yes, therapy helps!
John Dewey: biography of this pioneer of functionalism

John Dewey: biography of this pioneer of functionalism

November 9, 2022

The contributions of John Dewey were very relevant for different fields related to the human sciences. Although he was trained as a philosopher, Dewey was also influential in psychology, pedagogy, logic and even in American politics, since he openly defended very progressive positions.

In this article we will review the life and work of John Dewey . We will place special emphasis on his contributions to philosophy and psychology within the frameworks of pragmatism and functionalism, respectively.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Biography of John Dewey

The American John Dewey was born in 1859 in Burlington, in the state of Vermont . There he went to the university to study Philosophy. Evolutionary theories had a key influence on the development of his thought; throughout his career he would focus on the interaction between the human being and his environment, inspired by the idea of ​​Darwin's natural selection.


After graduating in 1879 Dewey worked for two years as a primary and secondary school teacher, but eventually chose to devote himself to philosophy. He received his doctorate at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore; the next 10 years he was professor of philosophy at the University of Michigan and in 1894 he joined the one from Chicago, which had just been founded.

By then Dewey had already written his first two books: Psychology (1887) and Leibniz's New Essays Concerning the Human Understanding (1888). In these works He synthesized Hegelian idealism and experimental science applied to human behavior and thinking.

Later evolution of his thought

Subsequently Dewey's philosophy evolved to approach the American pragmatism, which began to develop at that time. He applied his theses to the educational context by publishing the book School and society (1899) and the foundation of a pedagogical laboratory , although he ended up resigning his position as director.


For the rest of his life Dewey worked as a professor of Philosophy at Columbia University, in New York City. There he established a relationship with many philosophers and his thinking was enriched thanks to contributions from very different perspectives.

His focus of interest continued to be pedagogy, always linked to philosophy, logic and politics ; In fact, he was an activist committed to causes such as the defense of immigrant rights, the unionization of teachers, women's suffrage and participatory democracy in general. John Dewey died in 1952, at 92 years old.

Philosophical proposal: pragmatism

Pragmatism is a philosophical current that emerged in the United States in the 1870s. This tradition defends that thought does not have as its main function the representation of reality but its prediction and action on it.


It is considered that Charles Sanders Peirce was the founder of pragmatism . Other relevant philosophers who followed him were William James, Chauncey Wright, George Herbert Mead and John Dewey himself. However, this author described himself as instrumentalist and consequentialist as well as pragmatist.

Dewey opined that philosophers took as true constructs that had been created only to help conceptualize reality, while ignoring the mental functions that constitute thought in itself . For him, as for the rest of functionalists, this should be the focus of attention of philosophy.

From this perspective, thought is understood as an active construction that takes place from the human interaction with the environment, so it is constantly updated. This is opposed to the classical view of ideas as passive results of the observation of the world.

Thus, according to pragmatism, human concepts are not a reflection of reality nor is there an absolute truth, as claimed by the rationalist and formalist philosophers. The practical utility of a "truth" or the consequences of an act are what gives them meaning , and therefore the philosophy should focus on the objective and not on the concepts.

  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Functionalist psychology

Functionalism is a theoretical orientation of psychology that analyzes behavior and cognition from the point of view of active adaptation to the environment. Logically, there is a strong relationship between functionalist psychology and pragmatism in philosophy.At a more general level, functionalism was a philosophy that also influenced sociology and anthropology.

William James founded functionalism, although he did not consider himself part of this current nor did he agree with the division of scientists into schools of thought. Other authors who made relevant contributions in this framework, in addition to Dewey, were George Herbert Mead, James McKeen Cattell and Edward Thorndike.

Functionalism emerged as a reaction to Edward Tichtener's structuralism; James or Dewey rejected their introspective methodology, but they continued to emphasize conscious experience. Later Behaviorism criticized functionalist positions because they were not based on controlled experiments and therefore had no predictive capacity.

Functionalist psychology was inspired by the evolutionary ideas of Darwin and his followers. Nowadays functionalism continues to live above all in evolutionary psychology, which analyzes the development of the human mind from a phylogenetic point of view.

  • Related article: "The theory of biological evolution"

Dewey's Functionalism (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
John Dewey: biographie de ce pionnier du fonctionnalisme

John Dewey: biographie de ce pionnier du fonctionnalisme

Mai 16, 2022

Les contributions de John Dewey étaient très pertinentes pour différents domaines liés aux sciences humaines. Bien qu'il ait été formé en tant que philosophe, Dewey était également influent en psychologie, pédagogie, logique et même dans la politique américaine, puisqu'il défend ouvertement des positions très progressistes.

Dans cet article nous allons passer en revue la vie et le travail de John Dewey . Nous mettrons particulièrement l'accent sur ses contributions à la philosophie et à la psychologie dans les cadres du pragmatisme et du fonctionnalisme, respectivement.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Biographie de John Dewey

L'Américain John Dewey est né en 1859 à Burlington, dans l'état du Vermont . Là il est allé à l'université pour étudier la philosophie. Les théories évolutionnistes ont eu une influence déterminante sur le développement de sa pensée. tout au long de sa carrière, il s'intéressera à l'interaction entre l'être humain et son environnement, inspiré par l'idée de la sélection naturelle de Darwin.


Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en 1879, Dewey travailla pendant deux ans en tant que professeur d'école primaire et secondaire, mais finit par choisir de se consacrer à la philosophie. Il a obtenu son doctorat à la Johns Hopkins University de Baltimore; Les dix années suivantes, il fut professeur de philosophie à l'Université du Michigan et, en 1894, il rejoignit celui de Chicago, qui venait d'être fondé.

À ce moment-là, Dewey avait déjà écrit ses deux premiers livres: Psychologie (1887) et Nouveaux essais de Leibniz sur la compréhension humaine (1888). Dans ces oeuvres Il a synthétisé l'idéalisme hégélien et la science expérimentale appliquée au comportement humain et à la pensée.

Évolution ultérieure de sa pensée

Par la suite, la philosophie de Dewey a évolué pour aborder le pragmatisme américain, qui a commencé à se développer à cette époque. Il a appliqué ses thèses au contexte éducatif en publiant le livre École et société (1899) et la fondation d'un laboratoire pédagogique , bien qu’il ait fini par démissionner de son poste d’administrateur.


Pendant le reste de sa vie, Dewey a enseigné la philosophie à la Columbia University, à New York. Il y établit une relation avec de nombreux philosophes et sa pensée s'enrichit grâce à des contributions de perspectives très différentes.

Son centre d'intérêt a continué d'être pédagogie, toujours liée à la philosophie, la logique et la politique ; En fait, il était un militant engagé dans des causes telles que la défense des droits des immigrés, la syndicalisation des enseignants, le suffrage des femmes et la démocratie participative en général. John Dewey est décédé en 1952, à l'âge de 92 ans.

Proposition philosophique: pragmatisme

Le pragmatisme est un courant philosophique apparu aux États-Unis dans les années 1870. Cette tradition défend l'idée selon laquelle la pensée n'a pas pour fonction principale la représentation de la réalité, mais sa prédiction et son action.


Il est considéré que Charles Sanders Peirce était le fondateur du pragmatisme . Les autres philosophes importants qui l'ont suivi sont William James, Chauncey Wright, George Herbert Mead et John Dewey lui-même. Cependant, cet auteur s'est décrit comme un instrumentiste, un conséquentialiste et un pragmatique.

Dewey était d'avis que les philosophes prenaient comme de véritables constructions créées uniquement pour aider à conceptualiser la réalité, tout en ignorant les fonctions mentales qui constituent la pensée en soi . Pour lui, comme pour le reste des fonctionnalistes, cela devrait être le centre d'attention de la philosophie.

Dans cette perspective, la pensée est comprise comme une construction active issue de l’interaction de l’homme avec l’environnement, elle est donc constamment mise à jour. Ceci est opposé à la vision classique des idées en tant que résultats passifs de l'observation du monde.

Ainsi, selon le pragmatisme, les concepts humains ne sont pas un reflet de la réalité ni une vérité absolue, comme le prétendent les philosophes rationalistes et formalistes. L'utilité pratique d'une "vérité" ou les conséquences d'un acte sont ce qui leur donne un sens et par conséquent, la philosophie devrait être centrée sur l'objectif et non sur les concepts.

  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Psychologie fonctionnaliste

Le fonctionnalisme est une orientation théorique de la psychologie qui analyse le comportement et la cognition du point de vue de l'adaptation active à l'environnement. Logiquement, il y a une forte relation entre psychologie fonctionnaliste et pragmatisme en philosophie.À un niveau plus général, le fonctionnalisme est une philosophie qui a également influencé la sociologie et l'anthropologie.

William James a fondé le fonctionnalisme, bien qu'il ne se soit pas considéré comme faisant partie de ce courant et ne soit pas d'accord avec la division des scientifiques en écoles de pensée. Outre Herbert Dewey, George Herbert Mead, James McKeen Cattell et Edward Thorndike ont également contribué à ce projet.

Le fonctionnalisme est apparu en réaction au structuralisme d'Edward Tichtener; James ou Dewey ont rejeté leur méthodologie introspective, mais ils ont continué à mettre l'accent sur l'expérience consciente. Plus tard Le Behaviorism critiqué les positions fonctionnalistes parce qu'ils n'étaient pas basés sur des expériences contrôlées et n'avaient donc aucune capacité prédictive.

La psychologie fonctionnaliste a été inspirée par les idées évolutionnistes de Darwin et de ses disciples. De nos jours, le fonctionnalisme continue de vivre avant tout dans la psychologie évolutionniste, qui analyse le développement de l'esprit humain d'un point de vue phylogénétique.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'évolution biologique"

MILES DAVIS - Ascenseur pour l'échafaud (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes