yes, therapy helps!
Intermittent explosive disorder: causes and symptoms

Intermittent explosive disorder: causes and symptoms

May 6, 2021

Our emotional state is an area of ​​our psychological life that, in many cases, is revealed as something beyond our control. This has positive consequences, other negative ones, and some that have to do with risks when certain types of mental disorders occur .

For example, thanks to feelings and emotions we can live intensely all kinds of moments, quickly learn about the positive and negative consequences of our actions and even achieve better communication with others, but sometimes, some biological alterations can make that our emotional reactions are excessive or even that they are out of place.


Intermittent explosive disorder (IED) is a clear example of this , although in these cases the person diagnosed with this type of disorder sees their quality of life significantly limited by this mental disorder.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is intermittent explosive disorder?

Along with pyromania, trichotillomania, pathological gambling and many other disorders, the intermittent explosive disorder is part of what in the DSM-V diagnostic manual is known as impulse control disorders. In short, it is characterized by expressing itself through sudden and relatively brief outbursts of violence , triggered by minimally frustrating or stressful situations, and that can not be explained by the consumption of substances or injuries.


People with TEI have a very low threshold of frustration and any setback, however insignificant it may seem, makes them suddenly angry, even though seconds before they were in a good mood and laughing. Throughout these brief episodes of anger, which do not usually last more than an hour, the person partially or totally loses control over their behavior and in many cases can physically or verbally attack people who are nearby.

Once the outburst of fury has passed, people with intermittent explosive disorder tend to realize for themselves that what they have done has been detrimental to others, and they often feel guilty.

symptom

The symptoms of intermittent explosive disorder vary a bit according to the diagnostic manual used as a reference, but are mainly based on the appearance of short explosions of anger, expressed through physical or verbal violence , which are disproportionate to the magnitude of their causes and entail a loss of control.


As anger appears without premeditation, it is often expressed by interrupting a positive state of mind, and violence has no instrumental purpose. The person who presents the symptoms of intermittent explosive disorder does not aspire to achieve goals through aggression, but these are the result of their altered mood, which can not be attributed either to the consumption of substances or to the existence of other disorders or deformed or damaged parts of your nervous system.

A) Yes, People with TEI can get into a rage in a matter of seconds when interpreting that someone is looking at them too much , or when you see that a product that you have ordered in a store has been used up, or when you accidentally break an item. Outbreaks of anger can appear in a variety of situations, but they all have something in common: they would not be a source of intense anger for the vast majority of the population.

As with all disorders, only certain mental health professionals can make a diagnosis of intermittent explosive disorder, almost always using a DSM manual.

Other similar disorders

The TEI is closely related to bipolar disorder, which is hypothesized to be an early phase. In bipolar disorder, the moments of mania and euphoria may resemble the explosion of intense emotions that occur in intermittent explosive disorder.

However, the difference between both types of alterations is, basically, that in the intermittent explosive disorder the outbursts of fury can appear at any time , while in bipolar disorder these are linked to episodes of mania or depression, moments in which the mood was already altered before.

With regard to antisocial personality disorder, in which outbreaks of violence are also common, in these cases it plays an instrumental role, so that a specific purpose can be identified, while in TEI there is no objective clear beyond behaviorally expressing the state of agitation and frustration in which the person finds himself.

Treatment of intermittent explosive disorder

As it is a mental disorder that can not be linked to drugs or injuries but has to do with the way in which networks of neurons interact with each other and with environmental stimuli, the TEI can not be trying to intervene on a single factor in particular , as if to heal a wound. Therefore, in these cases the intervention is usually a combination between cognitive-behavioral therapy and administration of psychotropic drugs (normally, mood stabilizers and / or antidepressants).

Psychotherapy is usually very helpful in recognizing the first manifestations of outbreaks of anger, executing plans to increase the level of control over behavior and preventing others from being harmed, and developing coping strategies against the feeling of guilt and feeling of sadness In this way, patients learn to follow certain protocols when they begin to notice the first symptoms of a crisis induced by intermittent explosive disorder, and learn to regulate their behavior and their ideas about what is happening in a way that reduces discomfort as much as possible. in them as in the others.

Bibliographic references:

  • Beck, A.T. and Freeman, A. (1995). Cognitive therapy of personality disorders. Barcelona: Paidós.
  • Goodman, H.H. (Ed.). (1987). General psychiatry Mexico: The Modern Manual. (Orig. 1984).
  • Jaspers, K. (1946/1993). General Psychopathology. Mexico: FCE.

Intermittent Explosive Disorder ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble explosif intermittent: causes et symptômes

Trouble explosif intermittent: causes et symptômes

Mai 11, 2021

Notre état émotionnel est un domaine de notre vie psychologique qui, dans de nombreux cas, se révèle être quelque chose de indépendant de notre volonté. Cela a des conséquences positives, d'autres négatives, et certaines qui ont trait aux risques quand certains types de troubles mentaux se produisent .

Par exemple, grâce aux sentiments et aux émotions, nous pouvons vivre intensément toutes sortes de moments, comprendre rapidement les conséquences positives et négatives de nos actions et même parvenir à une meilleure communication avec les autres, mais parfois, certaines altérations biologiques peuvent apporter des modifications. que nos réactions émotionnelles sont excessives ou même qu’elles sont déplacées.


Le trouble explosif intermittent (EEI) en est un exemple clair. , bien que dans ces cas, la personne chez laquelle on a diagnostiqué ce type de trouble voit sa qualité de vie considérablement limitée par ce trouble mental.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce qu'un trouble explosif intermittent?

Outre la pyromanie, la trichotillomanie, le jeu pathologique et de nombreux autres troubles, le trouble explosif intermittent fait partie de ce que le manuel de diagnostic du DSM-V appelle les troubles du contrôle de l’impulsion. En bref, elle se caractérise par l'expression de violences soudaines et relativement brèves , déclenché par des situations minimalement frustrantes ou stressantes, et qui ne peut pas être expliqué par la consommation de substances ou de blessures.


Les personnes atteintes de TEI ont un seuil de frustration très bas et tout revers, même insignifiant, les met soudainement en colère, même quelques secondes avant d'être de bonne humeur et de rire. Au cours de ces brefs épisodes de colère, qui ne durent généralement pas plus d'une heure, la personne perd totalement ou partiellement le contrôle de son comportement et peut, dans de nombreux cas, attaquer physiquement ou verbalement des personnes se trouvant à proximité.

Une fois que l'explosion de fureur est passée, les personnes souffrant de troubles explosifs intermittents ont tendance à se rendre compte que ce qu'ils ont fait a été préjudiciable aux autres et qu'ils se sentent souvent coupables.

Les symptômes

Les symptômes du désordre explosif intermittent varient un peu selon le manuel de diagnostic utilisé comme référence, mais sont principalement basés sur l'apparition de courtes explosions de colère, exprimées par la violence physique ou verbale , qui sont disproportionnées par rapport à l’ampleur de leurs causes et entraînent une perte de contrôle.


Lorsque la colère apparaît sans préméditation, elle s’exprime souvent en interrompant un état d’esprit positif et la violence n’a pas de finalité instrumentale. La personne qui présente les symptômes d'un trouble explosif intermittent n'aspire pas à atteindre des objectifs par l'agression, mais ceux-ci sont le résultat de leur humeur altérée, qui ne peut être attribuée ni à la consommation de substances ni à l'existence d'autres troubles. ou des parties déformées ou endommagées de votre système nerveux.

Ainsi, Les personnes atteintes de TEI peuvent devenir furieuses en quelques secondes en interprétant que quelqu'un les regarde trop , ou lorsque vous constatez que le produit que vous avez commandé dans un magasin est épuisé, ou lorsque vous cassez accidentellement un article. Des éclosions de colère peuvent apparaître dans diverses situations, mais elles ont toutes quelque chose en commun: elles ne seraient pas une source de colère intense pour la grande majorité de la population.

Comme pour tous les troubles, seuls certains professionnels de la santé mentale peuvent poser un diagnostic de trouble explosif intermittent, en utilisant presque toujours un manuel DSM.

Autres troubles similaires

Le TEI est étroitement lié au trouble bipolaire, qui est supposé être une phase précoce. Dans le trouble bipolaire, les moments de manie et d'euphorie peuvent ressembler à l'explosion d'émotions intenses qui se produisent dans le trouble explosif intermittent.

Cependant, la différence entre les deux types de modifications est, en gros, que dans le désordre explosif intermittent les explosions de fureur peuvent apparaître à tout moment dans le trouble bipolaire, ils sont liés à des épisodes de manie ou de dépression, moments dans lesquels l’humeur était déjà altérée auparavant.

En ce qui concerne le trouble de la personnalité antisociale, dans lequel des flambées de violence sont également courantes, il joue un rôle déterminant en permettant d'identifier un objectif spécifique, tandis que dans TEI, aucun objectif n'est défini. clairement au-delà du comportement exprimant l’état d’agitation et de frustration dans lequel se trouve la personne.

Traitement du trouble explosif intermittent

Comme il s’agit d’un trouble mental qui ne peut être lié à des drogues ou à des blessures, mais qui est lié à la manière dont les réseaux de neurones interagissent les uns avec les autres et aux stimuli de l’environnement, le TEI ne peut pas essayer d'intervenir sur un facteur en particulier , comme pour soigner une blessure. Par conséquent, dans ces cas, l’intervention associe généralement une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale et l’administration de médicaments psychotropes (normalement, des stabilisateurs de l’humeur et / ou des antidépresseurs).

La psychothérapie est généralement très utile pour reconnaître les premières manifestations d’une flambée de colère, pour mettre en œuvre des plans visant à renforcer le contrôle du comportement, pour empêcher les autres de se blesser et pour mettre au point des stratégies d’adaptation au sentiment de culpabilité et de violence. sentiment de tristesse De cette manière, les patients apprennent à suivre certains protocoles quand ils commencent à remarquer les premiers symptômes d’une crise provoquée par un trouble explosif intermittent, et apprennent à réguler leur comportement et leurs idées sur ce qui se passe de manière à réduire le plus possible l’inconfort. en eux comme dans les autres.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Beck, A.T. et Freeman, A. (1995). Thérapie cognitive des troubles de la personnalité. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.
  • Goodman, H.H. (Ed.). (1987). Psychiatrie générale Mexique: Le manuel moderne. (Orig. 1984).
  • Jaspers, K. (1946/1993). Psychopathologie générale. Mexique: FCE.

Disruptive, impulse control, and conduct disorders (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes