yes, therapy helps!
Is it true that a positive attitude prevents cancer?

Is it true that a positive attitude prevents cancer?

June 12, 2024

In recent decades, the belief that Maintaining a positive attitude can prevent the onset of cancer and contribute to overcoming this disease. These ideas are based on a very small number of investigations; nevertheless, the global analysis of current scientific evidence reveals that they are erroneous.

The main causes of cancer are related to environmental risk factors. They emphasize the tobacco consumption, the obesity, the infections, the radiation, the sedentarismo and the exhibition to polluting substances. Although psychological factors can influence to a certain degree in this disease through the degree of stress, its weight in general is scarce.


  • Related article: "Types of cancer: definition, risks and how they are classified"

The relationship between positive attitude and cancer

Several meta-analyzes of research on the possible association between psychological factors and the development or progression of cancers have been carried out. In a synthetic way we can affirm that a relation between the positive attitude and the prevention or recovery of these diseases has not been found.

The case of breast cancer has been particularly studied , partly because some of the studies that supported the hypothesis that the positive attitude prevents this disease had been carried out with women affected with this type of cancer.


No significant associations have been found between the prevention or survival of breast cancer and psychological factors such as the degree of psychosocial stress, social support or coping style of stress. However, there is a personality factor that does seem to be associated with cancer, as we will explain later.

Another study analyzed a sample of more than 1000 patients with neck and head cancer. No relationship was found between emotional well-being and survival time to the disease, nor with the rate of cancer growth.

  • You may be interested: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

Psychological factors that influence cancer

Eysenck and Grossarth-Maticek, among other authors, have described a personality factor associated with the development of cancer: the rationality-anti-emotionality , which would be defined as the tendency to emotional suppression , with predominance of rationalization. This feature is conceptualized as a negative reaction to situations that cause stress.


While these two authors had linked cancer to a greater extent with people with a tendency to despair, scientific research has not supported this hypothesis. On the other hand, there is some evidence that rationality-anti-emotionality can influence the appearance of cancer.

If confirmed this approach, the most likely explanation would have to do with two facts: cancer is a set of diseases associated with the immune system (ie, the body's defenses) and chronic stress has immunosuppressive effects. Stress favors the development of cancer , although less than tobacco, obesity or infections.

It is true that psychological factors may favor the appearance or progress of cancer, but it seems that they only do so indirectly. This is exemplified in the data on coping with stress, but especially in behavioral habits that negatively affect the body how to smoke or eat inadequately.

Psychotherapy focused on this disease

During the last decades, various psychological therapies have been developed aimed at the treatment of cancer. Others focus on the prevention of these diseases, and even on the modification of personality factors supposedly related to cancer.

A particularly striking case is that of the visualization therapy developed by Simonton in the 80s. This program consists in visualizing the body's defenses destroying cancer cells, as well as in promoting a positive attitude in general. We have not found independent studies on the effectiveness of this "treatment".

There is also the creative innovation behavior therapy , developed by Eysenck and Grossarth-Maticek based on their own hypothesis. It focuses on the development of new behavior patterns that substitute the attitudes that authors associate with the appearance and progress of cancer. Again, it has been studied basically by its own creators.

If we are guided by the available scientific evidence we can conclude that the psychological intervention in cancer should focus on the prevention of the main risk factors (consumption of tobacco and alcohol, inadequate diet, sedentary lifestyle, etc.) as well as adherence to medical treatments, more than in the famous "positive attitude".

  • Related article: "Psycho-oncology: the role of the psychologist in cancer"

Bibliographic references:

  • Butow, P.N., Hiller, J.E., Price, M.A., Thackway, S.V., Kricker, A. & Tennant, C.C. (2000). Epidemiological evidence for a relationship between life events, coping style and personality factors in the development of breast cancer. Journal of Psychosomatic Research, 49 (3): 169-81.
  • Coyne, J.C., Stefanek, M. & Palmer, S.C. (2007). Psychotherapy and survival in cancer: the conflict between hope and evidence. Psychological Bulletin, 133 (3): 367-94.
  • Philips, K.A., Osborne, R.H., Giles, G.G., Dite, G.S., Apicella, C., Hopper, J.L. & Mine, R.L. (2008). Psychosocial factors and survival of young women with breast cancer. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 26 (29): 4666-71.

Meet Austin: Austin shares his positive attitude despite his battle with cancer (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Est-ce vrai qu'une attitude positive prévient le cancer?

Est-ce vrai qu'une attitude positive prévient le cancer?

Février 1, 2024

Au cours des dernières décennies, la conviction que Le maintien d'une attitude positive peut prévenir l'apparition du cancer et contribuer à vaincre cette maladie. Ces idées sont basées sur un très petit nombre d’enquêtes; néanmoins, l'analyse globale des preuves scientifiques actuelles révèle qu'elles sont erronées.

Les principales causes de cancer sont liées aux facteurs de risque environnementaux. Ils soulignent la consommation de tabac, l'obésité, les infections, les radiations, le sedentarismo et l'exposition à des substances polluantes. Bien que des facteurs psychologiques puissent influer dans une certaine mesure sur cette maladie en raison du degré de stress, son poids est généralement limité.


  • Article connexe: "Types de cancer: définition, risques et classification"

La relation entre attitude positive et cancer

Plusieurs méta-analyses de recherches sur l'association possible entre facteurs psychologiques et développement ou progression de cancers ont été réalisées. De manière synthétique, nous pouvons affirmer qu’une relation entre l’attitude positive et la prévention ou le rétablissement de ces maladies n’a pas été trouvée.

Le cas du cancer du sein a été particulièrement étudié , en partie parce que certaines des études soutenant l’hypothèse selon laquelle une attitude positive empêche cette maladie ont été réalisées chez des femmes atteintes de ce type de cancer.


Aucune association significative n'a été trouvée entre la prévention ou la survie du cancer du sein et des facteurs psychologiques tels que le degré de stress psychosocial, le soutien social ou le style d'adaptation au stress. Cependant, il existe un facteur de personnalité qui semble associé au cancer, comme nous l'expliquerons plus tard.

Une autre étude a analysé un échantillon de plus de 1000 patients atteints de cancer du cou et de la tête. Aucune relation n'a été trouvée entre le bien-être émotionnel et le temps de survie à la maladie, ni au taux de croissance du cancer.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les différences entre le syndrome, le désordre et la maladie"

Facteurs psychologiques influençant le cancer

Eysenck et Grossarth-Maticek, parmi d'autres auteurs, ont décrit un facteur de personnalité associé au développement du cancer: la rationalité-anti-émotivité , ce qui serait défini comme la tendance à la suppression émotionnelle , avec prédominance de la rationalisation. Cette fonctionnalité est conçue comme une réaction négative aux situations qui causent du stress.


Alors que ces deux auteurs avaient davantage associé le cancer aux personnes ayant tendance à désespérer, la recherche scientifique n’a pas confirmé cette hypothèse. Par ailleurs, il existe certaines preuves que la rationalité et l'anti-émotivité peuvent influer sur l'apparition du cancer.

Si cette approche était confirmée, l'explication la plus probable serait liée à deux faits: le cancer est un ensemble de maladies associées au système immunitaire (c'est-à-dire les défenses de l'organisme) et le stress chronique a des effets immunosuppresseurs. Le stress favorise le développement du cancer , bien que moins que le tabac, l'obésité ou les infections.

Il est vrai que des facteurs psychologiques peuvent favoriser l'apparition ou la progression du cancer, mais il semble qu'ils ne le fassent qu'indirectement. Ceci est illustré dans les données sur la gestion du stress, mais surtout dans habitudes comportementales qui affectent négativement le corps comment fumer ou manger de manière inadéquate.

Psychothérapie centrée sur cette maladie

Au cours des dernières décennies, diverses thérapies psychologiques ont été développées pour le traitement du cancer. D'autres se concentrent sur la prévention de ces maladies et même sur la modification de facteurs de personnalité supposément liés au cancer.

Un cas particulièrement frappant est celui de la thérapie de visualisation développée par Simonton dans les années 80. Ce programme consiste à visualiser les défenses immunitaires détruisant les cellules cancéreuses, ainsi qu'à promouvoir une attitude positive en général. Nous n'avons pas trouvé d'études indépendantes sur l'efficacité de ce "traitement".

Il y a aussi le thérapie comportementale d'innovation créative , développé par Eysenck et Grossarth-Maticek sur la base de leur propre hypothèse. Il se concentre sur le développement de nouveaux comportements qui se substituent aux attitudes que les auteurs associent à l'apparition et à l'évolution du cancer. Encore une fois, il a été étudié essentiellement par ses propres créateurs.

Si nous sommes guidés par les preuves scientifiques disponibles, nous pouvons conclure que l’intervention psychologique dans le cancer doit être centrée sur la prévention des principaux facteurs de risque (consommation de tabac et d’alcool, régime alimentaire inadéquat, mode de vie sédentaire, etc.) ainsi que le respect des traitements médicaux, plus que dans la fameuse "attitude positive".

  • Article connexe: "Psycho-oncologie: le rôle du psychologue dans le cancer"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Butow, P.N., Hiller, J. E., Price, M.A., Thackway, S.V., Kricker, A. et Tennant, C. C. (2000). Données épidémiologiques établissant une relation entre les événements de la vie, le style d’adaptation et les facteurs de personnalité dans le développement du cancer du sein. Journal of Psychosomatic Research, 49 (3): 169-81.
  • Coyne, J. C., Stefanek, M. et Palmer, S. C. (2007). Psychothérapie et survie dans le cancer: le conflit entre espoir et preuve. Psychological Bulletin, 133 (3): 367-94.
  • Philips, K. A., Osborne, R. H., Giles, G. G., Dite, G. S., Apicella, C., Hopper, J. L. et Mine, R. L. (2008). Facteurs psychosociaux et survie des jeunes femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 26 (29): 4666-71.

J’AIME PAS TRAVAILLER - Sois pas si bêêête #16 (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes