yes, therapy helps!
Is it true that alcohol kills neurons in the brain?

Is it true that alcohol kills neurons in the brain?

January 17, 2022

One of the main and most recent objectives of neurology has been to study the toxic or harmful effects of psychotropic substances in the brain. Through different investigations it has been possible to know some of the consequences of consuming excess chemical compounds such as ethanol.

From there the belief that alcohol kills neurons has become very popular . To what extent is it true? Let's see it in the following text.

  • Related article: "Alcoholism: these are the effects of dependence on drinking"

How do neurons die?

To begin we will remember briefly the life cycle of neurons and what we understand by "neuronal death". As with the different cell populations that make up our body, nerve cells (neurons) act by a mechanism of proliferation that includes cell loss, renewal and differentiation.


The death of a cell is defined as the halting of its biological processes by irreversible morphological, functional and biochemical changes that prevent it from performing its vital functions (Sánchez, 2001). It is considered, in this sense, that a neuronal death has occurred when a nerve cell loses the ability to establish adequate interstitial connections.

  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Two major types of neuronal death

Neural death is when its characteristics are significantly modified, impeding the ability to function . And the latter does not necessarily correspond to a decrease in the volume of cells within the affected areas. Let's see now the two major types of neuronal death:


1. Apoptosis

Also known as programmed neuronal death. It has adaptive purposes, that is, it serves to maintain only the connections of most frequent use and occurs especially in the first years of development .

2. Necrosis

It consists in the loss of the functions of the neuron due to the influence of external factors. In this process the cells are not always phagocytosed (that is, they do not completely disintegrate within the organism, which can bring other medical complications), but they are considered dead because they lose the ability to be activated and to produce connections with each other.

Said the above we will see what is the toxic mechanism that produces the consumption of alcohol and if the latter has the capacity to generate a process of apoptosis or necrosis.

Toxic mechanism of frequent alcohol consumption

The toxic effects of ethanol (alcohol for recreational use) vary according to the specific region of the brain in which they act. As well They vary according to the age or stage of development, the dose and the duration of the exposures .


When it comes to the mature brain, a chronic or intense exposure to ethanol can cause different diseases, both of the central nervous system and the peripheral nervous system, as well as skeletal muscle (de la Monte and Krill, 2014).

The consequence is that, in the long term, excessive consumption of alcohol significantly alters executive functions. In other words, alcohol can produce a degenerative activity of the nervous system, as it gradually impairs the function of neurons, including neuronal survival capacity, cell migration and the structure of glial cells. Without this last means that the neurons necessarily disintegrate, yes it can imply the definitive loss of its functions, which goes into the definition of neuronal death .

This is because, among many other things, the excessive consumption of alcohol produces deficiency of thiamine, which is a vitamin B complex, essential in the conduction of nerve signals and in supplying energy to the brain.

Thiamin deficiency reduces protein levels in the thalamus and also modifies neurotransmitter levels in the hippocampus and cerebral cortex. As a consequence, it produces alterations in the special memory and increases the perseverative behavior. Likewise, some of the long-term consequences include the loss of functions necessary for plasticity and neuronal survival.

Exposure to alcohol in the peri and postnatal period

There is a large amount of scientific literature that reports several of the consequences of frequent exposure to alcohol, both in the later stages of the perinatal period and in the first years of life (period in which the human brain takes place).

It is during the early stages of postnatal development when there is an explosion of synaptogenesis, the formation of synapses or connections between neurons. Several studies agree that ethanol (which has antagonistic properties of glutamate receptors - the main excitatory neurotransmitter in the brain -), triggers a harmful and widespread process of apoptosis . This is because such antagonistic activity favors excitotoxic neurodegeneration and abnormal inhibition of neuronal activity.

To put it another way, ethanol prevents the passage of glutamate, which in turn inhibits the formation of synapses, favoring an unnecessary process of programmed neuronal death. The above has been accepted as one of the possible explanations for the reduction of brain mass and human fetal alcohol syndrome in newborns.

It is worth mentioning that neuronal immaturity, characteristic of the first years of human development, is especially sensitive to different environmental agents that can generate harmful modifications in the synaptic connections. Among these agents is ethanol, but it is not the only one, and it can also come from different emitters, often external to the pregnancy itself or to the child himself.

Some harmful effects of alcohol in the worker

According to Suzanne M. de la Monte and Jillian J. Krill (2014), the causes of brain degeneration and atrophy in people with alcoholism is continually being debated in the scientific community .

In his review on Human Neuropathology Related to Alcohol, published in the journal Acta Neuropathologica, we are told that the main tissues that the prolonged consumption of alcohol affects in the mature brain are the following: the purkinje and granular cells, and the fibers of white matter. We will briefly explain what the above consists of.

1. Decrease in white matter

The most visible and studied noxious reaction in the brain of people who have consumed alcohol in excess is the decrease in white matter. The clinical manifestations that derive from this range from subtle or undetectable deterioration, to a cognitive wear with important deficits in the executive functions . The scientific findings suggest that cortical atrophy resulting from excessive alcohol consumption is associated with a definitive loss of synapses or with significant damage to their functions.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "White substance of the brain: structure and functions"

2. Granular cells and purkinje cells

The granular cells are the smallest of the brain. They are found in different parts of the cerebellum, bordering on purkinje cells, which are a type of neurons that is known as GABAergic. The latter are some of the largest neurons that have been located so far.

Among other things, they are responsible for regulating sensory and motor functions. A regular consumption of alcohol that lasts between 20 to 30 years produces a 15% reduction in Purkinje cells, while a high consumption during the same years produces 33.4% (de la Monte and Krill, 2014). The degeneration of these cells in the vermis (space that divides the two cerebral hemispheres) correlates with the development of ataxia; while its loss in the lateral lobes has been related to cognitive alterations.

In summary

In sum we can say that alcohol it can generate both temporary and permanent deterioration in the activity of nerve cells, product of important modifications in the structure of these cells and their ability to establish communication.

To a large extent the severity of the impairment depends on the duration of exposure to alcohol, as well as the age of the person and the specific area of ​​the brain where the damage has occurred.

If the damage is permanent then it is a neuronal death, but this has only been studied in the case of people whose consumption of ethanol is not only recreational, but excessive and prolonged. Likewise, the programmed loss of neuronal activity due to exposure to alcohol during the perinatal period and in organisms with a few years of life has been studied.

In the case of excessive and prolonged consumption in adulthood, it is neuronal necrosis due to excitotoxicity; whereas in the case of exposure during peri and postnatal development it is non-adaptive apoptosis. In this sense, alcohol consumed in excess for many years, as well as very early contact with this substance, can have as a consequence the death of neurons, among other consequences harmful to health.

Bibliographic references:

  • De la Monte, S. & Kril, J. (2014). Human alcohol-related neuropathology. Acta Neuropathologica, 127: 71-90.
  • Creeley, C. & Olney, J. (2013). Drug-Induced Apoptosis: Mechanism by which Alcohol and Many Other Drugs Can Disrupt Brain Development. Brain Sciences, 3: 1153-1181.
  • Tokuda, K., Izumi, Y., Zorumski, CF. (2011). Ethanol enhances neurosteroidogenesis in hippocampal pyramidal neurons by paradoxical NMDA receptor activation. Journal of Neuroscience, 31 (27): 1660-11.
  • Feldstein, A. & Gores, G. (2005). Apoptosis in alcoholic and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis. Frontiers in Bioscience, 10: 3093-3099.
  • He, J., Nixon, K., Shetty, A. & Crews, F. (2005). Chronic alcohol exposure reduces hippocampal neurogenesis and dendritic growth of newborn neurons. European Journal of Neuroscience, 21 (10): 2711-2720.
  • Olney, J. (2002). New Insights and New Issues in Developmental Neurotoxicology. NeuroToxicology, 23 (6): 659-668.
  • Goodlett, C. & Horn, K. (2001). Mechanisms of Alcohol-Induced Damage to the Developing Nervous System. Alcohol Research and Health. 25 (3): 175-184.
  • Sánchez, V. (2001). Regulatory mechanisms of non-necrotic cell death. Cuban Journal of Biomedical Research, 20 (4): 266-274.

Alcohol and the Female Brain (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Est-il vrai que l'alcool tue les neurones du cerveau?

Est-il vrai que l'alcool tue les neurones du cerveau?

Janvier 29, 2023

L’un des objectifs principaux et les plus récents de la neurologie a été d’étudier les effets toxiques ou nocifs des substances psychotropes dans le cerveau. Grâce à différentes enquêtes, il a été possible de connaître certaines des conséquences de la consommation excessive de composés chimiques tels que l'éthanol.

À partir de là la croyance que l'alcool tue les neurones est devenue très populaire . Dans quelle mesure est-ce vrai? Voyons cela dans le texte suivant.

  • Article connexe: "Alcoolisme: ce sont les effets de la dépendance à l'alcool"

Comment meurent les neurones?

Pour commencer, nous nous souviendrons brièvement le cycle de vie des neurones et ce que nous entendons par "mort neuronale". Comme pour les différentes populations de cellules qui composent notre corps, les cellules nerveuses (neurones) agissent par un mécanisme de prolifération qui inclut la perte, le renouvellement et la différenciation des cellules.


La mort d'une cellule est définie comme l'arrêt de ses processus biologiques par des modifications morphologiques, fonctionnelles et biochimiques irréversibles l'empêchant d'exercer ses fonctions vitales (Sánchez, 2001). En ce sens, on considère qu'une mort neuronale s'est produite lorsqu'une cellule nerveuse perd la capacité d'établir des connexions interstitielles adéquates.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Deux types majeurs de mort neuronale

La mort neurale survient lorsque ses caractéristiques sont modifiées de manière significative. empêchant la capacité de fonctionner . Et ce dernier ne correspond pas nécessairement à une diminution du volume des cellules dans les zones touchées. Voyons maintenant les deux principaux types de mort neuronale:


1. apoptose

Aussi connu sous le nom de mort neuronale programmée. Il a des objectifs adaptatifs, c’est-à-dire qu’il sert à maintenir uniquement les connexions les plus utilisées et se produit surtout dans les premières années de développement .

2. Nécrose

Il consiste en la perte des fonctions du neurone due à l'influence de facteurs externes. Dans ce processus, les cellules ne sont pas toujours phagocytées (c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne se désintègrent pas complètement dans l’organisme, ce qui peut entraîner d’autres complications médicales), mais ils sont considérés comme morts car ils perdent la capacité d’être activés et de créer des liens les uns avec les autres.

Cela dit, nous verrons quel est le mécanisme toxique qui produit la consommation d’alcool et si cette dernière a la capacité de générer un processus d’apoptose ou de nécrose.

Mécanisme toxique de la consommation fréquente d'alcool

Les effets toxiques de l'éthanol (alcool à usage récréatif) varient en fonction de la région du cerveau dans laquelle ils agissent. Aussi Ils varient en fonction de l'âge ou du stade de développement, de la dose et de la durée des expositions. .


En ce qui concerne le cerveau mature, une exposition chronique ou intense à l'éthanol peut provoquer différentes maladies, à la fois du système nerveux central et du système nerveux périphérique, ainsi que du muscle squelettique (de la Monte et Krill, 2014).

La conséquence est que, à long terme, une consommation excessive d'alcool modifie considérablement les fonctions exécutives. En d'autres termes, l'alcool peut produire une activité dégénérative du système nerveux, car il altère progressivement la fonction des neurones, notamment la capacité de survie neuronale, la migration cellulaire et la structure des cellules gliales. Sans ce dernier moyen, les neurones se désintègrent nécessairement, oui cela peut impliquer la perte définitive de ses fonctions, ce qui entre dans la définition de la mort neuronale .

En effet, la consommation excessive d’alcool entraîne une carence en thiamine, un complexe de vitamines B, essentiel à la conduction des signaux nerveux et à l’alimentation en énergie du cerveau.

La carence en thiamine réduit les niveaux de protéines dans le thalamus et modifie également les niveaux de neurotransmetteurs dans l'hippocampe et le cortex cérébral. En conséquence, il en résulte des altérations de la mémoire spéciale et augmente le comportement persévérant. De même, certaines des conséquences à long terme incluent la perte de fonctions nécessaires à la plasticité et à la survie neuronale.

Exposition à l'alcool pendant la période péri et postnatale

De nombreuses publications scientifiques font état de plusieurs conséquences d'une exposition fréquente à l'alcool, à la fois dans les derniers stades de la période périnatale et dans les premières années de la vie (période au cours de laquelle le cerveau humain se développe).

C'est au cours des premiers stades du développement postnatal qu'il y a une explosion de synaptogenèse, de formation de synapses ou de connexions entre neurones. Plusieurs études s'accordent pour dire que l'éthanol (qui possède des propriétés antagonistes des récepteurs du glutamate - le principal neurotransmetteur excitateur dans le cerveau -), déclenche un processus d'apoptose néfaste et généralisé . En effet, une telle activité antagoniste favorise la neurodégénérescence excitotoxique et l’inhibition anormale de l’activité neuronale.

En d'autres termes, l'éthanol empêche le passage du glutamate, qui à son tour inhibe la formation de synapses, favorisant ainsi un processus inutile de mort neuronale programmée. Ce qui précède a été accepté comme l'une des explications possibles de la réduction de la masse cérébrale et du syndrome d'alcoolisme fœtal humain chez le nouveau-né.

Il convient de mentionner que l’immaturité neuronale, caractéristique des premières années du développement humain, est particulièrement sensible aux différents agents environnementaux pouvant générer des modifications nuisibles dans les connexions synaptiques. Parmi ces agents, il y a l'éthanol, mais ce n'est pas le seul et il peut aussi provenir d'émetteurs différents, souvent extérieurs à la grossesse ou à l'enfant lui-même.

Quelques effets nocifs de l'alcool chez le travailleur

Selon Suzanne M. de la Monte et Jillian J. Krill (2014), les causes de la dégénérescence et de l'atrophie cérébrales chez les personnes alcooliques est continuellement débattu dans la communauté scientifique .

Dans sa revue sur la neuropathologie humaine liée à l’alcool, publiée dans la revue Acta Neuropathologica, il nous est dit que les principaux tissus que la consommation prolongée d’alcool affecte le cerveau mature sont les suivants: les cellules de Purkinje et granulaires, et fibres de matière blanche. Nous allons expliquer brièvement en quoi consiste ce qui précède.

1. Diminution de la substance blanche

La diminution de la substance blanche est la réaction nocive la plus visible et la plus étudiée dans le cerveau des personnes qui ont consommé de l'alcool en excès. Les manifestations cliniques qui en découlent vont d’une détérioration subtile ou indétectable à une une usure cognitive avec des déficits importants dans les fonctions exécutives . Les résultats scientifiques suggèrent que l'atrophie corticale résultant d'une consommation excessive d'alcool est associée à une perte définitive des synapses ou à une altération importante de leurs fonctions.

  • Vous êtes peut-être intéressé par: "La substance blanche du cerveau: structure et fonctions"

2. Cellules granulaires et cellules de Purkinje

Les cellules granulaires sont les plus petites du cerveau. Ils se trouvent dans différentes parties du cervelet, à la limite des cellules de Purkinje, qui sont un type de neurones connu sous le nom de GABAergic. Ces derniers sont parmi les plus gros neurones qui ont été localisés jusqu'à présent.

Ils sont entre autres responsables de la régulation des fonctions sensorielles et motrices. Une consommation régulière d'alcool de 20 à 30 ans entraîne une réduction de 15% du nombre de cellules de Purkinje, tandis qu'une consommation élevée pendant les mêmes années en produit 33,4% (de la Monte et Krill, 2014). La dégénérescence de ces cellules dans le vermis (espace qui divise les deux hémisphères cérébraux) est en corrélation avec le développement de l'ataxie; tandis que sa perte dans les lobes latéraux a été liée à des altérations cognitives.

En résumé

En résumé, on peut dire que l'alcool il peut générer une détérioration à la fois temporaire et permanente dans l'activité des cellules nerveuses, produit d'importantes modifications de la structure de ces cellules et de leur capacité à établir une communication.

La gravité de la déficience dépend dans une large mesure de la durée de l’exposition à l’alcool, de son âge et de la région du cerveau où le dommage a été causé.

Si le dommage est permanent, alors il s’agit d’une mort neuronale, mais cela n’a été étudié que dans le cas de personnes dont la consommation d'éthanol est non seulement récréative, mais excessive et prolongée. De même, la perte programmée d'activité neuronale due à l'exposition à l'alcool pendant la période périnatale et chez les organismes ayant quelques années de vie a été étudiée.

En cas de consommation excessive et prolongée à l'âge adulte, il s'agit d'une nécrose neuronale due à une excitotoxicité; alors que dans le cas d'une exposition au cours du développement péri et postnatal, il s'agit d'un apoptose non adaptatif. En ce sens, une consommation excessive d'alcool pendant de nombreuses années, ainsi qu'un contact très précoce avec cette substance, peuvent avoir pour conséquence la mort de neurones, parmi d'autres conséquences néfastes pour la santé.

Références bibliographiques:

  • De la Monte, S. & Kril, J. (2014). Neuropathologie humaine liée à l'alcool. Acta Neuropathologica, 127: 71-90.
  • Creeley, C. & Olney, J. (2013). Apoptose médicamenteuse: Mécanisme par lequel l'alcool et de nombreuses autres drogues peuvent perturber le développement du cerveau. Brain Sciences, 3: 1153-1181.
  • Tokuda, K., Izumi, Y., Zorumski, CF. (2011). L'éthanol améliore la neurostéroïdogenèse dans les neurones pyramidaux de l'hippocampe par l'activation paradoxale des récepteurs NMDA. Journal of Neuroscience, 31 (27): 1660-11.
  • Feldstein, A. et Gores, G. (2005). Apoptose dans la stéatohépatite alcoolique et non alcoolique. Frontiers in Bioscience, 10: 3093-3099.
  • He, J., K. Nixon, A. Shetty et F. Crews (2005). L'exposition chronique à l'alcool réduit la neurogenèse de l'hippocampe et la croissance dendritique des neurones du nouveau-né. European Journal of Neuroscience, 21 (10): 2711-2720.
  • Olney, J. (2002). Nouvelles connaissances et nouveaux enjeux en neurotoxicologie du développement. NeuroToxicology, 23 (6): 659-668.
  • Goodlett, C. et Horn, K. (2001). Mécanismes des lésions induites par l'alcool sur le système nerveux en développement. Recherche sur l'alcool et la santé. 25 (3): 175-184.
  • Sánchez, V. (2001). Mécanismes régulateurs de la mort cellulaire non nécrotique. Journal cubain de recherche biomédicale, 20 (4): 266-274.

LES EFFETS DU CANNABIS SUR LE CORPS (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes