yes, therapy helps!
Jacques Derrida: biography of this French philosopher

Jacques Derrida: biography of this French philosopher

June 13, 2024

Jacques Derrida (1930-2004) was a French philosopher, recognized as one of the most influential of the structuralist and poststructuralist tradition who have been part of contemporary Western philosophy. It is, among other things, the founder of "deconstruction", a way of critically analyzing the literary organization of texts and philosophy, as well as the political organization of institutions.

In this article we will see developed the biography of Jacques Derrida , one of the most influential philosophers for the theory and literary and political criticism of the XX and XXI century.

  • Related article: "Postmodernity: what it is and what philosophy characterizes it"

Jacques Derrida: biography of an influential contemporary philosopher

Jacques Derrida was born on July 15, 1930 in El Biar, Algeria , which at that time was a French colony. Son of Judeo-Spanish parents and educated in French tradition from very early.


In the year 1949, after the Second World War, he tried to enter the École Normale Supérieure, in Paris, France. But, it was until the year of 1952 when he managed to access, after repeating the admission exam for the second time. It was formed in an intellectual climate where several of the most representative philosophers of the 20th century were booming . For example, Deleuze, Foucault, Barthes, Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Merleau-Ponty, Lyotard, Althusser, Lacan, Ricoeur, Levi-Strauss or Levinas.

Derrida worked closely with some of them, and he also remained critical of several of his proposals. For example, he made important readings about the works of Levinas and Michel Foucault, to whom he criticized his interpretation of Descartes.


Likewise, he developed his work in which he was the century of the development and rise of phenomenology . Derrida was formed very close to his maximum exponent, Edmund Husserl. Later he specialized in the philosophy of Hegel along with Jean Hyppolite and Maurice de Gandillac, from the hand of those who made a doctoral thesis in 1953 on "The ideal of the literary object."

Academic activity

In the following years his work became very extensive and complex, while he worked as a professor of philosophy at the University of the Sorbonne from 1960 to 1964, a time when he started writing and publishing numerous articles and books that deal with quite diverse topics.

Later he also worked as a teacher in his alma mater, the École Normale Supérieure and the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, all of them in Paris. He was also a visiting professor at various universities around the world, including Yale University and the University of California.


  • Maybe you're interested: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

The deconstruction and the meaning

Jacques Derrida is recognized among other things for having developed the "deconstruction", which refers to a quite complex act whose interpretation and applications may be very different, and which nevertheless has marked the philosophical production of much of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

To a very large extent, Derrida uses deconstruction to examine critically the conceptual paradigms in which Western society has settled since the beginnings of Greek philosophy to the present day.

These paradigms are heavily loaded with a particular element: dichotomies (hierarchical oppositions between two concepts), what they have generated thoughts and binary understandings about the phenomena of the world and about human beings. As well as they have generated forms of identification and construction of certain subjectivities.

Being hierarchical oppositions, have as a consequence that we understand one of the two phenomena of the dichotomy as the primary phenomenon, or the fundamental one, and the second as a derivative. For example, what happens in the classic distinction between mind and body; nature and culture; the literal and the metaphorical, among many others.

Through deconstruction, Derrida made visible and operational the way in which the one that philosophy, science, art or politics have emerged as a result of these oppositions , which among other things has had effects in subjective terms, and in the experience and social organization.

And he made it visible and operational mainly through examine the contradictions and tensions between these hierarchies (whether they are presented explicitly or implicitly), as well as analyzing their consequences in terms of meaning construction.

Precisely, what derives from the latter is the suggestion that the paradigms in which our societies have settled are not natural, immovable and not necessary by themselves; they are a product or a construction.

Literary criticism and text analysis

While Derrida develops this from literary criticism, the deconstruction applies at the beginning for the analysis of the text . An example is the opposition between discourse and writing, where discourse is understood as the primordial and most authentic element. Derrida shows that the same composition that is traditionally associated with writing is present in discourse, as is the possibility of equivocation.

By revealing the constraints in the composition structure, it is shown the impossibility of creating terms that are paramount , and therefore hierarchical, with which there may be possibility of making a restructuring.

For Derrida, the meaning of a word is a function that takes place in the contrast that is shown when relating it to another. From this it follows that the meaning never fully reveals itself to us, nor "truly", as if the word itself were the object that it names in itself. Rather, it is about senses that we share after a long and infinite chain of contrasted meanings.

Bibliographic references:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica (2018). Jacques Derrida. Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved June 26, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Jacques-Derrida.
  • Lawlor, L. (2018). Jacques Derrida. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved June 26, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/derrida/.

PHILOSOPHY: Jacques Derrida (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Jacques Derrida: biographie de ce philosophe français

Jacques Derrida: biographie de ce philosophe français

Novembre 28, 2022

Jacques Derrida (1930-2004) était un philosophe français, reconnu comme l’un des plus influents de la tradition structuraliste et poststructuraliste ayant fait partie de la philosophie occidentale contemporaine. C'est entre autres le fondateur de la "déconstruction", un moyen d'analyser de manière critique l'organisation littéraire des textes et de la philosophie, ainsi que l'organisation politique des institutions.

Dans cet article, nous verrons développé la biographie de Jacques Derrida , un des philosophes les plus influents pour la théorie et la critique littéraire et politique du XX et XXI siècle.

  • Article connexe: "La postmodernité: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelle philosophie le caractérise"

Jacques Derrida: biographie d'un philosophe contemporain influent

Jacques Derrida est né le 15 juillet 1930 à El Biar, Algérie , qui à cette époque était une colonie française. Fils de parents judéo-espagnols et éduqué très tôt dans la tradition française.


En 1949, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il tenta d'entrer à l'École Normale Supérieure, à Paris, en France. Mais ce n’est que jusqu’en 1952, quand il réussit à y accéder, après avoir répété son examen d’admission pour la deuxième fois. Elle s'est formée dans un climat intellectuel où plusieurs des philosophes les plus représentatifs du XXe siècle étaient en plein essor . Par exemple, Deleuze, Foucault, Barthes, Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Merleau-Ponty, Lyotard, Althusser, Lacan, Ricoeur, Lévi-Strauss ou Lévinas.

Derrida a collaboré étroitement avec certains d’entre eux et il a également critiqué plusieurs de ses propositions. Par exemple, il a fait d'importantes lectures sur les œuvres de Lévinas et de Michel Foucault, à qui il a critiqué son interprétation de Descartes.


De même, il a développé son travail dans lequel il était le siècle du développement et de la montée de la phénoménologie . Derrida a été formé très près de son exposant maximum, Edmund Husserl. Plus tard, il se spécialisa dans la philosophie de Hegel avec Jean Hyppolite et Maurice de Gandillac, de la main de ceux qui avaient rédigé une thèse de doctorat en 1953 sur "L'idéal de l'objet littéraire".

Activité académique

Au cours des années suivantes, son travail devint très vaste et complexe, alors qu’il était professeur de philosophie à l’Université de la Sorbonne de 1960 à 1964, époque à laquelle il a commencé à écrire et à publier de nombreux articles et livres qui traitent de sujets assez divers.

Plus tard, il a également enseigné à son alma mater, à l'École normale supérieure et à l'École des hautes études en sciences sociales, toutes situées à Paris. Il a également été professeur invité dans diverses universités du monde, notamment l'Université de Yale et l'Université de Californie.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

La déconstruction et le sens

Jacques Derrida est notamment reconnu pour avoir développé la "déconstruction", qui fait référence à un acte assez complexe, dont l'interprétation et les applications peuvent être très différentes, et qui a néanmoins marqué la production philosophique d'une grande partie des XIXe et XXe siècles.

Dans une très large mesure, Derrida utilise la déconstruction pour examiner de manière critique les paradigmes conceptuels dans lesquels la société occidentale s'est installée depuis les débuts de la philosophie grecque jusqu'à nos jours.

Ces paradigmes sont fortement chargés d’un élément particulier: les dichotomies (oppositions hiérarchiques entre deux concepts), ce qu’ils ont généré pensées et compréhensions binaires sur les phénomènes du monde et sur les êtres humains. Ils ont également généré des formes d'identification et de construction de certaines subjectivités.

En tant qu'oppositions hiérarchiques, nous avons pour conséquence de comprendre l'un des deux phénomènes de la dichotomie en tant que phénomène principal, ou le phénomène fondamental, et le second en tant que dérivé. Par exemple, que se passe-t-il dans la distinction classique entre l'esprit et le corps? nature et culture; le littéral et le métaphorique, parmi beaucoup d'autres.

À travers la déconstruction, Derrida a rendu visible et opérationnelle la manière dont celui que la philosophie, la science, l'art ou la politique ont émergé à la suite de ces oppositions qui, entre autres choses, a eu des effets subjectifs, dans l’expérience et dans l’organisation sociale.

Et il a rendu visible et opérationnel principalement à travers examiner les contradictions et les tensions entre ces hiérarchies (qu’elles soient présentées explicitement ou implicitement), ainsi que l’analyse de leurs conséquences en termes de construction du sens.

Précisément, ce qui découle de cette dernière est la suggestion que les paradigmes dans lesquels nos sociétés se sont installées ne sont pas naturels, immuables et non nécessaires par eux-mêmes; ils sont un produit ou une construction.

Critique littéraire et analyse de texte

Alors que Derrida développe cela de la critique littéraire, la déconstruction s'applique au début pour l'analyse du texte . Un exemple est l'opposition entre le discours et l'écriture, où le discours est compris comme l'élément primordial et le plus authentique. Derrida montre que la même composition, traditionnellement associée à l'écriture, est présente dans le discours, tout comme la possibilité d'équivoque.

En révélant les contraintes de la structure de la composition, il est montré l'impossibilité de créer des termes qui sont primordiaux et donc hiérarchique, avec lequel il peut y avoir possibilité de procéder à une restructuration.

Pour Derrida, la signification d'un mot est une fonction qui intervient dans le contraste présenté lors de son rapport à un autre. Il en résulte que le sens ne se révèle jamais complètement à nous, ni "véritablement", comme si le mot lui-même était l'objet qu'il se nomme en soi. Il s'agit plutôt de sens que nous partageons après une longue et infinie chaîne de significations contrastées.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica (2018). Jacques Derrida. Encyclopédie Britannica. Consulté le 26 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/biography/Jacques-Derrida.
  • Lawlor, L. (2018). Jacques Derrida. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Récupéré le 26 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/derrida/.

Les spectres de Derrida (5/5) : Derrida, penseur politique et éthique (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes