yes, therapy helps!
IRSN: uses and side effects of these drugs

IRSN: uses and side effects of these drugs

September 21, 2022

In the treatment of depression, one of the most frequent mental disorders, a great number of methods and therapeutic alternatives have been created in order to reduce and eliminate the symptoms.

From the pharmacology, it has tried to synthesize different types of substances for that purpose. And among the most novel and promising we can find a group that specifically affects different neurotransmitters that are linked to the typical processes of subjects with depression. We are talking about Specific Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin and Noradrenaline, or SNRI .

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

The SNRIs: type of substance and mechanism of action

Specific inhibitors of serotonin and noradrenaline reuptake or SNRI are a type of antidepressant which are characterized by, as the name suggests, inhibiting or blocking the reuptake of the neurotransmitters serotonin and noradrenaline in the brain.


This implies that the presynaptic neurons will not reabsorb the excess of these neurotransmitters not used by the postsynaptic neuron, so that they will remain in the synaptic space and be available for the postsynaptic neurons to continue acting. In other words, they cause more noradrenaline and serotonin in the brain .

We are facing a relatively recent group of drugs, which usually causes few secondary symptoms and together with the SSRIs are the most effective and safe that exist today. Keep in mind, however, that as with all antidepressants, there is a time lag of several weeks in which they do not have a noticeable effect , since the brain must and will make changes in regard to the brain receptors of these hormones.


Its advantages over other antidepressants are found in that Two of the main monoamines associated with depressive symptoms work , as well as the anxious.

These neurotransmitters they are linked to the state of mind, to the motivation (especially noradrenaline), the ability to concentrate and attention, with aspects such as anhedonia, apathy, negative mood and different cognitive and emotional aspects. In addition, they do not usually generate histaminergic or cholinergic effects, and side effects associated with these hormones are not frequent.

  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

Main examples of IRSN

The SNRIs are a group of drugs that share a similar mechanism of action, having different substances with different chemical compositions, properties that, although not equal, generate similar changes at the brain level. Some of the main exponents of this group are the following.


1. Venlafaxine

One of the most well-known IRSN , venlafaxine is known for its use as a treatment for depression, being one of the most prescribed drugs of this type and the oldest of them.

It has also been used in cases of social phobia and other anxiety disorders, and has been used in post-traumatic stress disorder. In addition to serotonin and noradrenaline, too may have some effect on dopamine in high doses .

Despite being an SNRI, its effect is much greater on serotonin (it is estimated that up to five times more), and even at low doses can only affect this neurotransmitter.

  • Related article: "Venlafaxine: uses, side effects and precautions"

2. Duloxetine

Another of the most famous and used specific inhibitors of the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline, duloxetine is a relatively recent ISRN used for the treatment of major depression (being a highly effective drug in the treatment of this type of symptoms) and other psychic and medical conditions. As well Its role in the treatment of urinary incontinence is known.

  • You may be interested: "Duloxetine: uses and side effects of this drug"

3. Milnacipran

Antidepressant drug known for its role in the treatment of depressive disorders. It is also prescribed to combat the pains of fibromyalgia and other pain disorders.

4. Levomilnacipran

A psychopharmaceutical approved in 2013, the levomilnacipran is an ISRN that has as particularity the fact that its action on noradrenaline practically doubles the one it has on serotonin, this being the most noradrenergic ISRN that exists today. Very useful in order to alleviate motivational symptoms and improve aspects such as concentration and activity.

  • Related article: "Levomilnacipran: uses and side effects of this drug"

5. Desvenlafaxine

Derivative of venlafaxine, desvenlafaxine is currently a relevant antidepressant not only for its role in the treatment of depression but also for serving as a treatment for menopause and neuropathic pain. But nevertheless its only clinical indication totally approved is that of depression .

Uses and applications

While as antidepressants they are all IRNS are used for the treatment of depression, it is not the only use they can have. Many of them are used in the treatment of different anxiety disorders d, sometimes even with greater preference than substances classified as anxiolytics, as in the case of generalized anxiety disorder or phobias (such as social anxiety).

Most of these drugs are also used for the treatment of pain-related conditions, such as fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome and neuropathies .

Risks and side effects

Specific inhibitors of the reuptake of serotonin and norepinephrine they are powerful psychodrugs very useful in the treatment of depression and other disorders and diseases. However, this does not imply that they can not generate unpleasant and even dangerous side effects.

As a general rule this type of drugs tends to generate sedation, gastrointestinal disorders, nausea and vomiting , dry mouth, headache and dizziness, hyperhidrosis, alterations in urination or excretion, sleep problems such as insomnia, sexual disorders such as inappetence, erectile dysfunction, ejaculatory problems and to reach orgasm.

Also, in some more serious cases, arrhythmias and blood pressure alterations may occur. It should also be borne in mind that they can generate or facilitate suicidal ideation, especially at the beginning of consumption, and in some cases convulsions.

As main contraindications, although they depend on the specific drug, there are usually pregnant and lactating women, people with heart, liver or kidney problems. In the case of people with diabetes, they should be especially careful and consult their doctor due to the risk of hyperglycemia. Neither should they be used in conjunction with IMAOS due to the risk of serotonin syndrome, and its use is contraindicated with alcohol or other substances and drugs.

  • Related article: "MAOIs (monoamine oxidase inhibitors): effects and types"

Bibliographic references:

  • Schueler, Y .; Kösters, M .; Wieseler, B .; Grouven, U .; Kromp, M .; Kerekes, M .; Kreis, J .; Kaiser, T .; Becker, T. & Weinmann, S. (2010). A systematic review of duloxetine and venlafaxine in major depression, including unpublished data. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica.

“Zombie Drug” - The Truth About Flakka (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
IRSN: usages et effets secondaires de ces médicaments

IRSN: usages et effets secondaires de ces médicaments

Janvier 17, 2022

Dans le traitement de la dépression, l'un des troubles mentaux les plus fréquents, un grand nombre de méthodes et d'alternatives thérapeutiques ont été créées afin de réduire et d'éliminer les symptômes.

De la pharmacologie, il a essayé de synthétiser différents types de substances à cette fin. Et parmi les plus novateurs et les plus prometteurs, nous pouvons trouver un groupe qui affecte spécifiquement différents neurotransmetteurs liés aux processus typiques des sujets souffrant de dépression. On parle de Inhibiteurs spécifiques de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, ou IRSN .

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Les IRSN: type de substance et mécanisme d'action

Les inhibiteurs spécifiques du recaptage de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline ou du SNRI sont un type d'antidépresseur qui, comme leur nom l’indique, se caractérisent par l’inhibition ou le blocage de la recapture des neurotransmetteurs de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline dans le cerveau.


Cela implique que les neurones présynaptiques ne réabsorbent pas l'excès de ces neurotransmetteurs non utilisés par le neurone postsynaptique, de sorte qu'ils restent dans l'espace synaptique et soient disponibles pour que les neurones postsynaptiques puissent continuer à agir. En d'autres termes, ils provoquent plus de noradrénaline et de sérotonine dans le cerveau .

Nous sommes confrontés à un groupe de médicaments relativement récent, qui provoque généralement peu de symptômes secondaires et, avec les ISRS, sont les médicaments les plus efficaces et les plus sûrs qui existent à ce jour. Cependant, gardez à l’esprit que, comme pour tous les antidépresseurs, il existe un décalage plusieurs semaines pendant lesquelles ils n'ont pas d'effet notable , puisque le cerveau doit et va modifier les récepteurs cérébraux de ces hormones.


Ses avantages par rapport aux autres antidépresseurs se retrouvent dans cette Deux des principales monoamines associées aux symptômes dépressifs fonctionnent , ainsi que les anxieux.

Ces neurotransmetteurs ils sont liés à l'état d'esprit, à la motivation (en particulier la noradrénaline), la capacité de concentration et d’attention, avec des aspects tels que l’anhédonie, l’apathie, une humeur négative et différents aspects cognitifs et émotionnels. En outre, ils ne génèrent généralement pas d'effets histaminergiques ou cholinergiques, et les effets indésirables associés à ces hormones ne sont pas fréquents.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Principaux exemples d'IRSN

Les IRSN sont un groupe de médicaments qui partagent un mécanisme d'action similaire, ayant différentes substances avec différentes compositions chimiques, des propriétés qui, bien que non identiques, génèrent des changements similaires au niveau du cerveau. Certains des principaux exposants de ce groupe sont les suivants.


1. Venlafaxine

L’un des plus connus de l’IRSN , la venlafaxine est connue pour son utilisation en tant que traitement de la dépression, étant l’un des médicaments les plus prescrits de ce type et le plus ancien.

Il a également été utilisé dans les cas de phobie sociale et d’autres troubles anxieux, et dans les cas de stress post-traumatique. En plus de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, peut avoir un effet sur la dopamine à fortes doses .

Bien qu’il soit un IRSN, son effet sur la sérotonine est beaucoup plus important (on estime qu’il est cinq fois plus) et même à faibles doses, il ne peut affecter que ce neurotransmetteur.

  • Article connexe: "Venlafaxine: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions"

2. Duloxetine

Un autre des inhibiteurs spécifiques les plus connus et les plus utilisés de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, la duloxétine est un ISRN relativement récent utilisé pour le traitement de la dépression majeure (médicament très efficace pour le traitement de ce type de conditions psychiques et médicales. Aussi Son rôle dans le traitement de l'incontinence urinaire est connu.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Duloxétine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament"

3. Milnacipran

Médicament antidépresseur connu pour son rôle dans le traitement des troubles dépressifs. Il est également prescrit pour lutter contre les douleurs de la fibromyalgie et d'autres troubles douloureux.

4. Levomilnacipran

Psychopharmaceutique approuvé en 2013, le lévomilnacipran est un ISRN qui a pour particularité que son action sur la noradrénaline double pratiquement celle de la sérotonine, l’ISRN le plus noradrénergique aujourd’hui. Très utile pour soulager les symptômes de motivation et améliorer des aspects tels que la concentration et l'activité.

  • Article connexe: "Levomilnacipran: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament"

5. Desvenlafaxine

Dérivée de la venlafaxine, la desvenlafaxine est actuellement un antidépresseur pertinent non seulement pour son rôle dans le traitement de la dépression, mais également pour le traitement de la ménopause et de la douleur neuropathique. Cependant sa seule indication clinique totalement approuvée est celle de la dépression .

Utilisations et applications

Bien qu’ils soient tous des antidépresseurs, les IRN sont utilisés pour le traitement de la dépression, mais ce n’est pas le seul usage qu’ils peuvent avoir. Beaucoup d'entre eux sont utilisés dans le traitement de différents troubles anxieux d, parfois même avec une préférence plus grande que les substances classées comme anxiolytiques, comme dans le cas du trouble anxieux généralisé ou des phobies (telles que l’anxiété sociale).

La plupart de ces médicaments sont également utilisés dans le traitement de maladies liées à la douleur, telles que fibromyalgie, syndrome de fatigue chronique et neuropathies .

Risques et effets secondaires

Inhibiteurs spécifiques de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline ils sont puissants psychodrogues très utile dans le traitement de la dépression et d'autres troubles et maladies. Cependant, cela n'implique pas qu'ils ne peuvent pas générer d'effets secondaires désagréables et même dangereux.

En règle générale, ce type de drogue a tendance à générer une sédation, des troubles gastro-intestinaux, des nausées et des vomissements , bouche sèche, maux de tête et vertiges, hyperhidrose, altérations de la miction ou de l'excrétion, problèmes de sommeil tels que insomnie, troubles sexuels tels que inappétence, dysfonctionnement érectile, problèmes d'éjaculation et atteinte de l'orgasme.

En outre, dans certains cas plus graves, des arythmies et des modifications de la pression artérielle peuvent survenir. Il faut également garder à l'esprit qu'ils peuvent générer ou faciliter des idées suicidaires, en particulier au début de la consommation, et dans certains cas, des convulsions.

En tant que contre-indications principales, bien qu’elles dépendent du médicament en question, il existe généralement des femmes enceintes et des mères allaitantes, des personnes souffrant de problèmes cardiaques, hépatiques ou rénaux. Dans le cas des personnes atteintes de diabète, elles doivent être particulièrement prudentes et consulter leur médecin en raison du risque d'hyperglycémie. Ils ne doivent pas non plus être utilisés avec IMAOS en raison du risque de syndrome sérotoninergique, et son utilisation est contre-indiquée avec l'alcool ou d'autres substances et drogues.

  • Article connexe: "IMAO (inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase): effets et types"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Schueler, Y .; Kösters, M .; Wieseler, B .; Grouven, U .; Kromp, M .; Kerekes, M .; Kreis, J .; Kaiser, T .; Becker, T. et Weinmann, S. (2010). Une revue systématique de la duloxétine et de la venlafaxine dans les cas de dépression majeure, y compris des données non publiées. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica.

"Radioactivité" : une exposition conçue par l'ASN et l'IRSN (septembre 2017) (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes