yes, therapy helps!
Indigo children and auras of color, another New Age hoax

Indigo children and auras of color, another New Age hoax

April 20, 2024

Have you heard about the Indigo Children ? It is no secret that childhood is a difficult stage l. Not only because of the succession of rapid changes to which it is associated; also by the frictions that may arise between an inexperienced person, relatively impulsive and unaware of many social customs and adults with whom he lives and who provide protection, education and affection.

The widespread fraud of pseudosciences

To the complications that appear in the relationship between children and adults we must add the difficulty with which young people express what they feel and identify their own thought patterns, and the result of this is that many people are prone to misunderstand children. This margin for misinterpretation may be relevant enough to include misguided judgments about the intentions or interests of the children, or it may be broad enough to affect the way of perceiving the child's own nature.


It is in this second case that the pseudoscience of New Age dyes has fertile ground to make ideas as dangerous as those of Indigo Children .

What are Indigo Children?

The idea of ​​indigo children was born during the 80s with a book of the New Age current called Understanding Your Life Through Color, by Nancy Tappe. In it, the author was able to see an invisible aura that surrounds people and informs the nature of each one. Thanks to this gift, Tappe would have been able to discover a rapid growth in the number of people born with a bluish aura, indicating something similar to a qualitative change in the evolution of history. These young people of blue aura are indigo children, people endowed with a privileged relationship with the spiritual and with certain special properties.


Forer effect to fool the uninformed

The description of the typology of the indigo child is broad enough for several New Age gurus to profit by generating content on the subject, and ambiguous enough to take advantage of a good dose of Forer Effect in front of public opinion. The only thing more or less concrete that can be known about indigo children is that they need a different treatment and education from other children, they are more sensitive to the "spiritual plane" of reality and they bring a message of peace from mysterious and immaterial instances . Each of these children is something like an outpost of a new world full of peace and love that is to come, the first signs of a paradigm shift, etc.

Because of the pseudoscientific basis of the "Indigo Children" concept, it can scarcely be said that it is a theory or a hypothesis. It is, in any case, another piece of the museum of speculations that, by resorting to spiritual elements to be explained, they can not be put to the test.


Why is it dangerous to believe all this?

Listening to this type of ideas can be very harmful if it helps to mask the problems or challenges that the child faces. For example, a variant of indigo children called "Crystal children" it can be related to cases of autism or the very controversial ADHD, or it acts as a label applied to young people who simply show some unusual aspects or behaviors and who therefore find it difficult to adapt to some environments. For example, it is tempting to start believing in the special properties of a child if that allows us to deny a neurological or psychological diagnosis that causes rejection.

In addition, since the texts about indigo children can refer to the special needs of these people and their "superior" abilities, something similar to a caste system or a new form of racism is generated, this time in a color that it is not seen: that of the aura. On the other hand, the messianic message associated with indigo children displaces very concrete and material problems by displacing them to a spiritual world, thereby creating a teleology that is hardly justifiable.

Finally, it should be noted that when you are reading about the existence of indigo children, you are reading something that belongs to the fantasy genre. It can be entertaining if it is digested for what it really is: a series of fictitious stories about reality developed with more or less sense and with more or less complexity. However, given the large volume of pseudoscientific content with which year after year we are bombarded by New Age writers, it would be interesting to ask ourselves if we would not win by changing these texts by those of Tolkien, Neil Gaiman or Terry Pratchett.

After all, the mundane beings and bound to the materiality we have to render accounts before the god of time well invested .


Inside the Strange, Psychic World of Indigo Children (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Enfants indigo et auras de couleur, un autre canular du Nouvel Âge

Enfants indigo et auras de couleur, un autre canular du Nouvel Âge

Mai 23, 2022

Avez-vous entendu parler de la Enfants Indigo ? Ce n’est un secret pour personne que l’enfance est une étape difficile l. Pas seulement à cause de la succession de changements rapides auxquels il est associé; également par les frictions qui peuvent survenir entre une personne inexpérimentée, relativement impulsive et inconsciente de nombreuses coutumes sociales et des adultes avec lesquels elle vit et qui assurent protection, éducation et affection.

La fraude généralisée des pseudosciences

Aux complications qui apparaissent dans les relations entre enfants et adultes, il faut ajouter la difficulté avec laquelle les jeunes expriment ce qu’ils ressentent et identifient leurs propres schémas de pensée, ce qui a pour conséquence que beaucoup de gens sont enclins à mal comprendre les enfants. Cette marge d’interprétation erronée peut être suffisamment pertinente pour inclure jugements erronés sur les intentions ou les intérêts des enfants, ou il peut être suffisamment large pour affecter la manière de percevoir la nature de l’enfant.


C’est dans ce second cas que la pseudoscience des colorants du Nouvel Âge dispose d’un terrain fertile pour rendre des idées aussi dangereuses que celles de colorants. Enfants Indigo .

Quels sont les enfants indigo?

L’idée des enfants indigo est née dans les années 80 avec un livre du courant New Age intitulé Comprendre votre vie à travers la couleurpar Nancy Tappe. L'auteur y voyait une aura invisible qui entoure les gens et informe la nature de chacun. Grâce à ce cadeau, Tappe aurait pu découvrir une croissance rapide du nombre de personnes nées avec une aura bleuâtre, indiquant quelque chose de similaire à un changement qualitatif dans l'évolution de l'histoire. Ces jeunes gens d’aura bleue sont des enfants indigo, dotés d’une relation privilégiée avec le spirituel et de certaines propriétés spéciales.


Effet Forer pour tromper les non informés

La description de la typologie de l'enfant indigo est suffisamment large pour que plusieurs gourous du Nouvel Âge puissent en tirer profit en générant un contenu sur le sujet, et suffisamment ambiguë pour tirer parti d'une bonne dose de Forer Effect devant l'opinion publique. La seule chose plus ou moins concrète que l’on puisse savoir sur les enfants indigo est qu’ils ont besoin d’un traitement et d’une éducation différents de ceux des autres enfants, qu’ils sont plus sensibles au «plan spirituel» de la réalité et qu’ils apportent un message de paix émanant d’instances mystérieuses et immatérielles. . Chacun de ces enfants est en quelque sorte un avant-poste d’un nouveau monde rempli de paix et d’amour à venir, les premiers signes d’un changement de paradigme, etc.

En raison de la base pseudoscientifique du concept "Indigo Children", on peut difficilement dire qu'il s'agit d'une théorie ou d'une hypothèse. C’est en tout cas une autre pièce du musée de la spéculations qu'en ayant recours à des éléments spirituels à expliquer, ils ne peuvent être mis à l'épreuve.


Pourquoi est-ce dangereux de croire tout cela?

L'écoute de ce type d'idées peut être très préjudiciable si cela permet de masquer les problèmes ou les défis auxquels l'enfant est confronté. Par exemple, une variante des enfants indigo appelée "Enfants de cristal" cela peut être lié à des cas d'autisme ou au très controversé TDAH, ou il s'agit d'un label appliqué aux jeunes qui montrent simplement des aspects ou des comportements inhabituels et qui ont donc du mal à s'adapter à certains environnements. Par exemple, il est tentant de commencer à croire aux propriétés spéciales d'un enfant si cela nous permet de nier un diagnostic neurologique ou psychologique qui provoque le rejet.

De plus, comme les textes sur les enfants indigo peuvent faire référence aux besoins spéciaux de ces personnes et à leurs capacités "supérieures", il se crée un système similaire à un système de castes ou une nouvelle forme de racisme, cette fois dans une couleur qui on ne voit pas: celui de l'aura. D'autre part, le message messianique associé aux enfants indigo déplace des problèmes très concrets et matériels en les déplaçant vers un monde spirituel, créant ainsi une téléologie difficilement justifiable.

Enfin, il convient de noter que lorsque vous lisez à propos de l’existence d’enfants indigo, vous lisez quelque chose qui appartient au genre fantastique. Cela peut être divertissant s’il est digéré pour ce qu’il est réellement: une série d’histoires fictives sur la réalité développées avec plus ou moins de sens et avec plus ou moins de complexité. Cependant, étant donné le volume considérable de contenu pseudoscientifique avec lequel nous sommes bombardés année après année par des écrivains du Nouvel Âge, il serait intéressant de nous demander si nous ne gagnerions pas en modifiant ces textes par ceux de Tolkien, Neil Gaiman ou Terry Pratchett.

Après tout les êtres mondains et liés à la matérialité nous devons rendre des comptes devant le dieu du temps bien investi .


Wayne Bush: The Game of Life & The Matrix Grid Simulation; w/ Marc Gray on Project Camelot TV (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes