yes, therapy helps!
Jean Berko and the experiment of the

Jean Berko and the experiment of the "wugs"

June 14, 2024

The experiment of Jean Berko's wugs It was a true milestone in the history of psycholinguistics. By presenting artificial words to young children, Berko showed that even in very early stages of life we ​​are able to extract language rules and apply them to unfamiliar words.

In this article we will see what was the context of the experiment, how it was carried out and what exactly was discovered thanks to it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The language theory of Sapir-Whorf"

Biography of Jean Berko

Jean Berko was born in 1931 in Cleveland, Ohio. In 1958, after studying history, literature and linguistics, he received his doctorate at Harvard University with a study in the field of psycholinguistics that it would be extremely influential to include the so-called "experiment of the wugs", which we will describe in detail in the following section.


Berko has spent most of his career at Boston University, where he worked as a teacher until a few years ago. He is currently retired from this profession, although continues to dedicate himself to research in the field of psycholinguistics.

In addition to his studies and works on the development of language in the early stages of life, Berko's work also highlights research on vocabulary, aphasia, the acquisition of routines in children and the differences between mothers' language and that of the parents.

  • Related article: "The 12 types of language (and their characteristics)"

The experiment of the wugs

In his most famous research, which would later be known as "the experiment of the wugs", Berko worked with girls and boys between 4 and 7 years old. His goal was analyze the ability of children to understand the rules of language (specifically the addition of inflectional suffixes) and apply them to new words.


For this he showed the experimental subjects images of objects and activities that had been given artificial words as names. The most famous example is that of the "wug", a being of bluish color and vaguely similar to that of a bird; in this case a single wug was taught first and then two identical drawings.

The test itself consisted of presenting the children unfinished phrases that they had to complete by declining the pseudoword in question. The text that accompanied the first drawing of the wug said "This is a WUG"; under the image of the two wugs you could read "Here we have another WUG. Now there are two. We have two…". The children were expected to respond "wugs".

In addition to plurals, Berko studied verbal conjugations (for example, the simple past), possessiveness, and other habitual declensions in the English language. With his experiment he showed that young children have already learned the rules of their mother tongue and are able to use them in words they do not know.


He also found that at very young ages children can apply the rules to familiar words but not to pseudowords; from this he deduced that in the first place the declensions of each word are learned separately and in a more advanced stage the capacity of deduce linguistic patterns and apply them to new words .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Noam Chomsky's theory of language development"

Implications for language acquisition

The experiment of wugs refuted the idea that language is acquired by imitation of the words of other people and by the reinforcement obtained by saying them. At that time this hypothesis was defended by many learning theorists, particularly in behaviorist orientation.

Since the children who participated in the experiment did not know the artificial words before the test, the fact that they succeeded in declining them necessarily implies that they knew the basic rules of their language. After Berko other researchers generalized these results to different languages ​​and contexts.

After its publication, the results of this experiment had a very significant influence on the study of language. Currently, Berko's findings are firmly based on the scientific theory of language acquisition.

Other contributions by Berko

The rest of Berko's research can also be included in psycholinguistics, although this author has shown interest in multiple facets of language and its wide influence on learning and behavior.

1. Studies on aphasia

Aphasia is a disorder consisting of a very marked difficulty in the use of expressive and / or receptive language . It is usually due to brain injuries and its specific characteristics depend on the location of the damage, which is why multiple types of aphasia have been described.

Along with Goodglass, Bernholtz and Hyde, Berko argued that the linguistic problems of aphasia can not be explained either by the presence of stable grammatical errors or by the intentional omission of words to reduce speech effort.

  • Related article: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

2. Linguistic differences between mothers and fathers

In a 1975 study Berko found that the interaction of adults with young children seemed to vary according to their sex: while men gave more orders and reflected more traditional gender roles, women adapted their speech more to the characteristics of the child .

Although Berko wanted to generalize these results to the language of mothers and fathers in general, the truth is that the sample of the experiment consisted of only three couples with children and four nursery teachers, two of them women and two men.

3. Acquisition of routines in childhood

Berko conceptualized the routines as verbal patterns, sometimes accompanied by gestures, which young children internalize due to the cultural context in which they grow. They stand out particularly his studies on behaviors "of good education" , like saying hello, saying goodbye, thanking or apologizing.


The Secret Life of Scientists and Engineers: Jean Berko Gleason and Wugs (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Jean Berko et l'expérience des

Jean Berko et l'expérience des "wugs"

Novembre 30, 2022

L'expérience des cochons de Jean Berko Ce fut une véritable étape dans l'histoire de la psycholinguistique. En présentant des mots artificiels à de jeunes enfants, Berko a montré que même aux tout premiers stades de la vie, nous sommes en mesure d'extraire des règles de langage et de les appliquer à des mots inconnus.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quel était le contexte de l'expérience, comment elle avait été réalisée et ce qui avait été découvert grâce à elle.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La théorie linguistique de Sapir-Whorf"

Biographie de Jean Berko

Jean Berko est né en 1931 à Cleveland, dans l'Ohio. En 1958, après des études d’histoire, de littérature et de linguistique, il obtient son doctorat à l’Université de Harvard avec une étude dans le domaine de la psycholinguistique qu’il serait extrêmement influent d’inclure la prétendue «expérience des insectes», que nous décrirons plus en détail dans la section suivante.


Berko a passé la plus grande partie de sa carrière à l’Université de Boston, où il a enseigné jusqu’à il y a quelques années. Il est actuellement retraité de cette profession, bien que continue à se consacrer à la recherche dans le domaine de la psycholinguistique.

En plus de ses études et de ses travaux sur le développement de la langue dans les premières étapes de la vie, les travaux de Berko mettent également en évidence des recherches sur le vocabulaire, l'aphasie, l'acquisition de routines chez les enfants et les différences entre les langues des mères. et celle des parents.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de langage (et leurs caractéristiques)"

L'expérience des wugs

Dans sa recherche la plus célèbre, qui sera connue plus tard sous le nom de "l'expérience des wugs", Berko a travaillé avec des filles et des garçons âgés de 4 à 7 ans. Son but était analyser la capacité des enfants à comprendre les règles du langage (en particulier l’ajout de suffixes flexionnels) et les appliquer à de nouveaux mots.


Pour cela, il a montré aux sujets expérimentaux des images d'objets et d'activités auxquels des mots artificiels avaient été attribués. L'exemple le plus célèbre est celui du "wug", un être de couleur bleuâtre et vaguement similaire à celui d'un oiseau; dans ce cas, un seul wug a été enseigné puis deux dessins identiques.

Le test lui-même consistait à présenter les enfants phrases inachevées qu'ils devaient compléter en refusant le pseudoword en question. Le texte qui accompagnait le premier dessin du wug disait "Ceci est un WUG"; sous l’image des deux wugs, vous pouvez lire "Nous avons ici un autre WUG. Maintenant il y en a deux. Nous avons deux ... " Les enfants étaient censés répondre "wugs".

En plus des pluriels, Berko a étudié la conjugaison verbale (par exemple, le passé simple), la possessivité et d'autres déclinaisons habituelles de la langue anglaise. Avec son expérience, il a montré que les jeunes enfants ont déjà appris les règles de leur langue maternelle et sont capables de les utiliser avec des mots qu'ils ne connaissent pas.


Il a également constaté qu’à un très jeune âge, les enfants peuvent appliquer les règles à des mots familiers mais non à des pseudo-mots; il en déduit que, dans un premier temps, les diminutions de chaque mot sont apprises séparément et qu'à un stade plus avancé, la capacité de déduire des modèles linguistiques et les appliquer à de nouveaux mots .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie du développement du langage de Noam Chomsky"

Implications pour l'acquisition du langage

L'expérience des wugs a réfuté l'idée selon laquelle le langage est acquis par imitation des mots d'autres personnes et par le renforcement obtenu en les disant. A cette époque, de nombreux théoriciens de l'apprentissage ont défendu cette hypothèse, en particulier dans l'orientation comportementaliste.

Étant donné que les enfants qui ont participé à l'expérience ne connaissaient pas les mots artificiels avant le test, le fait qu'ils aient réussi à les supprimer implique nécessairement qu'ils connaissaient les règles de base de leur langue. Après Berko d'autres chercheurs ont généralisé ces résultats à différentes langues et contextes.

Après sa publication, les résultats de cette expérience ont eu une influence très significative sur l’étude du langage. Actuellement, les conclusions de Berko sont fermement fondées sur la théorie scientifique de l'acquisition du langage.

Autres contributions de Berko

Les autres recherches de Berko peuvent également être incluses dans la psycholinguistique, bien que cet auteur se soit intéressé aux multiples facettes du langage et à son influence considérable sur l'apprentissage et le comportement.

1. Études sur l'aphasie

L'aphasie est un trouble consistant en une difficulté très marquée à utiliser un langage expressif et / ou réceptif . Il est généralement dû à une lésion cérébrale et ses caractéristiques spécifiques dépendent de la localisation de la lésion, ce qui explique pourquoi de nombreux types d’aphasie ont été décrits.

Aux côtés de Goodglass, Bernholtz et Hyde, Berko a fait valoir que les problèmes linguistiques de l’aphasie ne pouvaient s’expliquer ni par la présence d’erreurs grammaticales stables ni par l’omission intentionnelle de mots destinés à réduire l’effort de parole.

  • Article connexe: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

2. Différences linguistiques entre mères et pères

Dans une étude de 1975, Berko a constaté que l'interaction des adultes avec les jeunes enfants semblait varier selon le sexe: alors que les hommes donnaient plus d'ordres et reflétaient des rôles de genre plus traditionnels, les femmes ont davantage adapté leur discours aux caractéristiques de l'enfant .

Bien que Berko ait voulu généraliser ces résultats au langage des mères et des pères en général, la vérité est que l’échantillon de l’expérience consistait uniquement en trois couples avec enfants et en quatre instituteurs, dont deux femmes et deux hommes.

3. Acquisition de routines dans l'enfance

Berko a conceptualisé les routines comme des schémas verbaux, parfois accompagnés de gestes, que les jeunes enfants intériorisent en raison du contexte culturel dans lequel ils grandissent. Ils se démarquent particulièrement ses études sur les comportements "de bonne éducation" , comme dire bonjour, dire au revoir, remercier ou s’excuser.


What is NONCE WORD? What does NONCE WORD mean? NONCE WORD meaning, definition & explanation (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes