yes, therapy helps!
Individuation: what it is, and its 5 phases according to Carl Jung

Individuation: what it is, and its 5 phases according to Carl Jung

September 21, 2022

Being an autonomous, independent and capable of surviving by itself adapting to the environment. Reach your own identity, recognize yourself as your own and integrated entity. Complete the development process to achieve being yourself. All these phrases reflect the main objective of human development: the achievement of the individuation process .

There have been many authors who have developed theories around the idea behind this concept, being one of the best known Carl Gustav Jung (father of deep or analytical psychology), who placed special emphasis on how we achieve selfhood through this process. And it is on the concept of individuation on which the present article focuses, from the Jungian perspective, defining it and establishing its phases.


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Individuation: general concept

At a general level, individuation is understood as the process by which a person becomes an integrated individual, becoming one himself and reaching the capacity to be totally autonomous and independent. It is a process that requires the growth of the subject and the development of different psychic abilities, appearing throughout human development and lasting, in reality, a good part of life.

This process is especially relevant and visible during adolescence, when the individuation of the person makes them capable of generating their own identity, differentiating themselves from their parents and beginning to recognize themselves as their own and unique entity. For this, it is also necessary that there be a belonging, a link with the family and cultural environment that allows having a starting point and an environment that facilitates the process. All this will generate future projects coherent with oneself , as well as the possibility of linking or disassociating from the world in a healthy and sincere way.


The individuation process according to Carl Jung

In accordance with the above, Carl Gustav Jung elaborated one of the bases of his analytical psychology: the concept of individuation process. For the author, the term individuation is conceived as a process of differentiation, constitution and particularization of one's essence , in such a way that the subject can discover who he is and allows him to develop the personality. It is also identified with self-realization, being part of a natural and instinctive process towards one's own maturation.

It is important to bear in mind that the process of individuation is eminently conflictive, both in the Jungian vision and in others, given that it involves the integration of opposing elements. In the case of Jung, he proposed that we are dealing with a process in which conflicts between different opposites appear in the person, linked to the conscious-unconscious opposition and individuality-collectivity .


The basis of this whole process is the ego, from which we will be advancing in the understanding of the aspects hitherto denied and little by little accepting them and integrating them. The contents to be developed and integrated are going to be increasingly complex and to advance in this process it is necessary to be able to identify, link and integrate the opposites without identifying with them, differentiating them from the self.

In this sense, the individual personal aspects will be integrated in the first place, working emotional experiences repressed initially before the consideration of its inadequacy or conflict or the experience of traumas, to later also integrate elements of the collective unconscious, adding to the development the elaboration of the culturally inherited archetypes. Likewise, they will also develop and integrate the different basic processes that shape the personality.

It is remarkable that there is also another conception of individuation more focused on the biological evolution of the subject, although unlike in other conceptions, the individuation process proposed by Jung is not limited to adolescence or childhood . In fact, each of the stages that are part of this second interpretation of the process would last about ten years each, not completing the process of conscious individuation until well into adulthood.

First you go through a phase in which the ego starts to be born (previously there is no awareness of individuality), later on when you reach puberty there begins to be a distancing from the environment and a search for identity, adaptation to your role and the integration of the self and finally a fourth stage in which the search for a meaning of the self is given . It would be in the latter when there is a greater probability that the necessary processes are given to finish individuation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Carl Gustav Jung: biography and the work of a spiritual psychologist"

Stages of the individuation process

The process of individuation, from the Jungian perspective, takes place through a series of four phases through which the subject first complements its conscious and unconscious aspects and gradually integrates the opposites (person and shadow, conscious and unconscious ...) until you reach the sameness of the person: that is, to be yourself, a fully integrated individual .

Although in principle there are four, there are many interpretations and ways to divide them even within the Jungian theory, but in all of them the following ones are taken into account (including in this case a fifth, which would be the end of the process).

1. Dispose of oneself and first approach to the unconscious

The beginning of the process of individuation occurs at the moment when the conscience begins to appear that consciousness itself is not the totality of being. It starts to be aware of the existence of impulses, desires and unexpressed psychic content nor directly observable. The subject realizes that there is a large part of himself that has been ignored by himself and will try to begin to approach his understanding, since there has come a time when his development has made him see that need.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 9 stages of the life of human beings"

2. Encounter with the shadow

Born the awareness that there is something more in the self, the first thing that is detected is that there is not only a conscious part but also an unconscious and a set of aspects that we deny when considering them negative (and that we usually project on others as compensation mechanism): in other words, we begin to be aware of the existence of the duality person (of which we are conscious and that makes us feel individual beings that are related to the external world) and shadow (the hidden and unconscious part of person)

Once you begin to be aware of the existence of the shadow, you will need to begin to value it without judging it: our desires and unconscious impulses They have a great value despite the fact that some are socially bad seen . It is about integrating the denied elements and the personality itself. It is not about yielding to impulses (in fact, repression is seen by Jung as something that in some way allows the birth of consciousness), but to accept the shadow as part of our nature.

3. Encounter with anima / animus

The third great step of the process of individuation is given in relation to the sexual archetypes. So far the child has been integrating aspects of their own, but now must begin to integrate archetypal elements, from the cultural heritage, which are part of their personality and the community and that had previously been denied by the person. Specifically in this stage the subject begins to integrate the masculine / feminine polarity.

This process involves integrating one's own being, in addition to the archetype identified with one's sex, the part of their being traditionally identified with the opposite sex , appearing a link with her. That is to say, man must integrate the anima or feminine archetype (which corresponds to elements such as sensitivity, affection and emotional expression) while the woman does it with the animus or masculine archetype (related to vigor and vitality, strength , reason and wisdom). It is about integrating the sexual archetype in its entirety, both logos and eros, making it mediate and being a source of creativity and inspiration.

4. The integration of light archetype

Once this is done, the dark and unknown areas of our psyche begin to light up, something that widens our awareness of ourselves to a great extent and that can generate a sensation of narcissistic omnipotence that makes us believe superior. But the effect of reality making us see that our capabilities are not so extreme makes "smoke down", returning humility. At this moment, wisdom and discovery appear , symbolized by the magician or the wise man who gives meaning to the unknown, exploring and discovering his own being.

5. The end of the individuation process: coincidentia oppositorum

Little by little, moments appear when the self appears, a few moments when the understanding of one's self begins to exist. The process reaches its culmination when the coincidence or integration of the opposites is achieved supposes the acquisition of the same, the end of the process of individuation.

At this time the set of elements that make up the mind are already integrated (the conscious and the unconscious, the individual and the collective, the person and the shadow ...), having achieved a fully integrated psyche. He is already himself, aware of the different aspects that are part of his being and able to distinguish and separate from the world . The subject is a complete being, individuated and little by little more and more autonomous (even being able to form his own ethical system).

Its importance in the formation of the personality

The process of individuation, understood as the one that allows us to become ourselves, it is of extreme importance in the configuration of the personality . In fact, Jung himself considers individuation as a series of transformations that aims to achieve the midpoint of the personality, that is, the acquisition of an intermediate point that allows approaching the conscious and the unconscious.

Do not forget that the idea of ​​individuation is to become oneself, integrating the different aspects of the personality and the psyche into a complete whole. It means accept the presence of the different features that we have and value them, even those repressed and denied throughout life. The clearest example at an individual level is between the person (the part of our personality that we show), and the shadow (the hidden and rejected one, which remains unconscious).

Individuation allows us to be free, to develop our own way of acting and see the world and not just follow the path set by our predecessors, allowing our way of being, seeing and acting to emerge independently and differentiated. In short, that our personality arises. With this, we can make a life project coherent with who we are and live our lives as individuals that we are.

Bibliographic references:

  • Alonso, J.C. (2004). The analytical psychology of Jung and his contributions to psychotherapy. Univ. Psychol. Bogotá (Colombia) 3 (1): 55-70.
  • Jung, C. G. (1934). On the formation of the personality. In C. G. Jung, Reality of the soul (pp. 173-200). Buenos Aires: Losada.
  • Muñoz, P. (2010). Be one-self: Introduction to the analytical psychology of C.G. Jung. Editorial Kaicron. Spain.
  • Sassenfeld, A.M. (s.f.). Human development in Jungian psychology. Theory and clinical implications. University of Chile.

Introduction to Carl Jung - Individuation, the Persona, the Shadow, and the Self (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Individuation: qu'est-ce que c'est, et ses 5 phases d'après Carl Jung

Individuation: qu'est-ce que c'est, et ses 5 phases d'après Carl Jung

Juin 13, 2021

Être autonome, indépendant et capable de survivre en s'adaptant à l'environnement. Atteignez votre propre identité, reconnaissez-vous comme une entité propre et intégrée. Terminez le processus de développement pour devenir vous-même. Toutes ces phrases reflètent l'objectif principal du développement humain: la réalisation du processus d'individuation .

Il y a eu beaucoup d'auteurs qui ont développé des théories autour de l'idée derrière ce concept, être l'un des plus connus Carl Gustav Jung (père de la psychologie profonde ou analytique), qui a mis un accent particulier sur la façon dont nous atteignons notre identité à travers ce processus. Et c'est sur le concept d'individuation sur lequel le présent article se concentre, du point de vue jungien, en le définissant et en établissant ses phases.


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Individuation: concept général

Au niveau général, l’individuation est comprise comme le processus par lequel une personne devient un individu intégré, le devenant lui-même et atteindre la capacité d'être totalement autonome et indépendant. C’est un processus qui nécessite la croissance du sujet et le développement de capacités psychiques différentes, qui apparaît tout au long du développement humain et qui dure, en réalité, une bonne partie de la vie.

Ce processus est particulièrement pertinent et visible pendant l'adolescence, lorsque l'individuation de la personne la rend capable de générer sa propre identité, de se différencier de ses parents et de commencer à se reconnaître comme une entité propre et unique. Pour cela, il est également nécessaire qu’il y ait une appartenance, un lien avec l’environnement familial et culturel qui permette d’avoir un point de départ et un environnement facilitant le processus. Tout cela générera des projets futurs cohérents avec soi-même , ainsi que la possibilité de se lier ou de se dissocier du monde d’une manière saine et sincère.


Le processus d'individuation selon Carl Jung

Conformément à ce qui précède, Carl Gustav Jung a élaboré l’un des fondements de sa psychologie analytique: le concept de processus d’individuation. Pour l'auteur, le terme individuation est conçu comme un processus de différenciation, de constitution et de particularisation de son essence , de telle sorte que le sujet puisse découvrir qui il est et lui permettre de développer sa personnalité. Il s'identifie également à la réalisation de soi, faisant partie d'un processus naturel et instinctif vers sa propre maturation.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que le processus d'individuation est éminemment conflictuel, à la fois dans la vision jungienne et dans d'autres, étant donné qu'il implique l'intégration d'éléments opposés. Dans le cas de Jung, il a proposé de traiter un processus dans lequel des conflits entre différents opposés apparaissent chez la personne, liée à l'opposition conscient-inconscient et à l'individualité-collectivité .


La base de tout ce processus est l’ego, à partir duquel nous allons progresser dans la compréhension des aspects jusque-là niés et les accepter peu à peu et les intégrer. Les contenus à développer et à intégrer vont devenir de plus en plus complexes et pour avancer dans ce processus, il est nécessaire de pouvoir identifier, lier et intégrer les contraires sans s'identifier à eux, en les différenciant de soi.

En ce sens, les aspects personnels individuels seront intégrés en premier lieu, expériences émotionnelles de travail refoulées initialement avant la prise en compte de son inadéquation ou de son conflit ou de l’expérience de traumatismes, intégrer plus tard également des éléments de l’inconscient collectif, en ajoutant au développement l’élaboration d’archétypes culturellement hérités. De même, ils développeront et intégreront les différents processus de base qui façonnent la personnalité.

Il est remarquable qu’il existe également une autre conception de l’individuation plus axée sur l’évolution biologique du sujet, bien que, contrairement à d’autres conceptions, le processus d’individuation proposé par Jung n'est pas limité à l'adolescence ou à l'enfance . En fait, chacune des étapes faisant partie de cette seconde interprétation du processus durerait environ dix ans chacune, sans terminer le processus d'individuation consciente avant l'âge adulte.

Vous commencez par vivre une phase au cours de laquelle l'ego commence à naître (auparavant, il n'y a pas de prise de conscience de l'individualité), puis, à la puberté, il commence à se distancer de l'environnement et à rechercher l'identité, à s'adapter à votre rôle et à la l'intégration de soi et enfin une quatrième étape dans laquelle la recherche d'une signification de soi est donnée . Ce serait dans ce dernier cas où il y aurait une plus grande probabilité de donner les processus nécessaires pour achever l'individuation.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Carl Gustav Jung: biographie et travail d'un psychologue spirituel"

Étapes du processus d'individuation

Le processus d’individuation, selon la perspective jungienne, se déroule à travers une série de quatre phases au cours desquelles le sujet complète d’abord ses aspects conscients et inconscients et intègre progressivement les contraires (personne et ombre, conscience et conscience). inconscient ...) jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez la ressemblance de la personne: c'est-à-dire, un individu totalement intégré .

Bien qu’en principe il y en ait quatre, il existe de nombreuses interprétations et façons de les diviser même au sein de la théorie jungienne, mais dans toutes, les suivantes sont prises en compte (y compris une cinquième, ce qui serait la fin du processus).

1. Se débarrasser de soi et première approche de l'inconscient

Le début du processus d'individuation se produit au moment où la conscience commence à apparaître que la conscience elle-même n'est pas la totalité de l'être. Ça commence à être conscient de l'existence d'impulsions, de désirs et de contenu psychique inexprimé ni directement observable. Le sujet se rend compte qu'une grande partie de lui-même a été ignoré par lui-même et essaiera de commencer à s'approcher de sa compréhension, car il est arrivé un moment où son développement lui a fait comprendre ce besoin.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Les 9 étapes de la vie des êtres humains"

2. Rencontre avec l'ombre

Naître la conscience qu'il y a quelque chose de plus dans le soi, la première chose qui est détectée est qu'il n'y a pas seulement une partie consciente, mais aussi un inconscient et un ensemble d'aspects que nous nions quand nous les considérons comme négatifs (et que nous projetons habituellement sur d'autres comme mécanisme de compensation): en d’autres termes, nous commençons à prendre conscience de l’existence de la dualité personne (dont nous sommes conscients et qui nous fait ressentir des êtres individuels liés au monde extérieur) et de l’ombre (la partie cachée et inconsciente de personne)

Une fois que vous commencez à prendre conscience de l'existence de l'ombre, vous devrez commencer à la valoriser sans la juger: nos désirs et nos pulsions inconscientes. Ils ont une grande valeur malgré le fait que certains sont socialement mal vu . Il s'agit d'intégrer les éléments niés et la personnalité elle-même. Il ne s'agit pas de céder aux impulsions (en fait, le refoulement est perçu par Jung comme quelque chose qui permet en quelque sorte la naissance de la conscience), mais d'accepter l'ombre comme faisant partie de notre nature.

3. Rencontre avec anima / animus

La troisième grande étape du processus d'individuation est donnée par rapport aux archétypes sexuels. Jusqu'à présent, l'enfant intégrait ses propres aspects, mais doit maintenant commencer à intégrer des éléments archétypaux, issus du patrimoine culturel, qui font partie de sa personnalité et de sa communauté et qui avaient auparavant été niés par la personne. Plus précisément à ce stade, le sujet commence à intégrer la polarité masculin / féminin.

Ce processus implique l’intégration de son propre être, en plus de l’archétype identifié avec son sexe, la partie de leur être traditionnellement identifié avec le sexe opposé , apparaissant un lien avec elle. C’est-à-dire que l’homme doit intégrer l’anima ou archétype féminin (ce qui correspond à des éléments tels que la sensibilité, l’affection et l’expression émotionnelle) tandis que la femme le fait avec l’animus ou archétype masculin (lié à la vigueur et à la vitalité, à la force). , raison et sagesse). Il s’agit d’intégrer l’archétype sexuel dans son intégralité, à la fois logos et eros, pour en faire un média et une source de créativité et d’inspiration.

4. L'intégration de l'archétype de la lumière

Une fois que cela est fait, les zones sombres et inconnues de notre psyché commencent à s’éclairer, ce qui élargit considérablement notre conscience de nous-même et peut générer une sensation de toute-puissance narcissique qui nous fait croire supérieurs. Mais l'effet de la réalité nous faisant voir que nos capacités ne sont pas si extrêmes rend "fumer", rendant l'humilité. En ce moment, la sagesse et la découverte apparaissent , symbolisé par le magicien ou le sage qui donne un sens à l’inconnu, explore et découvre son propre être.

5. La fin du processus d'individuation: coincidentia oppositorum

Petit à petit, des moments apparaissent lorsque le moi apparaît, quelques moments où la compréhension de soi commence à exister. Le processus atteint son point culminant lorsque la coïncidence ou l'intégration des contraires est réalisée suppose l'acquisition de la même chose, la fin du processus d'individuation.

A cette époque, l'ensemble des éléments constitutifs de l'esprit est déjà intégré (le conscient et l'inconscient, l'individuel et le collectif, la personne et l'ombre ...), ayant atteint un psychisme totalement intégré. Il est déjà lui-même, conscient des différents aspects qui font partie de son être et capable de distinguer et de se séparer du monde . Le sujet est un être complet, individualisé et petit à petit de plus en plus autonome (même capable de former son propre système éthique).

Son importance dans la formation de la personnalité

Le processus d'individuation, compris comme celui qui nous permet de devenir nous-mêmes, il est d'une extrême importance dans la configuration de la personnalité . En fait, Jung lui-même considère l'individuation comme une série de transformations visant à atteindre le point médian de la personnalité, c'est-à-dire l'acquisition d'un point intermédiaire qui permet d'approcher le conscient et l'inconscient.

N'oubliez pas que l'idée d'individuation est de devenir soi-même, intégrant les différents aspects de la personnalité et de la psyché dans un tout complet. Cela signifie accepter la présence des différentes fonctionnalités que nous avons et les valorisent, même ceux qui sont réprimés et niés toute leur vie. L'exemple le plus clair au niveau individuel est celui entre la personne (la partie de notre personnalité que nous montrons) et l'ombre (la partie cachée et rejetée qui reste inconsciente).

L’individuation nous permet d’être libres, de développer notre propre façon d’agir et de voir le monde et de ne pas simplement suivre le chemin tracé par nos prédécesseurs, permettant à notre façon d'être, de voir et d'agir d'agir indépendamment et différencié. En bref, que notre personnalité se pose. Avec cela, nous pouvons rendre un projet de vie cohérent avec qui nous sommes et vivre nos vies en tant qu'individus que nous sommes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Alonso, J.C. (2004). La psychologie analytique de Jung et ses contributions à la psychothérapie. Univ. Psychol. Bogotá (Colombie) 3 (1): 55-70.
  • Jung, C.G. (1934). Sur la formation de la personnalité. Dans C. G. Jung, La réalité de l'âme (pp. 173-200). Buenos Aires: Losada.
  • Muñoz, P. (2010). Be one-self: Introduction à la psychologie analytique de C.G. Jung. Éditorial Kaicron. Espagne.
  • Sassenfeld, A.M. (par exemple). Développement humain dans la psychologie jungienne. Théorie et implications cliniques. Université du Chili.

VIVRE AVEC NOTRE PART D'OMBRE ! - Rejet 11 (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes