yes, therapy helps!
Inside Out and the principles of Mindfulness

Inside Out and the principles of Mindfulness

June 12, 2024

Today I would like to use a fantastic film about emotional intelligence to explain the importance of one of the keys of Mindfulness and its importance in our life: acceptance (Hoffman and Asmundson, 2008). As many of you will have heard, there are 6 basic emotions (Ekman, 1992). These are Joy, Sadness, Anger, Disgust, Surprise, Fear.

All these emotions have an important bearing on the development of the story of the movie Inside Out, with the exception of Surprise, which was not finally added as a character in the story. These characters go into the mental world and give an animated explanation and quite close to reality, on various aspects studied in psychology. Let us focus, in this article, on the emotional issue.


  • Related article: "What is Mindfulness? The 7 answers to your questions"

Positive and negative emotions

We tend to consider emotions as positive or negative depending on the effect produced on us, welfare or discomfort. In this way, we tend to obviate negative emotions and go out in search of positive ones constantly.

This is something that we can see in our day to day. With just one click, with touching our mobile phone, we enter the world of any social network where everything that appears is perfect. And we begin to have that feeling, which becomes a necessity, to live all the moments that people around us live (or our list of followed).


That is, although obviously this also happened before, the need to live positive emotions that we have in the Western world today is much stronger, even, one could say that it is almost a social imposition ... Or, how many times have you heard that from "Dry your tears, smile and get out there"?

With this I do not want to say that putting intention to improve our mood is something negative . Quite the opposite, but first, we must give our emotions the space and time they need to express themselves. This is based on one of the key principles of mindfulness: acceptance (Hoffman and Asmundson, 2008).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

What is the relationship between Mindfulness and the outcome of the film?

The movie Inside Out introduces the viewer into the mind of a baby (Riley). There, you can see how he is growing up and facing different situations thanks to emotions (characters that are responsible for monitoring Riley's behavior). With the passage of time, Riley is experiencing certain experiences that influence his mood.



However, Alegría, the main character in charge of monitoring, does not allow Tristeza to take control for a moment and ends up isolating her so that she does not influence Riley. The result? A set of events that end up causing Riley to make impulsive and drastic decisions. But nevertheless, the key lies, unexpectedly, in the reinsertion of Tristeza to the group , letting it take the reins of the command center momentarily. That is, the moral of the film already hints at the importance of the union of the group to stabilize the situation.

The same happens in real life. When we constantly strive to feel good about a certain situation, we are only isolating our emotion. This has a biological explanation, as living beings, we seek survival, for that reason, we have a tendency to avoid discomfort in all senses.


However, Mindfulness has a lot to teach us in this aspect . It is a central component added by Hoffman and Asmundson (2008), on which most of this new technique revolves: acceptance. However, we must be careful when interpreting this word. Acceptance does not mean resignation, it does not mean that we are sitting down before what is happening. Acceptance implies not judging, seeing things as they are and how they make us feel. It means becoming aware, giving us a space to attend to what is happening to us and letting us communicate without putting any resistance. Thanks to this, Mindfulness gives us the opportunity to stop to pay attention to what happens inside, and to think about what happens before making a decision and taking action.

Thus, explained in Mindfullness terms, it could be said that when Tristeza takes the central commands, when Riley experiences the emotion and starts to cry, he is paying attention to what Tristeza was trying to communicate to him. Thanks to this, he gets to know a new internal experience and make a new decision.


Final reflection

With this interpretation of the outcome of the film, I intend to show the importance of all emotions in our life . While it is true that not all the secret is hidden by the practice of Mindfulness, your exercises to attend to what happens in the present moment and become aware of it, help a lot in the integration of our emotions. Hence, current Mindfulness exercises are being incorporated into the current Emotional Intelligence programs.

Therefore, use the method you use, friend reader, do not forget one thing, take your time to feel each emotion and do not judge it, each of them has something to tell you. Remember that no one can know what is great, without knowing what is small before.

Biliographic References

  • Ekman, P. (1992). An argument for basic emotions. Cognition and Emotion, 6 (3-4), 169-200.
  • Hoffmann, S. G. and Asmundson, G. J. (2008). Acceptance and mindfulness-based therapy: New wave or old hat? Clinical Psychology Review, 28 (1), 1-16.

Mindfulness for Personal Sustainability: Investing in Change from the Inside Out | #skollwf 2016 (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Inside Out et les principes de la pleine conscience

Inside Out et les principes de la pleine conscience

Janvier 17, 2022

Aujourd'hui, j'aimerais utiliser un film fantastique sur l'intelligence émotionnelle pour expliquer l'importance d'une des clés de la pleine conscience et son importance dans notre vie: l'acceptation (Hoffman et Asmundson, 2008). Comme beaucoup d’entre vous l’ont entendu dire, il existe 6 émotions de base (Ekman, 1992). Ce sont la joie, la tristesse, la colère, le dégoût, la surprise et la peur.

Toutes ces émotions ont une incidence importante sur l’évolution de l’histoire du film Inside Out, à l’exception de Surprise, qui n’a finalement pas été ajoutée au personnage de l’histoire. Ces personnages entrent dans le monde mental et donnent une explication animée et assez proche de la réalité, sur divers aspects étudiés en psychologie. Dans cet article, concentrons-nous sur le problème émotionnel.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la pleine conscience? Les 7 réponses à vos questions"

Émotions positives et négatives

Nous avons tendance à considérer les émotions comme positives ou négatives en fonction de l'effet produit sur nous, le bien-être ou le malaise. De cette façon, nous avons tendance à éviter les émotions négatives et à rechercher constamment des émotions positives.

C'est quelque chose que nous pouvons voir dans notre quotidien. En un clic, en touchant notre téléphone mobile, nous entrons dans l'univers de tous les réseaux sociaux où tout ce qui apparaît est parfait. Et nous commençons à avoir ce sentiment, qui devient une nécessité, de vivre tous les moments que vivent les gens autour de nous (ou notre liste de suivis).


C’est que, bien que ce soit évidemment aussi arrivé avant, le besoin de vivre des émotions positives que nous avons dans le monde occidental aujourd’hui est bien plus fort. "Séchez vos larmes, souriez et sortez"?

Avec ça Je ne veux pas dire que mettre l'intention d'améliorer notre humeur est quelque chose de négatif . Bien au contraire, mais nous devons d’abord donner à nos émotions l’espace et le temps dont elles ont besoin pour s’exprimer. Ceci est basé sur l'un des principes clés de la pleine conscience: l'acceptation (Hoffman et Asmundson, 2008).

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

Quelle est la relation entre Mindfulness et le résultat du film?

Le film Inside Out introduit le spectateur dans l'esprit d'un bébé (Riley). Ici, vous pouvez voir comment il grandit et fait face à différentes situations grâce aux émotions (personnages chargés de surveiller le comportement de Riley). Au fil du temps, Riley vit certaines expériences qui influencent son humeur.



Cependant, Alegría, le personnage principal en charge de la surveillance, ne permet pas à Tristeza de prendre le contrôle un instant et finit par l'isoler pour ne pas influencer Riley. Le résultat? Un ensemble d’événements qui ont amené Riley à prendre des décisions impulsives et radicales. Cependant, la clé réside inopinément dans la réinsertion de Tristeza dans le groupe , le laissant prendre les rênes du centre de commandement momentanément. C'est-à-dire que la morale du film insiste déjà sur l'importance de l'union du groupe pour stabiliser la situation.

La même chose se passe dans la vraie vie. Lorsque nous nous efforçons constamment de nous sentir bien dans certaines situations, nous isolons seulement nos émotions. Cela a une explication biologique, en tant qu'êtres vivants, nous recherchons la survie, raison pour laquelle nous avons tendance à éviter le malaise dans tous les sens.


Maintenant bien, La pleine conscience a beaucoup à nous apprendre dans cet aspect . Il s'agit d'un composant central ajouté par Hoffman et Asmundson (2008), sur lequel repose l'essentiel de cette nouvelle technique: l'acceptation. Cependant, il faut être prudent lors de l'interprétation de ce mot. Accepter ne signifie pas démission, cela ne veut pas dire que nous sommes assis devant ce qui se passe. L'acceptation implique de ne pas juger, de voir les choses telles qu'elles sont et ce qu'elles nous font ressentir. Cela signifie prendre conscience, nous donner un espace pour assister à ce qui nous arrive et nous permettre de communiquer sans opposer de résistance. Grâce à cela, Mindfulness nous donne l’occasion de nous arrêter pour faire attention à ce qui se passe à l’intérieur et pour réfléchir à ce qui se passe avant de prendre une décision et d’agir.

Ainsi, expliqué en termes de pleine conscience, on pourrait dire que lorsque Tristeza prend les commandes centrales, lorsque Riley éprouve l’émotion et pleure en larmes, il fait attention à ce que Tristeza essayait de lui communiquer. Grâce à cela, il fait connaissance avec une nouvelle expérience interne et prend une nouvelle décision.


Réflexion finale

Avec cette interprétation du résultat du film, je compte montrer l'importance de toutes les émotions dans notre vie . Bien qu'il soit vrai que la pratique de la pleine conscience ne cache pas tout le secret, vos exercices pour assister à ce qui se passe dans le moment présent et en prendre conscience aident beaucoup à l'intégration de nos émotions. Par conséquent, les exercices actuels de Mindfulness sont en train d’être incorporés aux programmes actuels d’intelligence émotionnelle.

Par conséquent, utilisez la méthode que vous utilisez, cher lecteur, n’oubliez pas une chose, prenez votre temps pour ressentir chaque émotion et ne le jugez pas, chacun d’entre eux a quelque chose à vous dire. Rappelez-vous que personne ne peut savoir ce qui est grand sans savoir ce qui est petit auparavant.

Références biliographiques

  • Ekman, P. (1992). Un argument pour des émotions de base. Cognition et émotion, 6 (3-4), 169-200.
  • Hoffmann, S. G. et Asmundson, G. J. (2008). Thérapie basée sur l'acceptation et la pleine conscience: nouvelle vague ou vieux chapeau? Clinical Psychology Review, 28 (1), 1-16.

Richard Moss - Inside Out Healing (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes