yes, therapy helps!
Intelligence is inherited from the mother, reveals science

Intelligence is inherited from the mother, reveals science

May 6, 2021

The intelligence is one of the most recurrent topics in Psychology and Mind. In addition to having a whole section devoted to various monographs, investigations and theories about intelligence, today we echo a particularly interesting topic.

Intelligence: is it inherited ... from the mother?

People who are lucky enough to be smarter than the average should start thanking someone else in particular: their mothers. And it is that, according to several investigations have highlighted, it seems that it is the mothers who transmit most of the genetic load related to cognitive abilities .

This would disprove many of the gender biases that remain deeply rooted in our societies and that have been cruelly accompanying women in particular for centuries. According to this information, the intelligence of the parent would not be a strong factor when it comes to predicting the intelligence of the children.


Conditioned genes, the key to everything

The scientific basis of this matter lies, precisely, in the existence of "conditioned genes". These genetic components, as described by the biologists who have studied them thoroughly, behave differently depending on whether they originate from a male or female body.

Apparently, these genes contain something like a biochemical label that provides information about their provenance , and that even reveals if these genes will be active or not in the cells of the child. In particular, some conditioned genes are only activated if they come from the mother. In case this same gene is inherited through the paternal route, it is not activated. As might be expected, there are other genes that work in reverse: that is, they are only activated if they come from the father.


Chromosome X, essential in the development of cognitive potential

It is well known that intelligence is inherited from parents to children, but there was no record until recently that this ability was due to a greater extent of one of the two parents. The different studies that have revealed that children have a greater probability of inheriting the mother's intelligence suggest that the genes related to cognitive abilities are located in the X chromosome .

In fact, the data that support this thesis come from afar. In 1984, a study at the University of Cambridge already detected the trend. The team of researchers analyzed certain biochemical and genetic components of the brain, and concluded that the genes of the mother provide more information for the development of brain structures associated with thinking and mental operations.


To arrive at this surprising finding, the researchers worked with embryos of mice modified to reproduce, only, the genes of the mother or those of the father. However, when the scientists moved the embryos to the uterus of a female mouse so they could continue to develop, they died.

In this way, the researchers realized that there are conditioned genes that only activate when they are inherited by the mother, and that are essential for the development and survival of the embryo. With the embryos that were genetic copies of the parents something different happened: their genes were crucial for the growth of the placental tissues. They also died.

The hypothesis was clear: if those genes in particular were so highly essential for the development (and survival) of the embryo, it would be reasonable to think that they would be genes with great responsibilities in the organic functioning of animals and humans, and could perhaps keep a strong relationship with certain brain functions. A hypothesis that, after successive studies isolating variables, was validated.

Mice with surprisingly large heads

Mice that had a higher proportion of maternal genes developed an abnormally large brain, and yet their body was very small. In contrast, mice with paternal genes had a tiny head and overdeveloped body.

As the scientists were detecting which genes were coming from the mother and which from the father, In turn, they identified several cells that only contained maternal or paternal genes in different brain areas that govern different functions and cognitive processes, such as intelligence or memory.

Scientists did not find any paternal cells in the cerebral cortex, where the structures are located that allow us to have complex cognitive functions, such as intelligence, decision making, language and other abilities.

New investigations and evidences

Over the years, the scientific community has been reviewing this curious genetic phenomenon.In fact, one of the most reputable researchers in the field of intelligence, Robert Lehrke, revealed that most of the intellectual capacity of neonates is generated on the X chromosome. He was able to demonstrate, even, that women are twice as likely to inherit traits linked to intelligence , having twice that same 'X' chromosome.

A few months ago, another study by the German University of Ulm found that the genetic material involved in brain damage is closely linked to the X chromosome. They also pointed out that one of the evidences of this is the fact that mental and intellectual disabilities are 30% more frequent in men.

IQ Predictor

All the previous studies are very interesting and give specific keys to the relationship between the genes of the mother and intelligence. However, one of the most revealing studies is the longitudinal analysis carried out in the Medical Research Council Social and Public Health Sciences Unit from the USA

Over a long period of time, 12,000 young people between the ages of 13 and 22 were interviewed annually. Analyzing different variables about individuals, such as skin color or sociocultural and economic level, they discovered that the indicator that best predicted the intelligence of each subject was C.I. from his mother .

Beyond genetics

But not only genetics gives us data on this issue. There is other research that shows that the mother plays a fundamental role in the intellectual and cognitive development of children, through day-to-day stimuli. Several studies suggest that addiction , that bond of pristine confidence with the mother, is closely related to future intelligence.

Attachment and its importance for the development of intelligence

Several investigations at the University of North Carolina, among many others, found that children who successfully develop a secure attachment to their mothers are able to carry out more complex symbolic play . In addition, they are more consistent and have more tolerance for frustration.

It seems that secure attachment offers the basis for children to grow confident in their possibilities, facing the challenges to strive and solve the problems of their day to day. It is also remarkable that the mothers who provide this secure attachment are also those who stimulate their children more and better so that they can advance in their cognitive development.

What percentage of intelligence is inherited?

But is intelligence really inherited? In what proportion is this? It is often said that between 45 and 55% of intelligence is written in the genes . This gives us to understand that there is also a significant part, approximately half, that develops if the family, social and personal conditions are good.

And it is important to remember that intelligence is nothing other than the ability of human beings to solve problems. There is no specific area of ​​the brain responsible for solving problems, but it is our entire brain that works globally to address any task that requires an effort of our cognitive abilities. In addition, for more imbroglio, we not only use rational thinking for these purposes, but also heuristic thinking, intuition and emotions, which are usually related to the genetic inheritance of the father, come into play.

Stimulate the child's intelligence

Do not pay excessive attention to C.I. of a son Intelligence is an extremely complex construct, which develops if the child's mind is stimulated conveniently, with challenges and tasks that, little by little, force him to climb in his stages of cognitive development.

As parents, we must be able to understand that we can contribute a lot to make our children mature and they are developing more complex cognitive skills, and this must be done, let's not forget, attending to the emotional and playful needs of the little ones in the house. Everything helps.

You may be interested: "5 tips to nourish your child with emotional intelligence"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bassedas, E. et al. (1991). Educational intervention and psychopedagogical diagnosis. Bardelona: Paidós.
  • Der, G. et. Al. (2006) Effect of breast feeding on intelligence in children: prospective study, sibling pairs analysis, and meta-analysis.BMJ; 333 (7575): 945.
  • Keverne, E. B .; Surani, M.A. et. Al. (2004) Coadaptation in mother and infant regulated by a paternally expressed imprinted gene. Proc Biol Sci .; 271 (1545): 1303-1309.
  • Matas, L .; Arend, R. A. & Sroufe, L. A. (1978) Continuity of adaptation in the second year The relationship between quahty of attachment and later competence. Child Development; 49: 547-556.
  • Prieto, M.D. and Arnaiz, P. (1989). A cognitive approach to the evaluation of intelligence capabilities in Special Education. In M.P. Abarca, (coord.). The evaluation of educational programs. Madrid: Spanish School.
  • Vines, G. (1997) Mom, thanks for the intelligence. The world; 253.

Scientists Said That We Inherit Intelligence From The Mother, Not Father (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'intelligence est héritée de la mère, révèle la science

L'intelligence est héritée de la mère, révèle la science

Février 21, 2019

Le l'intelligence est l’un des sujets les plus récurrents dans Psychologie et esprit. En plus de consacrer une section entière à diverses monographies, enquêtes et théories sur le renseignement, nous évoquons aujourd'hui un sujet particulièrement intéressant.

Intelligence: est-ce hérité ... de la mère?

Les personnes qui ont la chance d'être plus intelligentes que la moyenne devraient commencer à remercier quelqu'un d'autre, leur mère. Et c’est que, selon plusieurs enquêtes ont mis en évidence, il semble que ce soient les mères qui transmettent l'essentiel de la charge génétique liée aux capacités cognitives .

Cela contredirait bon nombre des préjugés sexistes qui demeurent profondément enracinés dans nos sociétés et accompagnent de manière cruelle les femmes, en particulier depuis des siècles. Selon ces informations, l'intelligence du parent ne serait pas un facteur déterminant lorsqu'il s'agira de prédire l'intelligence des enfants.


Les gènes conditionnés, la clé de tout

La base scientifique de cette question réside précisément dans l'existence de "gènes conditionnés". Ces composants génétiques, tels que décrits par les biologistes qui les ont étudiés à fond, se comportent différemment selon qu’ils proviennent d’un corps masculin ou féminin.

Il parait, ces gènes contiennent quelque chose comme une étiquette biochimique fournissant des informations sur leur provenance , et cela révèle même si ces gènes seront actifs ou non dans les cellules de l’enfant. En particulier, certains gènes conditionnés ne sont activés que s'ils proviennent de la mère. Si ce même gène est hérité par la voie paternelle, il n'est pas activé. Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, d’autres gènes fonctionnent en sens inverse: c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne sont activés que s’ils proviennent du père.


Le chromosome X, essentiel au développement du potentiel cognitif

Il est bien connu que l’intelligence est transmise de parents à enfants, mais il n’existait jusqu’à récemment aucun dossier indiquant que cette capacité était due à une plus grande partie de l’un des deux parents. Les différentes études qui ont révélé que les enfants ont une plus grande probabilité d'hériter de l'intelligence de la mère suggèrent que les gènes liés aux capacités cognitives sont situés dans la Chromosome X .

En fait, les données qui soutiennent cette thèse viennent de loin. En 1984, une étude de l’Université de Cambridge avait déjà détecté cette tendance. L’équipe de chercheurs a analysé certaines composantes biochimiques et génétiques du cerveau et a conclu que les gènes de la mère fournissent plus d'informations pour le développement des structures cérébrales associées à la pensée et des opérations mentales.


Pour arriver à cette découverte surprenante, les chercheurs ont travaillé avec des embryons de souris modifiés pour reproduire uniquement les gènes de la mère ou ceux du père. Cependant, lorsque les scientifiques ont déplacé les embryons dans l'utérus d'une souris femelle afin qu'ils puissent continuer à se développer, ils sont morts.

Les chercheurs ont ainsi réalisé qu'il existe des gènes conditionnés qui ne s'activent que lorsqu'ils sont hérités par la mère et qui sont essentiels au développement et à la survie de l'embryon. Avec les embryons qui étaient des copies génétiques des parents, quelque chose de différent se produisit: leurs gènes étaient essentiels à la croissance des tissus placentaires. Ils sont également morts.

L'hypothèse était claire: si ces gènes en particulier étaient si essentiels au développement (et à la survie) de l'embryon, il serait raisonnable de penser qu'il s'agirait de gènes ayant de grandes responsabilités dans le fonctionnement organique des animaux et des humains et pourraient maintenir une relation étroite avec certaines fonctions cérébrales. Une hypothèse selon laquelle, après des études successives isolant des variables, a été validée.

Souris avec des têtes étonnamment grandes

Les souris ayant une plus grande proportion de gènes maternels ont développé un cerveau anormalement grand, et pourtant leur corps était très petit. En revanche, les souris porteuses de gènes paternels avaient une tête minuscule et un corps surdéveloppé.

Alors que les scientifiques détectaient quels gènes provenaient de la mère et lesquels du père, À leur tour, ils ont identifié plusieurs cellules qui ne contenaient que des gènes maternels ou paternels dans différentes zones du cerveau. qui régissent différentes fonctions et processus cognitifs, tels que l'intelligence ou la mémoire.

Les scientifiques n'ont trouvé aucune cellule paternelle dans le cortex cérébral, où se trouvent les structures qui nous permettent d'avoir des fonctions cognitives complexes, telles que l'intelligence, la prise de décision, le langage et d'autres capacités.

Nouvelles enquêtes et preuves

Au fil des ans, la communauté scientifique a examiné ce curieux phénomène génétique.En fait, l'un des chercheurs les plus réputés dans le domaine de l'intelligence, Robert Lehrke, a révélé que la plupart des capacités intellectuelles des nouveau-nés sont générées sur le chromosome X. Il a même pu démontrer que les femmes sont deux fois plus susceptibles d'hériter de traits liés à l'intelligence , ayant deux fois le même chromosome 'X'.

Il y a quelques mois, une autre étude de l'Université allemande d'Ulm a révélé que le matériel génétique impliqué dans les lésions cérébrales est étroitement lié au chromosome X. Ils ont également souligné que l'une des preuves de ce phénomène est le fait que les déficiences mentales et intellectuelles sont 30% plus fréquente chez les hommes.

Prédicteur de QI

Toutes les études précédentes sont très intéressantes et donnent des clés spécifiques sur la relation entre les gènes de la mère et l'intelligence. Cependant, l’une des études les plus révélatrices est l’analyse longitudinale réalisée dans le MConseil de la recherche médicale Unité des sciences sociales et de la santé publique des USA

Chaque année, 12 000 jeunes âgés de 13 à 22 ans ont été interviewés. En analysant différentes variables relatives aux individus, telles que la couleur de la peau ou le niveau socioculturel et économique, ils ont découvert que L'indicateur qui prédit le mieux l'intelligence de chaque sujet était le C.I. de sa mère .

Au-delà de la génétique

Mais ce n’est pas seulement la génétique qui nous donne des données sur cette question. D'autres recherches montrent que la mère joue un rôle fondamental dans le développement intellectuel et cognitif des enfants, par le biais de stimuli quotidiens. Plusieurs études suggèrent que la dépendance , ce lien de confiance intime avec la mère est étroitement lié à l’intelligence future.

L'attachement et son importance pour le développement du renseignement

Plusieurs enquêtes menées à l’Université de Caroline du Nord, parmi beaucoup d’autres, ont révélé que les enfants qui développent avec succès un attachement sécurisé avec leur mère sont en mesure de réaliser des jeux symboliques plus complexes . En outre, ils sont plus cohérents et ont plus de tolérance à la frustration.

Il semble que l'attachement sécurisé offre aux enfants les bases nécessaires pour devenir confiants dans leurs possibilités, en faisant face aux défis pour lutter et résoudre les problèmes de leur quotidien. Il est également remarquable que les mères qui fournissent cet attachement sécurisé soient également celles qui stimulent davantage et mieux leurs enfants afin qu’ils puissent progresser dans leur développement cognitif.

Quel pourcentage d'intelligence est hérité?

Mais l'intelligence est-elle vraiment héritée? Dans quelle proportion est-ce? On dit souvent que entre 45 et 55% de l'intelligence est écrite dans les gènes . Cela nous fait comprendre qu’une partie importante, environ la moitié, se développe si les conditions familiales, sociales et personnelles sont bonnes.

Et il est important de rappeler que l'intelligence n'est rien d'autre que la capacité de l'homme à résoudre des problèmes. Il n’existe pas de zone spécifique du cerveau responsable de la résolution des problèmes, mais c’est tout notre cerveau qui travaille au niveau mondial pour traiter toute tâche nécessitant un effort de nos capacités cognitives. De plus, pour plus d'imbroglio, nous utilisons non seulement la pensée rationnelle à ces fins, mais aussi la pensée heuristique, l'intuition et les émotions, qui sont généralement liées au patrimoine génétique du père, entrent en jeu.

Stimuler l'intelligence de l'enfant

Ne payez pas une attention excessive à C.I. d'un fils L'intelligence est une construction extrêmement complexe qui se développe si l'esprit de l'enfant est stimulé convenablement, avec des défis et des tâches qui l'obligent peu à peu à gravir les étapes de son développement cognitif.

En tant que parents, nous devons être en mesure de comprendre que nous pouvons beaucoup contribuer à la maturité de nos enfants et ils développent des habiletés cognitives plus complexes, et nous devons le faire, n'oublions pas de répondre aux besoins affectifs et ludiques des plus petits de la maison. Tout aide.

Vous pouvez être intéressé: "5 conseils pour nourrir votre enfant avec une intelligence émotionnelle"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bassedas, E. et al. (1991). Intervention éducative et diagnostic psychopédagogique. Bardelona: Paidós.
  • Der, G. et. Al. (2006) Effet de l'allaitement sur l'intelligence chez les enfants: étude prospective, analyse du couple de frères et sœurs et méta-analyse.BMJ; 333 (7575): 945.
  • Keverne, E. B.; Surani, M.A. et. Al. (2004) Coadaptation chez la mère et le nourrisson régulée par un gène imprimé exprimé paternellement. Proc Biol Sci.; 271 (1545): 1303-1309.
  • Matas, L .; Arend, R. A. & Sroufe, L. A. (1978) Continuité d'adaptation en deuxième année. Relation entre la qualité de l'attachement et la compétence ultérieure. Développement de l'enfant; 49: 547-556.
  • Prieto, M.D. et Arnaiz, P. (1989). Une approche cognitive de l'évaluation des capacités de renseignement dans l'éducation spéciale. En M.P. Abarca, (coord.). L'évaluation des programmes éducatifs. Madrid: école d'espagnol.
  • Vines, G. (1997) Maman, merci pour l'intelligence. Le monde; 253.

Voici à Quoi Ressemblera Ton Bébé (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes