yes, therapy helps!
Infant Stress: Some basic tips for parents in distress

Infant Stress: Some basic tips for parents in distress

March 1, 2021

Normally we see the world of children as a beautiful place and full of happiness . Children do not have to work or pay mortgages, so they usually spend their time playing. It might seem that they have nothing to worry about; however, they are not exempt from stress and experiencing anxiety.

Stress problems

Stress is the automatic response of our body to situations that are threatening or challenging. Our day to day demands of us continuous adaptations; therefore, a certain amount of stress or activation is necessary.

Stress is a consequence of the interaction between stressors and the resources we have to cope with stressful situations. When stress is prolonged over time, our health is resented, our academic performance drops or our interpersonal relationships are affected.


Sources of child stress

Stress-producing events can be negative for some people and not for others, because stress occurs due to the way we interpret and think about what happens to us, and the resources we have to deal with the supposedly threatening situations.

In the case of children, Stressors arise from external sources (like family, friends or school), but also of the person. The beliefs that children have or the pressure they put on can make situations more stressful than they really are.

The father-daughter relationship

At these ages, one of the most frequent causes of childhood stress may be bad relationship between parents or divorce . The separation of the parents can cause anxiety in the children and a new family situation to which they will have to get used.


As children grow, school becomes a very important part of their life, and academic pressures, or social relationships within the classroom, can also be a source of stress.

Parents too demanding

Further, many parents who demand too much of their children , more than they can support. For example, parents obsessed with their children learning languages ​​or doing many extracurricular activities. In these cases, children may suffer from lack of time to play or relax after school, and this may affect their well-being.

Apart from these sources of stress, children can also suffer from problems at home (for example, problems at work of parents, financial problems, etc.). The figure of parents is especially important when it comes to reducing the stress of their children, and they should be aware that children also suffer from their behavior.


Finally, family illnesses, deaths of loved ones or any change in your life (for example, a change of residence) can have a negative impact on them.

Infant Stress: Tips for Parents

Strategies to cope with stress seek to prevent or control stressful demands. Stressors may be different, but the role of parents to protect the health and well-being of their children is: support and reduce as much as possible the negative effect of these stressors . If you are a parent, here are some tips to reduce and prevent stress for your children:

  • Encourage your child to face your fears , not to run away from them.
  • Teach your child that it is normal to be imperfect.
  • Plan and practice relaxing activities with your child.
  • Show him that you are there for him.
  • As a model for your child, transmits a positive behavior: self-care, positive thinking, etc.
  • Reinforce your child when he is brave .
  • It causes good sleep hygiene for your child.
  • Help your child to express your emotions .
  • Show him that you are calm.
  • Work on your own stress.
  • Make time to be with him: go by bike, play soccer, etc.
  • Listen to your son .
  • Limit stress if possible.
  • Be patient.
  • Learn strategies for your child to have a healthy self-esteem.

7 Parenting Tips to Deal With a Naughty Child (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stress infantile: quelques conseils de base pour les parents en détresse

Stress infantile: quelques conseils de base pour les parents en détresse

Mai 25, 2022

Normalement, nous voyons le monde des enfants comme un bel endroit et plein de bonheur . Les enfants n’ont pas à travailler ni à payer d’hypothèques, ils passent donc leur temps à jouer. Il peut sembler qu'ils n'ont rien à craindre; Cependant, ils ne sont pas à l'abri du stress et de l'anxiété.

Problèmes de stress

Le stress est la réponse automatique de notre corps aux situations qui menacent ou difficile. Notre quotidien exige de nous des adaptations continues; par conséquent, une certaine quantité de stress ou d'activation est nécessaire.

Le stress est une conséquence de l'interaction entre les facteurs de stress et les ressources dont nous disposons pour faire face aux situations stressantes. Lorsque le stress se prolonge au fil du temps, notre santé est ressentie, notre rendement scolaire baisse ou nos relations interpersonnelles sont affectées.


Sources de stress chez l'enfant

Les événements générateurs de stress peuvent être négatifs pour certaines personnes et pas pour d'autres, car ils sont dus à la manière dont nous interprétons et pensons ce qui nous arrive et aux ressources dont nous disposons pour faire face aux situations prétendument menaçantes.

Dans le cas des enfants, Les facteurs de stress proviennent de sources externes (comme la famille, les amis ou l'école), mais aussi de la personne. Les croyances des enfants ou la pression qu’ils exercent peuvent rendre les situations plus stressantes qu’elles ne le sont réellement.

La relation père-fille

À ces âges, l’une des causes les plus fréquentes de stress chez l’enfant peut être mauvaise relation entre parents ou divorce . La séparation des parents peut engendrer de l'anxiété chez les enfants et une nouvelle situation familiale à laquelle ils devront s'habituer.


À mesure que les enfants grandissent, l'école devient une partie très importante de leur vie et les pressions scolaires ou les relations sociales au sein de la classe peuvent également être une source de stress.

Parents trop exigeants

En outre, beaucoup de parents qui exigent trop de leurs enfants , plus que ce qu’ils peuvent supporter. Par exemple, les parents obsédés par l’apprentissage des langues par leurs enfants ou leur participation à de nombreuses activités parascolaires. Dans ces cas, les enfants peuvent manquer de temps pour jouer ou se détendre après l’école, ce qui peut affecter leur bien-être.

Outre ces sources de stress, les enfants peuvent également souffrir de problèmes à la maison (problèmes de travail des parents, problèmes financiers, etc.). La figure des parents est particulièrement importante pour réduire le stress de leurs enfants. Ils doivent être conscients que les enfants souffrent également de leur comportement.


Enfin, les maladies de la famille, le décès d'êtres chers ou tout changement dans votre vie (changement de résidence, par exemple) peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur eux.

Stress infantile: conseils pour les parents

Les stratégies pour faire face au stress cherchent à prévenir ou à contrôler les demandes stressantes. Les facteurs de stress peuvent être différents, mais le rôle des parents dans la protection de la santé et du bien-être de leurs enfants est le suivant: soutenir et réduire autant que possible les effets négatifs de ces facteurs de stress . Si vous êtes un parent, voici quelques conseils pour réduire et prévenir le stress pour vos enfants:

  • Encouragez votre enfant à affrontez vos peurs , ne pas les fuir.
  • Apprenez à votre enfant qu'il est normal d'être imparfait.
  • Planifiez et pratiquez des activités de détente avec votre enfant.
  • Montrez-lui que vous êtes là pour lui.
  • En tant que modèle pour votre enfant, transmet un comportement positif: soins personnels, pensée positive, etc.
  • Renforcez votre enfant quand il est courageux .
  • Cela entraîne une bonne hygiène de sommeil pour votre enfant.
  • Aidez votre enfant à exprimer vos émotions .
  • Montrez-lui que vous êtes calme.
  • Travaillez sur votre propre stress.
  • Prenez le temps d'être avec lui: allez à bicyclette, jouez au football, etc.
  • Écoute ton fils .
  • Limitez le stress si possible.
  • Sois patient.
  • Apprenez des stratégies pour que votre enfant ait une bonne estime de soi.

Mieux-être, SANTÉ et joie de vivre ! - Line Bolduc (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes