yes, therapy helps!
Incels: who they are and how they think the members of this collective

Incels: who they are and how they think the members of this collective

July 18, 2024

There are many ways of seeing the world and numerous associations and social movements with different purposes and ideologies. However, not all of them are positive and prosocial.

There are movements and even subcultures that defend the commission of various crimes or that consider part of the population as their enemy. This is what happens with the incels, a group that has claimed its first fatalities and about which until recently there was little information.

  • Related article: "Types of sexism: the different forms of discrimination"

The "incels": origin and evolution of the term

The term "incel" comes from "involuntary celibacy" or involuntary celibacy . Initially, it was generated by a woman from the LGTB collective who wanted to refer to all those people who, due to their physical appearance, are not sexually attractive and do not manage to have sexual relations, trying to generate a label to group and generate a community that would integrate and allow them to feel less alone to those people who could not get out of their solitude.


However, with the passage of time the term and its definition have been taken and appropriated by a community or subculture born and expanded through networks (being 4chan or Reddit some of the main ones).

Thus, at present it would be identified as such to that group of men, mostly heterosexuals , that they are not in a relationship or have had sexual relations either never or in a long time (they do not necessarily have to be virgins) in spite of pretending it. These people consider that they have the right to maintain relationships (confusing the right to have sex with the fact that others must provide it), and blame women for denying them that right.


Characteristics of this misogynist collective

Current members of this collective they usually have a misogynistic attitude which has led some of its members to consider that they have the right to punish, force or even kill those who deny or usurp this right. You can recognize a macho and misogynist attitude that sees women in general as a mere sexual object or as a subordinate that has the duty to provide sex.

The collective of the incels tends to consider that their lack of relationships derives from an unattractive physical aspect or a supposed feminine superficiality , not observing their beliefs and attitudes as a motivator of rejection. They do not usually understand the possible reasons for rejection or how other subjects are accepted, and consider that it is an act of discrimination that deserves contempt and punishment. The attitude toward themselves is usually to a greater or lesser degree self-deprecating, highlighting the presence of feelings of displacement and inadequacy that generates great frustration.


Likewise, they are characterized by communicating in Internet forums, spaces where they share their opinions and talk about diverse topics among which the vision of sex as a male right that is being denied to them (reaching human rights movements and even propose the advocacy of laws), as well as the vision of themselves as someone who has been humiliated and is suffering a conspiracy against him.

  • Related article: "Misogyny: 9 attitudes that portray misogynists"

Terms and jargon used in their forums

The hatred of this group is not directed exclusively towards women , but it has also been observed that physically attractive and sexually active men are also visualized as enemies or rivals. In fact, even nicknames or nicknames have been generated to refer to their hate objects.

By "Chad" would be understood all that physically attractive male and active sex life that represents what many of these subjects would want to achieve and can not, and that are seen as their opposites. Some incels revere them, but in other cases there is often a deep hatred and envy towards them. In some forums there has been talk of Chads genocide .

Another one of the nicknames that this subculture puts to other people is the one that they grant to the feminine counterpart of the previous case: the "Stacy". In this case, it would be physically attractive and generally young women who are often attracted to the "Chads" and reject members of the Incel collective. It is an object of hated desire, because they consider that they deny love and sex to those who believe they have a right.

In addition to it they also use the term "femoid", or feminine humanoid . It refers in a clearly pejorative and dehumanized way to those women who only have sex with the Chads, practically, as if it were their only function.

Finally, another pejorative term they use is that of "roastie" (roast beef), which refers to the supposed form that they believe they adopt the genitals of promiscuous women.

Psychological aspects linked

While there is no official profile, making a more psychological reading of the incel ideology the researcher Debbie Ging believes that it is possible to observe those who are part of this group the presence of a high level of frustration, loneliness and a sense of belonging , of being ignored and feeling isolated. A frustration that makes responsible their objects of desire and those who maintain relationships with them.

The presence of a low level of tolerance and little capacity to manage the sexual and / or sexual rejection is also observed, not having enough social skills and emotional management. It's about people who tend to focus on the perception of pain and frustration to finish by blaming the other of him. The lack of powerful affective ties and personal insecurity also facilitates the attachment to this type of ideology, by providing those who make a sense of their lack of relationships.

Murders associated with this collective

The expansion of this group has already claimed its first victims. One of the most famous cases is that of Elliot Rodger , that in 2014 shot and killed six people and injured another thirteen before committing suicide, having left recordings and documents in which he explained wanting to punish women for having felt rejected and dissatisfied all his life and defending that they deserved to die.

This first known case was idealized by some members of the incel collective, to the point that it would be replicated this same April 23 of this year by Alek Minassian. And is that the mass abuse occurred in Toronto last month and that culminated in the death of a dozen people was caused by the aforementioned young man. After that, he left a message on Facebook expressing the desire to start a revolution and exterminate the Chads and Stacys.

These two are cases in which it has been observed the involvement of this group in murders and massacres directly, but other lesser known cases could also be related.

Bibliographic references:

  • Donnelly, D .; Burgess, E .; Anderson, S .; Davis, R. & Dillard, J. (2001). Involuntary Celibacy: A life course analysis. The Journal of Sex Research, 38 (2), 159-169.
  • Rengel, C. (2018). The incel, the misogynists who kill because they can not have sex. The Huffpost.

Flat Earth: A Measured Response (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Incels: qui sont-ils et comment pensent-ils les membres de ce collectif?

Incels: qui sont-ils et comment pensent-ils les membres de ce collectif?

Avril 16, 2021

Il existe de nombreuses façons de voir le monde et de nombreuses associations et mouvements sociaux ayant des buts et des idéologies différents. Cependant, ils ne sont pas tous positifs et prosociaux.

Il existe des mouvements et même des sous-cultures qui défendent la commission de divers crimes ou qui considèrent une partie de la population comme leur ennemi. C'est ce qui se passe avec les incels, un groupe qui a fait ses premiers morts et sur lequel, jusqu'à récemment, il y avait peu d'informations.

  • Article connexe: "Types de sexisme: les différentes formes de discrimination"

Les "incels": origine et évolution du terme

Le terme "incel" vient du "célibat involontaire" ou du célibat involontaire . Initialement, il a été généré par une femme du collectif LGTB qui souhaitait désigner toutes les personnes qui, en raison de leur apparence physique, ne sont pas attirantes sur le plan sexuel et ne parviennent pas à avoir des relations sexuelles, essayant de générer un label pour créer un groupe et créer une communauté qui les intégrerait seul à ces gens qui ne pouvaient pas sortir de leur solitude.


Cependant, avec le temps, le terme et sa définition ont été repris et appropriés par un communauté ou sous-culture née et élargie à travers des réseaux (étant 4chan ou Reddit quelques-uns des principaux).

Ainsi, à présent, il serait identifié comme tel à ce groupe de hommes, principalement hétérosexuels , qu'ils ne sont pas en couple ou qu'ils ont eu des relations sexuelles soit jamais, soit depuis longtemps (ils ne doivent pas nécessairement être vierges) en dépit de le prétendre. Ces personnes considèrent qu’elles ont le droit de maintenir des relations (ce qui confond le droit d’avoir des relations sexuelles avec le fait que d’autres doivent les fournir) et reprochent aux femmes de leur avoir refusé ce droit.


Caractéristiques de ce collectif misogyne

Membres actuels de ce collectif ils ont généralement une attitude misogyne ce qui a amené certains de ses membres à considérer qu'ils ont le droit de punir, forcer ou même tuer ceux qui nient ou usurpent ce droit. Vous pouvez reconnaître une attitude machiste et misogyne qui considère les femmes en général comme un simple objet sexuel ou comme un subordonné ayant le devoir de fournir des relations sexuelles.

Le collectif des incels a tendance à considérer que leur absence de relation découle d'un aspect physique peu attrayant ou une supposée superficialité féminine , n'observant pas leurs croyances et leurs attitudes en tant que facteur de rejet. Ils ne comprennent généralement pas les motifs possibles de rejet ou la manière dont d’autres sujets sont acceptés, et considèrent qu’il s’agit d’un acte discriminatoire qui mérite mépris et punition. L'attitude envers eux-mêmes est généralement, à un degré plus ou moins grand, auto-dévalorisante, soulignant la présence de sentiments de déplacement et d'insuffisance générant une grande frustration.


De même, ils se caractérisent par la communication sur des forums Internet, des espaces où ils partagent leurs opinions et discutent de sujets divers, parmi lesquels la vision du sexe en tant que droit masculin qui leur est refusée (atteindre les mouvements des droits de l'homme et même proposer le plaidoyer des lois), ainsi que la vision d'eux-mêmes en tant que quelqu'un qui a été humilié et qui subit un complot contre lui.

  • Article connexe: "Misogynie: 9 attitudes qui dépeignent les misogynes"

Termes et jargon utilisés dans leurs forums

La haine de ce groupe ne vise pas exclusivement les femmes , mais il a également été observé que les hommes physiquement attrayants et sexuellement actifs sont également visualisés comme des ennemis ou des rivaux. En fait, même les surnoms ou les surnoms ont été générés pour faire référence à leurs objets haineux.

Par "Chad", on comprendrait toute cette vie sexuelle masculine et active, physiquement attrayante, qui représente ce que beaucoup de ces sujets voudraient réaliser et ne peuvent pas, et qui sont considérés comme leurs contraires. Certains incitent à les vénérer, mais dans d'autres cas, il existe souvent une profonde haine et une envie envers eux. Dans certains forums, il a été question du génocide de Chads .

Un autre des surnoms que cette sous-culture attribue à d’autres personnes est celui qu’elles attribuent à la contrepartie féminine de l’affaire précédente: la "Stacy". Dans ce cas, ce serait attrayant physiquement et généralement les jeunes femmes qui sont souvent attirées par les "Chads" et rejettent les membres du collectif Incel. C'est un objet de désir détesté, car ils considèrent qu'ils nient l'amour et le sexe à ceux qui croient avoir le droit.

En plus de cela ils utilisent également le terme "femoid", ou humanoïde féminin . Il fait référence de manière clairement péjorative et déshumanisée aux femmes qui n’ont que des relations sexuelles avec les Chads, pratiquement, comme si c’était leur seule fonction.

Enfin, un autre terme péjoratif utilisé est celui de "roastie" (rôti de boeuf), qui fait référence à la forme supposée selon laquelle ils croient adopter les organes génitaux de femmes aux mœurs légères.

Aspects psychologiques liés

Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de profil officiel, faisant une lecture plus psychologique de l’idéologie incel, la chercheuse Debbie Ging pense qu’il est possible d’observer ceux qui font partie de ce groupe. la présence d'un niveau élevé de frustration, de solitude et d'un sentiment d'appartenance , d’être ignoré et de se sentir isolé. Une frustration qui rend responsables leurs objets de désir et ceux qui entretiennent des relations avec eux.

On observe également la présence d'un faible niveau de tolérance et d'une faible capacité à gérer le rejet sexuel et / ou sexuel, n'ayant pas assez de compétences sociales et de gestion émotionnelle. C'est à propos des gens qui ont tendance à se concentrer sur la perception de la douleur et de la frustration pour finir en blâmant l'autre de lui. L'absence de liens affectifs puissants et d'insécurité personnelle facilite également l'attachement à ce type d'idéologie, en fournissant à ceux qui ont une idée de leur manque de relations.

Assassinats associés à ce collectif

L'expansion de ce groupe a déjà fait ses premières victimes. Elliot Rodger est l’un des cas les plus célèbres. , qu'en 2014, six personnes ont été tuées par balle et treize autres avant de se suicider, après avoir laissé des enregistrements et des documents dans lesquels il expliquait vouloir punir les femmes pour s'être senties rejetées et insatisfaites toute leur vie et défendre qu'elles méritaient de mourir.

Ce premier cas connu a été idéalisé par certains membres du collectif incel, au point qu’il serait reproduit le même 23 avril de cette année par Alek Minassian. Et c’est que les abus de masse commis à Toronto le mois dernier et qui ont abouti à la mort d’une douzaine de personnes ont été causés par le jeune homme susmentionné. Après cela, il a laissé un message sur Facebook exprimant le désir de commencer une révolution et d'exterminer les Chads et Stacys.

Il s’agit de cas dans lesquels ce groupe a été directement impliqué dans des meurtres et des massacres, mais d’autres cas moins connus pourraient également être liés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Donnelly, D .; Burgess, E.; Anderson, S .; Davis, R. & Dillard, J. (2001). Célibat involontaire: analyse du parcours de vie. The Journal of Sex Research, 38 (2), 159-169.
  • Rengel, C. (2018). Les incel, les misogynes qui tuent parce qu'ils ne peuvent pas avoir de relations sexuelles. Le poteau de Huffpost.

Decrypting the Alt-Right: How to Recognize a [email protected] | ContraPoints (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes