yes, therapy helps!
Insight: what it is and what are its phases

Insight: what it is and what are its phases

October 23, 2020

Possibly on more than one occasion we have been thinking deeply about a situation or problem to which we can not find a solution, generally spending a long time trying to find the solution without success, and suddenly this has come to our mind suddenly (sometimes this solution being much simpler and simpler than the whole process we were doing). This situation is not rare, existing in all of us and even in other animal species.

The phenomenon in question, much more important than it seems at first glance, receives the name of insight . And it is on this subject that we are going to talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

The insight concept

The concept of insight is somewhat complex at the theoretical level, although in practice all of us have experienced at some time some situation in which we have used it. It is considered as insight to that capacity or faculty through which we can become aware of a situation, connecting the situation we are living or thinking about a solution or its understanding. This experience or phenomenon corresponds with the idea of ​​realizing something, appearing a sudden understanding lived as a kind of revelation after having been (usually) trying to understand or solve the situation in question.


This understanding appears suddenly, being the product of an unconscious activity that suddenly arrives at the consciousness and that supposes the appearance of a solution, the generation of strategies to reach it or the view of the situation and problem different and new compared to the immediately previous perspective , obtaining a global vision of the situation. The sensation would be similar to that of suddenly finding the way to connect all the pieces of a puzzle.

Insight supposes the existence of certain cognitive capacity, since it requires to realize what we knew previously and what we have carried out, as well as the capacity to generate a mental representation of the situation. It also requires the ability to observe and understand the fundamentals of the situation and the ability to establish associations and strategies. This may suggest that it is something human but the truth is that it has been observed in other animal species , being especially known in the case of chimpanzees.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler"

Insight phases

While insight is conceived as the generally sudden experimentation of the consciousness of a situation , methodology or way to solve a problem, the truth is that various authors propose the existence of several identifiable phases through which we can see their performance. In this sense we can distinguish between the following.

1. Impasse mental

This first stage refers to a situation or problem before which the person is unable to respond or is unable to identify, being in a situation of blockade in relation to their overcoming .

2. Restructuring the problem

Process by which you try to solve the problem, which starts in the impasse and unsuccessful attempts to represent and solve it and goes through the modification and work to vary the conception or interpretation of the situation in order to resolve it. It uses various resources and cognitive skills .


3. Acquisition of deep understanding

This phase is where the knowledge and deep understanding of the situation appears. It is an understanding that appears unconsciously, not being a direct product of the cognitive process that was being followed so far .

4. Suddenness

The last phase of insight would be the conscious perception on the part of the person of understanding as something sudden and that appears clearly in consciousness , being something sudden and unexpected. This moment is lived with surprise given that there have been no stimulations or elements that allow us to directly predict or explain the reason for the advent of this sudden understanding.

5. Learning by insight

One of the contexts in which insight is most evident and one of the points in which it was first identified in other species is in that of learning, specifically in what is necessary to solve problems. In this sense Wolfgang Köhler described the existence of this ability even in monkeys through various experiments in which the apes had to find the solution to a problem.

The acquisition of new repertoires of behavior and knowledge suddenly after reaching a global understanding of the situation is called learning by insight.This phenomenon is tremendously adaptive, and is also linked to creativity because it allows us to generate new problem solving strategies, previously nonexistent.

  • Related article: "Wolfgang Köhler: biography of this German Gestalt psychologist"

Applied in psychopathology

Talking about insight implies realizing something. And although we usually think about the existence of insight in small details or when solving a concrete and practical problem, this concept is also applicable to other situations or areas.

One of them, especially relevant, it has to do with mental health . And it is usual that the clinic speaks of ability to insight in terms of realizing the state of their mental faculties or their cognitive, behavioral or emotional state. This aspect is very useful when it comes to the treatment of any mental or cerebral disorder or illness, since it allows to self-observe the existence of difficulties and to identify the need to be treated.

The ability to insight may be altered in many situations, not being aware of those who have difficulties (to the point that a subject may not realize that he has gone blind, or for example in cases of dementia that present problems of memory or other faculties) or symptoms such as states of agitation and altered mood, hallucinations or delusions. And we do not necessarily have to be talking about psychopathology, since the ability to insight can be altered by the experience of traumatic situations persistent strong emotions or various concerns that prevent being aware of the existence of problems or the needs of oneself.

In cases where there is a lack, deficit or absence of insight, it is necessary to work on this awareness of the situation, given that allows the existence of mental flexibility and autonomy , and that is valued for example to show the need for help or for a specific treatment (for example, by making it possible to see that hallucinations or delusions are self-generated content and not real stimuli, or the need to treat oneself).

Bibliographic references:

  • Seguí, V. (2015). The Insight in Psychology. ISEP Training.

What Ancient Human Civilizations Said About The Moon - The Moon is Not What You Think it is (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Insight: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses phases

Insight: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses phases

Avril 14, 2021

Peut-être plus d'une fois, nous avons réfléchi à une situation ou à un problème auquel nous ne pouvons pas trouver de solution. Nous avons généralement passé beaucoup de temps à essayer de trouver la solution sans succès. cette solution étant beaucoup plus simple que tout le processus en cours). Cette situation n'est pas rare, elle existe chez nous tous et même chez d'autres espèces animales.

Le phénomène en question, beaucoup plus important qu'il n'y parait à première vue, reçoit le nom de perspicacité . Et c'est à ce sujet que nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Le concept de perspicacité

Le concept de perspicacité est un peu complexe au niveau théorique, même si, dans la pratique, nous avons tous connu à un moment donné une situation dans laquelle nous l’avons utilisé. Il est considéré comme un aperçu de la capacité ou de la faculté à travers laquelle nous pouvons prendre conscience d’une situation, en reliant la situation que nous vivons ou en réfléchissant à une solution ou à sa compréhension. Cette expérience ou phénomène correspond à l'idée de réaliser quelque chose, apparaissant une compréhension soudaine vécu comme une sorte de révélation après avoir essayé (généralement) de comprendre ou de résoudre la situation en question.


Cette compréhension apparaît soudainement, étant le produit d’une activité inconsciente qui arrive soudainement à la conscience et qui suppose l’apparition d’une solution, la génération de stratégies pour l’atteindre ou la vision de la situation et du problème est différente et nouvelle par rapport à la perspective immédiatement précédente , en obtenant une vision globale de la situation. La sensation serait similaire à celle de trouver soudainement le moyen de relier toutes les pièces d'un puzzle.

L'intuition suppose l'existence de certaines capacités cognitives, car elle nécessite de réaliser ce que nous savions auparavant et ce que nous avons réalisé, ainsi que la capacité de générer une représentation mentale de la situation. Cela nécessite également la capacité d'observer et de comprendre les fondamentaux de la situation et la capacité d'établir des associations et des stratégies. Cela peut suggérer que c'est quelque chose d'humain mais la vérité est que il a été observé chez d'autres espèces animales , étant particulièrement connu dans le cas des chimpanzés.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler"

Phases de perspicacité

Alors que l'insight est conçu comme l'expérimentation généralement soudaine de la conscience d'une situation Méthodologie ou façon de résoudre un problème, la vérité est que plusieurs auteurs proposent l’existence de plusieurs phases identifiables à travers lesquelles on peut voir leur performance. En ce sens, nous pouvons distinguer les suivants.

1. Impasse mentale

Cette première étape concerne une situation ou un problème devant lequel la personne est incapable de répondre ou est incapable d'identifier, être dans une situation de blocus par rapport à leur surmonter .

2. Restructurer le problème

Processus par lequel vous essayez de résoudre le problème, qui commence dans l'impasse et les tentatives infructueuses de le représenter et de le résoudre, puis passe au travers de la modification et du travail pour modifier la conception ou l'interprétation de la situation afin de la résoudre. Il utilise diverses ressources et compétences cognitives .


3. Acquisition d'une compréhension profonde

Cette phase est celle où la connaissance et la compréhension profonde de la situation apparaissent. C'est une compréhension qui apparaît inconsciemment, ne pas être un produit direct du processus cognitif qui était suivi jusqu'à présent .

4. La soudaineté

La dernière phase de la perspicacité serait la perception consciente de la personne de comprendre comme quelque chose de soudain et qui apparaît clairement dans la conscience , être quelque chose de soudain et d'inattendu. Ce moment est vécu avec surprise étant donné qu’il n’ya eu aucune stimulation ni aucun élément nous permettant de prédire ou d’expliquer directement la raison de l’apparition de cette compréhension soudaine.

5. Apprendre par la perspicacité

L'un des contextes dans lesquels la compréhension est la plus évidente et l'un des points sur lesquels elle a été identifiée pour la première fois chez d'autres espèces est celle de l'apprentissage, en particulier de ce qui est nécessaire pour résoudre les problèmes. Dans ce sens Wolfgang Köhler a décrit l'existence de cette capacité même chez les singes à travers diverses expériences dans lesquelles les singes devaient trouver la solution à un problème.

L’acquisition de nouveaux répertoires de comportement et de connaissances soudainement après avoir atteint une compréhension globale de la situation est appelée apprentissage par insight.Ce phénomène est extrêmement adaptatif et est également lié à la créativité car il nous permet de générer de nouvelles stratégies de résolution de problèmes, auparavant inexistantes.

  • Article connexe: "Wolfgang Köhler: biographie de ce psychologue allemand de la Gestalt"

Appliqué en psychopathologie

Parler de perspicacité implique de réaliser quelque chose. Et bien que nous pensions généralement à l’existence d’une perspicacité dans les petits détails ou lors de la résolution d’un problème concret et pratique, ce concept s’applique également à d’autres situations ou domaines.

L'un d'eux, particulièrement pertinent, cela a à voir avec la santé mentale . Et il est habituel que la clinique parle de sa capacité à comprendre l'état de ses facultés mentales ou de son état cognitif, comportemental ou émotionnel. Cet aspect est très utile pour le traitement de tout trouble ou maladie mental ou cérébral, car il permet d’observer lui-même l’existence de difficultés et d’identifier le besoin de traitement.

La capacité de discernement peut être altérée dans de nombreuses situations, sans que vous ayez conscience de ceux qui ont des difficultés (au point qu'un sujet ne réalise pas qu'il est devenu aveugle, ou par exemple dans les cas de démence présentant des problèmes de mémoire ou d’autres facultés) ou des symptômes tels que des états d’agitation et une altération de l’humeur, des hallucinations ou des délires. Et nous ne devons pas nécessairement parler de psychopathologie, car la capacité de comprendre peut être modifié par l'expérience de situations traumatiques Émotions fortes persistantes ou préoccupations diverses empêchant de prendre conscience de l'existence de problèmes ou des besoins de soi.

Dans les cas où il y a un manque, un déficit ou une absence de perspicacité, il est nécessaire de travailler sur cette prise de conscience de la situation, étant donné que permet l'existence d'une flexibilité mentale et d'une autonomie et cela vaut par exemple pour montrer le besoin d’aide ou pour un traitement spécifique (par exemple, en permettant de voir que les hallucinations ou les délires sont un contenu auto-généré et non un stimulus réel, ou le besoin de se soigner soi-même).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Seguí, V. (2015). La perspicacité en psychologie. Formation ISEP.

Journal TV du 17/01/2018 (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes