yes, therapy helps!
Is it normal to hear voices? Auditory hallucinations

Is it normal to hear voices? Auditory hallucinations

November 27, 2021

The human being is a social being that communicates with his environment and with his peers, using oral language to a great extent. We speak to communicate and express more or less abstract ideas and concepts, and we listen and listen to those of others.

However, some people manifest hear voices that do not correspond to a real stimulus . In this context ... What is happening with these people? Is it normal to hear voices? In this article we are going to specify some cases in which the auditory perception of a voice appears.

Hearing voices: auditory hallucinations

The perception of elements in the absence of stimuli that provoke them is what we know as hallucination . In them, who suffers them perceives as true a stimulus that does not exist in reality, this being its own elaboration. Hallucinations can appear in any sensory modality, including hearing.


The fact of hearing voices, if they do not come from a real stimulus, is therefore a hallucinatory phenomenon. In fact it is the most common type of hallucination , especially in certain mental disorders. The voices in question can externally reflect the contents of one's own thought, give orders, make criticisms of who suffers them in the second person or make comments in the third person. It is even possible to perceive more than one and that these establish conversations with each other, although it is not usual.

We must bear in mind that the perception of voices can be experienced in different ways. For some people it can be a rewarding, positive and even mystical experience, especially when its content is not aversive. On the contrary, it generates great suffering for other people, being critical, ridiculing and threatening voices that can even lead him to do concrete acts.


  • Related article: "The 15 types of hallucinations (and their possible causes)"

Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders

The first thing that most people think of when someone says they hear voices is in the word schizophrenia, or that they are suffering from a psychotic outbreak. The link between schizophrenia and hearing voices it is because the presence of hallucinations (especially auditory) is one of the predominant symptoms, especially of the paranoid subtype.

In schizophrenia, voices can be manipulative and terrifying and order things that the subject does not want to do. It is frequent that in this disorder the content of the voices is threatening or critical and that they speak of the subject or of the environment, as well as provoke the interpretation of reality differently to the habitual generating delusions (for example, a person who constantly hears that they persecute him or wants to see him dead can end up interpreting situations according to that idea).


But not only voices are heard in schizophrenia. In fact, auditory hallucinations they are one of the main positive symptoms (those that add elements to the normal functioning of the patient) of both schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders in which there is a partial or complete break with reality.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of Psychotic Disorders"

Other disorders in which it is possible to hear voices

Psychotic disorders are not the only ones in which the hearing of voices generated by one's own mind can appear. In some types of depression As the atypical, in manic episodes, anxiety crises or during epileptic seizures can be heard voices. Also during dissociative states.

Also, some diseases and medical alterations can cause this perception. For example, in the presence of high fever it is possible that hallucinations and delusions appear, as well as a great amount of alterations that occur with alterations of conscience.

Different symptoms such as withdrawal syndrome to certain substances, or neurological disorders such as dementias are prone to generate the perception of hearing voices.

We are not always facing a disorder

As we have seen, when it is mentioned that a person hears voices, this fact is usually linked to the existence of a schizophrenia or a psychotic disorder. This is because the presence of auditory hallucinations, especially in the form of voices, is one of the most characteristic symptoms of paranoid schizophrenia.

However, not in all cases we are facing this disorder: it is possible to hear voices for many reasons and not all of them are pathological .

1. Consumption of substances

The consumption of certain substances, especially the psychodysleptic type (like the hallucinogens) or psychoanalytic, can also cause the perception of voices or sounds by causing alterations in perception and / or level of consciousness. In addition, some substances can cause a psychotic outbreak per se, which can also cause hearing voices.

And not only during their consumption, they can also occur in poisonings by these substances or even before the sudden cessation of consumption in the cases that suffer from dependence, that is to say before the withdrawal syndrome.

2. Hypnagogic and hypnopompic hallucinations

An example of this is found in hypnogogic and hypnopompic hallucinations, also called physiological hallucinations: it is a form of pseudoperception in the form of hallucinations that arise in the wake of sleep and vice versa , that is, in a state in which an alteration of consciousness is taking place.

Although they are often visual, it is not uncommon for sound elements to appear as well. being able to hear voices, conversations or shouts . They do not necessarily indicate the presence of a pathology, but it is not uncommon for them to appear in the non-clinical population.

3. Reaction to an intense stress or a traumatic event

Losing a loved one, having suffered some kind of abuse or being subjected to considerable stress can cause those who have suffered experience hear voices at specific times. For example, it is not uncommon when we lose a loved one that we seem to hear the voice of the deceased, usually in the early stages of the grieving process.

Hearing voices can also be a consequence of a state of extreme excitement and nervousness , appearing this phenomenon as nervous paroxysm. In fact, the perception of these voices can further increase the tension state of the subject and accentuate the perceptions.

4. Pareidolia

Pareidolia is understood as the phenomenon by which the human brain tends to cause us to perceive patterns in ambiguous stimuli, as occurs when we see shapes in the clouds.

Although the pareidolia itself designates the endowment of meaning and meaning to images that do not have it, similar phenomena can also occur in other senses. For example in the hearing. It is possible that certain environmental elements, such as the wind, produce noise that we can come to interpret as a human voice , even in the form of phrases.

What are they really?

The origin of the perception of voices without anything that triggers this perception may depend on the type of phenomenon that originates them. It is usually an interpretation of an external noise or of the perception as exogenous of a self-generated content (that is, something that the person has thought is perceived as external).

In the second case, there are multiple hypotheses about why this happens like this. It has been perceived that the existence of an excess of dopamine in the mesolimbic pathway can generate hallucinations and delusions, as well as the possibility of lesions in the prefrontal. It has also been observed that many patients with asymmetries in the temporal lobe develop positive symptoms such as hallucinations. Another explanation may be the disconnection between the brain regions of speech and the prefrontal , which can cause a dissociation between self-awareness and the generation of verbal content.

How are they treated?

The fact of hearing voices requires treatment if these are due to the existence of a mental illness and / or they represent a prejudice, malaise or significant limitation for those who perceive them or their environment.

If the voices are perceived during a grieving process or after a traumatic experience, it may be necessary to work on the phenomenon that generated it and its significance for the patient. The type of strategy to be used will depend on the case.

In cases of psychotic disorders, Neuroleptics or antipsychotics are often used in order to reduce hallucinations. In this aspect, both typical and atypical ones are very successful, although the former can cause relevant side effects and in both cases they can generate sedation. In other disorders, the corresponding cause should be treated.

On a psychological level and specifically on auditory hallucinations, targeting therapy has been used . In this therapy elaborated by Slade, Haddock and Bentall it is tried that the patient goes focusing little by little on different aspects of the voices. It begins with the form and characteristics of the voice in question, to later analyze the content (that is to say what they say) and finally work on the beliefs that the subject has regarding them. It is about getting the subject little by little to re-attribute the voices to their own mental contents.

In any case, when dealing with a person who claims to hear voices, it is necessary to make him see a fundamental aspect: regardless of what they say, the voices can not hurt you .


True Facts About Auditory Hallucinations - Causes and Treatments of Auditory Hallucination (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Est-ce normal d'entendre des voix? Hallucinations auditives

Est-ce normal d'entendre des voix? Hallucinations auditives

Avril 22, 2019

L'être humain est un être social qui communique avec son environnement et avec ses pairs et utilise largement le langage oral. Nous parlons pour communiquer et exprimer des idées et des concepts plus ou moins abstraits, et nous écoutons et écoutons ceux des autres.

Cependant, certaines personnes manifestent entendre des voix qui ne correspondent pas à un stimulus réel . Dans ce contexte ... Que se passe-t-il avec ces personnes? Est-il normal d'entendre des voix? Dans cet article, nous allons spécifier quelques cas dans lesquels la perception auditive d'une voix apparaît.

Entendre des voix: hallucinations auditives

La perception d'éléments en l'absence de stimuli qui les provoque est ce que nous connaissons comme hallucination . En eux, ceux qui les subissent perçoivent comme vrai un stimulus qui n'existe pas dans la réalité, ceci étant sa propre élaboration. Les hallucinations peuvent apparaître dans n'importe quelle modalité sensorielle, y compris l'audition.


Le fait d'entendre des voix, si elles ne proviennent pas d'un stimulus réel, est donc un phénomène hallucinatoire. En fait c'est le type le plus commun d'hallucination , en particulier dans certains troubles mentaux. Les voix en question peuvent refléter extérieurement le contenu de sa propre pensée, donner des ordres, critiquer qui les subit à la deuxième personne ou faire des commentaires à la troisième personne. Il est même possible d'en percevoir plus d'un et que ceux-ci établissent des conversations les uns avec les autres, bien que ce ne soit pas habituel.

Nous devons garder à l'esprit que la perception des voix peut être vécue de différentes manières. Pour certaines personnes, cela peut être une expérience enrichissante, positive et même mystique, surtout lorsque son contenu n’est pas aversif. Au contraire, il génère une grande souffrance pour les autres, être critique, ridiculiser et menacer les voix cela peut même le conduire à poser des gestes concrets.


  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d'hallucinations (et leurs causes possibles)"

Schizophrénie et autres troubles psychotiques

La première chose à laquelle la plupart des gens pensent quand on dit qu'ils entendent des voix est dans le mot schizophrénie, ou qu'ils souffrent d'une épidémie psychotique. Le lien entre la schizophrénie et l'audition c'est parce que la présence d'hallucinations (surtout auditives) est l'un des symptômes prédominants, en particulier du sous-type paranoïaque.

Dans la schizophrénie, les voix peuvent être manipulatrices et terrifiantes et ordonner des choses que le sujet ne veut pas faire. Il est fréquent que, dans ce désordre, le contenu des voix soit menaçant ou critique et qu'elles parlent du sujet ou de l'environnement, ainsi que provoquer l'interprétation de la réalité différemment aux illusions génératrices habituelles (par exemple, une personne qui entend constamment qu'elle le persécute ou veut le voir mort peut finir par interpréter les situations en fonction de cette idée).


Mais pas seulement les voix se font entendre dans la schizophrénie. En fait, les hallucinations auditives ils sont l'un des principaux symptômes positifs (ceux qui ajoutent des éléments au fonctionnement normal du patient) de la schizophrénie et d’autres troubles psychotiques dans lesquels il existe une rupture partielle ou totale avec la réalité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles psychotiques"

Autres troubles dans lesquels il est possible d'entendre des voix

Les troubles psychotiques ne sont pas les seuls dans lesquels on peut entendre les voix générées par son propre esprit. Dans certains types de dépression En tant qu'atypique, lors d'épisodes maniaques, des crises d'anxiété ou lors de crises d'épilepsie peuvent être entendues. Aussi pendant les états dissociatifs.

En outre, certaines maladies et modifications médicales peuvent provoquer cette perception. Par exemple, en présence d'une forte fièvre il est possible que des hallucinations et des délires apparaissent, ainsi que de nombreuses modifications lors de modifications de la conscience.

Différents symptômes tels que le syndrome de sevrage certaines substances, ou des troubles neurologiques tels que les démences sont susceptibles de générer la perception de la voix entendue.

Nous ne sommes pas toujours confrontés à un désordre

Comme nous l'avons vu, lorsqu'il est mentionné qu'une personne entend des voix, ce fait est généralement lié à l'existence d'une schizophrénie ou d'un trouble psychotique. En effet, la présence d'hallucinations auditives, notamment sous forme de voix, est l'un des symptômes les plus caractéristiques de la schizophrénie paranoïde.

Cependant, pas dans tous les cas, nous sommes confrontés à ce trouble: il est possible d'entendre des voix pour plusieurs raisons et toutes ne sont pas pathologiques .

1. Consommation de substances

La consommation de certaines substances, en particulier le type psychodysleptique (comme les hallucinogènes) ou psychanalytique, peuvent également provoquer la perception de voix ou de sons en provoquant des altérations de la perception et / ou du niveau de conscience. En outre, certaines substances peuvent provoquer une épidémie psychotique en soi, ce qui peut également entraîner une perte auditive.

Et non seulement pendant leur consommation, ils peuvent également se produire dans les intoxications par ces substances ou même avant la cessation soudaine de la consommation dans les cas de dépendance, c'est-à-dire avant le syndrome de sevrage.

2. Hallucinations hypnagogiques et hypnopompiques

On en trouve un exemple dans les hallucinations hypnogogiques et hypnopompiques, également appelées hallucinations physiologiques: c'est une forme de pseudoperception sous la forme d'hallucinations qui se poser à la suite du sommeil et vice versa c'est-à-dire dans un état dans lequel se produit une altération de la conscience.

Bien qu’ils soient souvent visuels, il n’est pas rare que des éléments sonores apparaissent également. être capable d'entendre des voix, des conversations ou des cris . Ils n'indiquent pas nécessairement la présence d'une pathologie, mais il n'est pas rare qu'ils apparaissent dans la population non clinique.

3. Réaction à un stress intense ou à un événement traumatique

Perdre un être cher, avoir subi des sévices ou subir un stress considérable peut amener ceux qui en ont souffert à entendre des voix à des moments précis. Par exemple, il n'est pas rare que lorsque nous perdons un être cher, nous semblons entendre la voix du défunt, généralement au début du processus de deuil.

Entendre des voix peut aussi être la conséquence d’un état de excitation extrême et nervosité , apparaissant ce phénomène comme un paroxysme nerveux. En fait, la perception de ces voix peut encore augmenter l'état de tension du sujet et accentuer les perceptions.

4. Paréidolie

La paréidolie est comprise comme le phénomène par lequel le cerveau humain tend à nous faire percevoir des modèles de stimuli ambigus, comme cela se produit lorsque nous voyons des formes dans les nuages.

Bien que la paréidolie elle-même désigne la dotation de sens et le sens donné aux images qui ne le possèdent pas, des phénomènes similaires peuvent également se produire dans d'autres sens. Par exemple lors de l'audience. Il est possible que certains éléments environnementaux, tels que le vent, produire du bruit que nous pouvons arriver à interpréter comme une voix humaine , même sous forme de phrases.

Que sont-ils vraiment?

L'origine de la perception des voix sans rien qui déclenche cette perception peut dépendre du type de phénomène qui les génère. Il s'agit généralement d'une interprétation d'un bruit externe ou de la perception d'un contenu auto-généré (c'est-à-dire quelque chose que la personne a pensé est perçu comme externe).

Dans le second cas, il existe plusieurs hypothèses sur les raisons pour lesquelles cela se produit de la sorte. Il a été perçu que l’existence d’un excès de dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique pouvait générer des hallucinations et des idées délirantes, ainsi que la possibilité de lésions au préfrontal. Il a également été observé que de nombreux patients présentant des asymétries dans le lobe temporal développent des symptômes positifs tels que des hallucinations. Une autre explication pourrait être la déconnexion entre les régions cérébrales de la parole et les régions préfrontales. , ce qui peut provoquer une dissociation entre la conscience de soi et la génération de contenu verbal.

Comment sont-ils traités?

Le fait d'entendre des voix nécessite un traitement si ceux-ci sont dus à l'existence d'une maladie mentale et / ou ils représentent un préjudice, un malaise ou une limitation importante pour ceux qui les perçoivent ou perçoivent leur environnement.

Si les voix sont perçues pendant un processus de deuil ou après une expérience traumatisante, il peut être nécessaire de travailler sur le phénomène qui l’a généré et sur son importance pour le patient. Le type de stratégie à utiliser dépendra du cas.

En cas de troubles psychotiques, Les neuroleptiques ou antipsychotiques sont souvent utilisés afin de réduire les hallucinations. Sous cet aspect, les deux types, typique et atypique, ont beaucoup de succès, bien que le premier puisse causer des effets secondaires pertinents et, dans les deux cas, ils puissent générer une sédation. Dans d'autres troubles, la cause correspondante doit être traitée.

Sur le plan psychologique et spécifiquement sur les hallucinations auditives, ciblage thérapeutique a été utilisé . Dans cette thérapie élaborée par Slade, Haddock et Bentall, on essaie de faire en sorte que le patient se concentre progressivement sur différents aspects des voix. Cela commence par la forme et les caractéristiques de la voix en question, pour ensuite analyser le contenu (c'est-à-dire ce qu'ils disent) et enfin travailler sur les croyances que le sujet a à leur sujet. Il s'agit de faire en sorte que le sujet réattribue peu à peu les voix à leur propre contenu mental.

Dans tous les cas, lorsqu'il s'agit d'une personne qui prétend entendre des voix, il est nécessaire de lui faire voir un aspect fondamental: indépendamment de ce qu'ils disent, les voix ne peuvent pas te faire de mal .


Hallucinations auditives - quickie 10 - e-penser (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes