yes, therapy helps!
Individual vs. Group: Why do people change when belonging to a collective?

Individual vs. Group: Why do people change when belonging to a collective?

July 19, 2024

At the moment when an individual is related to a group of people, he usually feels that he is part of a group that exceeds him, and this feeling can lead to detachment of its ethical values and to direct their decisions and actions in a way that I never would have imagined as an independent individual.

That is what many historical events have been able to verify throughout the centuries.

Individual and group: investigating the influence of the collective on the subject

Recently, an investigation carried out by Carnegie Mellon University was published, which has delved into this phenomenon of social psychology to try to unravel How is it possible for people with moral values ​​to commit perverse acts? when they are protected or legitimated by a group, ignoring their ethical principles.


The researchers compared the brain functioning of people when they were without company and when they were in the company of a group of people.

The study arose from the inspiration that caused one of the main researchers an experience during a football match. Her husband went to a soccer match wearing the cap of one of the teams that were fighting the match, but had the bad luck to sit in a town surrounded by supporters of the opposing team, which had to receive countless insults and expletives. The researcher, who was accompanying her husband in the neighboring town in the field, thought that if she put on her cap, the followers would moderate their insults (or even cease) out of respect for a woman.


However, that was not what happened. In that instant, the psychologist wondered if there could be any neurological reason for this group behavior.

When the enmities go from interindividual to intergroup

Essentially, there are two basic reasons why individuals change their behavior when they form (or feel they are part of) a group. These reasons are:

Basically, there are two fundamental reasons why people behave in a different way When they are part of a group, they are:

1. Perception of anonymity

2. Perception of less risk of being punished for his misconduct

However, in this investigation the intention was to inquire about the ethical conflict that happens to the individual when he is part of a group, and see to what extent the group could have an inhibiting effect on individual moral principles.


In the experiment the participants were asked to answer some questions that showed a insight about its ethical principles. In this way, the researchers modeled some individualized statements, such as: "I have stolen food from a common fridge", or "I always ask for forgiveness when I trip over someone".

Next, the subjects were invited to participate in a game in which they had to reflect on some of the aforementioned phrases, and while they played, their brains were observed by means of a scanner. In order to discriminate the neurological effects, some participants played alone, while others did so as part of a group.

Results

The people who played without any company and therefore reflected on their moral judgments alone, showed an increase in brain activity in the region of the medial prefrontal cortex, which is the area where thought about oneself operates. People identified completely with the phrases that were exposed, so it was not strange to find those results.

Less expected was that when the subjects who played in a group reflected on these ethical statements, their response was of a minor intensity. This suggests that the level of identification of the sentences was weaker before their own moral beliefs .

The diffusion of the self

The scholars concluded that our judgments about ethics become more flexible when we are part of a community , because we feel that the group has a value that tends to attenuate our personality and beliefs. In the context of belonging to a group, we become anonymous subjects since our priorities and beliefs change when we change the identity of the "I" to the "we".

In consecuense, we tend to reconfigure our beliefs and values ​​to those of the group , which is detectable even at the brain level. This metamorphosis can have a perverse effect, because if we stop recognizing and identifying ourselves with certain moral values, we are more inclined to not experience rejection or remorse before certain actions or attitudes, and in this way we become benevolent before spurious, violent or perverse conducts. .

Bibliographic references:

  • Cikara, M. et. To the.(2014) Reduced self-referential neural response during intergroup competition predicts competitor harm. NeuroImage; 96 (1): 36-43.

Social Groups: Crash Course Sociology #16 (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Individuel ou groupe: Pourquoi les gens changent-ils d'appartenance à un collectif?

Individuel ou groupe: Pourquoi les gens changent-ils d'appartenance à un collectif?

Janvier 8, 2023

Au moment où un individu est lié à un groupe de personnes, il a généralement le sentiment de faire partie d’un groupe qui le dépasse, et ce sentiment peut conduire au détachement de ses valeurs éthiques et d'orienter leurs décisions et leurs actions d'une manière que je n'aurais jamais imaginée en tant qu'individu indépendant.

C’est ce que de nombreux événements historiques ont pu vérifier au cours des siècles.

Individuel et groupe: étudier l'influence du collectif sur le sujet

Une étude menée récemment par l’Université Carnegie Mellon a été publiée. Elle s’est penchée sur ce phénomène de psychologie sociale pour tenter de démêler Comment est-il possible pour des personnes ayant des valeurs morales de commettre des actes pervers? quand ils sont protégés ou légitimés par un groupe, en ignorant leurs principes éthiques.


Les chercheurs ont comparé le fonctionnement cérébral de personnes lorsqu'elles étaient sans compagnie et lorsqu'elles étaient en compagnie d'un groupe de personnes.

L'étude est née de l'inspiration qui a permis à l'un des principaux chercheurs de vivre l'expérience d'un match de football. Son mari est allé à un match de football en portant la casquette de l'une des équipes qui se disputaient le match, mais a eu la malchance de s'asseoir dans une ville entourée de supporters de l'équipe adverse, qui a dû recevoir d'innombrables insultes et délires. La chercheuse, qui accompagnait son mari dans la ville voisine sur le terrain, pensait que si elle mettait son bonnet, les suiveurs modéreraient leurs insultes (voire cesseraient) par respect pour une femme.


Cependant, ce n'est pas ce qui s'est passé. En ce moment, le psychologue s'est demandé s'il pourrait y avoir une raison neurologique pour ce comportement de groupe.

Quand les inimitiés vont d'un interindividuel à un intergroupe

Il existe essentiellement deux raisons fondamentales pour lesquelles les individus modifient leur comportement lorsqu'ils forment (ou ont le sentiment de faire partie) d'un groupe. Ces raisons sont:

Fondamentalement, il y a deux raisons fondamentales pour lesquelles les gens se comportent différemment Lorsqu'ils font partie d'un groupe, ils sont:

1. Perception de l'anonymat

2. Perception de moins de risque d'être puni pour sa mauvaise conduite

Cependant, dans cette enquête, l’intention était de s’informer sur les conflit éthique cela arrive à l'individu lorsqu'il fait partie d'un groupe et voir dans quelle mesure le groupe pourrait avoir un effet inhibiteur sur les principes moraux individuels.


Dans l’expérience, les participants ont été invités à répondre à des questions montrant une perspicacité sur ses principes éthiques. De cette manière, les chercheurs ont modelé certaines déclarations individualisées, telles que: "J'ai volé de la nourriture dans un frigo commun" ou "Je demande toujours pardon lorsque je trébuche sur quelqu'un".

Ensuite, les sujets ont été invités à participer à un jeu dans lequel ils devaient réfléchir à certaines des phrases susmentionnées, et pendant qu’ils jouaient, leur cerveau était observé à l’aide d’un scanner. Afin de distinguer les effets neurologiques, certains participants ont joué seuls, d'autres en groupe.

Les résultats

Les personnes qui ont joué sans compagnie et qui, par conséquent, ont réfléchi uniquement à leurs jugements moraux, ont montré une augmentation de l'activité cérébrale dans la région du cortex préfrontal médial, zone dans laquelle la pensée de soi agit. Les personnes étant complètement identifiées avec les phrases exposées, il n’était donc pas étrange de trouver ces résultats.

Moins attendu était que lorsque les sujets qui ont joué dans un groupe ont réfléchi à ces déclarations éthiques, leur réponse était d'une intensité mineure. Cela suggère que le niveau d'identification des phrases était plus faible avant leurs propres croyances morales .

La diffusion de soi

Les savants ont conclu que nos jugements sur l'éthique deviennent plus flexibles lorsque nous faisons partie d'une communauté , parce que nous estimons que le groupe a une valeur qui tend à atténuer notre personnalité et nos croyances. Dans le contexte de l'appartenance à un groupe, nous devenons des sujets anonymes puisque nos priorités et nos croyances changent lorsque nous changeons l'identité du "je" en le "nous".

En conséquence, nous avons tendance à reconfigurer nos croyances et nos valeurs à celles du groupe , qui est détectable même au niveau du cerveau. Cette métamorphose peut avoir un effet pervers, car si nous cessons de reconnaître et de nous identifier à certaines valeurs morales, nous sommes plus enclins à ne pas éprouver de rejet ou de remords devant certaines actions ou attitudes et, de cette manière, nous devenons bienveillants face à des comportements fallacieux, violents ou pervers. .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cikara, M. et. Al.(2014) La réponse neuronale auto-référentielle réduite lors de compétitions intergroupes prédit les préjudices subis par les concurrents. NeuroImage; 96 (1): 36-43.

LAÏCITÉ : LIBERTÉ OU SERVITUDE ? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes