yes, therapy helps!
Jean Piaget: biography of the father of Evolutionary Psychology

Jean Piaget: biography of the father of Evolutionary Psychology

August 10, 2022

Probably no surprise to anyone the idea that we are not born with the same mental abilities that we have in adulthood. The ability to understand the world, to take into account that objects and people continue to exist despite the fact that we can not see them, to attribute intention and a mind of our own to others, to capture and interpret information from the environment, to draw up plans to solve or Establishing hypotheses is something that requires a process of maturational development and learning, both biology and experience being involved in its emergence.

Many authors have investigated how different mental abilities and abilities arise throughout life, with Jean Piaget being one of the most influential and important examples of recent times regarding the study of cognitive development. It's about this author that we're going to talk about in this article, making a short biography of Jean Piaget .


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Brief biography of Jean Piaget

Jean William Fritz Piaget Jackson was born on August 9, 1896 in Neuchâtel, Switzerland. He was the first-born of the professor of medieval literature Arthur Piaget and Rebecca Jackson, daughter of the owner of the first steel factory to the crucible of France.

His childhood was spent in an academic environment, acquiring and learning from his father a critical and analytical mentality as well as the taste for writing and the fascination for living beings . On the other hand, the relationship with his mother was apparently not easy or positive.

Already since childhood Piaget showed signs of having some precocity, showing great interest in mechanics, ornithology, molluscs and biology in general. He entered the Latino Institute in his town. While in high school at the age of ten, would elaborate and send an article about the alpine sparrow to a local natural history magazine , this being his first contribution and scientific publication.


After that and during adolescence, he would awaken in the young man a great interest in zoology and molluscs. He would get in touch with Paul Godel, director of the Museum of Natural History, who would become an assistant for four years and after which he published several articles on malacology. His publications would have him offered a position at the Museum of Natural History in Geneva , who could not get to occupy because of his young age (he had not yet completed his schooling).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 stages of Jean Piaget's cognitive development"

Years of training

After secondary education, Piaget would go to study at the University of Neuchâtel, graduating with a degree in Natural Sciences and obtaining his doctorate in 1918 with a thesis on malacology.

After that, he would decide to study at the University of Zurich , where for a semester he studied and began to acquire interest in psychology from the works of Freud or Jung. He started working in psychology laboratories in that city and he would even make two publications about it.


Linking with children's psychology

During that same year 1919 Piaget would move to Paris as professor of psychology and philosophy at the Sorbonne, knowing and working with a lot of important psychologists like Binet or Bleuler . I would also go to work in a school run by Binet and Simon as a teacher, in Grange-aux-Belles. There he would begin to notice differences between the response patterns of adults and children, something that would lead him to think about the existence of different processes attributable to certain evolutionary moments.

A short time later, in 1920, he would be part of the group that perfected Stern's intelligence test, also detecting consistent errors in children's responses. Together with Theodore Simon, he would begin to explore children's intelligence and reasoning .

During the year 1921 he published a first article on intelligence, which would cause him to receive an offer to work as a director of the Rousseau Institute in Geneva. With this offer, in which something that led him to return to his country of origin. From his position he would be developing various works in which reasoning, thinking or children's language worked. His academic participation continued to grow, also attending in 1922 the Congress of Psychoanalysis in Berlin (where he would personally meet Freud).

In 1923 he married Valentine Châteney, having three children with her. His fatherhood would be important not only on a personal level but also at a professional level , since it would be the observation and analysis of the growth and development of his children which (together with the influence of various previous authors and the realization of the different studies mentioned above), would lead him to the elaboration of his most famous work: the theory cognitive-evolutionary in which will expose the different stages of development and constructivist theory.

In 1925 he would work as a professor of philosophy at the University of his hometown, despite continuing at the Rousseau Institute. Likewise, Together with his wife, he would observe and analyze the development of his children . During the year 1929 he would return to Geneva to work in the university of that city as professor of psychology and history of science. Later it would happen to the University of Lausanne. While in the latter as professor of psychology and sociology, in 1936 he would be appointed director of the UNESCO International Bureau of Education. In 1940 I would begin to study aspects such as perception, working on aspects such as the development of spatial perception.

By 1950 Piaget would carry out the elaboration of genetic epistemology, another of his great contributions, in which it worked the cognitive structures and the evolutionary and historical changes of the relation conscience-environment . This contribution would lead to the generation of the cognitive schema concept and its constructivist theory in which it valued the biology-environment relationship in the formation of thought.

Five years later he founded and would be named director of the International Center of Genetic Epistemology, a post he held until his death. Piaget would receive numerous honorary degrees and doctorates throughout his life, as well as several international awards for his scientific contributions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Jean Piaget's Theory of Learning"

Death and legacy

Jean Piaget died at 84 years of age on September 16, 1980, in Geneva, after about ten days hospitalized. His death is an event of great relevance, being his legacy and his contribution to psychology one of the most extensive and relevant of the last century .

His theories on child development have influenced a large number of well-known authors such as Bruner, Bandura, Ausubel or Erikson, and they are still valued and taken into account at the theoretical level. He emphasizes especially the importance of his cognitive-evolutionary theory, on the development of the cognitive capacities and in which he speaks to us of the different stages of the development. However, this is not the only field in which he worked but also made various contributions in fields such as sociology, philosophy or even biology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cellenieror, G. (1978) Piaget's Thought, study and anthology of texts. Península Editions, Barcelona.
  • Cortés, M.I. and Tlaseca, M. (2004). Monography Jean Piaget. National Pedagogical University. Mexico DF.

The Growth of Knowledge: Crash Course Psychology #18 (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Jean Piaget: biographie du père de la psychologie évolutionniste

Jean Piaget: biographie du père de la psychologie évolutionniste

Août 2, 2022

Cela ne surprendra probablement personne de penser que nous ne sommes pas nés avec les mêmes capacités mentales que celles que nous avons à l'âge adulte. La capacité à comprendre le monde, à prendre en compte le fait que les objets et les personnes continuent d'exister malgré le fait que nous ne pouvons pas les voir, à attribuer notre intention et notre esprit à d'autres, à capturer et à interpréter des informations de l'environnement, à élaborer des plans pour résoudre ou L’établissement d’hypothèses est un processus qui nécessite un processus de développement et d’apprentissage de la maturation, la biologie et l’expérience participant à son émergence.

De nombreux auteurs ont étudié comment différentes aptitudes mentales apparaissent au cours de la vie, Jean Piaget étant l'un des exemples les plus influents et les plus importants de la période récente en matière d'étude du développement cognitif. C'est à propos de cet auteur que nous allons parler dans cet article, faire une courte biographie de Jean Piaget .


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Brève biographie de Jean Piaget

Jean William Fritz Piaget Jackson est né le 9 août 1896 à Neuchâtel, en Suisse. Il était le premier-né du professeur de littérature médiévale Arthur Piaget et de Rebecca Jackson, fille du propriétaire de la première usine d'acier au creuset de France.

Il a passé son enfance dans un environnement universitaire, acquérant et apprenant de son père une mentalité critique et analytique ainsi que le goût de l'écriture et la fascination des êtres vivants . D'autre part, la relation avec sa mère n'était apparemment ni facile ni positive.

Déjà depuis l'enfance, Piaget a montré des signes de précocité, manifestant un grand intérêt pour la mécanique, l'ornithologie, les mollusques et la biologie en général. Il est entré à l'Institut latino de sa ville. Au lycée à l'âge de dix ans, élaborerait et enverrait un article sur le bruant alpin à un magazine d'histoire naturelle local , ceci étant sa première contribution et publication scientifique.


Après cela et pendant son adolescence, il suscitera chez le jeune homme un grand intérêt pour la zoologie et les mollusques. Il prendrait contact avec Paul Godel, directeur du Muséum d'histoire naturelle, qui deviendra assistant pendant quatre ans, après quoi il publiera plusieurs articles sur la malacologie. Ses publications lui auraient offert un poste au Muséum d'histoire naturelle de Genève , qui n'a pas pu occuper à cause de son jeune âge (il n'avait pas encore terminé sa scolarité).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 étapes du développement cognitif de Jean Piaget"

Années de formation

Après ses études secondaires, Piaget ira étudier à l’Université de Neuchâtel. Il obtiendra son diplôme en sciences naturelles et obtiendra son doctorat en 1918 avec une thèse en malacologie.

Après cela, il déciderait d'étudier à l'Université de Zurich , où pendant un semestre, il étudie et commence à s'intéresser à la psychologie à partir des travaux de Freud ou de Jung. Il a commencé à travailler dans des laboratoires de psychologie dans cette ville et il aurait même fait deux publications à ce sujet.


Lien avec la psychologie des enfants

Au cours de cette même année 1919, Piaget déménage à Paris en tant que professeur de psychologie et de philosophie à la Sorbonne. travailler avec beaucoup de psychologues importants comme Binet ou Bleuler . Je voudrais aussi aller travailler dans une école dirigée par Binet et Simon en tant qu'enseignante à Grange-aux-Belles. Là, il commencerait à remarquer des différences entre les schémas de réponse des adultes et des enfants, ce qui le conduirait à réfléchir à l’existence de processus différents imputables à certains moments de l’évolution.

Peu de temps après, en 1920, il ferait partie du groupe qui perfectionna le test d'intelligence de Stern, détectant également des erreurs cohérentes dans les réponses des enfants. Avec Theodore Simon, il commencerait à explorer l'intelligence et le raisonnement des enfants .

Au cours de l'année 1921, il publia un premier article sur l'intelligence, ce qui le poussa à recevoir une offre de travail en tant que directeur de l'Institut Rousseau à Genève. Avec cette offre, dans laquelle quelque chose qui l'a amené à retourner dans son pays d'origine. À partir de sa position, il développerait diverses œuvres dans lesquelles le raisonnement, la pensée ou le langage des enfants fonctionneraient. Sa participation académique a continué de croître, participant également en 1922 au Congrès de psychanalyse de Berlin (où il rencontrerait personnellement Freud).

En 1923, il épouse Valentine Châteney et a trois enfants. Sa paternité serait importante non seulement sur le plan personnel mais également sur le plan professionnel , puisque c’est l’observation et l’analyse de la croissance et du développement de ses enfants qui (avec l’influence de divers auteurs antérieurs et la réalisation des différentes études susmentionnées) le mènerait à l’élaboration de son ouvrage le plus célèbre: cognitif-évolutif qui exposera les différentes étapes du développement et la théorie constructiviste.

En 1925, il travaillera comme professeur de philosophie à l'université de sa ville natale, bien qu'il poursuive ses travaux à l'Institut Rousseau. De même Avec son épouse, il observerait et analyserait le développement de ses enfants. . Au cours de l'année 1929, il reviendra à Genève pour travailler à l'université de cette ville en tant que professeur de psychologie et d'histoire des sciences. Plus tard, cela arriverait à l'Université de Lausanne. Alors qu’il occupait ce poste en tant que professeur de psychologie et de sociologie, il serait nommé en 1936 directeur du Bureau international d’éducation de l’UNESCO. En 1940, je commençais à étudier des aspects tels que la perception, mais aussi à développer la perception spatiale.

En 1950, Piaget élaborera l’épistémologie génétique, une autre de ses grandes contributions, dans laquelle il a travaillé les structures cognitives et les changements évolutifs et historiques de la relation conscience-environnement . Cette contribution conduirait à la génération du concept de schéma cognitif et de sa théorie constructiviste dans laquelle il valorisait la relation biologie-environnement dans la formation de la pensée.

Cinq ans plus tard, il fonda et serait nommé directeur du Centre international d'épistémologie génétique, poste qu'il occupa jusqu'à sa mort. Piaget recevra de nombreux diplômes honorifiques et doctorats tout au long de sa vie, ainsi que plusieurs prix internationaux pour ses contributions scientifiques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "La théorie de l'apprentissage de Jean Piaget"

La mort et l'héritage

Jean Piaget est décédé à Genève le 16 septembre 1980, à l'âge de 84 ans, après une dizaine de jours d'hospitalisation. Sa mort est un événement d'une grande pertinence, étant son héritage et sa contribution à la psychologie l’un des plus importants et des plus pertinents du siècle dernier .

Ses théories sur le développement de l'enfant ont influencé un grand nombre d'auteurs connus tels que Bruner, Bandura, Ausubel ou Erikson, et elles sont toujours valorisées et prises en compte au niveau théorique. Il insiste particulièrement sur l'importance de sa théorie cognitivo-évolutive, sur le développement des capacités cognitives et dans laquelle il nous parle des différentes étapes du développement. Cependant, ce n’est pas le seul domaine dans lequel il a travaillé mais il a également apporté diverses contributions dans des domaines tels que la sociologie, la philosophie ou même la biologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cellenieror, G. (1978) Pensée de Piaget, étude et anthologie de textes. Péninsule Editions, Barcelone.
  • Cortés, M.I. et Tlaseca, M. (2004). Monographie Jean Piaget. Université pédagogique nationale. Mexico, D.F.

Cholet 4 fleurs 2016 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes