yes, therapy helps!
John Searle: biography of this influential philosopher

John Searle: biography of this influential philosopher

November 29, 2022

John Searle (1932-) is an American philosopher renowned for his contributions to the philosophy of the mind and the philosophy of language. His proposals have had important repercussions not only in these areas, but also in epistemology, ontology, the social study of institutions, practical reasoning, artificial intelligence, among many others.

We'll see now the biography of John Searle , as well as some of his main works and contributions to philosophy.

  • Related article: "What is the Philosophy of the Mind? Definition, history and applications"

John Searle: Biography of a pioneer in the philosophy of language

John Searle was born in Denver, Colorado, in 1932. He is the son of an executive and a physicist, with whom he moved several times until finally settled in the state of Wisconsin, where he began his university career.


After graduating as a PhD in philosophy from the University of Oxford in 1959, Searle has been teaching at the faculty of philosophy at the University of California at Berkeley .

  • Maybe you are interested: "The Mind-Brain Identity Theory: what is it?"

The theory of speech acts

While studying at the University of Oxford, John Searle was formed with the British philosopher John Langshaw Austin, who had developed the Theory of Speech Acts. A large part of Searle's work has consisted in retaking and continuing the development of the latter.

Declarative acts and illocutionary acts

Through this theory, Austin criticized the tendency of contemporary philosophers, specifically the philosophers of logical positivism , that propose that the language is only descriptive, that is, that the only possible language is one that makes descriptive statements, which may or may not be true only according to the context.


According to Austin, there are constative linguistic expressions (which are descriptive statements), but they only occupy a small part of the meaningful uses of language. More than constant declarations, for Austin there are performative statements (which he called "speech acts"). These speech acts have different levels, one of them being the "illocutionary acts" or "illocutionary acts". These are statements that have functionalities and concrete effects in the social sphere.

For example, promises, orders, requests. That is, they are statements that, when named, display actions, or said the other way around, these are actions that are carried out only when they are named .

The contributions of this thinker

John Searle resumed the theory of speech acts, and has focused specifically on the analysis of illocutionary acts, their propositional content and the rules that follow (under the conditions necessary for a statement to have performative effects).


According to Searle, a speech act is a situation that includes a speaker, a listener and a speaker broadcast. And an illocutionary or illocutionary act is the minimum unit of linguistic communication. For the philosopher, linguistic communication includes acts , and this is because, by themselves, noises and written signs do not establish communication.

For linguistic communication to be established, it is a necessary condition that certain intentions exist. The latter means that when we communicate (by asking or stating something) we act, we are part of a series of semantic rules.

John Searle elaborates this complex proposal through describe both the semantic rules , as the different genres of illocutionary acts, their propositional contents, the situations in which speech occurs, among other elements.

Contributions to the philosophy of the mind

In his academic and intellectual career, John Searle has significantly linked language with the mind. For him, Speech acts are closely related to mental states .

Specifically, he has been interested in the relationship between intentionality and consciousness. It proposes that not all mental states are intentional, however, beliefs and desires, for example, have an intentional structure insofar as they are connected to something in particular.

Likewise, it suggests that consciousness is an intrinsically biological process, with which, it is not possible build a computer whose processor is the same as our conscience . His contributions have been especially important for the cognitive sciences, the philosophy of the mind and the discussions about the possibility of creating Strong Artificial Intelligence (which not only imitates the human mind, but actually reproduces it).

To put the latter in question, John Searle has proposed a thought experiment known as The China Room, which explains how an operating system could imitate the mind and human behavior if given a series of rules to order in a specific way a series of symbols; without the operating system necessarily understanding what those symbols mean, and without you being developing an intentionality and an awareness of it .

John Searle has contributed importantly to the discussion about division and the relationship between mind and body. For him, these two are not radically different substances, as had been established by Descartes since the seventeenth century, and are not reducible to each other (for example, the brain is not exactly the same as the mind), but it is about phenomena that are intrinsically connected.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fotion, N. (2018). John Searle. Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved June 5, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/John-Searle.
  • Valdés, L. (1991) (Ed.). The search for meaning. Language philosophy readings. Tecnos: University of Murcia.

The Philosophy of Language with John Searle (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
John Searle: biographie de ce philosophe influent

John Searle: biographie de ce philosophe influent

Mars 7, 2021

John Searle (1932-) est un philosophe américain reconnu pour ses contributions à la philosophie de l'esprit et à la philosophie du langage. Ses propositions ont eu des répercussions importantes non seulement dans ces domaines, mais aussi en épistémologie, en ontologie, dans l'étude sociale des institutions, dans le raisonnement pratique, dans l'intelligence artificielle, entre autres.

Ensuite nous verrons la biographie de John Searle , ainsi que certains de ses principaux travaux et contributions à la philosophie.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la philosophie de l'esprit? Définition, historique et applications"

John Searle: biographie d'un pionnier de la philosophie du langage

John Searle est né à Denver, au Colorado, en 1932. Il est le fils d'un dirigeant et d'un physicien, avec lequel il a déménagé plusieurs fois jusqu'à s'installer finalement dans l'État du Wisconsin, où il a commencé sa carrière universitaire.


Après avoir obtenu son doctorat en philosophie de l’Université d’Oxford en 1959, Searle a enseigné à la faculté de philosophie de l'Université de Californie à Berkeley .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La théorie de l'identité cerveau-cerveau: qu'est-ce que c'est?"

La théorie des actes de langage

Pendant ses études à l'Université d'Oxford, John Searle a été formé avec le philosophe britannique John Langshaw Austin, qui avait développé les actes de théorie de la parole. Une grande partie du travail de Searle a consisté à reprendre et à poursuivre le développement de ce dernier.

Actes déclaratifs et actes illocutoires

À travers cette théorie, Austin a critiqué la tendance des philosophes contemporains, en particulier les philosophes du positivisme logique , qui proposent que le langage soit uniquement descriptif, c’est-à-dire que le seul langage possible est celui qui fait des déclarations descriptives, qui peuvent ou non être vraies uniquement en fonction du contexte.


Selon Austin, il existe des expressions linguistiques constatives (qui sont des déclarations descriptives), mais elles n'occupent qu'une petite partie des utilisations significatives du langage. Plus que des déclarations constantes, pour Austin il y a des déclarations performatives (qu'il a appelé "actes de langage"). Ces actes de langage ont différents niveaux, l'un d'eux étant les "actes illocutoires" ou "actes illocutoires". Ce sont des déclarations qui ont des fonctionnalités et des effets concrets dans la sphère sociale.

Par exemple, promesses, commandes, demandes. Autrement dit, ce sont des déclarations qui, une fois nommées, affichent des actions ou sont inversées, ce sont des actions qui ne sont effectuées que lorsqu'elles sont nommées .

Les contributions de ce penseur

John Searle a repris la théorie des actes de langage et s'est concentré spécifiquement sur l'analyse des actes illocutoires, leur contenu propositionnel et les règles qui suivent (dans les conditions nécessaires pour qu'un énoncé produise des effets performatifs).


Selon Searle, un acte de langage est une situation qui comprend un haut-parleur, un auditeur et une émission de haut-parleur. Et l'acte illocutoire ou illocutoire est l'unité minimale de la communication linguistique. Pour le philosophe, la communication linguistique comprend les actes et c’est parce que, seuls, les bruits et les signes écrits ne permettent pas d’établir une communication.

Pour que la communication linguistique soit établie, il est nécessaire que certaines intentions existent. Ce dernier signifie que lorsque nous communiquons (en posant ou en disant quelque chose), nous agissons, nous faisons partie d'une série de règles sémantiques.

John Searle élabore cette proposition complexe à travers décrire à la fois les règles sémantiques , comme les différents genres d’actes illocutoires, leurs contenus propositionnels, les situations dans lesquelles la parole se produit, entre autres éléments.

Contributions à la philosophie de l'esprit

Dans sa carrière académique et intellectuelle, John Searle a lié de manière significative le langage à l'esprit. Pour lui, Les actes de langage sont étroitement liés aux états mentaux .

Plus précisément, il s'est intéressé à la relation entre intentionnalité et conscience. Il propose que tous les états mentaux ne soient pas intentionnels, cependant, les croyances et les désirs, par exemple, ont une structure intentionnelle dans la mesure où ils sont liés à quelque chose en particulier.

De même, il suggère que la conscience est un processus intrinsèquement biologique, avec lequel, il est impossible construire un ordinateur dont le processeur est le même que notre conscience . Ses contributions ont été particulièrement importantes pour les sciences cognitives, la philosophie de l'esprit et les discussions sur la possibilité de créer une intelligence artificielle forte (qui non seulement imite l'esprit humain, mais le reproduit effectivement).

Pour mettre ce dernier en question, John Searle a proposé une expérience de pensée appelée The China Room, qui explique comment un système d'exploitation peut imiter l'esprit et le comportement humain s'il est soumis à une série de règles permettant de classer de manière spécifique. une série de symboles; sans que le système d'exploitation comprenne nécessairement la signification de ces symboles, et sans que vous développiez une intention et une conscience de celle-ci .

John Searle a largement contribué à la discussion sur la division et la relation entre l'esprit et le corps. Pour lui, ces deux substances ne sont pas radicalement différentes, comme l’avait établi Descartes depuis le XVIIe siècle, et ne sont pas réductibles l’une l’autre (par exemple, le cerveau n’est pas exactement le même que l’esprit), mais c’est à peu près tout. des phénomènes intrinsèquement liés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fotion, N. (2018). John Searle. Encyclopédie Britannica. Extrait le 5 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/biography/John-Searle.
  • Valdés, L. (1991) (Ed.). La recherche de sens. Lectures de philosophie du langage. Tecnos: Université de Murcie.

John Searle: Our shared condition -- consciousness (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes