yes, therapy helps!
Is your name easy to pronounce? You will like others more

Is your name easy to pronounce? You will like others more

May 9, 2021

We have all heard many times saying that people can not be judged by their appearance, that the important thing is inside and that to be able to value people you have to know them well to them and their life stories.

However, from what has been seen from multiple findings in psychology, we now know that these phrases respond more to the wishes of some people than to reality. Humans we are specialists in using the minimum amount of information to judge the people with whom we interact .

Simple names, more sexies?

Normally, this means that we value people for their appearance or for what they do during the first hours we know them, but research indicates that our propensity for superficiality could go even beyond this.


Specifically, it has provided evidence that reinforces the idea that part of these unconscious efforts dedicated to valuing others focus on ... the name of this .

Much power concentrated in few letters

If there is something more superficial and impersonal than someone's physical appearance, it is the name that turns out to be that particular person. However, it seems that in the world of relationships mental shortcuts prevail largely over rational analysis. Or at least that is what this research by researchers in social psychology and published in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology indicates.

The conclusion is that the simpler and easier to pronounce is the name of a person, the greater the chances that our treatment of them will be more favorable .


Why is this happening?

The proposed explanation is that the human brain It is designed to promote that it is positively valued what is related to a simple type of information and easy to process. This hypothesis, which is based on the existence of many other investigations carried out previously, emphasizes the way in which our nervous system selects information with less chance of wasting our time.

Of course, the time we would waste trying to process the name of a person with a name difficult to pronounce will almost always seem a trifle, but it is not so much if we consider the number of names with which we touch throughout our lives , or the millions of years of evolution that have been transforming our brain into a machine to optimize the way we manage time and avoid dedicating our efforts to tasks that are not going to offer us a reward. In this sense, people with a complicated name start with a disadvantage .


What was the investigation?

The research is based on the performance of several similar studies. In the first, simply a series of volunteers were asked to rate several names according to their difficulty in pronunciation and according to the degree to which they liked . In the second they were asked to vote in imaginary elections in which they could only know the names of the candidates, and in the third they had to choose who to vote among a series of politicians whose names and surnames they already knew.

The ease with which our name is pronounced correlates with success in life

In another study, instead of relying only on hypothetical situations, the researchers decided to contrast their results with tests in the field, beyond the laboratory environment. For this they selected the names of several real lawyers. These names were scored by the volunteers according to the ease of pronunciation and the degree in which they liked. The most interesting thing was that when comparing the scores in the difficulty dimension of pronunciation of the name with the average salaries, the degrees of responsibility and in general the degree of prestige at professional level, a correlation was found. That is to say, that the name indicated a part of the professional success of these real people .

In addition, in these studies it was found that the difficulty of pronouncing these names, rather than their length or the possibilities of being foreigners, determined the way in which these people were valued. In particular, the ease or difficulty of pronunciation allowed predicting by 40% the degree to which they like or not these individuals.


19 Simple Psychological Tricks That Actually Work (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Votre nom est-il facile à prononcer? Vous aimerez les autres plus

Votre nom est-il facile à prononcer? Vous aimerez les autres plus

Septembre 26, 2022

Nous avons tous entendu maintes fois dire que les gens ne pouvaient pas être jugés par leur apparence, que la chose importante est à l'intérieur et que pour pouvoir valoriser les gens, il faut bien les connaître pour eux et leurs histoires de vie.

Cependant, à partir de multiples découvertes en psychologie, nous savons maintenant que ces expressions répondent davantage aux souhaits de certaines personnes qu’à la réalité. Les êtres humains nous sommes des spécialistes dans l'utilisation du minimum d'informations pour juger les personnes avec lesquelles nous interagissons .

Noms simples, plus sexies?

Normalement, cela signifie que nous valorisons les personnes pour leur apparence ou pour ce qu’elles font pendant les premières heures, mais les recherches indiquent que notre propension à la superficialité pourrait aller au-delà.


Plus précisément, il a fourni des preuves qui renforcent l’idée selon laquelle une partie de ces efforts inconscients consacrés à la valorisation des autres est axée sur ... le nom de cette .

Beaucoup de puissance concentrée en quelques lettres

S'il y a quelque chose de plus superficiel et impersonnel que l'apparence physique de quelqu'un, c'est le nom qui s'avère être cette personne particulière. Cependant, il semble que dans le monde des relations, les raccourcis mentaux prévalent largement sur l'analyse rationnelle. Ou du moins c'est ce que cette recherche menée par des chercheurs en psychologie sociale et publiée dans le Journal of Experimental Social Psychology.

La conclusion est que plus le nom d'une personne est simple et facile à prononcer, plus il est probable que son traitement soit plus favorable .


Pourquoi est-ce que cela se passe?

L’explication proposée est que le cerveau humain Il est conçu pour promouvoir le fait qu’il est lié à un type d’information simple. et facile à traiter. Cette hypothèse, qui repose sur l’existence de nombreuses autres enquêtes effectuées précédemment, souligne la manière dont notre système nerveux sélectionne les informations avec moins de risque de perdre notre temps.

Bien sûr, le temps que nous gaspillerions à essayer de traiter le nom d’une personne dont le nom est difficile à prononcer semblera presque toujours une bagatelle, mais ce n’est pas beaucoup si nous considérons le nombre de noms que nous touchons tout au long de notre vie , ou les millions d’années d’évolution qui ont transformé notre cerveau en une machine permettant d’optimiser notre gestion du temps et d’éviter de consacrer nos efforts à des tâches qui ne nous offriront aucune récompense. Dans ce sens, les personnes avec un nom compliqué commencent avec un désavantage .


Quelle a été l'enquête?

La recherche est basée sur la performance de plusieurs études similaires. Dans le premier, simplement une série de volontaires ont été invités à évaluer plusieurs noms en fonction de leur difficulté de prononciation et de leur degré d'appréciation . Dans le second cas, ils étaient invités à voter lors d'élections imaginaires dans lesquelles ils ne pouvaient connaître que les noms des candidats, et dans le troisième cas, ils devaient choisir qui voter parmi une série de politiciens dont ils connaissaient déjà les noms et prénoms.

La facilité avec laquelle notre nom est prononcé est en corrélation avec le succès dans la vie

Dans une autre étude, au lieu de s’appuyer uniquement sur des situations hypothétiques, les chercheurs ont décidé d’opposer leurs résultats aux tests sur le terrain, au-delà de l’environnement de laboratoire. Pour cela, ils ont sélectionné les noms de plusieurs vrais avocats. Les volontaires ont noté ces noms en fonction de la facilité de prononciation et du degré de leur préférence. La chose la plus intéressante était que lorsqu’on a comparé les scores dans la dimension de difficulté de prononciation du nom avec les salaires moyens, les degrés de responsabilité et en général le degré de prestige au niveau professionnel, une corrélation a été trouvée. C'est-à-dire, que le nom indique une partie du succès professionnel de ces personnes réelles .

En outre, il a été constaté dans ces études que la difficulté de prononcer ces noms plutôt que leur longueur ou la possibilité d'être étrangers déterminaient la manière dont ces personnes étaient valorisées. En particulier, la facilité ou la difficulté de la prononciation permettait de prévoir de 40% le degré de sympathie de ces individus.


3 conseils pour lire facilement en anglais (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes