments such as islands, there are ideas that are unrivaled as long as certain conditions exist over centuries and millennia; but when there a strong change that affects the entire population and that does not have precedents , the situation may change. The example set by the author is that of the dodo: when a new element enters the scene, extinction can occur over a few decades.


In this case, "the new" is the possibility of living relatively comfortable lives (at least materially) and access to an education in which logical reasoning and scientifically generated knowledge. This means that life can be given a meaning beyond the fear of extraterrestrial punishments and beyond dogmas.

The new religions

Another one of the things that can be influencing the expansion of atheism is, according to Barber, the fact that new forms of non-theistic religiosity appear that escape the usual definition of "believer" and "non-believer". Football, the fan phenomenon and some forms of political activism For example, they can lead us to feel part of a cohesive collective as well as a system of dogmas and, of course, a sense of transcendence, of something that will remain when we die.

Thus, many people who declare themselves atheists may be channeling forms of almost religious reasoning without realizing it. For example, by never putting into doubt certain beliefs through circular thinking, or by believe that there are ideas against which "blasphemy" can not be directed . The difference between these new religions and the old ones is that they do not appeal to fear due to non-compliance with a series of norms, and they can be abandoned at any time without being so afraid of the pressures of the environment.

What will happen in the next decades?

In any case, it seems that if atheism goes hand in hand with the development and generalization of certain standards of well-being, environmental and economic crises can make a dent in it.What will happen when, due to the lack of energy sources, a collapse occurs that paralyzes the factories? And when climate change forces millions of people to move to other countries, and to look for drinking water elsewhere? Maybe in the next few years the lack of belief in religions will live its historical maximum , to plummet immediately afterward as poverty and scarce resources progress. After all, no prediction is totally reliable, and religion can continue to be perpetuated just as it has done so far.


People who claim to be drugged are, you do not see ppl lie or mistake that -closing thoughts (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
En 2038, il y aura plus d'athées que de croyants, selon ce psychologue

En 2038, il y aura plus d'athées que de croyants, selon ce psychologue

Janvier 22, 2021

Il est clair que, au cours des dernières décennies, dans certains pays, un niveau de bien-être matériel a été atteint, jamais atteint auparavant. Ce changement ne s'est pas produit en vase clos. elle est allée de pair avec la migration des campagnes vers les villes, la dégradation de l'environnement, le développement accéléré de nouvelles technologies ... Et, en outre, il y a eu un changement psychologique: il y a de plus en plus d'athées .

Mais ... dans quelle mesure la tendance à ne pas croire au divin ou à l'au-delà continuera-t-elle de croître? Existe-t-il un "plafond" à partir duquel l'athéisme ne peut continuer à croître? Selon le psychologue Nigel Barber, s’il existe, ce toit est encore loin et, en fait, L'athéisme gagnera le pouls des religions avant l'an 2038 .


  • Article connexe: Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d’idées) "

La croyance dans les religions descend

L'athéisme se caractérise aujourd'hui par deux facteurs fondamentaux: il se développe rapidement et est très inégalement réparti par région et par âge. Oui en espagne Il y a 40 ans, seulement 8% de la population se considérait athée Aujourd'hui, ce pourcentage est passé à 25%. De la même manière, si chez les personnes de plus de 65 ans vivant en Espagne, les athées ne représentent que 8,3%, parmi les millennials, nés au cours des dernières années du XXe siècle, le pourcentage est d’environ 50%.

De même, les pays bénéficiant d'un État social plus développé, tels que la Suède ou l'Allemagne, ont une plus grande représentation de la population athée, tandis que la religiosité est hégémonique dans les pays très pauvres. Il semble que l'expansion de la société de bien-être provoque le recul de la religiosité . Pour Barber, en outre, ce n’est pas une dynamique qui va revenir bientôt.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pouvez-vous être un psychologue et croire en Dieu?"

Pourquoi l'expansion de l'athéisme?

Dans son livre Pourquoi l'athéisme va-t-il remplacer la religion?, Nigel Barber explique que la religion a été pendant des siècles une création culturelle élaborée pour apaiser avec angoisse qui génère des vies dans des environnements extrêmement instables et dangereux, dans lesquels le danger et le manque de ressources se cachent au jour le jour. L'idée de la mort et le sentiment d'impuissance pourraient être mieux fondés dans la conviction que la vie elle-même a à voir avec une création pleine de transcendance surnaturelle. Dans ces contextes, c'était utile.

Mais, de même que certaines espèces animales survivent dans des environnements stables tels que les îles, il existe des idées incomparables tant que certaines conditions existent pendant des siècles et des millénaires; mais quand là un changement fort qui touche toute la population et qui n'a pas de précédent , la situation peut changer. L’exemple donné par l’auteur est celui du dodo: lorsqu’un nouvel élément entre en scène, l’extinction peut se produire en quelques décennies.


Dans ce cas, "le nouveau" est la possibilité de mener une vie relativement confortable (du moins matériellement) et d'accéder à une éducation dans laquelle le raisonnement logique et les connaissances générées scientifiquement. Cela signifie que la vie peut avoir une signification qui dépasse la peur des punitions extraterrestres et des dogmes.

Les nouvelles religions

Une autre des choses qui peuvent influencer l'expansion de l'athéisme est, selon Barber, le fait que de nouvelles formes de religiosité non théistes apparaissent, échappant à la définition habituelle de "croyant" et de "non-croyant". Le football, le phénomène des supporters et certaines formes d'activisme politique Par exemple, ils peuvent nous amener à nous sentir comme appartenant à un collectif cohérent ainsi qu’à un système de dogmes et, bien sûr, à un sentiment de transcendance, de quelque chose qui restera quand nous mourrons.

Ainsi, beaucoup de personnes qui se déclarent athées peuvent canaliser des formes de raisonnement presque religieux sans le savoir. Par exemple, en ne mettant jamais en doute certaines croyances par la pensée circulaire ou par croire qu'il existe des idées contre lesquelles un "blasphème" ne peut être dirigé . La différence entre ces nouvelles religions et les anciennes est qu’elles ne font pas appel à la peur en raison du non-respect d’une série de normes et qu’elles peuvent être abandonnées à tout moment sans craindre les pressions de l’environnement.

Que va-t-il se passer dans les prochaines décennies?

Quoi qu’il en soit, il semble que si l’athéisme va de pair avec le développement et la généralisation de certaines normes de bien-être, les crises environnementales et économiques peuvent le réduire.Que se passera-t-il lorsque, faute de sources d'énergie, il se produira un effondrement qui paralysera les usines? Et quand le changement climatique force des millions de personnes à s’installer dans d’autres pays et à chercher de l’eau potable ailleurs? Peut-être que dans les prochaines années, le manque de croyance dans les religions vivra son maximum historique , s'effondrer immédiatement après la pauvreté et la raréfaction des ressources. Après tout, aucune prévision n’est totalement fiable et la religion peut continuer à se perpétuer comme elle l’a fait jusqu’à présent.


Things Mr. Welch is No Longer Allowed to do in a RPG #1-2450 Reading Compilation (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes