yes, therapy helps!
John B. Watson: life and work of the behavioral psychologist

John B. Watson: life and work of the behavioral psychologist

January 25, 2022

John B. Watson , along with Iván Pávlov, was one of the important characters of the classical conditioning and it was key for the later development of Operant Conditioning that became famous thanks to B.F. Skinner. Both classical conditioning and operant or Instrumental conditioning are part of the behaviorism, one of the most outstanding currents of psychology.

Although classical conditioning was born thanks to the experiments of the Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov, who was interested in salivary reflexes in dogs, Watson introduced it to the United States where it had a great impact on the American educational system.

Biography of John Broadus Watson

John Broadus Watson was born in Greenville (South Carolina, United States) in 1878 and died in New York in 1958.


He studied at the University of Chicago and graduated in 1903. He wrote many scientific articles, one of the first called "Animal Education: an experimental study on the psychic development of a white rat, in correlation with the growth of his nervous system." In this article describes the relationship between brain myelination and learning ability in rodents .

Watson worked at John Hopkins University for 14 years, and there he did a lot of experiments on learning birds. In 1920 he left his job at the University because of rumors about a relationship with his assistant Rosalie Reyner, with whom he made his famous experiment with "little Albert". He went on to work as a psychologist at the Thompson company, and became interested in the field of advertising .


One of the most influential psychologists of the 20th century

As professor of Psychology at John Hopkins University (United States) between 1908 and 1920, Watson He was considered one of the most influential and decisive figures of the last century . His work is studied today in all faculties of psychology around the globe, and is one of the bases of learning and treatment of some psychopathologies such as phobias. Therefore, its conclusions can not be absent in any book of introduction to psychology.

Although his academic career was short, his legacy has been hotly debated for almost a century. Watson helped define the study of behavior and psychology as a science , and emphasized the importance of learning and the influence of context on the development of human beings.

Watson popularized Behaviorism

He was a radical behaviorist, an anti-mentalist, and, as such, he criticized Sigmund Freud and psychoanalysis, since he claimed that the study of consciousness and introspection had no place in psychology as a science. Psychology according to Watson, it only made sense through observable and measurable behavior , and for that reason, his experiments were carried out in the laboratory, where he could manipulate the environment and control the behavior of his subjects.


The goal of behaviorism is to make psychology a natural science, and therefore, must have some methods that allow observing, measuring and predicting variables. John B. Watson will always be remembered as the person who coined and popularized behaviorism thanks to his publications and research.

Classical conditioning

Watson's contributions to behaviorism they are due to their classical conditioning experiments , a type of learning that involves automatic or reflex responses, and that is characterized by the creation of a connection between a new stimulus and an already existing reflex. That is to say, it is a type of learning according to which a neutral stimulus, which does not provoke a response, becomes able to provoke it thanks to the associative connection of this stimulus with the stimulus that normally provokes this response.

John Watson was inspired by the research of the Russian psychologist Ivan Pavlov, but also he thought that classical conditioning also explained learning in humans . Watson was clear that emotions were also learned through conditioned association, so that differences in behavior between humans were the cause of the different experiences that each one lived.

If you want to know more about the classic conditioning and the experiments of Ivan Pavlov, we invite you to read our article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

The experiment with the "little Albert"

To test your hypothesis that emotions could be learned by conditioned association, Watson used an 11-month-old boy named Albert as an experimental subject . It must be mentioned that this study could not be carried out at the moment because it does not comply with scientific ethics.

Albert was taken to the laboratory where he was presented with a white rat. When the boy approached to touch her, Watson hit a metal bar with a hammer. As a result of the strong blow, the baby was upset and the result of fear began to cry. Watson repeated this process half a dozen times, and observed that, after different trials, little Albert was scared simply by the fact that he saw the white rat . Albert had learned that every time the rat appeared, the hammer would hit the metal board. That is, he anticipated the strong blow.

Here we leave you a video so you can visualize the experiment:

According to the scientist, this happened by classical conditioning. The Unconditioned Stimulus (EI) is a stimulus that automatically causes a response from the organism. In Watson's experiment, he would refer to the blow with the hammer. The Unconditioned response (RI), that is, the response that occurs due to the presence of IS, would be the feeling of fear. The white rat would be the Neutral Stimulus (EN), because it does not produce any response in the body.

Now, when the EN (white rat) appears several times along with the IS (hammer blow) that causes an RI (fear), the EN (white rat) becomes a Conditioned Stimulus (EC) Then, the presence of the EC (that is, the white rat) causes a Conditioned response (RC) The Conditioned response It is equal to the RI (feeling of fear).

Classical conditioning and phobias

East it is the most frequent mechanism of phobias acquisition , a strong irrational fear suffered by some people as a consequence of associating negative experiences to the presence of something (flying in an airplane, spiders, clowns, among many others).


Behaviorism: Pavlov, Watson, and Skinner (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
John B. Watson: la vie et le travail du psychologue du comportement

John B. Watson: la vie et le travail du psychologue du comportement

Juillet 28, 2022

John B. Watson , avec Iván Pávlov, était l’un des personnages importants de la conditionnement classique et cela a été déterminant pour le développement ultérieur du conditionnement opérant, devenu célèbre grâce à B.F. Skinner. Le conditionnement classique et le conditionnement opérant ou instrumental font partie des le behaviorisme, l'un des courants les plus marquants de la psychologie.

Bien que le conditionnement classique soit né grâce aux expériences du physiologiste russe Ivan Pavlov, qui s’intéressait aux réflexes salivaires chez le chien, Watson l’a introduit aux États-Unis, où il a eu un impact considérable sur le système éducatif américain.

Biographie de John Broadus Watson

John Broadus Watson est né à Greenville (Caroline du Sud, États-Unis) en 1878 et décédé à New York en 1958.


Il étudie à l'Université de Chicago et obtient son diplôme en 1903. Il écrit de nombreux articles scientifiques, dont l'un des premiers intitulé "Éducation animale: étude expérimentale sur le développement psychique d'un rat blanc, en corrélation avec la croissance de son système nerveux". Dans cet article décrit la relation entre la myélinisation du cerveau et la capacité d'apprentissage chez les rongeurs .

Watson a travaillé pendant 14 ans à l’Université John Hopkins, où il a effectué de nombreuses expériences sur l’apprentissage des oiseaux. En 1920, il quitta son emploi à l'université à cause de rumeurs concernant une relation avec son assistante Rosalie Reyner, avec laquelle il fit sa célèbre expérience avec "le petit Albert". Il a ensuite travaillé en tant que psychologue à la société Thompson et s’est intéressé au domaine de la publicité. .


L'un des psychologues les plus influents du 20ème siècle

Professeur de psychologie à la John Hopkins University (États-Unis) de 1908 à 1920, Watson Il était considéré comme l'une des personnalités les plus influentes et les plus décisives du siècle dernier. . Ses travaux sont étudiés aujourd'hui dans toutes les facultés de psychologie du monde et constituent l'une des bases de l'apprentissage et du traitement de certaines psychopathologies telles que les phobies. Par conséquent, ses conclusions ne peuvent être absentes dans aucun livre d'introduction à la psychologie.

Bien que sa carrière universitaire ait été courte, son héritage a été vivement débattu pendant près d'un siècle. Watson aidé à définir l'étude du comportement et de la psychologie en tant que science , et a souligné l’importance de l’apprentissage et l’influence du contexte sur le développement des êtres humains.

Watson a popularisé le comportementalisme

C’est un comportementaliste radical, un anti-mentaliste et, à ce titre, il critique Sigmund Freud et la psychanalyse, affirmant que l’étude de la conscience et de l’introspection n’avait aucune place dans la psychologie en tant que science. Psychologie selon Watson, cela n'avait de sens que par un comportement observable et mesurable et c'est pour cette raison que ses expériences ont été réalisées en laboratoire, où il a pu manipuler l'environnement et contrôler le comportement de ses sujets.


Le behaviorisme a pour objectif de faire de la psychologie une science naturelle et, par conséquent, doit disposer de méthodes permettant d'observer, de mesurer et de prédire des variables. On se souviendra toujours de John B. Watson comme la personne qui a inventé et popularisé le comportementalisme grâce à ses publications et à ses recherches.

Conditionnement classique

Les contributions de Watson au behaviorisme ils sont dus à leurs expériences de conditionnement classiques , type d’apprentissage qui implique des réponses automatiques ou réflexes et qui se caractérise par la création d’un lien entre un nouveau stimulus et un réflexe déjà existant. C’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit d’un type d’apprentissage selon lequel un stimulus neutre, qui ne provoque pas de réponse, devient capable de le provoquer grâce au lien associatif de ce stimulus avec le stimulus qui provoque normalement cette réponse.

John Watson s’inspire des recherches du psychologue russe Ivan Pavlov, mais aussi de il pensait que le conditionnement classique expliquait aussi l'apprentissage chez l'homme . Watson était clair que les émotions étaient également apprises par le biais d'associations conditionnées, de sorte que les différences de comportement entre humains étaient à l'origine des expériences différentes vécues par chacun.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur le conditionnement classique et les expériences d'Ivan Pavlov, nous vous invitons à lire notre article: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

L'expérience du "petit Albert"

Pour tester votre hypothèse selon laquelle les émotions pourraient être apprises par association conditionnée, Watson a utilisé un garçon de 11 mois nommé Albert comme sujet expérimental . Il convient de mentionner que cette étude ne peut pas être réalisée pour le moment car elle ne respecte pas l'éthique scientifique.

Albert a été emmené au laboratoire où il a été présenté avec un rat blanc. Lorsque le garçon s'approcha pour la toucher, Watson frappa une barre de métal avec un marteau. À la suite du coup, le bébé était bouleversé et le résultat de la peur a commencé à pleurer. Watson répète ce processus une demi-douzaine de fois et constate que après différents essais, le petit Albert a été effrayé simplement par le fait qu'il a vu le rat blanc . Albert avait appris que chaque fois que le rat apparaissait, le marteau frappait la plaque de métal. C'est-à-dire qu'il anticipait le coup fort.

Ici, nous vous laissons une vidéo pour que vous puissiez visualiser l'expérience:

Selon le scientifique, cela s'est passé par conditionnement classique. Le Stimulus inconditionnel (EI) est un stimulus qui provoque automatiquement une réponse de l'organisme. Dans l'expérience de Watson, il ferait référence au coup de marteau. Le Réponse inconditionnée (RI), c’est-à-dire que la réaction due à la présence d’Is serait le sentiment de peur. Le rat blanc serait le Stimulus neutre (EN), car il ne produit aucune réponse dans le corps.

Maintenant, quand le EN (rat blanc) apparaît plusieurs fois avec le IS (coup de marteau) qui provoque un RI (peur), le EN (rat blanc) devient un Stimulus conditionné (CE) Ensuite, la présence de la CE (c'est-à-dire du rat blanc) provoque une Réponse conditionnée (RC) Le Réponse conditionnée C'est égal au RI (sentiment de peur).

Conditionnement classique et phobies

Celui-ci c'est le mécanisme le plus fréquent d'acquisition de phobies , une forte peur irrationnelle ressentie par certaines personnes en raison de l’association d’expériences négatives à la présence de quelque chose (voler dans un avion, araignées, clowns, parmi tant d’autres).


How to Train a Brain - Crash Course Psychology #11 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes