yes, therapy helps!
Jacob Levy Moreno's psychodrama: what is it?

Jacob Levy Moreno's psychodrama: what is it?

November 21, 2022

Since it began to popularize in Europe and the United States during the beginning of the 20s, Jacob Levy Moreno's psychodrama has caught the attention of many people and.

It is possible that this is due, in part, to the striking nature of the psychodrama sessions: a group of people who seem to represent a play based on improvisation. However, Levy Moreno he conceived these sessions as a psychotherapy tool based on assumptions that go beyond the simple desire to spend an entertaining time. Let's see what is the theory on which the psychodrama is based and how it shapes the sessions in which it is used.

Who was Jacob Levy Moreno?

The creator of psychodrama was born in Bucharest in 1889 in the bosom of a Sephardic Jewish family. Some years after settling in Vienna in 1915, Levy Moreno started an initiative based on theatrical improvisation, which would give way to a psychotherapeutic proposal that he called psychodrama. Psychodrama was based on the idea that expressing oneself through spontaneity and improvisation supposed a kind of liberation through creativity, which had to do with their own subjective experiences through unplanned dramatizations.


In addition, Moreno studied Medicine at the University of Vienna, and there he came into contact with the ideas of psychoanalytic theory , which was gaining acceptance in Austria during the first half of s. XX. Although the father of psychodrama rejected many of Sigmund Freud's assumptions, psychoanalysis had a marked influence on his thinking, as we shall see. In the same way, he experimented with a type of intervention that could be considered a primitive form of mutual help group.

In the year 1925 Levy Moreno moved to the United States of America, and From New York he began to develop both psychodrama and other elements related to the study of groups , such as sociometry. He also theorized about forms of group psychotherapy in general, starting from a heterodox perspective that rejected determinism and extolled the role of improvisation. After spending a good part of his life developing methods of group therapy, he died in 1974 at the age of 84.


What is psychodrama?

To begin to understand what psychodrama is and what goals it is intended to achieve through it, let's first review its appearances: the way in which one of its sessions is developed. To understand minimally what we will see below it is only necessary to understand two things: that the psychodrama sessions are in groups, but that the psychodrama does not seek to address problems expressed by a group, but that the presence of many people is used to intervene in the problems of individuals, in turns.

A) Yes, in each moment there is a clear protagonist, which is to whom the session should be oriented , while the rest of the people are members who help in the realization of the session and who, at some point, will also be the protagonists of their own psychodrama.

These are the phases of a psychodrama session:

1. Heating

In the first phase of the psychodrama session, a group of people meet and the person who dynamizes the act encourages others to perform exercises to break the ice . The goal of warming is to make people uninhibited, become aware of the start of the session and be more predisposed to express themselves through actions that in another context would be bizarre.


2. Dramatization

The dramatization is the core of the psychodrama sessions . In this, one of the people who attends the group is chosen, and this explains a little what problem has made him attend the session and what is the autobiographical background that is associated with it. The person who directs the session tries to make the protagonist of the dramatization phase explain the way in which he perceives this problem in the present, rather than try to remember exactly the details of it.

After this the dramatization begins, in which the protagonist is helped by the rest of the group members, who play a role, and all improvise scenes related to the problem to be treated. However, this representation does not follow a fixed script, but is based on improvisation supported by very few guidelines on what the scene should be. The idea is not to faithfully reproduce scenes based on reality, but to offer a similar context in certain essential points; then we will see why.

3. Group Echo

In the last phase, t All the people involved in the representation explain what they have felt , the way in which acting has caused them to evoke past experiences.

The foundations of psychodrama

Now that we have seen what basically consists of a typical session of psychodrama, let's see on what principles it is based, what is the philosophy behind it. For this, first of all we must start from the concept of catharsis, explained first by the philosopher Aristotle, as a phenomenon by which the person understands himself better after having experienced a work that represents a series of events. This was very applicable to the theatrical dramatizations, in which almost always there was a climax that sought to arouse intense emotions in the spectators and offer an outcome that represents a process of emotional liberation.

For Jacob Levy Moreno, the idea behind the therapeutic potential of psychodrama was that it allowed catharsis to go from being secondary, experienced by the spectator, to being an active catharsis, experienced by protagonists of dramatizations.

The theory of Spontaneity-Creativity

And why was this form of catharsis supposed to be better? This idea was based on the theory of Spontaneity-Creativity , according to which creative responses to unforeseen situations is the best mechanism to discover new solutions to old problems that remain entrenched for a long time.

In other words, the inability to see beyond the mental path to which we have become accustomed to analyze a problem must be broken by participation in unforeseen situations. In this way, the process of emotional liberation is born of a creative and spontaneous fact , something more significant for oneself than a fiction seen from outside the work. For this creative catharsis to occur it is not necessary to reproduce past experiences with accuracy, but rather to make the session evoke elements that the protagonist believes are significant and are related to the conflict to be dealt with.

The relationship between psychodrama and psychoanalysis

The link between the psychodrama of Jacob Levy Moreno and the psychoanalytic current is based, among other things, on the implication that there is an unconscious instance of the mind of people, and another conscious.

Some problems are fixed in the unconscious part, causing the conscious part to suffer the symptoms of this without being able to get access to its origin. That is why the problems that are tried to approach from the psychodrama are conceived as "conflicts". This word expresses the clash between conscious and unconscious : one part contains representations related to the origin of the problem and struggles to express them, while the conscious part wants the symptoms that produce the unconscious's attempts to express what it contains to disappear.

For Moreno, Psychodrama allows the symptoms of the problem to be reproduced by the acts themselves guided by the conscious part of oneself; In some way, the problem is reproduced, but this time the process is oriented by consciousness, allowing this to take control of the conflict that remained blocked and integrate them into their personality in a healthy way.

Psychoanalysis also pursued the goal of blocked experiences emerging into consciousness in a systematic way so that the patient could re-interpret and appropriate them. However, Jacob Levy Moreno did not want this task to be based solely on the reinterpretation of something, but rather pointed out the need for the process to also involve the participation of the whole body through movements that are performed during role playing on a stage.

The effectiveness of psychodrama

Psychodrama is not part of therapeutic proposals that have scientifically proven efficacy , which makes the skeptical community in health psychology not consider it an effective tool. On the other hand, the psychoanalytic foundations on which it rests have been rejected by the epistemology on which scientific psychology relies today.

To some extent, psychodrama focuses on both subjective experiences and the processes of meaning that are said to your results can not be measured in a systematic and objective way. However, critics of this perspective point out that there are ways to take into account the effects that any psychotherapy has on patients, however subjective the problem to be treated.

This does not mean that psychodrama continues to be practiced, as is the case with family constellations, whose sessions may resemble those of Jacob Levy Moreno's classic psychodrama. That is why, faced with problems related to mental health, we opt for alternatives with proven efficacy in different types of problems, such as Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy.


Jacob Moreno Psychodrama Video (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le psychodrame de Jacob Levy Moreno: de quoi s'agit-il?

Le psychodrame de Jacob Levy Moreno: de quoi s'agit-il?

Septembre 25, 2022

Depuis qu’il a commencé à se populariser en Europe et aux États-Unis au début des années 20, Le psychodrame de Jacob Levy Moreno a attiré l'attention de nombreuses personnes e.

Il est possible que cela soit dû en partie à la nature saisissante des séances de psychodrame: un groupe de personnes qui semblent représenter une pièce de théâtre basée sur l'improvisation. Cependant, Levy Moreno il a conçu ces sessions comme un outil de psychothérapie fondés sur des hypothèses qui vont au-delà du simple désir de passer du temps divertissant. Voyons quelle est la théorie sur laquelle le psychodrame est basé et comment il façonne les sessions dans lesquelles il est utilisé.

Qui était Jacob Levy Moreno?

Le créateur de psychodrame est né à Bucarest en 1889 au sein d'une famille juive séfarade. Quelques années après son installation à Vienne en 1915, Levy Moreno a lancé une initiative basée sur l'improvisation théâtrale, qui céderait la place à une proposition psychothérapeutique qu'il a appelée psychodrame. Le psychodrame était basé sur l'idée que s'exprimer par la spontanéité et l'improvisation supposait une sorte de libération par la créativité, liée à leurs propres expériences subjectives à travers des dramatisations non planifiées.


En outre, Moreno a étudié la médecine à l’Université de Vienne et a il est entré en contact avec les idées de la théorie psychanalytique , qui a été accepté en Autriche au cours de la première moitié de l'art. XX Bien que le père du psychodrame ait rejeté de nombreuses hypothèses de Sigmund Freud, la psychanalyse a eu une influence marquée sur sa pensée, comme nous le verrons. De la même manière, il a expérimenté un type d'intervention qui pourrait être considéré comme une forme primitive de groupe d'entraide.

En 1925, Levy Moreno s’installa aux États-Unis d’Amérique. À partir de New York, il commença à développer à la fois un psychodrame et d’autres éléments liés à l’étude de groupes. , comme la sociométrie. Il a également théorisé sur les formes de psychothérapie de groupe en général, en partant d'une perspective hétérodoxe qui rejetait le déterminisme et prônait le rôle de l'improvisation. Après avoir passé une bonne partie de sa vie à développer des méthodes de thérapie de groupe, il décède en 1974 à l'âge de 84 ans.


Qu'est-ce que le psychodrame?

Pour commencer à comprendre ce qu'est le psychodrame et quels objectifs il est censé atteindre, examinons d'abord ses apparences: la manière dont l'une de ses sessions est développée. Pour comprendre au minimum ce que nous verrons ci-dessous, il suffit de comprendre deux choses: que les séances de psychodrame se font en groupes, mais que le psychodrame ne cherche pas à résoudre les problèmes exprimés par un groupe, mais que la présence de nombreuses personnes est utilisée pour intervenir dans le processus. problèmes des individus, à tour de rôle.

Ainsi, à chaque moment, il y a un protagoniste clair, à qui la session doit être orientée , tandis que le reste des gens sont des membres qui aident à la réalisation de la session et qui, à un moment donné, seront également les protagonistes de leur propre psychodrame.

Ce sont les phases d'une session de psychodrame:

1. chauffage

Dans la première phase de la session de psychodrame, un groupe de personnes se réunit et la personne qui dynamise l'acte encourage les autres à effectuer des exercices pour briser la glace . Le réchauffement a pour but de rendre les gens libres, de prendre conscience du début de la session et d’être davantage prédisposés à s’exprimer par des actions qui, dans un autre contexte, seraient bizarres.


2. Dramatisation

La dramatisation est au cœur des séances de psychodrame . En cela, l’une des personnes qui assiste au groupe est choisie, ce qui explique un peu le problème qui l’a amené à assister à la session et le contexte autobiographique qui lui est associé. Le responsable de la séance essaie de faire expliquer au protagoniste de la phase de dramatisation la façon dont il perçoit ce problème dans le présent, plutôt que d’essayer d’en retenir les détails.

Après cela commence la dramatisation dans laquelle le protagoniste est aidé par le reste des membres du groupe, qui jouent un rôle, et improvise toutes les scènes liées au problème à traiter. Cependant, cette représentation ne suit pas un script fixe, mais repose sur une improvisation appuyée par très peu d'indications sur ce que devrait être la scène. L'idée n'est pas de reproduire fidèlement des scènes basées sur la réalité, mais d'offrir un contexte similaire sur certains points essentiels; alors nous verrons pourquoi.

3. Écho de groupe

Dans la dernière phase, t Toutes les personnes impliquées dans la représentation expliquent ce qu'elles ont ressenti , la manière dont leur jeu les a amenés à évoquer des expériences passées.

Les fondements du psychodrame

Maintenant que nous avons vu en quoi consiste une session typique de psychodrame, voyons sur quels principes elle est basée, quelle est sa philosophie. Pour cela, nous devons d’abord partir du concept de catharsis, expliqué d’abord par le philosophe Aristote, en tant que phénomène par lequel la personne se comprend mieux après avoir expérimenté une œuvre qui représente une série d’événements. C’était très applicable aux dramatisations théâtrales, dans lesquelles presque toujours, il y avait un point culminant qui cherchait à susciter des émotions intenses chez les spectateurs et offrent un résultat qui représente un processus de libération émotionnelle.

Pour Jacob Levy Moreno, le potentiel thérapeutique du psychodrame reposait sur l'idée qu'il permettait à la catharsis de passer de secondaire, vécue par le spectateur, à une catharsis active, vécue par les protagonistes des dramatisations.

La théorie de la spontanéité-créativité

Et pourquoi cette forme de catharsis était-elle supposée être meilleure? Cette idée était basée sur la théorie de la spontanéité-créativité , selon lequel des réponses créatives à des situations imprévues constituent le meilleur mécanisme pour découvrir de nouvelles solutions à des problèmes anciens qui restent enracinés depuis longtemps.

En d'autres termes, l'incapacité à voir au-delà du chemin mental auquel nous sommes habitués à analyser un problème doit être brisée par la participation à des situations imprévues. De cette façon, le processus de libération émotionnelle naît d'un fait créateur et spontané , quelque chose de plus important pour soi qu'une fiction vue de l'extérieur de l'œuvre. Pour que cette catharsis créatrice se produise, il n'est pas nécessaire de reproduire avec exactitude les expériences passées, mais plutôt de faire en sorte que la session évoque des éléments que le protagoniste considère comme importants et liés au conflit à traiter.

La relation entre psychodrame et psychanalyse

Le lien entre le psychodrame de Jacob Levy Moreno et le courant psychanalytique repose, entre autres, sur l’implication qu’il existe un cas inconscient de l’esprit des gens et un autre conscient.

Certains problèmes sont résolus dans la partie inconsciente, ce qui fait que la partie consciente en souffre sans pouvoir avoir accès à son origine. C'est pourquoi les problèmes que l'on tente d'approcher du psychodrame sont conçus comme des "conflits". Ce mot exprime le choc entre conscient et inconscient : une partie contient des représentations liées à l'origine du problème et s'efforce de les exprimer, tandis que la partie consciente veut que les symptômes qui produisent les tentatives de l'inconscient pour exprimer ce qu'il contient disparaissent.

Pour Moreno, Le psychodrame permet de reproduire les symptômes du problème par les actes eux-mêmes. guidé par la partie consciente de soi; D'une certaine manière, le problème est reproduit, mais cette fois, le processus est orienté par la conscience, ce qui lui permet de prendre le contrôle du conflit qui restait bloqué et de l'intégrer de manière saine à sa personnalité.

La psychanalyse a également poursuivi le but des expériences bloquées émergeant dans la conscience de manière systématique afin que le patient puisse les réinterpréter et les s'approprier. Cependant, Jacob Levy Moreno ne souhaitait pas que cette tâche repose uniquement sur la réinterprétation de quelque chose, mais plutôt souligné la nécessité pour le processus d’impliquer également la participation de tout le corps par des mouvements qui sont effectuées pendant le jeu de rôle sur une scène.

L'efficacité du psychodrame

Le psychodrame ne fait pas partie des propositions thérapeutiques à l'efficacité prouvée scientifiquement , ce qui fait que la communauté sceptique en psychologie de la santé ne la considère pas comme un outil efficace. En revanche, les fondements psychanalytiques sur lesquels elle repose ont été rejetés par l'épistémologie sur laquelle repose aujourd'hui la psychologie scientifique.

Dans une certaine mesure, le psychodrame est axé à la fois sur les expériences subjectives et sur les processus de signification censés vos résultats ne peuvent pas être mesurés de manière systématique et objective. Les critiques de cette perspective soulignent toutefois qu'il existe des moyens de prendre en compte les effets de toute psychothérapie sur les patients, même subjectif, du problème à traiter.

Cela ne veut pas dire que le psychodrame continue à être pratiqué, comme c'est le cas des constellations familiales, dont les séances peuvent ressembler à celles du psychodrame classique de Jacob Levy Moreno. C’est pourquoi, face aux problèmes de santé mentale, nous optons pour des alternatives d’efficacité prouvée dans différents types de problèmes, comme la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.


La sociométrie de J.L. Moreno (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes