yes, therapy helps!
Intervention in phobias: the technique of exposure

Intervention in phobias: the technique of exposure

May 1, 2024

The so-called exposure techniques are defined as the set of psychological procedures and behavioral by which a person can learn to cope with those situations that produce an intense anxiogenic discomfort.

This type of phenomena are usually related to a certain object or situation feared, of which the person tries to flee or avoid at all costs, although this is aware of the irrational and disproportionate of his reaction. The intense aversion suffered or phobia can be derived either from internal stimuli, for example being afraid of contracting a disease, or external, such as the fear of flying by plane.

Although there are many types of exposure, which are classified according to the place where it is performed (live exposure, exposure in imagination, exhibition in reality vitual, etc.), of people who participate in it (self-exposure, exhibition group, assisted exhibition, etc.), of how the gradation of the difficulty of the situations to be faced is established (flood, gradual exposure, etc.). Let's see what the two most common modalities consist of: In vivo exposure and imagination exposure .


  • You may be interested: "What is systematic desensitization and how does it work?"

Characteristics of the exposure technique

The ultimate purpose of the technique is provide the subject with various cognitive-behavioral resources so that he is able to put them into practice in real anxiogenic situations and this allows him to remain in it without emitting the avoidance response. These resources become cognitive restructuring techniques on experienced fears, training in self-instructions, breathing control techniques, relaxation techniques or modeling techniques and behavioral testing, mainly.

Exposure techniques allow learning to reduce the association between stimuli that generate anxiety and fear, and negative emotional reactions, also facilitate learning in an alternative way in the reaction to the initially anxiogenic stimuli characteristic of phobias .


Thus, psychological work is done to avoid cognitively anticipating the future development of the feared situation without thinking about the negative consequences and controlling the emotional reactions and the impulses themselves.

The hierarchy

One of the fundamental elements of the exhibition intervention, both in vivo and in imagination, is the prior elaboration of a hierarchy of exposure. In it, all the situations that generate anxiety and annoyance to the individual are registered.and ordered by a score in USAs, or Subjective Anxiety Units (usually 0-10 or 0-100), which indicates the level of perceived anxiogenic discomfort. Thus, a list of all the dreaded situations is obtained from less to greater difficulty of coping.

A relevant aspect is to find a balance in the gradation of the dreaded situations indicated. It is likely that the low-graded exposures have less acceptance by the subject and also higher dropout rate, although possibly faster results are achieved.


By cons, Excessive exposure can lead to a feeling of personal discouragement , seeing the individual that his progress is excessively slow. For this reason, it seems more effective to begin by exposing oneself to situations of low anxiety level (which have a high probability of coping success) until reaching those situations in which the person tends to avoid due to the high level of anxiety generated by them. (for example those in which you have suffered a panic attack before).

In the progress to move from the first to the second should be considered aspects such as the medical and psychological condition that the individual presents, the time that can be used for exposure and the degree of habituation of this respect of the technique. Thus, the hierarchy can be modified as progress is made in its realization , also taking into account the sensations experienced by the subject in each exhibition and the personal or environmental factors that influence the applied coping.

At the methodological level, Bados (2011) presents the following general guidelines as indications to follow in the application of in vivo exposure techniques:

  • You must remain in the situation until the person experiences a reduction in anxiety (40-50 USAs) without expressing wishes to avoid the situation.
  • The USAs level should be checked every 5-10 minutes. If the duration has been short, exposure must be repeated in order to experience a marked reduction in anxiety.
  • The time dedicated to coping with the situation It should oscillate between 1 and 2 hours daily before moving on to the next situation.
  • Each element of the hierarchy must be repeated until getting two exposures in a row with a level of anxiety between zero and slight.
  • The periodicity of the sessions It should be between 3-4 days a week.
  • After the end of the exhibition the subject must leave the situation in order to avoid carrying out automatic reassurance checks.

The exhibition in imagination in phobias

Exposure in imagination involves imagining in the most real way possible the experience of situations or feared stimuli that cause intense discomfort to the subject. This technique has a lower level of effectiveness than in vivo exposure, so usually both are combined.

Among the factors that cause a lower result of therapeutic success are the difficulty of applying strategies of imagination exposure to real situations (generalization of the stimulus) or the problems derived from how to assess whether the person has a good capacity to imagine situations feared indicated by the hierarchy.

However, exposure in imagination can be useful when:

  • The cost of the live exposure is not acceptable or it can not be scheduled in advance.
  • Upon the occurrence of an incident suffered by the subject in an in vivo exhibition that it prevents him from being able to face a new exhibition again in real context.
  • The person shows reservations and an excessive fear to start the live exposure.
  • As an alternative to in vivo exposure in situations where there is lack of compliance or difficulties in the habituation to the technique in real context.

Imagination capacity assessment

As indicated above, the competence available to the person will be a crucial element when assessing the possibility of applying this type of variant of the exposure technique.

In case of presenting limitations related to said ability, prior to the application of the steps listed in the exposure hierarchy, the subject must be evaluated and trained in this type of procedures.

For this, the therapist proposes a series of visualization exercises in which it presents a series of scenes to the patient, and it is indicated and guided on the elements that appear in it for approximately one minute. Subsequently, the quality and sharpness of the visualization exercised by the subject is evaluated, as well as the factors that have hindered the procedure.

In relation to this last, Bados (2005) presents a list of possible problems related to the difficulty in the evocation of imagined scenes:

1. Diffuse image

If the reproduction of the scene is vague , it is recommended to do a training in imagination starting with neutral or pleasing scenes, although it is also possible to enrich the description of the scene with important details and reactions of the client that have been omitted.

2. Temporarily limited imagination

The subject is not able to maintain the scene, which can be linked to the desire to escape from the feared situation. In this case, it is worth remembering the justification of the procedure and the need to expose oneself until reaching a tolerable degree of habituation. The client can also be asked to verbalize aloud what he imagines or to elaborate a less disturbing scene as a previous step.

3. Little detail

Lack of involvement in the scene by the subject. It can be proposed to enrich the scene with additional descriptive details, with the sensations, cognitions and behaviors of the client and with the consequences that he fears.

4. Manipulation of the imagined downward

Modification of the scene that mitigates anxiety. The subject can imagine situations quite different from those described. So, they can Diminish the aversion of a scene by incorporating protective elements (a small light in a dark room) or eliminating aversive elements (empty subway car instead of crowded).

In these cases, the importance of experiencing anxiety is remembered to get the final habituation of it and emphasizes making a description of the scenes much more specific.

5. Manipulation of the imagined upwards

Modification of the scene that increases anxiety. The patient can increase the anxiety potential of a scene adding aversive elements or removing protective elements. Possible solutions to this are to emphasize the importance of imagining only what is being asked or to indicate to the person who verbalizes out loud what he is imagining.

6. Ensimismamiento

The subject perseveres on the scene despite the indication of the end of the exhibition. In this situation it is useful to propose to the individual to relax the muscles of the eyes or to move or rotate the eyes.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bados, A. and Grau, E. G. (2011). Exposure techniques. Dipòsit Digital of the Universitat de Barcelona: Barcelona.

CBT for Social Anxiety Disorder: Using downward arrow and thought challenging techniques (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Intervention dans les phobies: la technique de l'exposition

Intervention dans les phobies: la technique de l'exposition

Janvier 14, 2023

Les techniques dites d'exposition sont définies comme l'ensemble des procédures psychologiques et comportementale par laquelle une personne peut apprendre à faire face aux situations qui produisent un inconfort anxiogène intense.

Ce type de phénomène est généralement lié à un objet ou à une situation redouté, que la personne tente de fuir ou d’éviter à tout prix, même s’il est conscient de l’irrationnel et de la disproportion de sa réaction. L'aversion intense ressentie ou la phobie peuvent provenir soit de stimuli internes, par exemple la peur de contracter une maladie, soit externes, comme la peur de voler en avion.

Bien qu'il existe de nombreux types d'exposition, classés en fonction du lieu où elle est réalisée (exposition en direct, exposition à l'imagination, exposition en réalité, etc.), des personnes qui y participent (exposition personnelle, exposition groupe, exposition assistée, etc.), de la manière dont est établie la gradation de la difficulté des situations à affronter (inondation, exposition progressive, etc.). Voyons en quoi consistent les deux modalités les plus courantes: Exposition in vivo et exposition à l'imagination .


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la désensibilisation systématique et comment ça marche?"

Caractéristiques de la technique d'exposition

Le but ultime de la technique est fournir au sujet diverses ressources cognitivo-comportementales afin qu’il puisse les mettre en pratique dans des situations anxiogéniques réelles, ce qui lui permet de rester dans la situation sans émettre de réponse d’évitement. Ces ressources deviennent des techniques de restructuration cognitive basées sur des peurs expérimentées, une formation à l'auto-instruction, des techniques de contrôle de la respiration, des techniques de relaxation ou des techniques de modélisation et des tests de comportement, principalement.

Les techniques d'exposition permettent d'apprendre afin de réduire l'association entre les stimuli générateurs d'anxiété et de peur et les réactions émotionnelles négatives, facilitent également l'apprentissage d'une autre manière. dans la réaction aux stimuli initialement anxiogènes caractéristiques des phobies .


Ainsi, un travail psychologique est fait pour éviter d’anticiper de manière cognitive le développement futur de la situation redoutée sans penser aux conséquences négatives et contrôler les réactions émotionnelles et les impulsions elles-mêmes.

La hiérarchie

L'un des éléments fondamentaux de l'exposition, à la fois in vivo et imaginaire, est l'élaboration préalable d'une hiérarchie d'exposition. Toutes les situations génératrices d’anxiété et de contrariété sont enregistrées.et ordonné par un score aux États-Unis, ou unités d'anxiété subjective (généralement 0-10 ou 0-100), ce qui indique le niveau d'inconfort anxiogène perçu. Ainsi, une liste de toutes les situations redoutées est obtenue de moins en moins difficile à gérer.

Un aspect pertinent est de trouver un équilibre dans la gradation des situations redoutées indiquées. Il est probable que le sujet accepte moins d’expositions que les expositions de faible intensité et que le taux d’abandon scolaire soit plus élevé, même si des résultats plus rapides sont obtenus.


En revanche, Une exposition excessive peut entraîner un sentiment de découragement personnel , voyant l'individu que son progrès est excessivement lent. Pour cette raison, il semble plus efficace de commencer par s'exposer à des situations de faible niveau d'anxiété (avec une forte probabilité de réussite) jusqu'à ce que la personne ait tendance à éviter en raison du niveau élevé d'anxiété qu'elle génère. (par exemple ceux dans lesquels vous avez déjà eu une crise de panique).

Dans les progrès pour passer de la première à la seconde devraient être considérés des aspects tels que l'état médical et psychologique que présente l'individu, le temps qui peut être utilisé pour l'exposition et le degré d'accoutumance de ce respect de la technique. Pour lui, la hiérarchie peut être modifiée au fur et à mesure de l'avancement de sa réalisation , en tenant également compte des sensations ressenties par le sujet dans chaque exposition et des facteurs personnels ou environnementaux qui influencent l'adaptation appliquée.

Au niveau méthodologique, Bados (2011) présente les lignes directrices générales suivantes comme indications à suivre lors de l'application de techniques d'exposition in vivo:

  • Vous devez rester dans la situation jusqu'à la personne ressent une anxiété réduite (40 à 50 États-Unis) sans avoir exprimé le souhait d’éviter la situation.
  • Le niveau américain doit être vérifié toutes les 5 à 10 minutes. Si la durée a été courte, l'exposition doit être répétée afin de faire l'expérience d'une réduction marquée de l'anxiété.
  • Le temps consacré à faire face à la situation Il devrait osciller entre 1 et 2 heures par jour avant de passer à la situation suivante.
  • Chaque élément de la hiérarchie doit être répété jusqu'à obtenir deux expositions consécutives avec un niveau d'anxiété compris entre zéro et faible.
  • La périodicité des séances Cela devrait être entre 3-4 jours par semaine.
  • Après la fin de l'exposition, le sujet doit quitter la situation pour éviter de procéder à des contrôles de réassurance automatiques.

L'exposition en imagination dans les phobies

L'exposition dans l'imagination implique d'imaginer de la manière la plus réelle possible l'expérience de situations ou de stimuli redoutés qui causent un inconfort intense au sujet. Cette technique a un niveau d'efficacité moindre que l'exposition in vivo, si généralement les deux sont combinés.

Parmi les facteurs qui entraînent un moindre résultat de succès thérapeutique figurent la difficulté d'appliquer des stratégies d'imagination, l'exposition à des situations réelles (généralisation du stimulus) ou les problèmes posés par la manière d'évaluer si la personne a une bonne capacité à imaginer des situations craint indiqué par la hiérarchie.

Cependant, une exposition imaginaire peut être utile lorsque:

  • Le coût de l'exposition en direct n'est pas acceptable ou il ne peut pas être programmé à l'avance.
  • Lors de la survenue d’un incident subi par le sujet lors d’une exposition in vivo, cela l'empêche de pouvoir faire face à une nouvelle exposition dans un contexte réel.
  • La personne montre des réserves et une peur excessive de commencer l'exposition en direct.
  • Comme alternative à l'exposition in vivo dans des situations de manque de conformité ou de difficultés pour s'habituer à la technique dans un contexte réel.

Évaluation de la capacité d'imagination

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la compétence disponible de la personne constituera un élément crucial pour évaluer la possibilité d'appliquer ce type de variante de la technique d'exposition.

En cas de présentation de limitations liées à ladite capacité, préalablement à l'application des étapes énumérées dans la hiérarchie d'exposition, le sujet doit être évalué et formé dans ce type de procédures.

Pour cela, le thérapeute propose une série d'exercices de visualisation dans lequel il présente une série de scènes au patient, et il est indiqué et guidé sur les éléments qui y figurent pendant environ une minute. Ensuite, la qualité et la netteté de la visualisation exercée par le sujet sont évaluées, ainsi que les facteurs qui ont entravé la procédure.

Bados (2005) présente par rapport à ce dernier une liste de problèmes possibles liés à la difficulté d'évocation de scènes imaginées:

1. Image diffuse

Si la reproduction de la scène est vague , il est recommandé de faire une formation d'imagination en commençant par des scènes neutres ou agréables, bien qu'il soit également possible d'enrichir la description de la scène avec des détails importants et les réactions du client qui ont été omis.

2. Imagination temporairement limitée

Le sujet n'est pas en mesure de maintenir la scène, ce qui peut être lié au désir de s'échapper de la situation redoutée. Dans ce cas, il convient de rappeler la justification de la procédure et le besoin de s'exposer jusqu'à atteindre un degré tolérable d'accoutumance. On peut également demander au client de verbaliser à haute voix ce qu’il imagine ou d’élaborer une scène moins perturbante au préalable.

3. Petit détail

Manque d'implication dans la scène par le sujet. Il peut être proposé d'enrichir la scène de détails descriptifs supplémentaires, de sensations, de connaissances et de comportements du client et des conséquences qu'il craint.

4. Manipulation de l'imaginaire vers le bas

Modification de la scène qui atténue l'anxiété. Le sujet peut imaginer des situations très différentes de celles décrites. Alors, ils peuvent Diminuer l'aversion d'une scène en incorporant des éléments de protection (une petite lumière dans une pièce sombre) ou d'éliminer les éléments aversifs (wagon de métro vide au lieu d'encombré).

Dans ces cas, on se souvient de l'importance de vivre l'anxiété pour obtenir l'habituation finale de celui-ci et insiste sur le fait de décrire plus précisément les scènes.

5. Manipulation de l'imaginaire vers le haut

Modification de la scène qui augmente l'anxiété. Le patient peut augmenter le potentiel d'anxiété d'une scène ajouter des éléments aversifs ou supprimer des éléments de protection. Les solutions possibles sont d'insister sur l'importance de n'imaginer que ce qui est demandé ou d'indiquer à la personne qui verbale ce qu'elle imagine.

6. Ensimismamiento

Le sujet persévère sur les lieux malgré l'indication de la fin de l'exposition. Dans cette situation, il est utile de proposer à l'individu de détendre les muscles des yeux ou de bouger ou de faire pivoter les yeux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bados, A. et Grau, E. G. (2011). Techniques d'exposition. Dipòsit Digital de l'Universitat de Barcelona: Barcelona.

Le traitement des phobies à l’aide de la réalité virtuelle (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes