yes, therapy helps!
Josef Breuer: biography of this pioneer of psychoanalysis

Josef Breuer: biography of this pioneer of psychoanalysis

December 3, 2022

The doctor and physiologist Josef Breuer he is best known for using the cathartic method for the first time in the famous case of Anna O., which would inspire his pupil Sigmund Freud to create psychoanalysis. Nevertheless, Breuer's conceptions differed from Freud's in central aspects.

Breuer is a relevant figure in the history of neurophysiology and psychoanalysis. In this article we will review his biography, his contributions to these two fields and his relationship with Freud; for this it is necessary to describe also the outstanding role of Anna O. in the field of hysteria .

  • Related article: "The 9 types of Psychoanalysis (theories and main authors)"

Biography of Josef Breuer

Josef Breuer (1842-1925) studied Medicine at the University of Vienna and during his first years of professional practice worked as an assistant to Johann von Oppolzer and later to Karl Hering, a physiologist known for his studies on visual perception and eye movements.


Breuer made important contributions in the field of neurophysiology . During his collaboration with Hering he described the role of the vagus nerve in the respiratory response; this would give rise to the concept of the "reflection of Hering-Breuer", which is still valid today.

He was also one of the first to propose that the balance depends on the movement of fluid in the semicircular canals of the inner ear and the information that the brain receives in relation to these movements.

During a good part of his life Breuer worked as a family doctor and as a personal doctor of many intellectuals living in Vienna, among them the philosopher and psychologist Franz Brentano. He was also professor of physiology at the University of Vienna, where instructed Sigmund Freud, with whom he would collaborate later .


  • Maybe you're interested: "Jean-Martin Charcot: biography of the pioneer of hypnosis and neurology"

The case of Anna O.

In 1880 Breuer began to treat Bertha von Pappenheim, a patient of hysteria who played a fundamental role in the emergence of psychoanalysis. It would go down in history as "Anna O." since this was the pseudonym that Breuer and Freud granted him in their joint work Studies on hysteria, the cornerstone of early psychoanalysis.

According to Breuer, Pappenheim had two personalities that differed more and more as the treatment progressed. While the first was sad and apprehensive, the second had a more childish and explosive character. This case is one of the first recorded examples of dissociative identity disorder (or "multiple personality").

Breuer noted that the symptoms of Pappenheim, which consisted mostly of partial paralysis, muteness and blindness, temporarily remitted when he talked about them under hypnosis and attributed a cause . The patient also felt relieved when talking about her dreams or hallucinations, and it was her own preferences that guided Breuer.


Pappenheim called this type of intervention "Speech cure" or "chimney cleaning" ; thus the cathartic method was born, consisting of hypnotising the patient so that he remembered the traumatic event that triggered the symptom (or so that he invented such a memory) and thus eliminate the associated negative emotions, and consequently the symptom.

Freud and the "Studies on hysteria"

The case of Anna O. inspired Sigmund Freud to write the book Studies on hysteria in collaboration with his teacher Breuer. In this work, which appeared in 1895, describes the treatment of Bertha von Pappenheim and four other women through hypnosis and the cathartic method.

At the theoretical level, Freud and Breuer defended two different hypotheses in the book: while the first opined that hysteria was always due to traumatic memories related to sexuality, according to Breuer there could also be neurophysiological causes.

Contrary to what is told in "Studies on hysteria", Anna O. did not fully recover through the treatment of Breuer but ended up being hospitalized. However, over time his symptoms eased and he became a prominent personality in German feminism of the time, as well as a firm opponent of psychoanalysis.

The relationship between Breuer and Freud deteriorated rapidly. Freud not only showed a confidence in the cathartic method that Breuer considered unjustified, but he also mythologized the case of Anna O. to promote what would become psychoanalysis.Towards the end of his life Breuer saw Freud down the street and made a move to greet him, but his disciple ignored him.

  • Related article: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

Breuer's legacy

The "speech cure" that Breuer developed with the inestimable collaboration of Bertha von Pappenheim would become the seed of Freud's psychoanalysis and, consequently, of the conventional psychotherapy of the next century.

Breuer's hypothesis regarding the case of Anna O. sparked interest in unconscious processes, especially around the etiology of hysteria and other neuroses . However, Breuer distanced himself from Freud because he did not agree with his emphasis on psychosexual traumas as the sole cause of these disorders.

Breuer considered that hypnosis and the cathartic method They could facilitate the creation of false memories , although these were felt by patients as true. Many later critics of Freud would give the reason to Breuer and to its more cautious approach.

  • You may be interested: "Effect Mandela: when many people share a false memory"

Bibliographic references:

  • Breuer, J. & Freud, S. (1893-1895). Studies on hysteria In Complete Works, volume II. Buenos Aires: Amorrortu.
  • Leahey, T. H. (2004). History of Psychology, 6th Edition. Madrid: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Studies in Hysteria - Sigmund Freud and Josef Breuer (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Josef Breuer: biographie de ce pionnier de la psychanalyse

Josef Breuer: biographie de ce pionnier de la psychanalyse

Octobre 25, 2021

Le médecin et physiologiste Josef Breuer il est surtout connu pour avoir utilisé la méthode cathartique pour la première fois dans le cas célèbre d'Anna O., ce qui inciterait son élève Sigmund Freud à créer la psychanalyse. Néanmoins, les conceptions de Breuer différaient de celles de Freud par des aspects centraux.

Breuer est une figure importante de l'histoire de la neurophysiologie et de la psychanalyse. Dans cet article, nous examinerons sa biographie, ses contributions à ces deux domaines et ses relations avec Freud; pour cela il est nécessaire de décrire aussi le rôle éminent d'Anna O. dans le domaine de l'hystérie .

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types de psychanalyse (théories et auteurs principaux)"

Biographie de Josef Breuer

Josef Breuer (1842-1925) a étudié la médecine à l'Université de Vienne. Durant ses premières années de pratique professionnelle, il a travaillé comme assistant de Johann von Oppolzer, puis de Karl Hering, physiologiste connu pour ses études sur la perception visuelle et les mouvements oculaires.


Breuer rendu important contributions dans le domaine de la neurophysiologie . Au cours de sa collaboration avec Hering, il a décrit le rôle du nerf vague dans la réponse respiratoire; cela donnerait naissance au concept de "reflet de Hering-Breuer", qui est toujours valable aujourd'hui.

Il fut également l'un des premiers à proposer que l'équilibre dépende du mouvement des fluides dans les canaux semi-circulaires de l'oreille interne et des informations que le cerveau reçoit en relation avec ces mouvements.

Pendant une bonne partie de sa vie, Breuer a exercé les fonctions de médecin de famille et de médecin personnel de nombreux intellectuels établis à Vienne, dont le philosophe et psychologue Franz Brentano. Il était également professeur de physiologie à l'Université de Vienne, où instruit Sigmund Freud, avec qui il collaborera plus tard .


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Jean-Martin Charcot: biographie du pionnier de l'hypnose et de la neurologie"

Le cas d'Anna O.

En 1880, Breuer commença à soigner Bertha von Pappenheim, une patiente souffrant d'hystérie qui joua un rôle fondamental dans l'apparition de la psychanalyse. Cela ferait partie de l'histoire comme "Anna O." puisque c’était le pseudonyme que Breuer et Freud lui avaient accordé dans leur travail commun Études sur l'hystérie, pierre angulaire de la psychanalyse primitive.

Selon Breuer, Pappenheim avait deux personnalités qui différaient de plus en plus au fur et à mesure que le traitement progressait. Alors que le premier était triste et inquiet, le second avait un caractère plus enfantin et explosif. Ce cas est l’un des premiers exemples enregistrés de trouble de l’identité dissociative (ou «personnalité multiple»).

Breuer a noté que les symptômes de Pappenheim, qui consistaient principalement en une paralysie partielle, le mutisme et la cécité, ont été temporairement transférés. quand il a parlé d'eux sous hypnose et attribué une cause . La patiente se sentait également soulagée lorsqu'elle parlait de ses rêves ou de ses hallucinations et c’était ses propres préférences qui guidaient Breuer.


Pappenheim a appelé ce type d'intervention "Cure de la parole" ou "nettoyage de cheminée" ; ainsi naquit la méthode cathartique consistant à hypnotiser le patient pour qu’il se souvienne de l’événement traumatique qui a déclenché le symptôme (ou pour l’inventer un tel souvenir) et ainsi éliminer les émotions négatives associées, et donc le symptôme.

Freud et les "Etudes sur l'hystérie"

Le cas d'Anna O. a inspiré Sigmund Freud à écrire le livre Études sur l'hystérie en collaboration avec son professeur Breuer. Dans ce travail, paru en 1895, décrit le traitement de Bertha von Pappenheim et de quatre autres femmes par l'hypnose et la méthode cathartique.

Sur le plan théorique, Freud et Breuer ont défendu deux hypothèses différentes dans le livre: alors que la première affirmait que l'hystérie était toujours due à des souvenirs traumatiques liés à la sexualité, selon Breuer, il pourrait aussi y avoir des causes neurophysiologiques.

Contrairement à ce qui est dit dans "Studies on hysteria", Anna O. ne s'est pas complètement rétablie sous le traitement de Breuer mais a fini par être hospitalisée. Cependant, avec le temps, ses symptômes se sont atténués et il est devenu une personnalité importante du féminisme allemand de l'époque, ainsi qu'un opposant résolu de la psychanalyse.

La relation entre Breuer et Freud s'est rapidement détériorée. Freud a non seulement montré sa confiance dans la méthode cathartique que Breuer considérait comme injustifiée, mais il a également mythifié le cas d'Anna O. dans le but de promouvoir ce qui deviendrait une psychanalyse.Vers la fin de sa vie, Breuer vit Freud dans la rue et s'approcha pour le saluer, mais son disciple l'ignora.

  • Article connexe: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"

L'héritage de Breuer

Le "remède à la parole" que Breuer a mis au point avec la collaboration inestimable de Bertha von Pappenheim deviendrait le germe de la psychanalyse de Freud et, par conséquent, de la psychothérapie conventionnelle du siècle prochain.

L’hypothèse de Breuer concernant le cas d’Anna O. a suscité l’intérêt pour les processus inconscients, en particulier autour de l'étiologie de l'hystérie et d'autres névroses . Cependant, Breuer a pris ses distances vis-à-vis de Freud car il n’était pas d’accord avec le fait que les traumatismes psychosexuels étaient la seule cause de ces troubles.

Breuer a considéré que l'hypnose et la méthode cathartique Ils pourraient faciliter la création de faux souvenirs , bien que ceux-ci aient été perçus comme tels par les patients. Beaucoup de critiques ultérieures de Freud donneraient la raison à Breuer et à son approche plus prudente.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Effet Mandela: quand beaucoup de gens partagent un faux souvenir"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Breuer, J. & Freud, S. (1893-1895). Études sur l'hystérie Dans l'oeuvre complète, volume II. Buenos Aires: Amorrortu.
  • Leahey, T.H. (2004). Histoire de la psychologie, 6ème édition. Madrid: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Mindfulness with Jon Kabat-Zinn (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes