yes, therapy helps!
Interview with Joyanna L. Silberg, a reference in Trauma and Child Dissociation

Interview with Joyanna L. Silberg, a reference in Trauma and Child Dissociation

June 24, 2021

It is a pleasure to be able to soon have Joyanna L. Silberg in Spain, international reference in the psychological intervention in trauma with children and adolescents. From October 26 to 28 in Pamplona, ​​we can learn from your hand about child dissociation. In this interview with Joyanna we will solve some frequent doubts related to this psychological phenomenon.

  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Joyanna L. Silberg, on the process of child dissociation

For many child therapists the issue of child dissociation is still a big unknown . It is true that we can hear about dissociation in adults, but it is difficult to find literature about it in the world of children.


We understand that we can not transfer the same concept of the adult world to the children's brain, since a characteristic of childhood is the lack of integration of experiences, which is facilitated by the adults who accompany the child, as long as they mentalize the child's states and put words to them. And this is precisely what does not happen in traumatic environments or families involved in constant suffering and destructuring.

You do not see the child's pain and you do not know how to calm down; This prolonged discomfort must be digested by the child himself, who does not have the capacity to develop it. Therefore, it is good to understand the basic mechanisms of child dissociation, a topic that we will discuss below with Joyanna L. Silberg.


Jonathan García-Allen: What can precipitate a state of dissociation in a child?

Joyanna: Children who suffer extreme terror and have no one to help them soothe the overwhelming state of trauma can enter a state of dissociation.

Jonathan García-Allen: What relationship can there be between the child's attachment type and dissociation?

If a child does not have a consistent parent when it comes to promoting healthy attachment, that child will be more likely to deal with dissociation. Children with disorganized attachment, who coexist with situations in which they are unable to predict how their parents will react to them, are the most predisposed to develop dissociation to adapt to that uncertainty.

Jonathan García-Allen: What are the differences between the dissociation of children and adults?


When adults use dissociation to cope with a traumatic situation, it is the result of a form of coping defense learned throughout life that solidifies and is difficult to interrupt.

Children are growing and their minds are developing and, therefore, when you help them manage the discomfort of a situation, by staying connected to them and facilitating a state of presence, they can learn to cope with the situation without dissociating. It is easier for them to learn or relearn and the treatment is faster.

Jonathan García-Allen: Is there a population profile that shows more tendency to dissociative states?

It seems that children who are more prone to fantasy, who are easily involved in fantasy and let themselves be absorbed by their own imagination, are the most susceptible to developing them, since they use the escape to the mind in a natural way for them.

Jonathan García-Allen: There are different treatments to work with child dissociation. Which therapies have better results?

Children must learn that the most healthy way to achieve an integrated mental state is to achieve a "complete self" in which different states are part of the same Self and work together. They learn this to the extent that they are helped to respect all their feelings and all their states. Children connect with these ideas easily and have an internal drive toward healing.

Interrupting the dissociative pathways in children can avoid the terrible morbidity of dissociative disorders in adults. Working with dissociative children gives therapists a window into the incredible minds of children, and brings a feeling of great respect for the way children learn to survive all obstacles.

To know more

Joyanna L. Silberg will give a workshop on intervention in child dissociation in Spain, from 26 to 28 October in Pamplona. This course, organized by the psychology office Vitaliza, will have a translation into Spanish and can be done online thanks to its streaming broadcast.

  • To know the complete program, you can access the contact information of Vitaliza, and its web page, from the tab of this link.

No Way Out But One (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Entretien avec Joyanna L. Silberg, une référence dans Trauma and Child Dissociation

Entretien avec Joyanna L. Silberg, une référence dans Trauma and Child Dissociation

Septembre 27, 2022

C'est un plaisir de pouvoir bientôt avoir Joyanna L. Silberg en Espagne, référence internationale dans le domaine de l'intervention psychologique dans les traumatismes chez les enfants et les adolescents. Du 26 au 28 octobre à Pampelune, vous pourrez apprendre de la dissociation des enfants. Dans cette interview avec Joyanna, nous allons résoudre quelques doutes fréquents liée à ce phénomène psychologique.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Joyanna L. Silberg, sur le processus de dissociation des enfants

Pour beaucoup d'enfants thérapeutes la question de la dissociation des enfants est encore une grande inconnue . Il est vrai que nous pouvons entendre parler de dissociation chez les adultes, mais il est difficile de trouver de la littérature à ce sujet dans le monde des enfants.


Nous comprenons que nous ne pouvons pas transférer le même concept du monde adulte au cerveau des enfants, car une caractéristique de l’enfance est le manque d’intégration des expériences, qui est facilité par les adultes qui accompagnent l’enfant, aussi longtemps que possible. ils mentalisent les états de l'enfant et les mettent en mots. Et c’est précisément ce qui ne se produit pas dans les environnements traumatiques ou dans les familles en souffrance constante et en déstructuration.

Vous ne voyez pas la douleur de l'enfant et vous ne savez pas comment vous calmer; Cet inconfort prolongé doit être digéré par l'enfant lui-même, qui n'a pas la capacité de le développer. Par conséquent, il est bon de comprendre les mécanismes de base de la dissociation des enfants, un sujet que nous aborderons ci-dessous avec Joyanna L. Silberg.


Jonathan García-Allen: Qu'est-ce qui peut précipiter un état de dissociation chez un enfant?

Joyanna: Les enfants qui souffrent d'une terreur extrême et qui n'ont personne pour les aider à apaiser le traumatisme extrême peuvent entrer dans un état de dissociation.

Jonathan García-Allen: Quelle relation peut-il exister entre le type d'attachement de l'enfant et sa dissociation?

Si un enfant n'a pas de parent cohérent lorsqu'il s'agit de promouvoir un attachement sain, il sera plus susceptible de gérer la dissociation. Les enfants avec un attachement désorganisé, qui coexistent avec des situations dans lesquelles ils sont incapables de prédire comment leurs parents vont réagir, sont les plus prédisposés à développer une dissociation pour s'adapter à cette incertitude.

Jonathan García-Allen: Quelles sont les différences entre la dissociation des enfants et des adultes?


Lorsque les adultes utilisent la dissociation pour faire face à une situation traumatisante, elle résulte d’une forme de défense d’adaptation apprise tout au long de la vie qui se solidifie et qui est difficile à interrompre.

Les enfants grandissent et leur esprit se développe. Par conséquent, lorsque vous les aidez à gérer le malaise d'une situation, en restant en contact avec eux et en facilitant leur présence, ils peuvent apprendre à faire face à la situation sans se dissocier. Il leur est plus facile d'apprendre ou de réapprendre et le traitement est plus rapide.

Jonathan García-Allen: Y a-t-il un profil de population qui montre une plus grande tendance aux états dissociatifs?

Il semble que les enfants plus enclins au fantasme, qui sont facilement impliqués dans le fantasme et se laissent absorber par leur propre imagination, sont les plus susceptibles de les développer, car ils utilisent l'évasion de l'esprit de façon naturelle.

Jonathan García-Allen: Il existe différents traitements pour lutter contre la dissociation des enfants. Quelles thérapies ont de meilleurs résultats?

Les enfants doivent apprendre que le moyen le plus sain d’atteindre un état mental intégré est d’atteindre un «moi complet» dans lequel différents états font partie du même moi et travaillent ensemble. Ils apprennent cela dans la mesure où ils sont aidés à respecter tous leurs sentiments et tous leurs états. Les enfants se connectent facilement à ces idées et ont une volonté interne de guérison.

Interrompre les voies de dissociation chez les enfants peut éviter la terrible morbidité des troubles dissociatifs chez les adultes. Travailler avec des enfants dissociatifs donne aux thérapeutes une fenêtre sur l'incroyable esprit des enfants et leur procure un grand respect pour la façon dont les enfants apprennent à survivre à tous les obstacles.

Pour en savoir plus

Joyanna L. Silberg animera un atelier sur l’intervention dans la dissociation d’enfants en Espagne du 26 au 28 octobre à Pampelune. Ce cours, organisé par le bureau de psychologie Vitaliza, aura une traduction en espagnol et peut être fait en ligne grâce à sa diffusion en streaming.

  • Pour connaître le programme complet, vous pouvez accéder aux informations de contact de Vitaliza et à sa page Web à partir de l’onglet de ce lien.

No Way Out But One (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes